DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a response dated 4/17/2026 in which claims 1-26, 28, 33, and 37 have been canceled, claims 27, 29-32, 34-36, 39, and 41 have been amended. Thus, the claims 27, 29-32, 34-36, and 38-41 are pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 27, line 19, Examiner reads “a command vale” to be “a command value”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27, 29-32, 34-36, 38-39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jhaveri et al., US Patent Application No. 2022/0249198.
Regarding claim 27, Jhaveri discloses a surgical robot system, comprising
a surgical robot including (Fig. 2, abstract, [0003]):
an arm device including (Fig. 2, abstract, [0003]),
an arm, to which a surgical instrument is removably attached, having a motor to move the surgical instrument attached to the arm, the surgical instrument being usable up to a predetermined usage limit and comprising a memory storing an identification information individually identifying the surgical instrument and a cumulative number of times of usage or a time length of usage of the identified surgical instrument (Fig. 2, [0003], tool identification information; [0034], [0062]),
a reader configured to read the identification information from the surgical instrument attached to the arm ([0005], NFC reader), and
a detector configured to detect an attachment of the surgical instrument to the arm ([0005], [0018]), and
an operation device including a hand controller that is operated by an operator of the surgical robot to remotely move the surgical instrument attached to the arm (Fig. 1, [0034]-[0037]), wherein
the arm is configured to drive the motor to move the surgical instrument in accordance with a command vale derived from a movement of the hand controller operated by the operator (Fig. 1, [0034]-[0037]); and
an information processing device, operably connected to the surgical robot, including a processor and a storage, the information processing device programmed to (Fig. 1, user console 120, computer system, Fig. 8, computer system 800, [0084]-]0086], [0035], a remote location in a different building, city; remotely manipulate implies placed separately, [0062], [0089]):
obtain, from the surgical robot, the identification information read by the reader from a target surgical instrument attached to the arm and store the obtained identification in the storage (Fig. 1, [0003], [0034]-[0036]),
receive, for the target surgical instrument for which the cumulative number of times of usage or the time length of usage has not reached the predetermined usage limit and detached from the arm, a disablement instruction to disable a use of the detached target surgical instrument ([0061]-[0066], tool 220 can be removed from robotic system 100), and
in response to receiving the disablement instruction, store a flag indicating that the detached target surgical instrument is unusable, in associated with the stored identification information, in the storage ([0061]-[0066], tool 220 can be removed from robotic system 100), wherein
in response to a detection of re-attachment of the detached target surgical instrument to the arm by the detector, the surgical robot queries the information processing device whether the flag is stored in associated with the identification information of the re-attached target surgical instrument in the storage ([0061]-[0066]), and
in response to the flag being stored in the storage, the surgical robot system disables a use of the re-attached target surgical instrument ([0062]-[0066], previously used/attached in the same surgical procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different disclosure of Jhaveri in order to treat a patient.
Regarding claim 29, Jhaveri discloses wherein the viewing terminal is programmed to:
display a screen to receive the disablement instruction on the display, receive the disablement instruction thorough the screen (Fig. 1, 2), and
in response to receiving the disablement instruction, send the disablement instruction to the information processing device (Fig. 1, 2, [0062]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 30, Jhaveri discloses wherein the viewing terminal is programmed to:
receive a comment regarding disablement of the use of the target surgical instrument (Fig. 1, [0062]-[0066], [0089]), and
in response to receiving the comment, send the comment to the information processing device, and the information processing device is programmed to: (Fig. 1, [0062]-[0066], [0089])
receive the comment from the viewing terminal (Fig. 1, [0062]-[0066], [0089]), and
store, for the target surgical instrument for which the cumulative number of times of usage or the time length of usage has not reached the predetermined usage limit and for which the disablement instruction has been received, the comment in association with the identification information of the target surgical instrument and the flag in the storage (Fig. 1-2, [0062]-[0066], [0089]).
Regarding claim 31, Jhaveri discloses wherein
the arm further includes an encoder configured to output a driving amount derived from a rotation of the motor ([0039], [0048]),
the surgical robot is configured to send the command value and the driving amount outputted from the encoder to the information processing device ([0039], [0048], [0089]), and
the information processing device is programmed to:
receive the command value and the driving amount from the surgical robot ([0039], [0048], [0062]-[0066], [0089]), and
judge, for the target surgical instrument for which the cumulative number of times of usage or the time length of usage has not reached the predetermined usage limit, whether the target surgical instrument is usable based on the received command value and the driving amount ([0039], [0048], [0062]-[0066], [0089]).
Regarding claim 32, Jhaveri discloses wherein the information processing device is programmed to (Fig. 1):
determine, for the target surgical instrument for which the cumulative number of times of usage or the time length of usage has not reached the predetermined usage limit, that the target surgical instrument is unusable in response to a difference between the command value and the driving amount exceeding a threshold ([0049], not working if beyond this distance; [0050], [0062]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 34, Jhaveri discloses wherein
the viewing terminal is programmed to:
display a second screen showing that the disablement instruction has been received for the target surgical instrument distinguishably from a third screen showing that the cumulative number of times of usage or the time length of usage of the target surgical instrument has reached to the predetermined usage limit (Fig. 1, [0062]-[0066], [0089]).
Regarding claim 35, Jhaveri discloses wherein
the memory of the surgical instrument further stores information indicating that the target surgical instrument is unusable (Fig. 1),
the reader of the surgical robot is configured to read information stored in the memory (Fig. 1, [0062]-[0066], [0089]), and
in response to the reader reading the information indicating that the target surgical instrument is unusable from the memory, the surgical robot outputs an alert (Fig. 1, [0062]-[0066], [0089]).
Regarding claim 36, Jhaveri discloses wherein
in response to the reader reading the information indicating that the target surgical instrument is unusable from the memory, the surgical robot prohibits an operation of the surgical robot ([0062]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 38, Jhaveri discloses wherein
the cumulative usage number of times is a cumulative number of surgeries using the target surgical instrument ([0062]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 39, Jhaveri discloses a viewing terminal, operably connected to the information processing device, including a second processor and a display, wherein
the information processing device is programmed to:
in response to receiving the disablement instruction, send information for a fourth screen showing that the target surgical instrument is unusable to the viewing terminal ([0039], [0048], [0062]-[0066], [0089]), and
in response to judging that the target surgical instrument is unusable due to the difference between the command value and the driving amount exceeding the threshold, send information for a fifth screen showing that the target surgical instrument is unusable to the viewing terminal (Fig. 1, 2, [0049], not working if beyond this distance; [0050], [0062]-[0066], [0089]) and
wherein the fourth screen is different from the fifth screen (Fig. 1, [0089]).
Regarding claim 41, Jhaveri discloses
the storage of the information processing device stores information on a plurality of surgical instruments that comprises, for each of the plurality of surgical instruments, the cumulative number of times of usage or the time length of usage of the surgical instrument, the predetermined usage limit of the surgical instrument, and the flag if the disablement instruction is received, in association with the identification information of the surgical instrument ([0003], [0062]-[0068]).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jhaveri et al., US Patent Application No. 2022/0249198 in view of Ichii et al., US Patent Application No. 2022/0409317.
Regarding claim 40, Jhaveri does not specifically disclose wherein the surgical instrument includes a forceps.
However, Ichii discloses wherein the surgical instrument includes a forceps ([0072], [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Jhaveri with the above-noted disclosure of Ichii. The motivation for combining these references would have been to treat a patient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed dated 4/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to the following reasons:
With respect to the rejection of claims 27-32, 34-40, and 41 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant states that Jhaveri fails to disclose an arrangement in which the surgical robotic system 100 queries an information processing device different from the surgical tool having the memory storing the identification information when the surgical tool is re-attached to the surgical robot.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that storing identification information in the memory of an information processing device instead of surgical tool is within the capability of a person having ordinary skills in the art. Jhaveri discloses each and every element of claim 27 and modifying different disclosure of Jhaveri would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made. The motivation for modifying the disclosure would have been to identify the surgical tool when the tool does not have enough memory space.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments regarding Ichii, Examiner notes that the office action does not rely on Ichii for disclosing the limitations of claim 27. The office action relies on Ichii for disclosing the surgical instrument includes a forceps. Thus, these arguments are moot.
Conclusion
RAJESH KHATTAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3684
/RAJESH KHATTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684