DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruggeri et al (US 2,711,383) in view of Meyer (Elemental Sulfur, Chemistry Department, University of Washington, 1975).
Ruggeri teaches a method for preparing a mixture composed essentially of diresorcinol monosulfide by reacting resorcinol and elemental sulfur in 1:1 gram -to -gram-atom ratio at a temperature of 220 0C to 2350C for approximately two hours in the presence of a hydroquinone antioxidant.
The present claims 1 and 8-13 differ from this teaching by explicitly specifying the use of the octasulfur molecule (S8), introducing an alkali or acidic catalyst instead of an antioxidant, and dividing the reaction into a distinct two-stage thermal profile consisting of an initial low-temperature coupling phase at 1500C to 2000C followed by a secondary high-temperature curing phase at 2050C to 2500C. See col. 11, lines 42-58 and col. 7, lines 49-64.
A person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention possessing the Ruggeri reference would arrive at the present claim through optimization and the application of standard chemical principles. Because ordinary commercial elemental sulfur inherently exist in the cyclooctasulfur (S8) allotropic form, specifying S8 adds no patentable novelty over Ruggeri generic sulfur reactant. Furthermore, a PHOSITA scaling Ruggeri’s process would naturally observe that the reaction mixture must transition through the 1500 C to 2000C range during initial heat-up; isolating this window into a formal stage 1 represents a routine engineering choice to cleanly initiate ring-opening and prevent the formation of the heavy polysulfide resins explicitly warned about by Ruggeri. Elevating the temperature to the claim 2050 C to 250 0C second stage directly encompasses Ruggeri’s taught 220 to 235 0C window, making the thermal profile a matter of prima facie obvious range optimization (In re Peterson). Finally, substituting Ruggeri’s antioxidant with a conventional acid or base catalyst (see Meyer conclusion and the references incorporated by Meyer) is a standard, predictable method in the art to accelerate electrophilic aromatic substitutions, completing the logical path to the claimed method.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected over Ruggeri, as the reference atomic sulfur ratio directly converts to an S8 to resorcinol molar ratio of 0.125:1 (1 mole of S atoms /8 atoms per ring =0.125 mole of S8) See col. 11, lines 42-58 and col. 7, lines 49-64.
That falls within the claimed 0.045:1 to 0.45:1 range. This overlap, combined with Ruggeri’s teachings on varying sulfur amounts to alter resinous properties, makes the claimed range an obvious result of routine experimentation, to overcome this, applicants must prove the claimed range yields critical, unexpected results, or show that Ruggeri teaches away from the invention by focusing on producing heavier polysulfides, not the monosulfide intended in the claim.
Regarding claims 4, 6, 7 and 14 while Ruggeri discloses the thermal synthesis of diresorcinol sulfide using sulfur, Meyer teaches that such reactions are highly sensitive to acids and bases(see conclusion and related references incorporated by Meyer), making the addition of standard catalysts like sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, or para toluenesulfonic acid an obvious optimization to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Ruggeri teaches baseline reaction of resorcinol and sulfur within a high-temperature threshold (220-2350C), while Meyer establishes that sulfur-organic reactions are highly sensitive to catalyst traces. A person having ordinary skill in the art would naturally recognize that transitioning a batch process through the initial 150-2000C window dictates a finite residence time, and optimizing that dwell time to ensure a specific percentage of reactant consumption (such as 80% of the sulfur) before boosting the thermal energy is a standard, conventional chemical engineering technique to maximize yields and suppress the formation of Ruggeri’s warned polysulfides resins See col. 11, lines 42-58 and col. 7, lines 49-64.
/JAFAR F PARSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692