DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomkins (GB 2543833 – copy attached).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Tompkins discloses (Figs. 1-4) a measurement device 10 (p. 6, lines 14-15) comprising:
a base plate 15/16 (two arms: p. 6, lines 15-17) having a top surface (any surface above the bottom edge: see Figs. 1-2 and 4) and a bottom surface (i.e. the bottom edge of the arms: see Figs. 1-2 and 4); and
a guide member 40 (i.e. leg: p. 8, line 20) disposed on the top surface of the base plate 15/16 (as shown in Figs. 1-2), wherein the guide member 40 comprises a scale 43 (p. 9, lines 3-4) configured to measure a defectiveness of a mattress (i.e. measure the sag in the mattress: p. 10, lines 6-10).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Tompkins further discloses the guide member 40 is pivotally connected to the base plate 15/16 (by way of wheel 41: p. 8, lines 20-24) and configured to move between a first position and a second position (p. 8, line 20–p. 9, line 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Tompkins discloses (Figs. 1-4) a plane of the guide member 40 is parallel to a plane of the base plate 15/16 in the first position (i.e. in the storage position: p. 8, line 20–p. 9, line 2).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Tompkins discloses (Figs. 1-4) a plane of the guide member 40 is perpendicular to a plane of the base plate 15/16 in the second position (i.e. in the extended position: p. 8, line 20–p. 9, line 2).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Tompkins discloses (Figs. 1-4) the top surface 15/16 comprises a recess 42 (i.e. in the housing 25, which is part of the top surface: see Figs. 1-2 and p. 8, line 20–p. 9, line 2).
Regarding claim 6, Tompkins discloses (Figs. 1-4) the guide member 40 is configured to be inserted inside the recess 40 in the first position (i.e. in the storage position: p. 8, line 20–p. 9, line 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Conigliaro (U.S. Pub. 2013/0125409) discloses a device that measures the sag in a mattress using a pivotable guide with a scale.
Hagiwara (JPH 11-313734 – full translation and copy attached) also discloses a device that measures the sag in a mattress using a guide with a scale.
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852