DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 08/06/2026.
2. Claims 1-20 and 24-25 are canceled.
3. Claims 21-23 and 26-40 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-23 and 26-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitate by applicant amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 21-23 and 26-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 112, first paragraph, as falling to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification fails to mention or teach wherein the image data is provided from the camera to the processor in the secure enclosure without leaving the secure enclosure as claimed in independent claims 21 and 38. The specification only recites wherein the image data is provided from the camera to the processor in the secure enclosure (see, [0046]). The applicant should explicitly explain how the specification support the new added claim limitation such as wherein the image data is provided from the camera to the processor in the secure enclosure without leaving the secure enclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 21-23, 26-33, and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. CN 106780792 A (hereinafter, Huang ), in view of Bedier et al. US 2016/0117662 (hereinafter, Bedier), in further view of Dong et al. CN 105516168 A (hereinafter, Dong).
9. Regarding claim 21, Huang discloses a method implemented by a computing device, the method comprising:
receiving image data at the processor in the enclosure from a camera that is in the enclosure and communicatively coupled to the processor in the enclosure ([0012], [0033]: As shown in FIG2 , provides a subway quick payment system, comprising: a camera device 10, for taking a picture of a passenger's face to obtain a facial image; an image recognition module 11, for recognizing the facial image obtained by the camera device 10),
generating, by the processor in the enclosure, encrypted image data, wherein the encrypted image data includes image data encrypted using a cryptographic key ([0012], [0033]: As shown in FIG2 , provides a subway quick payment system, comprising: a camera device 10, for taking a picture of a passenger's face to obtain a facial image; an image recognition module 11, for recognizing the facial image obtained by the camera device 10; an encryption and decryption module 12, for encrypting the facial image data recognized by the image recognition module 11);
comparing the encrypted image data to encrypted biometric data stored, wherein the encrypted biometric data includes encrypted stored image data; identifying, based on the comparison, a feature of a user in the encrypted image data ([0005]: face recognition is a biometric technology that performs identity recognition based on facial feature information of a person. Since each person's facial features are unique and the face is the most natural and common identity recognition feature in human vision, identity authentication systems based on face recognition technology are widely used…[Further], [0012], [0033]: as shown in Fig. 2 , provides a subway quick payment system, comprising: a camera device 10, for taking a picture of a passenger's face to obtain a facial image; an image recognition module 11, for recognizing the facial image obtained by the camera device 10; an encryption and decryption module 12, for encrypting the facial image data recognized by the image recognition module 11 and storing it in a database…a controller 13, for detecting whether the facial image data recognized by the image recognition module 11 has a corresponding facial payment account when the passenger enters the station, and if so, controlling the gate opening and closing module 14 to open the gate to allow the passenger to enter the station; and for detecting when the passenger exits the station, comparing the facial image data obtained again by the camera device 10 and recognized again by the image recognition module 11 with the facial image data decrypted by the encryption and decryption module 12);
recognizing the feature of the user in the encrypted image data to verify an identity of the user, wherein at least a portion of the user is represented in the encrypted image data ([0012], [0028], [0033]); and
in response to verifying the identity of the user based on the comparison, providing the encrypted transaction data to a processor of the computing device based on verification of the identity of the user ([0033]-[0034]);
transmitting the encrypted transaction data associated with the user to initiate a payment as part of the transaction after the identity of the user is verified ([0012], [0028]-[0029]: comparing the facial image data obtained again by the camera device and recognized again by the image recognition module with the facial image data decrypted by the encryption and decryption module, and if they are the same, controlling the gate opening and closing module to open the gate to allow the passenger to exit the station, and deducting the corresponding amount in the facial payment account to complete facial recognition payment).
Huang discloses wherein the camera is within a secure enclosure of the computing device (see, Huang [0033], fig. 2).
Huang does not disclose:
receiving, by the computing device, a request to initiate a transaction; receiving, by a processor in a secure enclosure of the computing device, transaction data read from a transaction object by a sensor of the computing device, wherein the secure enclosure includes tamper detection circuitry and is within a housing of the computing device; encrypting, by the processor in the secure enclosure, the transaction data; receiving image data at the processor in the secure enclosure, wherein the image data is provided from the camera to the processor in the secure enclosure without leaving the secure enclosure, a cryptographic key stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device, data stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device, and providing, by the processor in the secure enclosure of the computing device, the encrypted transaction data to a processor of the computing device outside the secure enclosure of the computing device.
However, Bedier discloses:
receiving, by the computing device, a request to initiate a transaction ([0053]);
receiving, by a processor (Fig. 1A, 220 and/or 210) in a secure enclosure (Fig. 1A, 201) of the computing device, transaction data read from a transaction object by a sensor of the computing device ([0042], [0077]-[0078], [0114]),
wherein the secure enclosure includes tamper detection circuitry and is within a housing of the computing device ([0112]);
encrypting, by the processor in the secure enclosure, the transaction data ([0029], [0038], [0045]);
receiving image data at the processor in the secure enclosure ([0112]-[0113]: the payment terminal 1 can additionally include a security mesh 212 that functions to detect tampering. The security mesh 212 is preferably connected to the secure processor, but can alternatively or additionally be connected to the main processor or any other suitable processing system….the payment terminal 1 can additionally include a set of sensors 400, such as cameras, wherein the sensors 400 are connected to and send information to the main processor 110),
a cryptographic key stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device, data stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device ([0029], [0038], [0045], [0051]), and
providing, by the processor in the secure enclosure of the computing device, the encrypted transaction data to a processor of the computing device outside the secure enclosure of the computing device ([0026], [0043]-[0045], [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang to use receiving, by the computing device, a request to initiate a transaction; receiving, by a processor in a secure enclosure of the computing device, transaction data read from a transaction object by a sensor of the computing device, wherein the secure enclosure includes tamper detection circuitry and is within a housing of the computing device; encrypting, by the processor in the secure enclosure, the transaction data; receiving image data at the processor in the secure enclosure, a cryptographic key stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device, data stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device, and providing, by the processor in the secure enclosure of the computing device, the encrypted transaction data to a processor of the computing device outside the secure enclosure of the computing device as taught by Bedier. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to enhance the security of data associated with transaction data (Bedier, [0112], [0114]).
Bedier discloses wherein the image data is provided from the camera to the processor in the secure enclosure ([0112]-[0113]: the payment terminal 1 can additionally include a security mesh 212 that functions to detect tampering. The security mesh 212…can alternatively or additionally be connected to the main processor or any other suitable processing system….the payment terminal 1 can additionally include a set of sensors 400, such as cameras, wherein the sensors 400 are connected to and send information to the main processor 110).
Huang in view of Bedier does not disclose:
wherein the image data is provided from the camera to the processor in the secure enclosure without leaving the secure enclosure.
However, Dong discloses:
wherein the image data is provided from the camera to the processor in the secure enclosure without leaving the secure enclosure ([0027], [0029], [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Bedier to use wherein the image data is provided from the camera to the processor in the secure enclosure without leaving the secure enclosure as taught by Dong. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to enhance user authentication through a secure processor (Dong, [0029]-[0030]).
10. Regarding claim 38, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 21.
11. Regarding claim 22, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the feature of the user is a face of the user ([0033]).
12. Regarding claim 23, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the feature of the user is a face of the user as disclosed above.
Huang in view of Bedier does not disclose:
wherein the feature of the user is at least one iris of the user.
However, Dong discloses:
wherein the feature of the user is at least one iris of the user ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Bedier to use wherein the feature of the user is at least one iris of the user as taught by Dong. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to facilitate verification of user identity using different biometric data, such as iris of the user (Dong, [0027], [0030]).
12. Regarding claim 26, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate the payment includes retrieving transaction information to be used during processing of a transfer of at least one asset between an account associated with the user and a second account ([0012], [0033]-[0034]). See also Bedier ([0023]).
13. Regarding claim 27, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 26, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the transaction information is encrypted ([0012]). See also Bedier ([0029]).
14. Regarding claim 28, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 26, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein retrieving the transaction information includes retrieving the transaction information from a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0012], [0033]-[0034]). Bedier further discloses retrieving the transaction information from a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of the computing device ([0038], Fig. 1A).
15. Regarding claim 29, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 26, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein retrieving the transaction information includes retrieving the transaction information from a remote computing device over a network via a communication interface ([0012], [0033]-[0035]). See also Bedier
([0028], [0061]).
16. Regarding claim 30, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 26, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein retrieving the transaction information includes receiving the transaction information from a payment instrument ([0012], [0029], [0033]). Bedier further discloses wherein retrieving the transaction information includes receiving the transaction information from a reader device that reads the transaction information from a payment instrument ([0077]-[0078]).
17. Regarding claim 31, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further disclose wherein the camera is at least partially in the secure enclosure of the computing device ([0033]).
Huang in view of Dong does not disclose:
monitoring the tamper detection circuitry of the secure enclosure of the computing device for a tamper attempt.
However, Bedier discloses:
monitoring the tamper detection circuitry of the secure enclosure of the computing device for a tamper attempt ([0044], [0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Dong to use monitoring the tamper detection circuitry of the secure enclosure of the computing device for a tamper attempt as taught by Bedier. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to detects whether or not a physical unauthorized access of the computing device is performed (Bedier, [0112]).
18. Regarding claim 40, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 31.
19. Regarding claim 32, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 31, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate the payment includes transmitting the transaction data using a secure processor of the computing device, wherein the secure processor in the secure enclosure of the computing device ([0012], [0033]-[0034]). See also Bedier ([0042], Fig. 1A).
20. Regarding claim 33, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 32, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses controlling at least a portion of a user interface of the computing device using an interface processor of the computing device, wherein the interface processor is outside of the secure enclosure of the computing device ([0005], [0033]-[0036]). See also Bedier (Fig. 1A and associated text).
21. Regarding claim 35, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the camera is sensitive to at least visible light, and wherein the encrypted image is based on capture of at least the visible light by the camera ([0033], [0036], [0039]). See also Bedier ([0108]-[0109]).
22. Regarding claim 36, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the camera is sensitive to at least infrared light, and wherein the encrypted image is based on capture of at least the infrared light by the camera ([0033]-[0034]). See also Bedier ([0108]-[0109]).
23. Regarding claim 37, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate payment is performed also in response to the further verifying of the identity of the user ([0033]).
Huang in view of Dong does not disclose:
receiving an input through an input interface, the input indicative of a code; and further verifying the identity of the user based on a second comparison between the code and at least one stored code, wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate payment is performed also in response to the further verifying of the identity of the user based on the second comparison.
However, Bedier discloses:
receiving an input through an input interface, the input indicative of a code; and further verifying the identity of the user based on a second comparison between the code and at least one stored code, wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate payment is performed also in response to the further verifying of the identity of the user based on the second comparison ([0024], [0027], [0036], [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong to use receiving an input through an input interface, the input indicative of a code; and further verifying the identity of the user based on a second comparison between the code and at least one stored code, wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate payment is performed also in response to the further verifying of the identity of the user based on the second comparison as taught by Bedier. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to transmit transaction data securely (Bedier, [0058]).
24. Regarding claim 39, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the apparatus of claim 38, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses the camera ([0033]).
25. Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Bedier, in view of Dong, in further view of Lowy US 2010/0327856 (hereinafter, Lowy).
26. Regarding claim 34, Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong disclose the method of claim 31, as disclosed above.
Bedier further discloses wherein monitoring the tamper detection circuitry for the tamper attempt ([0112]).
Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong does not disclose:
monitoring at least one voltage along at least one tamper trace that runs along at least one surface of the secure enclosure for a deviation from an expected voltage, wherein the tamper detection circuitry includes the at least one tamper trace.
However, Lowy discloses:
monitoring at least one voltage along at least one tamper trace that runs along at least one surface of the secure enclosure for a deviation from an expected voltage, wherein the tamper detection circuitry includes the at least one tamper trace (Abstract, [0104]-[0107], Figs. 1, 6 and associate text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Bedier in view of Dong to use monitoring at least one voltage along at least one tamper trace that runs along at least one surface of the secure enclosure for a deviation from an expected voltage, wherein the tamper detection circuitry includes the at least one tamper trace as taught by Lowy. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to detect tampering using different method such as using a change in impedance of array of conductor paths above a predetermined threshold value (Lowy, Abstract).
Conclusion
27. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, and/or paragraphs, and/or pages in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
28. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eyob Hagos/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857