DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment responsive to the non-final Office Action dated May 1, 2026 was submitted on August 3, 2026. Claims 1 and 9 were amended. Claims 2-6 and 11-20 were canceled. Claims 21-28 were added. Claims 1, 7-10 and 21-28 are currently pending.
The amendments to claim 1 have overcome the prior art rejections of claims 1 and 7-10 (¶¶ 4-18 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection of claims 1, 9 and 10 have been made as detailed below. New claims 21-28 have also been addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 27 each recite that changing the phase of the chemical to the second phase further comprises liquifying the chemical at a first temperature above a melting point of the chemical. Claims 1 and 21, from which claims 9 and 27 respectively depend, however, recite that the chemical is transported in the second phase and changed to a third phase wherein the third phase is a liquid. It is unclear how the chemical can be liquified when being changed to the second phase (which implies that the second phase is a liquid) and undergo a further phase change to a third phase which is also a liquid.
Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and is therefore also indefinite for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 9. Claim 27 depends from claim 26 and is therefore also indefinite for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jurcik et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0121192 A1) in view of Kobrin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0083329 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jurcik discloses a method ([0017] of Jurcik, method of providing CVD precursor to a vapor delivery system), comprising: coupling a delivery vessel disposed at a first location on a substrate processing platform (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, local precursor reservoir #320) to a remote refill vessel disposed in a second location remote from the substrate processing platform (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, secondary vapor delivery system #220 which is coupled to the local precursor reservoir #320 via delivery line #400); storing a chemical in the remote refill vessel in a first phase (FIG. 1, [0026]-[0027] of Jurcik, secondary vapor delivery system #220 includes a solid or liquid CVD precursor); changing a phase of the chemical in the remote refill vessel to a second phase, which comprises heating the chemical or pressurizing the chemical, or a combination thereof, and sublimating the chemical ([0026]-[0027], [0030] of Jurcik, CVD precursor heated and vaporized via sublimation or bubbling and introduced the vapor into delivery line #400); transporting the chemical in the second phase, to the delivery vessel ([0031] of Jurcik, vaporized CVD precursor transferred from delivery line #400 to local precursor reservoir #320), receiving the chemical in the delivery vessel at a top portion of the delivery vessel in the second phase (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, precursor enters top portion of local precursor reservoir #320); changing the phase of the chemical to a third phase ([0031] of Jurcik, precursor has a phase change into liquid phase in local precursor reservoir #320); receiving the chemical on a bottom surface of the delivery vessel in the third phase (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, liquid forms at bottom of local precursor reservoir #320); wherein the third phase is liquid ([0031] of Jurcik, precursor in liquid phase in local precursor reservoir #320).
Jurcik does not specifically disclose modifying the temperature of the chemical to change the chemical to a fourth phase, wherein the fourth phase is solid. Kobrin, however, discloses a method of inline purification of liquid CVD precursor materials (Abstract, claim 16 of Kobrin) comprising cooling the liquid precursor in a supply vessel until at least an exposed surface becomes a solid and drawing vapor present in the space above the solid exposed surface (claim 16 of Kobrin). According to Kobrin, the method removes impurities from the liquid precursor composition (claim 16 of Kobrin). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cool the liquid precursor in the local precursor reservoir until at least an exposed surface becomes a solid and drawing vapor present in the space above the solid exposed surface in the method of Jurcik. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to remove impurities from the liquid precursor composition as taught by Kobrin (claim 16 of Kobrin).
Regarding claim 21, Jurcik discloses a method ([0017] of Jurcik, method of providing CVD precursor to a vapor delivery system), comprising: coupling a delivery vessel disposed at a first location on a substrate processing platform (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, local precursor reservoir #320) to a remote refill vessel disposed in a second location remote from the substrate processing platform (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, secondary vapor delivery system #220 which is coupled to the local precursor reservoir #320 via delivery line #400); storing a chemical in the remote refill vessel in a first phase (FIG. 1, [0026]-[0027] of Jurcik, secondary vapor delivery system #220 includes a solid or liquid CVD precursor); changing a phase of the chemical in the remote refill vessel to a second phase ([0026]-[0027], [0030] of Jurcik, CVD precursor heated and vaporized via sublimation or bubbling and introduced the vapor into delivery line #400); transporting the chemical in the second phase, to the delivery vessel ([0031] of Jurcik, vaporized CVD precursor transferred from delivery line #400 to local precursor reservoir #320); changing the phase of the chemical to a third phase ([0031] of Jurcik, precursor has a phase change into liquid phase in local precursor reservoir #320); receiving the chemical on a bottom surface of the delivery vessel in the third phase (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, liquid forms at bottom of local precursor reservoir #320); wherein the third phase is liquid ([0031] of Jurcik, precursor in liquid phase in local precursor reservoir #320).
Jurcik does not specifically disclose modifying the temperature of the chemical to change the chemical to a fourth phase, wherein the fourth phase is solid. Kobrin, however, discloses a method of inline purification of liquid CVD precursor materials (Abstract, claim 16 of Kobrin) comprising cooling the liquid precursor in a supply vessel until at least an exposed surface becomes a solid and drawing vapor present in the space above the solid exposed surface (claim 16 of Kobrin). According to Kobrin, the method removes impurities from the liquid precursor composition (claim 16 of Kobrin). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cool the liquid precursor in the local precursor reservoir until at least an exposed surface becomes a solid and drawing vapor present in the space above the solid exposed surface in the method of Jurcik. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to remove impurities from the liquid precursor composition as taught by Kobrin (claim 16 of Kobrin).
Regarding claim 22, Jurcik discloses that changing the phase of the chemical to the second phase further comprises heating the chemical or pressurizing the chemical, or a combination thereof ([0026]-[0027], [0030] of Jurcik, CVD precursor heated and vaporized and introduced the vapor into delivery line #400).
Regarding claim 23, Jurcik discloses that changing the phase of the chemical to the second phase further comprises sublimating the chemical ([0026]-[0027], [0030] of Jurcik, CVD precursor vaporized via sublimation).
Regarding claim 24, Jurcik discloses that transporting the chemical further comprises: receiving the chemical in the delivery vessel at a top portion of the delivery vessel in the second phase (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, precursor enters top portion of local precursor reservoir #320).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 8, 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 7 and 25, the closest prior art is to Jurcik. Jurcik discloses a method ([0017] of Jurcik, method of providing CVD precursor to a vapor delivery system), comprising: coupling a delivery vessel disposed at a first location on a substrate processing platform (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, local precursor reservoir #320) to a remote refill vessel disposed in a second location remote from the substrate processing platform (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, secondary vapor delivery system #220 which is coupled to the local precursor reservoir #320 via delivery line #400); storing a chemical in the remote refill vessel in a first phase (FIG. 1, [0026]-[0027] of Jurcik, secondary vapor delivery system #220 includes a solid or liquid CVD precursor); changing a phase of the chemical in the remote refill vessel to a second phase, which comprises heating the chemical or pressurizing the chemical, or a combination thereof, and sublimating the chemical ([0026]-[0027], [0030] of Jurcik, CVD precursor heated and vaporized via sublimation or bubbling and introduced the vapor into delivery line #400); transporting the chemical in the second phase, to the delivery vessel ([0031] of Jurcik, vaporized CVD precursor transferred from delivery line #400 to local precursor reservoir #320), receiving the chemical in the delivery vessel at a top portion of the delivery vessel in the second phase (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, precursor enters top portion of local precursor reservoir #320); changing the phase of the chemical to a third phase ([0031] of Jurcik, precursor has a phase change into liquid phase in local precursor reservoir #320); receiving the chemical on a bottom surface of the delivery vessel in the third phase (FIG. 1 of Jurcik, liquid forms at bottom of local precursor reservoir #320); wherein the third phase is liquid ([0031] of Jurcik, precursor in liquid phase in local precursor reservoir #320). While Kobrin provides motivation to modify the temperature of the chemical to change the chemical to a fourth phase, wherein the fourth phase is solid (Abstract, claim 16 of Kobrin), neither Jurcik, Kobrin nor any of the other prior art references of record teach or reasonably suggest a method as recited in claims 7 and 26 further comprising maintaining a temperature gradient within an inner volume of the delivery vessel wherein the top portion of the delivery vessel is at a higher temperature than the bottom surface.
The prior art as a whole therefore fails to teach or reasonably suggest the totality of the invention as defined by claims 7 and 25. In the absence of further prior art guidance, it would not have been obvious to arrive at the invention of claims 7 and 25 without impermissible hindsight. For the foregoing reasons, the inventions defined by claims 7 and 25 are deemed non-obvious. Claims 8 and 26 depend from claims 7 and 25, respectively, and are therefore also deemed non-obvious for the reasons set forth above with respect to claims 7 and 25.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746