DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10-12, 14, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 20200389856 A1) in view of Caporal Del Barrio et al. (US 20220264481 A1) hereinafter referred as Caporal).
Regarding claim 1, Yao, teaches a safety regulation verification method for a mobile device (Fig. 2, test device), the mobile device comprising an antenna module, the safety regulation verification method comprising: measuring a first transmitting power of the antenna module at a (Fig. 2B and Pars. 24, 61, test equipment receives device transmissions from a test device at distance (e.g., a distance from a proximity sensor)); obtaining a power density design target contour based on the first transmitting power at a predetermined distance from the mobile device (Pars. 62-63, time-averaged power density (power density design target contour)) on a chosen surface (Fig. 3, “a surface” at a plane 360 and Par. 98); obtaining a distance sensing plane coverage of the proximity sensor at the predetermined distance from the mobile device on the chosen surface (Figs. 2B and Pars. 64, 88-89, power density limit/regulatory limit) (distance sensing plane coverage)); comparing whether the distance sensing plane coverage surrounds the power density design target contour (Fig. 2B:258); and when the distance sensing plane coverage of the proximity sensor fails to surround the power density design target contour (Fig. 2B and Pars. 104-105, If the time-averaged power density is greater than power density limit (fail)), adjusting the first transmitting power as a second transmitting power until the distance sensing plane coverage surrounds the power density design target contour (Pars. 88-89).
However, Yao does not specifically teach the distance as taught above is “a trigger distance”.
Caporal teaches the power density limits corresponding to different distances (Fig. 9 and Pars. 33-36, 61). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Nielsen into Yao to detect power exposure event.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Yao teaches previous claim. The modified Yao further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein after the step of adjusting the first transmitting power as the second transmitting power, determining a transmitting power upper limit based on the second transmitting power, and when the distance sensing plane coverage surrounds the power density design target contour, determining the transmitting power upper limit based on the first transmitting power (Fig. 2B:260 and Pars. 64-66, maximum transmission power limit P.sub.max at T.sub.0+1).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Yao teaches previous claim. The modified further teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the transmitting power upper limit is determined as being equal to the first transmitting power or the second transmitting power (Fig. 2B: 258, time-averaged power density is less than or equal to a power density limit, and time-averaged power density greater than the transmission power limit & Note: it is a design choice whether to attach the equality to the “less than” side or to the “greater than” side, since the overall outcome is the same).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Yao teaches previous claim. The modified Yao further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the power density design target contour is a contour including a plurality of points on the chosen surface equal to a power density design target (Fig. 3B and Par. 89, all points of plane 360 (power density design target)).
Regarding claims 10-12, method of claims 10-12 is performed by the method of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1 (method) for the method of claims 10-12.
Regarding claim 14, method of claim 14 is performed by the method of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1 (method) for the method of claim 14.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Yao teaches previous claim. The modified Yao further teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein when the antenna is at the first transmitting power, the power density obtained on a plane at the trigger distance is less than or equal to a power density design target (Par. 77).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Yao teaches previous claim. The modified Yao further teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the power density design target contour is a contour including a plurality of points on the chosen surface equal to a power density design target (Fig. 3B and Par. 78).
Regarding claim 20, method of claim 20 is performed by the method of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1 (method) for the method of claim 20.
Claims 3, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 20200389856 A1) in view of Caporal Del Barrio et al. (US 20220264481 A1) hereinafter referred as Caporal) and further in view of Nielsen et al. (US 20230232334 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Yao teaches previous claim.
However, the modified Yao does not teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the step of adjusting the first transmitting power comprises: directly reducing the first transmitting power or reducing the trigger distance to reduce the first transmitting power.
Nielsen teaches the energy absorbed by the human body increases as a function of decreasing distance to the UE, such that the UE (directly) reduces its output power if the user gets in close vicinity of the antenna (Pars. 104, 138). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Nielsen into the modified Yao to protect the user from excessive radiation.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Yao teaches previous claim. The modified Yao further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein when the antenna is at the first transmitting power, a maximum power density obtained on a plane (Fig. 3 and Pars. 36, 57).
It is very well-known that the power exposure increase as the distance to the UE decreases. Therefore, it is obvious the maximum power density obtained as taught above is “at the trigger distance is less than or equal to a power density design target” (i.e. distance less than threshold values) as evidence by Nielsen (Pars. 104, 138). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Nielsen into the modified Yao to effectively protect the user from excessive radiation.
Regarding claim 13, method of claim 13 is performed by the method of claim 3. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 3 (method) for the method of claim 13.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 20200389856 A1) in view of Caporal Del Barrio et al. (US 20220264481 A1) hereinafter referred as Caporal) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20220263531 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Yao teaches previous claim.
However, the modified Yao fails to mention the method according to claim 1, wherein the proximity sensor is integrated in the antenna module, or the proximity sensor is external to the antenna module and adjacent to the antenna module.
Chen teaches the proximity sensor 150 is integrated in the antenna module 100 (Fig. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Chen into the modified Yao to reduce in the space (i.e., volume) needed for the case of the terminal device.
Regarding claim 15, method of claim 15 is performed by the method of claim 5. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 5 (method) for the method of claim 15.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 20200389856 A1) in view of Caporal Del Barrio et al. (US 20220264481 A1) hereinafter referred as Caporal) and further in view of Meshkati et al. (US 20220386249 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Yao teaches previous claim. The modified further teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein further comprising: obtaining another power density design target contour at the determined distance from the mobile device (Pars. 62-63, time-averaged power density (power density design target contour)) on another chosen surface (Fig. 3 and Pars. 56, 98, moving to a next point (another chosen surface)); obtaining another distance sensing plane coverage of the proximity sensor at the predetermined distance from mobile device on the another chosen surface (Figs. 2B and Par. 64, transmission power limit/regulatory limit) (distance sensing plane coverage)); comparing the another distance sensing plane coverage and the another power density design target contour on the another chosen surface (Fig. 2B:258); determining another transmitting power upper limit according to the comparing result (Fig. 2B:260).
However, the modified Yao further does not teach the method further comprising: selecting the smallest value from the transmitting power upper limit and another transmitting power upper limit as a final transmitting power upper limit.
Meshkati teaches the UE 120 selects the lowest transmit power level based at least in part on the energy usage by the UE 120 over the previous time (Fig. 7 and Pars. 89-90, 130). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Meshkati into Yao to effectively ensure the user is protected from excessive radiation.
Regarding claim 16, method of claim 16 is performed by the method of claim 6. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 6 (method) for the method of claim 16.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 20200389856 A1) in view of Caporal Del Barrio et al. (US 20220264481 A1) hereinafter referred as Caporal) and further in view of Ruscitto et al. (US 20110019775 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Yao teaches previous claim. The modified Yao further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the distance sensing plane coverage of the proximity sensor is (Fig. 3B and Pars. 34-36, 78-79, Power density is measured across the plane 360 in every direction).
Even though the shape as shown in figure 3B as indicated above is not “a closed shape”. However, when the proximity sensor detects nearby objects surrounding the device, the power density is measured in every direction around the device (i.e. closed shape) as evidence by Ruscitto (Par. 110). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Ruscitto into the modified Yao to ensure the signals are detected from all possible directions.
Regarding claim 19, method of claim 19 is performed by the method of claim 9. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 9 (method) for the method of claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hannigan et al. US 20180323657 A1 [Line 16 of Par. 64]…In an embodiment, the bounding surface is a spatial boundary or envelope where at the bounding surface the power density is above a SAR or other safety criterion. In an embodiment, the bounding surface is a spatial boundary or envelope where at the bounding surface the power density outside the bounding surface is below a SAR or other safety criterion. In an embodiment, the power density outside of the bounding surface never exceeds a specified value of power density. In this embodiment, this assures that the system would never exceed a prescribed absolute power density level outside of the bounding surface, and thus the system will be in compliance with a regulation limiting power density. For example, FIG. 4 illustrates an example where the power density outside the bounding surface 214B does not exceed a specified value, such as a SAR. For example, the power density may be expressed in cm2 or cm3.
Bao et al. US 20240302480 A1 (Line 8 of Par. 128, The recipient UE 901 may only negotiate with the donor UE 902 (and/or other donor UE) if the donor UE 902 has been determined to be acceptably close to the recipient UE 901 (e.g., within a threshold distance, within communication range of the recipient UE 901 with transmit power of the recipient UE 901 of a threshold value or less, etc.)).
Shi et al. US 20230093016 A1[last 3 lines or 0274] when a distance between the second device and the first device is less than or equal to a preset distance, receive the first Wi-Fi sensing frame, where the preset distance is a distance covered by a wireless transmit power of the first antenna in operation. [0411]……A network coverage area of the first antenna is small when the first antenna works. It may be understood that the network coverage area of the first antenna is safe. To be specific, when the mobile phone can receive a signal transmitted by the first antenna, a distance between the mobile phone and the intelligent desk lamp is a safe distance. Because the intelligent desk lamp sends the Wi-Fi sensing frame through the first antenna, if the mobile phone is to receive the Wi-Fi sensing frame sent by the intelligent desk lamp, the mobile phone needs to be within a safe distance from the intelligent desk lamp (for example, a distance between the mobile phone and the intelligent desk lamp is less than 5 cm).
Ramadan et al. US 20240204815 A1 [0090] To comply with the MPE limit, the wireless devices 205 and 215 may determine a maximum transmission power for a transmission in a next or subsequent time interval (e.g., a TTI) based on an available power density budget. [0178] At 1110, the method may include selecting, from among a set of multiple beams, a beam and a corresponding transmit power, where the beam and the transmit power are selected based on the detection of the one or more locations at which the human tissue is present within the coverage area of the sensor and a radio frequency coverage area of the beam.
Sridharan et al. US 20240056978 A1 [0110] In the example of Equation 1, the parameter PD may represent a power density limit, which may be provided in units of watts per square centimeter based on the MPE threshold. R may represent a radius of an area of power radiated from the UE 115-a. [0112] The SAR.sub.i parameter may represent an instantaneous SAR measurement and the SAR.sub.lim parameter may represent a maximum limit of SAR measurement. The PD.sub.i parameter may represent an instantaneous power density measurement and the PD.sub.lim parameter may represent a maximum limit of power density measurement.
/Cindy Trandai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648
12/18/2025