DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yaroshchuk et al., U.S. Patent Number 11,579,511 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Yaroshchuk discloses a passthrough virtual reality display system comprising: a camera configured to generate a real-world image by shooting a front (col. 4, line 38, one or more cameras that captures images); a display panel configured to display the real-world image generated by the camera (col. 4, lines 9-10, may include one or more electronic display elements of an electronic display), and the display panel including missed pixels configured to directly transmit incident light therethrough while displaying the real world image generated by the cameras (col. 4, lines 20-23, when the HMD acts as an augmented reality (AR) or a mixed reality (MR) device, portions of the HMD and its internal components may be at least partially transparent, which Examiner interprets as having some pixels missed); and a direct view image transmission unit configured to, when power is not applied, transmit the real-world direct view image entering from the front to the display panel (col. 4, lines 41-45, dimming element may dynamically adjust the transmittance of real-world objects viewed through the HMD, thereby switching the HMD between a VR device and an AR device or between a VR device and a MR device, Examiner interprets the AR or MR device as having a transmitted real-world direct view; col. 6, lines 60-64, the active lens may be an active or switchable liquid crystal (LC) lens that is switchable between a lens switched-on state with non-zero optical power of d and a switched-off state with zero optical power), and when the power is applied, block the real-world direct view image (290, adaptive dimming system; col. 4, lines 40-46, adaptive diming system which includes a dimming element; diming element may dynamically adjust the transmittance of the real-world objects view through the HMD, thereby switching the HMD between a VR device and an AR device or between a VR device and a MR device, Examiner interprets the adaptive dimming system as the direct view transmission unit in that it functions to transmit a real world view or a virtual reality, which Examiner interprets as a blocked real world view).
Regarding claim 2, Yaroshchuk discloses wherein the display panel has a center region where some pixels are missed (col. 4, lines 21-23, portion of the HMD and its internal components may be at least partially transparent; figure 3A, center region is show as consistent in the off and on position therefor the center would be missed pixels, in that figure 3A illustrates optical power of the switched on LC lens and switched off power).
Regarding claim 3, Yaroshchuk discloses wherein some missed pixels allow incident light to pass therethrough as it is (col. 10, lines 64-67, the PBP LC lens may reverse the handedness of circularly polarized light passing through the PBP LC lens in addition to focusing/defocusing the incident light).
Regarding claim 6, Yaroshchuk discloses wherein the direct view image transmission unit comprises: a first polarizer configured to allow only light of a first polarization of the incident real-world direct view image to pass therethrough; a polarization switcher positioned between the first polarizer and a second polarizer, and configured to, when power is not applied, change the light of the first polarization entering from the first polarizer to a second polarization by rotating by 90 degrees; and the second polarizer configured to allow only light of the second polarization to pass therethrough
(col. 13, lines 29-39, in some embodiments, for AR/MR/ HMD applications, the multifocal block may further comprise a second adaptive lens assembly which compensates the first adaptive lens assembly; the second adaptive lens assembly may include a first lens and a second lens arranged in optical series, and at least one of the first lens and the second lens may be an active LC lens that is switchable between a lens switched-on state with non-zero optical power and a lens switched-off state with zero optical power; col. 13, lines 53—59, each lens in the first adaptive lens assembly and the second adaptive lens assembly may be a linear polarization dependent or polarization independent active LC lens; polarization of light does not usually change after transmitting thorough linear polarization dependent LC lens and, thus, it is easy to stack multiple lenses with unchanged polarization).
Regarding claim 7, Yaroshchuk discloses wherein the polarization switcher is configured to, when power is applied, allow the light of the first polarization entering from the first polarizer to pass therethrough as it is (col. 13, lines 30-33, second adaptive lens assembly, such that real-world object viewed through the HMD may stay unaltered; col. 13, lines 53—59, each lens in the first adaptive lens assembly and the second adaptive lens assembly may be a linear polarization dependent or polarization independent active LC lens).
Regarding claim 8, Yaroshchuk discloses wherein the polarization switcher is an LC element (col. 6, lines 60-61, the active lens may be an active or switchable liquid crystal (LC) lens).
Regarding claim 9, Yaroshchuk discloses further comprising: a first lens having a focal distance of f and disposed between a user and the display panel; and a second lens having a focal distance of -f and disposed at a front portion of the direct view image transmission unit (col. 10, lines 60-63, the additive state may add optical power to the system (i.e., have a positive focus of ‘f’), and the subtractive state may subtract optical power from the system (i.e., have a negative focus of ‘−f’).
Regarding claims 10 and 12-17, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claim 1-7, respectively. Yaroshchuk further discloses col. 24, lines 20-27, the process may include different or additional steps than those described.
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected based upon similar rational as above claim 6. Yaroshchuk further discloses a passthrough virtual reality display system (HMD 805).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art cited Yaroshchuk fails to disclose the display panel including missed pixels configured to directly transmit incident real-world light therethrough while display the real-world image generated by the camera. Examiner responds Yaroshchuk discloses col. 6, lines 60-64, the active lens may be an active or switchable liquid crystal (LC) lens that is switchable between a lens switched-on state with non-zero optical power of d and a switched-off state; 290, adaptive dimming system; col. 4, lines 40-46, adaptive diming system which includes a dimming element; diming element may dynamically adjust the transmittance of the real-world objects view through the HMD. It is the Examiner position that by not providing power to the pixels, i.e. in a switched off state, the pixels are missed and not active. Applicant argues Yaroshchuk relies on active electrical control of optical element to enable or disable transparency. Examiner responds Applicant’s claim language is interpreted as relying on power control as well to enable or disable the real-world view or a blocked view. Applicant argues Yaroshchuk discloses the default state is an inactive display that does not ensure passthrough visibility. Examiner responds Yaroshchuk discloses col. 4, lines 41-45, dimming element may dynamically adjust the transmittance of real-world objects viewed through the HMD.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peng et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/00318706 A1
Peng discloses paragraph 0052, display apparatus may include a camera; paragraph 0083, DCS may be configured to activate or deactivate one or more fiducial pixels, or groupings of such pixels, prior to the image capture by the camera; paragraph 0112, an active polarization grating that is switchable between an ON state and an OFF state, and which operates as a simple transmissive element in one of these states; paragraph 0112, virtual pixel may be formed half-way between the two virtual pixels by applying a suitable voltage to the active LC PBP grating so that it does not diffract incident light.
Sztuk et al., U.S. Patent Number 11,435,593 B2
Sztuk discloses col. 4, lines 44-55, display may include a plurality of display regions (e.g., pixels or subpixels) that are individually controllable; display regions may be transparent or partially transparent, at least when not displaying an image or video, such that ambient light from a user’s real-world environment is able to pass through the display region; may include a pass-through subsystem for controlling a light-blocking device capable of selectively blocking ambient light; col. 4, line 65 – col. 5, line , blocking regions that are individually addressable and switchable between at least a blocking state (e.g., an opaque state or a shuttered state) in which light is blocked from passing through the region and a pass-through state (e.g., a transparent state or an un shuttered state) in which light is allowed to pass through the region. Sztuk discloses col. 5, lines 23-30, in a dark state a pixel may be generally opaque and block light from a portion of the local environment from reaching the user’s view; in a light state, the pixel may be relatively transparent, allowing light from the local environment to pass through the pixel and reach the user’s view; in some examples, a blocking element may include pixels with multiple available state options.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619