DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: please also insert the foreign publication number and date of the foreign application as well in the Cross-Reference to Related Applications section.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 14, 18, 20 and any of their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the membrane filtration apparatuses” on line 2. It is not clear if there is already a plurality of these “membrane filtration apparatuses” based on Claim 9, which recites only “a membrane filtration apparatus”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the membrane filtration apparatuses” on line 2. It is not clear if there is already a plurality of these “membrane filtration apparatuses” based on Claim 9, which recites only “a membrane filtration apparatus”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the supporting frame”. However, it is unclear if this limitation is for each “membrane filtration apparatus”, or for a certain one in particular.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “a predetermined space”. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as “a predetermined space” as in Claim 1, or if this is a different “predetermined space”. Examiner interprets it to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, 19 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., (“Lee”, US 2013/0199977), in view of Ho et al., (“Ho”, US 2014/0097132).
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 19 & 20 is directed to a water treatment system, an apparatus type invention group.
Regarding Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 19 & 20, Lee discloses a water treatment system comprising: a membrane unit for filtration of wastewater, (Hollow fiber membrane and container, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0038], [0053], Lee), wherein at least one selected from a group consisting of a biological treatment unit and the membrane unit comprises a plurality of quorum quenching media confined in a predetermined space therein, (See paragraph [0052] & [0053], Lee).
Lee does not explicitly disclose the biological treatment unit for biological treatment of wastewater, the membrane unit for filtration of the wastewater treated by the biological treatment unit.
Ho discloses the biological treatment unit for biological treatment of wastewater, (Biological Treatment Train 50, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0023], Ho), the membrane unit for filtration of the wastewater treated by the biological treatment unit, (Membrane Tank 60, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0023], Ho). Additional features of this embodiment are included as part of the overall combination and claim mapped to in the Additional Disclosures section below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective 1filing date of the invention to have modified the water treatment system of Lee by incorporating the biological treatment unit for biological treatment of wastewater, the membrane unit for filtration of the wastewater treated by the biological treatment unit as in Ho because “MBR [membrane bioreactor] systems”, (See paragraph [0005], Ho), like those of Lee, (See paragraph [0002], Lee), “utilize biological treatment processes (e.g. activated sludge processes) to remove contaminants from wastewater” such that “several modified activated sludge processes can be used alone or in series for improved removal of nutrients in the MBR”, (See paragraph [0005], Ho).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: The water treatment system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of quorum quenching media is confined in the predetermined space by means of a mesh-shaped container, (Porous Container, Fig. 1b, 1d, See paragraph [0035], [0043], Lee).
Claim 3: The water treatment system according to claim 1, wherein each of the quorum quenching media comprises: a carrier; and quorum quenching microbes on the carrier, (See paragraph [0031], [0052], Lee).
Claim 4: The water treatment system according to claim 3, wherein the carrier is a hydrogel of a three-dimensional reticulated structure comprising at least one selected from a group consisting of alginate, polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol, and polyurethane, (See paragraph [0018], [0026], [0027], Lee).
Claim 5: The water treatment system according to claim 1, wherein the membrane unit comprises: a tank into which the wastewater treated by the biological treatment unit is introduced, (Tank holding Membrane Unit, See Figure 4, Lee); and at least one membrane filtration apparatus configured to perform filtration in a state in which at least a part of the membrane filtration apparatus is submerged in the wastewater introduced into the tank, (Hollow fibers underwater in Tank, See Figure 4, Lee).
Claim 6: The water treatment system according to claim 5, wherein the membrane unit further comprises a mesh-shaped container mounted on the tank such that at least a part of the mesh-shaped container is submerged in the wastewater, (Tank holding “microorganism-immobilized container’ which is underwater, See Figure 4, Lee), at least a portion of the quorum quenching media are disposed in the mesh-shaped container, and the quorum quenching media have a particle size greater than a pore size of the mesh-shaped container, (See paragraph [0023], Lee).
Claim 8: The water treatment system according to claim 5, wherein the membrane unit further comprises a driving unit for reciprocating motion of the membrane filtration apparatus, (Rotor 100 and Shaft 110, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0024], Ho; and Motor 103/Pulley 102/Shaft 110, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0025], Ho).
Claim 9: The water treatment system according to claim 8, wherein the membrane unit further comprises: a first rail configured to reciprocate together with the membrane filtration apparatus, (Sliding Frame 90, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0025], Ho); a second rail configured to guide the reciprocating motion of the membrane filtration apparatus, (Sliding Rail 92, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0025], Ho); and a free-roller located between the first and second rails, the free-roller being movable relative to both the first and second rails, (Linear Bearing/Pillow Block 91 between Rail 92/Frame 90, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0025], Ho).
Claim 19: The water treatment system according to claim 1, wherein the biological treatment unit comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of an anoxic tank, an anaerobic tank, and an aerobic tank, (Treatment Train 50, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0023], Ho).
Claim 20: The water treatment system according to claim 19, wherein the biological treatment unit comprises the aerobic tank, (Treatment Train 50, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0023], Ho), and at least a portion of the quorum quenching media are confined in a predetermined space of at least one selected from the group consisting of the anoxic tank, the anaerobic tank, and the aerobic tank, (Membrane Bioreactor in Biological Treatment Unit, See Figure 4, Lee).
Claim(s) 7, 10, 12-14, 16 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., (“Lee”, US 2013/0199977), in view of Ho et al., (“Ho”, US 2014/0097132), in further view of Lee, (“Lee 2”, US 2018/0147539).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Lee discloses the water treatment system according to claim 5, with a container that is a mesh-shaped container, at least a portion of the quorum quenching media are disposed in the mesh-shaped container, (See paragraph [0023], Lee), the quorum quenching media have a particle size greater than a pore size of the mesh-shaped container, (See paragraph [0023], Lee), but does not disclose wherein the membrane filtration apparatus comprises: a skid frame; a plurality of membrane modules installed in the skid frame; and at least one quorum quenching module installed in the skid frame, the quorum quenching module comprises: upper and lower headers detachably coupled to the skid frame; and the mesh-shaped container disposed between the upper and lower headers, both ends of the mesh-shaped container being coupled to the upper and lower headers, respectively.
Modified Lee does not disclose a skid frame; a plurality of membrane modules installed in the skid frame; and at least one quorum quenching module installed in the skid frame, the quorum quenching module comprises: upper and lower headers detachably coupled to the skid frame; and the mesh-shaped container disposed between the upper and lower headers, both ends of the mesh-shaped container being coupled to the upper and lower headers, respectively.
Lee 2 discloses wherein the membrane filtration apparatus comprises: a skid frame, (Support Frame 600, See Figures 1 & 10, See paragraph [0083], [0088], Lee 2); a plurality of membrane modules installed in the skid frame; and at least one quorum quenching module installed in the skid frame, the quorum quenching module comprises: upper and lower headers detachably coupled to the skid frame; and the container disposed between the upper and lower headers, both ends of the container being coupled to the upper and lower headers, respectively, (Separation Membrane Module 700 with Upper Frame 71 and Lower Frame 720, multiple Modules 700 demonstrated within each Support Frame 600, (one of which is the container), See Figures 1 & 22, See paragraphs [0154]-[0159], [0161], Lee 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the water treatment system of modified Lee by incorporating a skid frame; a plurality of membrane modules installed in the skid frame; and at least one quorum quenching module installed in the skid frame, the quorum quenching module comprises: upper and lower headers detachably coupled to the skid frame; and the mesh-shaped container disposed between the upper and lower headers, both ends of the mesh-shaped container being coupled to the upper and lower headers, respectively as in Lee 2 in order to “improve the filtration ability by forming the separation membrane more densely while reducing or preventing water from stagnating between the separation membrane modules”, (See paragraph [0183], Lee 2), which results in “effectively removing foreign matters attached to a separation membrane with less energy by reciprocating the separation membrane and controlling a spaced distance for anti-shock within facilities”, (See paragraph [0014], Lee 2).
Regarding Claims 10, 12 & 13, modified Lee discloses the water treatment system according to claim 9, the driving unit is configured to implement the reciprocating motion of the membrane filtration apparatuses through a frame, (Rotor 100 and Shaft 110, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0024], Ho; and Motor 103/Pulley 102/Shaft 110, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0025], Ho), but does not disclose wherein the membrane unit comprises a plurality of the membrane filtration apparatuses, the membrane unit further comprises the frame that is a reciprocating frame to which the plurality of membrane filtration apparatuses are individually coupled, the reciprocating frame has a bottom surface that faces the free-roller, and the first rail is mounted on the bottom surface of the reciprocating frame.
Lee 2 discloses wherein the membrane unit comprises a plurality of the membrane filtration apparatuses, the membrane unit further comprises a reciprocating frame to which the plurality of membrane filtration apparatuses are individually coupled, (Reciprocating Frame 250 to which Support Frames 600 are coupled, See Figure 30, See paragraph [0256], [0257], Lee 2; a membrane support frame 600 may be individually removed/replaced (hence detachable), the reciprocating frame has a bottom surface that faces the free-roller, (Reciprocating Frame 250 has Rolling Wheel 514 on underside, See Figure 5, see paragraph [0108], Lee 2), and the first rail is mounted on the bottom surface of the reciprocating frame, (Guide Rail 511 under Reciprocating Frame 250, See Figure 6, See paragraphs [0107] & [0108], Lee 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the water treatment system of modified Lee by incorporating wherein the membrane unit comprises a plurality of the membrane filtration apparatuses, the membrane unit further comprises a reciprocating frame to which the plurality of membrane filtration apparatuses are individually coupled, the driving unit is configured to implement the reciprocating motion of the membrane filtration apparatuses through the reciprocating frame, the reciprocating frame has a bottom surface that faces the free-roller, and the first rail is mounted on the bottom surface of the reciprocating frame as in Lee 2 in order to “improve the filtration ability by forming the separation membrane more densely while reducing or preventing water from stagnating between the separation membrane modules”, (See paragraph [0183], Lee 2), which results in “effectively removing foreign matters attached to a separation membrane with less energy by reciprocating the separation membrane and controlling a spaced distance for anti-shock within facilities”, (See paragraph [0014], Lee 2).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 12: The water treatment system according to claim 10, wherein the membrane unit further comprises a guide frame provided on a top of the tank, (Reciprocating Frame 250, See Figure 1, 16A/B, See paragraph [0089], [0090], Lee 2), the guide frame has a top surface that faces the free-roller, (Reciprocating Frame 250 has Moving Wheel 823 on top, See Figure 1,18, See paragraph [0105], [0216], Lee 2), and the second rail is mounted on the top surface of the guide frame, (Moving Rail 825 on Reciprocating Frame 250, See Figure 18, See paragraph [0213]-[0216], Lee 2).
Claim 13: The water treatment system according to claim 12, wherein the membrane unit further comprises a pivot member having a central hole, (Rolling member 525 with through hole 523a, See Figure 7A/7B, See paragraphs [0112]-[0114], Lee 2), a first end of the pivot member is pivotably coupled to the guide frame, (Rolling Member 525 coupled to Reciprocating Frame 250, See Figure 7A/7B, See paragraphs [0112]-[0114], Lee 2), a second end of the pivot member is a two-pronged end having first and second fingers, (Rolling Member 525 with Left/Right Downward Extending portions having through hole 523a See Figure 7A/7B, See paragraphs [0112]-[0114], Lee 2), a rotating shaft connected to a rotation axis of the free-roller extends through the central hole of the pivot member, (Rotation Shaft 524a, See Figure 7A/7B, See paragraph [0113], Lee 2), and a protrusion provided at the reciprocating frame is disposed in a gap between the first and second fingers, (Support Beam 824 between Moving Wheels 823, See Figure 18, See paragraph [0216], Lee).
Regarding Claims 14, 16 & 17, modified Lee discloses the water treatment system according to claim 9, but does not disclose wherein the membrane unit comprises a plurality of the membrane filtration apparatuses, each of the membrane filtration apparatuses comprises: a skid frame; and a plurality of membrane modules installed in the skid frame, the skid frame comprises: a supporting frame; a lower horizontal frame; an upper horizontal frame located between the supporting frame and the lower horizontal frame; and a plurality of vertical members configured to connect the supporting frame, the upper horizontal frame, and the lower horizontal frame to each other, the supporting frame has a bottom surface that faces the free-roller, and the first rail is mounted on the bottom surface of the supporting frame.
Lee 2 discloses wherein the membrane filtration apparatus comprises: a skid frame, (Support Frame 600, See Figures 1 & 10, See paragraph [0083], [0088], Lee 2); a plurality of membrane modules installed in the skid frame; and at least one quorum quenching module installed in the skid frame, the quorum quenching module comprises: upper and lower headers detachably coupled to the skid frame; and the container disposed between the upper and lower headers, both ends of the container being coupled to the upper and lower headers, respectively, (Separation Membrane Module 700 with Upper Frame 71 and Lower Frame 720, multiple Modules 700 demonstrated within each Support Frame 600, (one of which is the container), See Figures 1 & 22, See paragraphs [0154]-[0159], [0161], Lee 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the water treatment system of modified Lee by incorporating a skid frame; a plurality of membrane modules installed in the skid frame; and at least one quorum quenching module installed in the skid frame, the quorum quenching module comprises: upper and lower headers detachably coupled to the skid frame; and the mesh-shaped container disposed between the upper and lower headers, both ends of the mesh-shaped container being coupled to the upper and lower headers, respectively as in Lee 2 in order to “improve the filtration ability by forming the separation membrane more densely while reducing or preventing water from stagnating between the separation membrane modules”, (See paragraph [0183], Lee 2), which results in “effectively removing foreign matters attached to a separation membrane with less energy by reciprocating the separation membrane and controlling a spaced distance for anti-shock within facilities”, (See paragraph [0014], Lee 2).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 16: The water treatment system according to claim 14, wherein the membrane unit further comprises a guide frame provided on a top of the tank, (Reciprocating Frame 250, See Figure 1, 16A/B, See paragraph [0089], [0090], Lee 2), the guide frame has a top surface that faces the free-roller, (Reciprocating Frame 250 has Moving Wheel 823 on top, See Figure 1,18, See paragraph [0105], [0216], Lee 2), and the second rail is mounted on the top surface of the guide frame, (Moving Rail 825 on Reciprocating Frame 250, See Figure 18, See paragraph [0213]-[0216], Lee 2).
Claim 17: The water treatment system according to claim 16, wherein the membrane unit further comprises a pivot member having a central hole, (Rolling member 525 with through hole 523a, See Figure 7A/7B, See paragraphs [0112]-[0114], Lee 2), a first end of the pivot member is pivotably coupled to the guide frame, (Rolling Member 525 coupled to Reciprocating Frame 250, See Figure 7A/7B, See paragraphs [0112]-[0114], Lee 2), a second end of the pivot member is a two-pronged end having first and second fingers, (Rolling Member 525 with Left/Right Downward Extending portions having through hole 523a See Figure 7A/7B, See paragraphs [0112]-[0114], Lee 2), a rotating shaft connected to a rotation axis of the free-roller extends through the central hole of the pivot member, (Rotation Shaft 524a, See Figure 7A/7B, See paragraph [0113], Lee 2), and a protrusion provided at the reciprocating frame is disposed in a gap between the first and second fingers, (Support Beam 824 between Moving Wheels 823, See Figure 18, See paragraph [0216], Lee 2).
Claims 11 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., (“Lee”, US 2013/0199977), in view of Ho et al., (“Ho”, US 2014/0097132), in further view of Lee, (“Lee 2”, US 2018/0147539), in further view of Lee Wang, (US 2013/0075322).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Lee discloses the water treatment system according to claim 10, but does not disclose wherein the first rail is elastically mounted on the bottom surface of the reciprocating frame such that a distance between the first rail and the reciprocating frame is variable.
Lee Wang discloses wherein the first rail is elastically mounted on the bottom surface of the reciprocating frame such that a distance between the first rail and the reciprocating frame is variable, (Tension Adjustors 38 with Wires 34 which attach to Up Frame 32 to Low Frame 36, See Figure 5, See paragraphs [0033] & [0034], Lee Wang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the water treatment system of modified Lee by incorporating wherein the first rail is elastically mounted on the bottom surface of the reciprocating frame such that a distance between the first rail and the reciprocating frame is variable as in Lee Wang in order to “scratch the sludge off the membranes of the membrane members” and so they are “randomly shaken or vibrated when they are reciprocating [which] will enhance the cleaning performance”, (See paragraph [0034], Lee Wang).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Lee discloses the water treatment system according to claim 14, but does not disclose wherein the first rail is elastically mounted on the bottom surface of the reciprocating frame such that a distance between the first rail and the reciprocating frame is variable.
Lee Wang discloses wherein the first rail is elastically mounted on the bottom surface of the reciprocating frame such that a distance between the first rail and the reciprocating frame is variable, (Tension Adjustors 38 with Wires 34 which attach to Up Frame 32 to Low Frame 36, See Figure 5, See paragraphs [0033] & [0034], Lee Wang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the water treatment system of modified Lee by incorporating wherein the first rail is elastically mounted on the bottom surface of the reciprocating frame such that a distance between the first rail and the reciprocating frame is variable as in Lee Wang in order to “scratch the sludge off the membranes of the membrane members” and so they are “randomly shaken or vibrated when they are reciprocating [which] will enhance the cleaning performance”, (See paragraph [0034], Lee Wang).
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., (“Lee”, US 2013/0199977), in view of Ho et al., (“Ho”, US 2014/0097132), in further view of Lee, (“Lee 2”, US 2018/0147539), in further view of Okajima et al., (“Okajima”, US 2016/0016762).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Lee discloses the water treatment system according to claim 14, wherein the supporting frames of the plurality of membrane filtration apparatuses are detachably coupled to each other, (Example of Multiple Membrane Support Frames 600 connected to each other via One Reciprocating Portion 200, See Figure 30, See paragraph [0256], [0257], Lee 2; a membrane support frame 600 may be individually removed/replaced (hence detachable)), but does not disclose each of the membrane filtration apparatuses further comprises a lifting hook receiver provided on the supporting frame.
Okajima discloses each of the membrane filtration apparatuses further comprises a lifting hook receiver provided on the supporting frame, (See paragraphs [0005] and [0006], Okajima).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the water treatment system of modified Lee by incorporating each of the membrane filtration apparatuses further comprises a lifting hook receiver provided on the supporting frame as in Okajima because “a water treatment device is typically provided with an eyebolt…including engaging a hook of a lifting apparatus”, (See paragraph [0005], Okajima), “in which cumbersome manual operations are not required to engage/disengage a water treatment device and a hanging tool with/from each other”, (See paragraph [0008], Okajima).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779