DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1-6 are examined on the merits. Claims 7-10 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 1/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/28/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 2/12/2026, 8/30/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, line 3, the term “early-harvested” is indefinite because it is unclear when is the time considered “early” for harvesting the fruit. Please define or describe.
In Claim 2, line 2, the ratio is in parentheses. Is it part of the claim or not? Please amend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma’arif et al. (from IDS) in view of Chen (CN 106261323 A, translation provided).
Ma’arif et al. teaches a method treating osteoporosis with C. caimito extract (Abstract). The treatment of osteoporosis would inherently result in improving bone quality of Claims 4-6.
However, Mar’arif et al. does not teach adding 0.1% cellulase complex in water, ratio of Claim 2.
Chen teaches a nutritional solution of Chrysophyllum cainito extract obtained by enzymolysis in 0.05-0.07% pectinase at temperature of 45-55 degree C, pH 5.5, 30-50 min (Claim 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use enzymatic process to extract C. cainito because Chen teaches a nutritional solution of Chrysophyllum cainito extract obtained by enzymolysis in 0.05-0.07% pectinase at temperature of 45-55 degree C, pH 5.5, 30-50 min (Claim 2). One would have been motivated to make a medicament for the expected benefit of treating osteoporosis with C. caimito extract as taught by Ma’arif et al. (Abstract). Absent evidence to the contrary, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making the claimed invention from the combined teachings of the cited references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make a composition comprising adding 0.1% cellulase complex in water, ratio of Claim 2 of the active agent combination for the following reasons. The reference does teach the composition for treating C. cainito. Chen teaches a nutritional solution of Chrysophyllum cainito extract obtained by enzymolysis in 0.05-0.07% pectinase at temperature of 45-55 degree C, pH 5.5, 30-50 min (Claim 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to make a concentrated cellulase for use as a supplement to the diet. Additionally, the amount of a specific ingredient in a composition that is used for a particular purpose (the composition itself or that particular ingredient) is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, optimization of general conditions is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results, especially within the ranges taught by the reference. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient amount would have been obvious at the time of applicant’s invention.
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma’arif et al. (from IDS) in view of Chen (CN 106261323 A, translation provided) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-6 above, and further in view of Luo et al. (2002, J. Agric. Food Chem., Vol. 50, No. 6, pages1379-1382).
The teachings of Ma’arif et al. and Chen are set forth above and applied as before.
The combination of Ma’arif et al. and Chen do not specifically teach the ice crystal wall breaking, -10 degree C to 0 degree C for 7 days, extract at 45-60 degree C for 50-70 min and 85 for 50-70 min.
Luo et al. teaches extraction of C. caimito fruit by using fresh frozen fruit. Frozen fruits were shipped and stored at -20 °C until extracted (Plant Material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use frozen fruit and enzymatic process to extract C. cainito because Chen teaches a nutritional solution of Chrysophyllum cainito extract obtained by enzymolysis in 0.05-0.07% pectinase at temperature of 45-55 degree C, pH 5.5, 30-50 min (Claim 2). Luo et al. teaches extraction of C. caimito fruit by using fresh frozen fruit. Frozen fruits were shipped and stored at -20 °C until extracted (Plant Material). One would have been motivated to make a medicament for the expected benefit of treating osteoporosis with C. caimito extract as taught by Ma’arif et al. (Abstract). Absent evidence to the contrary, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making the claimed invention from the combined teachings of the cited references.
The references also do not specifically teach performing the process in the time span and temperature range claimed by applicant. Chen teaches a nutritional solution of Chrysophyllum cainito extract obtained by enzymolysis in 0.05-0.07% pectinase at temperature of 45-55 degree C, pH 5.5, 30-50 min (Claim 2). The high temperature is to inactivate the enzyme pectinase. The process in the time span and temperature range is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, optimization of general conditions is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal process in the time span and temperature range to use in order to best achieve the desired results. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient amount would have been obvious at the time of applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Contact Information
Catheryne Chen Examiner Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655