DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/02/2025.
2. Claims 1-20 and 24-25 are canceled.
3. Claims 21-23 and 26-40 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-23 and 26-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitate by applicant amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 21, 22, 26-33, and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. CN 106780792 A (hereinafter, Huang ), in view of Wolf et al. US 2018/0253945 (hereinafter, Wolf), in further view of Haga US 20160307171 (hereinafter, Haga).
7. Regarding claim 21, Huang discloses a method implemented by a computing device, the method comprising:
receiving encrypted image data associated with a camera that is within a housing of the computing device, wherein the encrypted image data includes image data captured by the camera and encrypted using a cryptographic key ([0012], [0033]: As shown in FIG2 , provides a subway quick payment system, comprising: a camera device 10, for taking a picture of a passenger's face to obtain a facial image; an image recognition module 11, for recognizing the facial image obtained by the camera device 10; an encryption and decryption module 12, for encrypting the facial image data recognized by the image recognition module 11);
comparing the encrypted image data to encrypted biometric data stored, wherein the encrypted biometric data includes encrypted stored image data; identifying, based on the comparison, a feature of a user in the encrypted image data ([0005]: face recognition is a biometric technology that performs identity recognition based on facial feature information of a person. Since each person's facial features are unique and the face is the most natural and common identity recognition feature in human vision, identity authentication systems based on face recognition technology are widely used…[Further], [0012], [0033]: as shown in Fig. 2 , provides a subway quick payment system, comprising: a camera device 10, for taking a picture of a passenger's face to obtain a facial image; an image recognition module 11, for recognizing the facial image obtained by the camera device 10; an encryption and decryption module 12, for encrypting the facial image data recognized by the image recognition module 11 and storing it in a database…a controller 13, for detecting whether the facial image data recognized by the image recognition module 11 has a corresponding facial payment account when the passenger enters the station, and if so, controlling the gate opening and closing module 14 to open the gate to allow the passenger to enter the station; and for detecting when the passenger exits the station, comparing the facial image data obtained again by the camera device 10 and recognized again by the image recognition module 11 with the facial image data decrypted by the encryption and decryption module 12);
recognizing the feature of the user in the encrypted image data to verify an identity of the user, wherein at least a portion of the user is represented in the encrypted image data ([0012], [0028], [0033]); and
transmitting transaction data associated with the user to initiate a payment as part of the transaction after the identity of the user is verified ([0012], [0028]-[0029]: comparing the facial image data obtained again by the camera device and recognized again by the image recognition module with the facial image data decrypted by the encryption and decryption module, and if they are the same, controlling the gate opening and closing module to open the gate to allow the passenger to exit the station, and deducting the corresponding amount in the facial payment account to complete facial recognition payment).
Huang does not disclose:
receiving, by the computing device, a request to initiate a transaction; and a cryptographic key stored in a secure enclosure of the computing device, and wherein the secure enclosure includes tamper detection circuitry and is within the housing of the computing device, and encrypted data stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device.
However, Wolf discloses:
receiving, by the computing device, a request to initiate a transaction ([0021], [0027]-[0028], [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang to use receiving, by the computing device, a request to initiate a transaction as taught by Wolf. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to activate and improve computing device with enhanced communication and interaction capabilities (Wolf, [0002], [0047]).
Huang in view of Wolf further disclose wherein the camera is within a secure enclosure of the computing device (see, Huang [0033], fig. 2, and Wolf [0037], Figs. 2, 5).
Huang in view of Wolf does not disclose:
a cryptographic key stored in a secure enclosure of the computing device, and wherein the secure enclosure includes tamper detection circuitry and is within the housing of the computing device, and encrypted data stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device.
However, Haga discloses:
a cryptographic key stored in a secure enclosure of the computing device, and encrypted data stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device ([0068], Fig. 5), and
wherein the secure enclosure includes tamper detection circuitry and is within the housing of the computing device ([0066], [0070], Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Wolf to use a cryptographic key stored in a secure enclosure of the computing device, and wherein the secure enclosure includes tamper detection circuitry and is within the housing of the computing device, and encrypted data stored in the secure enclosure of the computing device as taught by Haga. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to detects whether or not a physical unauthorized access of the computing device is performed (Haga, [0066]).
8. Regarding claim 38, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 21.
9. Regarding claim 22, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the feature of the user is a face of the user ([0033]).
10. Regarding claim 26, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate the payment includes retrieving transaction information to be used during processing of a transfer of at least one asset between an account associated with the user and a second account ([0012], [0033]-[0034]). See also Wolf
([0021], [0039], [0047], [0051], [0053]).
11. Regarding claim 27, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 26, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the transaction information is encrypted ([0012]). See also Wolf ([0066], [0091]).
12. Regarding claim 28, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 26, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein retrieving the transaction information includes retrieving the transaction information from a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0012], [0033]-[0034]). Wolf further discloses retrieving the transaction information from a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of the computing device ([0021], [0039], [0044], [0047], [0051], [0053], Fig. 4).
13. Regarding claim 29, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 26, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein retrieving the transaction information includes retrieving the transaction information from a remote computing device over a network via a communication interface ([0012], [0033]-[0035]). See also Wolf
([0021], [0039], [0044], [0047], [0059]).
14. Regarding claim 30, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 26, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein retrieving the transaction information includes receiving the transaction information from a payment instrument ([0012], [0029], [0033]). Wolf further discloses wherein retrieving the transaction information includes receiving the transaction information from a reader device that reads the transaction information from a payment instrument ([0047], [0055]).
15. Regarding claim 31, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang in view of Wolf further disclose wherein the camera is at least partially in the secure enclosure of the computing device (see, Huang [0033], and Wolf [0037], Figs. 2, 5).
Huang in view of Wolf does not disclose:
monitoring the tamper detection circuitry of the secure enclosure of the computing device for a tamper attempt.
However, Haga discloses:
monitoring the tamper detection circuitry of the secure enclosure of the computing device for a tamper attempt ([0066], [0070], Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Wolf to use monitoring the tamper detection circuitry of the secure enclosure of the computing device for a tamper attempt as taught by Haga. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to detects whether or not a physical unauthorized access of the computing device is performed (Haga, [0066]).
16. Regarding claim 40, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 31.
17. Regarding claim 32, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 31, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate the payment includes transmitting the transaction data using a secure processor of the computing device, wherein the secure processor in the secure enclosure of the computing device ([0012], [0033]-[0034]). See also Wolf
([0047], [0066], [0091], [0093], Fig. 5), and Haga ([0070], Fig. 5).
18. Regarding claim 33, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 32, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses controlling at least a portion of a user interface of the computing device using an interface processor of the computing device, wherein the interface processor is outside of the secure enclosure of the computing device ([0005], [0033]-[0036]). See also Wolf ([0093], Fig. 3), and Haga ([0113], Figs. 1, 5).
19. Regarding claim 35, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the camera is sensitive to at least visible light, and wherein the encrypted image is based on capture of at least the visible light by the camera ([0033], [0036], [0039]). See also Wolf ([0037]).
20. Regarding claim 36, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the camera is sensitive to at least infrared light, and wherein the encrypted image is based on capture of at least the infrared light by the camera ([0033]-[0034]). See also Wolf ([0037], [0120]).
21. Regarding claim 37, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate payment is performed also in response to the further verifying of the identity of the user ([0033]).
Huang in view of Haga does not disclose:
receiving an input through an input interface, the input indicative of a code; and further verifying the identity of the user based on a second comparison between the code and at least one stored code, wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate payment is performed also in response to the further verifying of the identity of the user based on the second comparison.
However, Wolf discloses:
receiving an input through an input interface, the input indicative of a code; and further verifying the identity of the user based on a second comparison between the code and at least one stored code, wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate payment is performed also in response to the further verifying of the identity of the user based on the second comparison ([0021]-[0023], [0046], [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Haga to use receiving an input through an input interface, the input indicative of a code; and further verifying the identity of the user based on a second comparison between the code and at least one stored code, wherein transmitting the transaction data associated with the user to initiate payment is performed also in response to the further verifying of the identity of the user based on the second comparison as taught by Wolf. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to transmit transaction data securely (Wolf, [0066]).
22. Regarding claim 39, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the apparatus of claim 38, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses the camera ([0033]).
23. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Wolf, in view of Haga, in further view of Bauer et al. GB 2551752 A (hereinafter, Bauer).
24. Regarding claim 23, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 21, as disclosed above.
Huang further discloses wherein the feature of the user is a face of the user as disclosed above.
Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga does not disclose:
wherein the feature of the user is at least one iris of the user.
However, Bauer discloses:
wherein the feature of the user is at least one iris of the user (page 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga to use wherein the feature of the user is at least one iris of the user as taught by Bauer. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to facilitate verification of user identity using different biometric data, such as iris of the user (Bauer, page 11).
25. Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Wolf, in view of Haga, in further view of Lowy US 2010/0327856 (hereinafter, Lowy).
26. Regarding claim 34, Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga disclose the method of claim 31, as disclosed above.
Wolf further disclose a secure device that is substantially tamper proof ([0093]). Haga further discloses wherein monitoring the tamper detection circuitry for the tamper attempt ([0066], [0070], Fig. 5).
Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga does not disclose:
monitoring at least one voltage along at least one tamper trace that runs along at least one surface of the secure enclosure for a deviation from an expected voltage, wherein the tamper detection circuitry includes the at least one tamper trace.
However, Lowy discloses:
monitoring at least one voltage along at least one tamper trace that runs along at least one surface of the secure enclosure for a deviation from an expected voltage, wherein the tamper detection circuitry includes the at least one tamper trace (Abstract, [0104]-[0107], Figs. 1, 6 and associate text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Wolf in view of Haga to use monitoring at least one voltage along at least one tamper trace that runs along at least one surface of the secure enclosure for a deviation from an expected voltage, wherein the tamper detection circuitry includes the at least one tamper trace as taught by Lowy. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to detect tampering using different method such as using a change in impedance of array of conductor paths above a predetermined threshold value (Lowy, Abstract).
Conclusion
27. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, and/or paragraphs, and/or pages in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
28. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eyob Hagos/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857