DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 20 and 27, Applicant argues the metal layer 105 is a component within each individual first reflective electrode 106, and the protection layer is a component stacked with the metal layer 105 within that same individual reflective electrode 106. Consequently, applicant further argues the metal layer 105 does not extend to, or electrically connect, the protection layers 104 of adjacent reflective electrodes 106 and accordingly Lai’s metal layer does not function as “a connection pattern layer that electrically connects a first sub electrode of the plurality of first sub electrodes overlapping the first emission layer and a second sub electrode of the plurality of first sub electrodes overlapping the second emission layer to each other”.
However, claims 20 and 27 do not specify that the connection pattern electrically connects first sub electrodes in adjacent pixels or first sub electrodes corresponding with distinct emission layers that are spaced apart from each other in a direction parallel to a top surface of a base layer (e.g. BS).
Thus, the previous rejection over Kim in view of Lai stands. See below
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20150029683 A1; hereinafter Kim) in view of Lai et al. (US 20200211477 A1; hereinafter Lai).
Regarding claim 20, FIGS. 1-2 of Kim teach a display panel (1000 ¶ [0028]) including a folding area (BA) that is folded with respect to a virtual axis (AX) and a non-folding area (NA) that is not folded with respect to the virtual axis (AX ¶ [0030]), the display panel (1000) comprising a plurality of pixels in the folding area (BP) and the non-folding area (NP ¶ [0036]).
Kim does not teach the display panel comprising: a driving element layer comprising a transistor; and the light emitting element layer comprising: a first electrode, a plurality of emission layers disposed on the first electrode, and a plurality of second electrodes disposed on the emission layers, wherein: at least one of the plurality of second electrodes is electrically connected to the transistor, the first electrode comprises: a plurality of first sub electrodes overlapping the plurality of emission layers, and a connection pattern layer that electrically connects the plurality of first sub electrodes to each other, and a density of the connection pattern layer in the folding area and a density of the connection pattern layer in the non-folding area are different from each other.
FIGS. 26, 29, and 33 of Lai teach a display panel comprising: a driving element layer (driving layer including transistor T1) comprising a transistor (T1 ¶ [0174]); and a light emitting element layer (light-emitting element layer including 200 ¶ [0174]) comprising: a first electrode (201, 108, 106 ¶ [0174],[0304]), a plurality of emission layers (202) disposed on the first electrode (201), the plurality of emission layers comprising a first emission layer (first instance of 202) and a second emission layer (second instance of 202), and a plurality of second electrodes (203) disposed on the plurality of emission layers emission layers (202 ¶ [0174]), wherein: at least one of the plurality of second electrodes (203) is electrically connected to the transistor (203 electrically connected to driving signal via 225, 109 and/or to T1 via 108, 106, 102 ¶ [0111],[0326]), the first electrode (201, 108, 106) comprises: a plurality of first sub electrodes (104) overlapping the plurality of emission layers (202 ¶ [0309]), and a connection pattern layer (105) that electrically connects a first sub electrode (first instance of 104 in FIG. 29) of the plurality of first sub electrodes (104 ¶ [0308]) overlapping the first emission layer (e.g. first instance of 202 shown in FIG. 29) and a second sub electrode (second instance of 104 in FIG. 29) of the plurality of first sub electrodes (104) overlapping the second emission layer (e.g. second instance of 202 of another pixel 200 not shown in FIG. 29) to each other, and a density of the connection pattern layer (density of 105) in a central area of the display panel (central area of display panel shown in FIG. 33) and a density of the connection pattern layer (density of 105) in an outer area (outer area of display panel shown in FIG. 33) are different from each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel taught by Kim with the display panel taught by Lai for the purpose of ensuring high light brightness and high light efficiency (¶ [0302]).
Thus, Kim in view of Lai teaches the density of the connection pattern layer (density of 105 of Lai) in the folding area (BA of Kim) and the density of the connection pattern layer (density of 105 of Lai) in the non-folding area (NA of Kim) are different from each other.
Regarding claim 27, FIGS. 1-2 of Kim teach a display panel (1000 ¶ [0028]) including a folding area (BA) that is folded with respect to a virtual axis (AX) and a non-folding area (NA) that is not folded with respect to the virtual axis (AX ¶ [0030]), the display panel (1000) comprising a plurality of pixels in the folding area (BP) and the non-folding area (NP ¶ [0036]).
Kim does not teach the display panel comprising: a driving element layer comprising a transistor; and a light emitting element layer comprising: a first electrode, a plurality of emission layers disposed on the first electrode, and a plurality of second electrodes disposed on the emission layers, wherein: each of the plurality of second electrodes is electrically connected to the transistor, the first electrode comprises: a plurality of first sub electrodes overlapping the plurality of emission layers, and a connection pattern layer that electrically connects the first sub electrodes to each other, the connection pattern layer comprises: a plurality of first sub connection parts having a multilayer structure; and a plurality of second sub connection parts having a single-layer structure, the plurality of first sub connection parts are disposed in the non-folding area, and the plurality of second sub connection parts are disposed in the folding area.
FIGS. 26, 29, and 33 of Lai teach a display panel comprising: a driving element layer (driving layer including transistor T1) comprising a transistor (T1 ¶ [0174]); and a light emitting element layer (light-emitting element layer including 200 ¶ [0174]) comprising: a first electrode (201, 108, 106, 102s ¶ [0174],[0304], [0307],[0310]), a plurality of emission layers (202) disposed on the first electrode (202 on 201, 108, 106, 102s), the plurality of emission layers (202) comprising a first emission layer (first instance of 202) and a second emission layer (second instance of 202), and a plurality of second electrodes (203) disposed on the plurality of emission layers (202 ¶ [0174]), wherein: each of the plurality of second electrodes (203) is electrically connected to the transistor (203 electrically connected to driving signal via 225, 109 and/or to T1 via 108, 106, 102 ¶ [0111],[0326]), the first electrode (201, 108, 106, 102s) comprises: a plurality of first sub electrodes (104) overlapping the plurality of emission layers (202 ¶ [0309]), and a connection pattern layer (105, 102s) that electrically connects a first sub electrode (first instance of 104 in FIG. 29 ¶ [0308]) of the plurality of first sub electrodes (104) overlapping the first emission layer (e.g. first instance of 202 shown in FIG. 29) and a second sub electrode (second instance of 104 in FIG. 29) of the plurality of first sub electrodes (104) overlapping the second emission layer (e.g. second instance of 202 of another pixel 200 not shown in FIG. 29) to each other, the connection pattern layer (105, 102s) comprises: a plurality of first sub connection parts (102s) having a multilayer structure (multilayer structure of 102s ¶ [0310]); and a plurality of second sub connection parts (105) having a single-layer structure (single-layer structure of 105 ¶ [0308]), the plurality of first sub connection parts (102s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel taught by Kim with the display panel taught by Lai for the purpose of ensuring high light brightness and high light efficiency (¶ [0302]).
Thus, Kim in view of Lai teaches the plurality of first sub connection parts (102s of Lai) are disposed in the non-folding area (NA of Kim), and the plurality of second sub connection parts (105 of Lai) are disposed in the folding area (BA of Kim).
Regarding claim 28, Kim as modified teaches the display panel of claim 27, and FIGS. 26 and 29 of Lai further teach wherein: each of the plurality of first sub connection parts (102s) comprises: a first conductive layer (bottom instance of 104 in 102s); a metal layer (105 in 102s) disposed on the first conductive layer (bottommost instance of 104 in 102s); and a second conductive layer (top instance of 104 in 102s) disposed on the metal layer (105 in 102s), and each of the plurality of second sub connection parts (105 in 106) comprises the metal layer (¶ [0308],[0310]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 1 recites a display panel comprising: a base layer bendable with respect to a virtual axis; a driving element layer comprising a transistor; and a light emitting element layer comprising: a first electrode, a plurality of emission layers disposed on the first electrode, and a plurality of second electrodes disposed on the plurality of emission layers, wherein: at least one of the plurality of second electrodes is electrically connected to the transistor, the first electrode comprises: a plurality of first sub electrodes overlapping the plurality of emission layers, and a connection pattern layer that electrically connects the first sub electrodes to each other, the connection pattern layer comprises: a first connection pattern layer that electrically connects the plurality of first sub electrodes to each other in a first direction parallel to the virtual axis; and a second connection pattern layer that electrically connects the plurality of first sub electrodes to each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and a density of the first connection pattern layer is greater than a density of the second connection pattern layer.
FIGS. 1-2 of Kim teach a display panel (1000 ¶ [0028]) including a folding area (BA) that is folded with respect to a virtual axis (AX) and a non-folding area (NA) that is not folded with respect to the virtual axis (AX ¶ [0030]), the display panel (1000) comprising a plurality of pixels in the folding area (BP) and the non-folding area (NP ¶ [0036]).
FIGS. 26, 29, and 33 of Lai teach a display panel comprising: a driving element layer (driving layer including transistor T1) comprising a transistor (T1 ¶ [0174]); and a light emitting element layer (light-emitting element layer including 200 ¶ [0174]) comprising: a first electrode (201, 108, 106 ¶ [0174],[0304]), a plurality of emission layers (202) disposed on the first electrode (201), and a plurality of second electrodes (203) disposed on the emission layers (202 ¶ [0174]), wherein: at least one of the plurality of second electrodes (203) is electrically connected to the transistor (203 electrically connected to driving signal via 225, 109 and/or to T1 via 108, 106, 102 ¶ [0111],[0326]), the first electrode (201, 108, 106) comprises: a plurality of first sub electrodes (104) overlapping the plurality of emission layers (202 ¶ [0309]), and a connection pattern layer (105) that electrically connects the plurality of first sub electrodes (104 ¶ [0308]) to each other, and a density of the connection pattern layer (density of 105) in a central area of the display panel (central area of display panel shown in FIG. 33) and a density of the connection pattern layer (density of 105) in an outer area (outer area of display panel shown in FIG. 33) are different from each other.
Thus, Kim in view of Lai teaches the density of the connection pattern layer (density of 105 of Lai) in the folding area (BA of Kim) and the density of the connection pattern layer (density of 105 of Lai) in the non-folding area (NA of Kim) are different from each other.
However, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest “a density of the first connection pattern layer is greater than a density of the second connection pattern layer” together with all the limitations of claim 1 as claimed. Claims 2-19 are allowable insofar as they depend upon and require all the limitations of claim 1.
Claims 21-26 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 21 recites the display panel of claim 20, wherein the density of the connection pattern layer in the folding area decreases as being closer to the virtual axis.
Kim in view of Lai teaches the display panel of claim 20.
However, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest “wherein the density of the connection pattern layer in the folding area decreases as being closer to the virtual axis” together with all the limitations of claims 21 and 20 as claimed.
Claim 22 recites the display panel of claim 20, wherein the connection pattern layer comprises: a plurality of first connection parts that electrically connect the first sub electrodes, which are adjacent to each other in a first direction parallel to the virtual axis, to each other; and a plurality of second connection parts that electrically connect the first sub electrodes, which are adjacent to each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, to each other.
Kim in view of Lai teaches the display panel of claim 20.
However, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest “wherein the connection pattern layer comprises: a plurality of first connection parts that electrically connect the first sub electrodes, which are adjacent to each other in a first direction parallel to the virtual axis, to each other; and a plurality of second connection parts that electrically connect the first sub electrodes, which are adjacent to each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, to each other” together with all the limitations of claims 22 and 20 as claimed. Claims 23-26 contain allowable subject matter insofar as they depend upon and require all the limitations of claims 22 and 20.
Claim 29 recites the display panel of claim 27, wherein a number of the plurality of second sub connection parts disposed in a direction parallel to the virtual axis increases as being closer to the virtual axis.
Kim in view of Lai teaches the display panel of claim 27.
However, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest “wherein a number of the plurality of second sub connection parts disposed in a direction parallel to the virtual axis increases as being closer to the virtual axis” together with all the limitations of claims 27 and 29 as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nora T. Nix/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891