DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 6/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an external retaining element” in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains more than 150 words and contains legal phraseology “biasing means”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The reference character “46” has been used to refer to “retaining element” in paragraph 0054 and “stopper element” in paragraph 0050.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites the limitation “said proximal portion” in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, line 2, grammatical error appears in the limitation “which forms no an integral part neither of said essentially elongated shaft of said plunger nor of said stopper element”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “a piston at a distal portion” in line 9 and “a thumb rest at a distal portion” in line 12 renders the claim indefinite because the original disclosure discloses in paragraphs 0047 and 0049 and figure 2A that piston 26 and a thumb rest 32 are located on opposite ends of the shaft 24. Therefore, piston and thumb rest cannot be on distal portion of the elongated shaft as required by the claim. For examination purposes, examiner construes that the piston and the thumb rest are located on opposite sides of the elongated shaft. Claim 1 could overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, if claim is amended to specify the correct positioning of the piston and the thumb rest on the elongated shaft.
Claims 2-9 being dependent on claim 1 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pilkington et al. (US 10,702,656 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Pilkington teaches a syringe device (figure 3 with plunger locking assembly 100 shown in figure 18) with plunger 204 having axially biased detents 14a-14c comprises:
(a) a syringe tube (figure 4) comprising:
(I) an essentially elongated cylindrical shell shaped barrel 202;
(II) a frusto-conical tip (see “T” in figure 4 below), at a distal portion (portion of element 202 where “T” in figure 4 below is present) of said barrel;
(III) at least one finger flange 218, at a proximal portion (portion of element 202 where element 218 is present) of said barrel 202, configured for manual grip;
(b) a plunger (integrated structure formed by structure shown in figure 5 and element 100 when attached to the structure shown in figure 5) comprising:
(I) an essentially elongated shaft (integrated structure formed by elements 204 and 12);
(II) a piston 206 at a distal portion (portion of element 204 where element 206 is present) of said elongated shaft 12, 204, comprising at least one sealing element 246, configured to form a sealing arrangement with an interior surface (interior surface of element 202) of said barrel 202, whilst contiguously translatable therein;
(III) a thumb rest (thumb rest formed at element 224, hereinafter referred by element 224) at a distal portion of said elongated shaft 12, 204 configured for exerting a manual pressing force, onto said plunger;
(IV) at least one recess 30 in said essentially elongated shaft 12, 204 of said plunger, wherein said recess 30 comprises an interior void volume (volume of element 30 is void), oriented essentially orthogonally to a longitudinal centerline (longitudinal axis extending along the length of element 100) of said essentially elongated shaft of said plunger;
(c) at least one detent assembly (assembly formed by elements 14a-14c and 30 and/or “lip at the open end 208 of the barrel 202” in column 15, lines 24-28) comprising:
(I) a stopper element 14a-14c, accommodatable within said at least one recess 30 in said essentially elongated shaft 12, 204 of said plunger;
(II) a biasing means (column 9, lines 8-14, column 2, lines 45-47, column 2, line 66-column 3, line 4), configured for spontaneously driving said stopper element 14a-14c outwardly from said at least one recess 30 in said essentially elongated shaft 12, 204 of said plunger;
(III) at least one retaining element (integrated structure formed by elements 44, 38, 42 and/or “lip at the open end 208 of the barrel 202” in column 15, lines 24-28), configured for restricting a movement of said stopper element 14a-14c within said at least one recess in said essentially elongated shaft of said plunger, thereby preventing said stopper element from leaving said at least one recess (elements 38, 42, 44 will prevent the outward movement when pressed and inserted into the barrel 202);
wherein said stopper element 14a-14c of said at least one detent assembly is axially translatable within said at least one recess 30, in a direction essentially orthogonal (see figure 22 where elements 14a-14c are moving in radial direction) to said longitudinal centerline of said essentially elongated shaft of said plunger.
Regarding claim 2, Pilkington teaches wherein said piston 206 of said plunger comprises a fastener part 248, whereas said distal portion of said elongated shaft comprises a respective fastener part 222, whereby said piston of said plunger is controllably connectable to and disconnectable from said distal portion of said elongated shaft of said plunger (column 6, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 4, Pilkington teaches wherein said at least one detent assembly comprises a first detent assembly (assembly formed by element 14c or 14b and associated element 30) and a second detent assembly (assembly formed by element 14b if first detent assembly is construed as element 14c and associated element 30 or element 14a and associated element 30), wherein said first detent assembly is disposed towards said distal portion of said shaft (see figure 18 where elements 14c and 14b are disposed towards distal portion of element 12), whereas said second detent assembly is disposed towards said proximal portion (portion of elements 12, 204 closer to element 16a, 224) of said shaft (see figure 18 where element 14b and 14a are disposed towards proximal portion of element 12).
Regarding claim 5, Pilkington teaches wherein said stopper element 14a-14c, of said at least one detent assembly, comprises a structured top surface (see top surface of element 34).
Regarding claim 6, Pilkington teaches wherein said structured top surface of said stopper element comprises an elevation 38 (figure 10, even though figure 10 is different embodiment, the difference is number of elements 14 but the structure of element 14 is same in both embodiments) at a distal portion (portion of element 14 where element 38 is present) thereof.
Regarding claim 7, Pilkington teaches wherein said retaining element (integrated structure formed by elements 44, 38, 42 could be construed as pawl or snap) is selected from the group consisting of: a pawl, notch, recess, groove and snap.
Regarding claim 8, Pilkington teaches wherein said retaining element (integrated structure formed by elements 44, 38, 42) is selected from the group consisting of: a retaining element forming an integral part of said essentially elongated shaft (elements 44, 38, 42 are integral part of element 12 alternatively when element 100 is connected to element 204, element 44, 38, 42 can also be construed as an integral part since elements 100 and 204 are acting as one piece) of said plunger and a retaining element (elements 44, 38, 42 are integral part of elements 14a-14c) forming an integral part of said stopper element.
Regarding claim 9, Pilkington teaches wherein said retaining element further comprises an external retaining element (column 15, lines 24-28, “lip at the open end 208 of the barrel 202”), which forms no an integral part neither of said essentially elongated shaft of said plunger nor of said stopper element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilkington et al. (US 10,702,656 B2). In view of Lockhart (US 2,688,325).
Regarding claim 3, Pilkington discloses claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Pilkington is silent regarding wherein said fastener comprising a screw threading.
However, Lockhart teaches a design of a syringe with piston plunger arrangement (figure 2) and a piston 29 comprising a fastener 37 wherein said fastener comprising a screw threading 37 for the purpose of using a well-known alternative form of connection means to temporarily connect the piston with the elongated shaft (column 4, lines 16-20, column 6, lines 28-32).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the fastener of Pilkington to incorporate wherein said fastener comprising a screw threading as taught by Lockhart for the purpose of using a well-known alternative form of connection means to temporarily connect the piston with the elongated shaft (column 4, lines 16-20, column 6, lines 28-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Annemie et al. (EP 2143454 A1): discloses a design of a syringe with a plunger having a detent mechanism comprising a retaining element and a recess.
/NILAY J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783