DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 2013/03/16, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2024/10/30 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
FIGS. 2 and 3 as drawn are identical. The specification describes FIG. 3 as differing from FIG. 2 in that the locking module is additionally connected with the discharge module (¶[0051]), yet both show that connection.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Discharge Circuit for Suppressing Photovoltaic Weak-Voltage Activation of Battery Management System.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 12 recite the limitation "the voltage-dividing unit". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; parent claims 2, 11 introduced "a voltage-dividing driving unit".
Claims 8, 17 recite the limitation "the discharging unlocking module". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; only "discharge unlocking module" was previously introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U).
In re claims 1, XIONG discloses a photovoltaic weak current eliminating circuit (¶[n0004]: switching control circuit for a photovoltaic power supply), comprising a discharge triggering module (absorption switch circuit 30), a discharge unlocking module (weak voltage sampling circuit 50) and a discharge module (weak voltage absorption circuit 20);
wherein the discharge triggering module is connected with the discharge module and the discharge unlocking module respectively (¶[n0042]: absorption switch circuit 30 connected to weak voltage absorption circuit 20 and weak voltage sampling circuit 50 via shared switch control connection terminal), and all of the discharge module, the discharge triggering module and the discharge unlocking module is used for connecting with a photovoltaic input source (¶[n0042]: weak voltage absorption circuit 20, absorption switch circuit 30, and weak voltage sampling circuit 50 each connected to positive input terminal PV+);
when an output voltage of the photovoltaic input source is less than a preset voltage, the discharge triggering module is configured to output a first control signal to the discharge module (¶[n0042]: absorption switch circuit 30 outputs absorption circuit activation signal to weak voltage absorption circuit 20, triggered when PV+ voltage falls below the first preset value) so as to control the discharge module to operate for discharging the energy of the photovoltaic input source (¶[n0042]: weak voltage absorption circuit 20 responds to the activation signal by absorbing the photovoltaic cell's output energy);
the discharge unlocking module is configured to determine whether the output voltage of the photovoltaic input source is not less than the preset voltage after the discharge module operates (¶s [n0042, n0049]: weak voltage sampling circuit 50 determines PV+ voltage has risen to not less than the first preset value, following weak voltage absorption circuit 20's earlier low-light operation), and
when the output voltage of the photovoltaic input source is not less than the preset voltage, the discharge unlocking module is configured to output a control signal so as to stop the operation of the discharge module (¶[n0042]: weak voltage sampling circuit 50 outputs sampling feedback suppression signal causing weak voltage absorption circuit 20 to shut down).
XIONG does not expressly disclose a locking module; the discharge unlocking module controlling the discharge triggering module to output a second control signal.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date (EFD) to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module, such that the locking module keeps the discharge triggering module's signal active, maintaining the discharge module's operation, (¶[0054]: first switch control circuit 120 holds discharge circuit 111 in operation by delaying its shutoff via capacitor 123 and switch 121), to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
It would have been further obvious to a PHOSITA to modify XIONG's discharge unlocking module such that it controls the discharge triggering module to output the second control signal, consolidating control of the discharge module to a single source, to avoid contention between two independently-driven signals on one control terminal and to give the locking module a single signal path to act on.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), and further in view of WILLIAMS (US 2014/0306542 A1).
In re claim 2, XIONG discloses wherein the discharge triggering module (absorption switch circuit 30) comprises a voltage-dividing driving unit (resistors R31 and R32);
the voltage-dividing driving unit is respectively connected with the photovoltaic input source and the discharge unlocking module (¶s [n0042, n0046]: resistor R31 connected to positive input terminal PV+; shared switch control connection terminal connecting the node between resistors R31 and R32 to weak voltage sampling circuit 50);
the voltage-dividing driving unit is configured to divide the output voltage (¶[n0047]: R31/R32 divide the PV+ voltage) and
when the divided output voltage reaches a trigger threshold, to output a first control signal to the discharge module (¶[n0047]: divided PV+ voltage activates weak voltage absorption circuit 20 once it reaches a conduction level for switching transistor G21).
XIONG does not expressly disclose a triggering unit, a locking module.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
WANG does not expressly teach a triggering unit.
WILLIAMS teaches a triggering unit (¶[0038]: comparator 350, trips when its threshold value VTH1 is crossed).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge triggering module to incorporate WILLIAMS's triggering unit, such that the voltage-dividing driving unit inputs the divided output voltage to the triggering unit, the triggering unit determines whether the divided output voltage reaches a trigger threshold so as to determine whether the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage, and, upon reaching that threshold, outputs the first control signal to the discharge module, to prevent the discharge triggering module's own switching device from lingering in a partially-conductive operating region during voltage transitions and dissipating excess power.
Claims 3 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), WILLIAMS (US 2014/0306542 A1), and further in view of CHEN et al. (CN 116154740 A).
In re claim 3, XIONG discloses wherein the voltage-dividing unit comprises a resistor R2 (FIG. 1: resistor R31) and a resistor R8 (FIG. 1: resistor R32);
a first end of the resistor R2 is connected with the photovoltaic input source (¶s [n0042, n0046]: switching power supply connection terminal, connecting resistor R31's one end to the positive input terminal PV+), a second end of the resistor R2 is respectively connected with the discharge unlocking module and a first end of the resistor R8 (¶s [n0042, n0046]: switching control signal output terminal connected to the sampling feedback output terminal of the weak voltage sampling circuit 50), and a second end of the resistor R8 is used for grounding (FIG. 1: resistor R32's other end, grounded)).
XIONG does not expressly disclose a triggering unit; a capacitor C2.
WILLIAMS teaches a triggering unit (comparator 350).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge triggering module to incorporate WILLIAMS's triggering unit, such that the second end of the resistor R2 inputs its voltage to the control end of the triggering unit, to prevent the discharge triggering module's own switching device from lingering in a partially-conductive operating region during voltage transitions and dissipating excess power.
WILLIAMS does not expressly teach a capacitor C2.
CHEN teaches a capacitor connected in parallel with a resistor (¶[n0025]: capacitor C1 connected in parallel resistor R2).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG's voltage-dividing unit to incorporate CHEN's capacitor, such that the capacitor C2 is connected in parallel with the resistor R8, to extract the divided voltage at the resistor R2/resistor R8 node and stabilize the divider's circuit performance.
In re claim 4, XIONG is silent to a locking module; a triggering unit.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
WANG does not expressly teach a triggering unit.
WILLIAMS teaches wherein the triggering unit (¶[0038]: comparators 350 and 352) comprises a switch tube Q2 (¶[0038]: comparator 352, replaceable by a bipolar transistor), a switch tube Q4 (¶[0038]: comparator 350, replaceable by a bipolar transistor), and a resistor R4 (FIG. 5: resistor 316);
a control end of the switch tube Q4 is connected with the second end of the resistor R2 (FIG. 5; ¶[0038]: comparator 350's non-inverting input, at node 303), a second end of the switch tube Q4 is used for grounding (FIG. 5: comparator 350's internal open-drain output-stage transistor, returning directly to node B), a first end of the switch tube Q2 is connected with the photovoltaic input source through the resistor R4 (FIG. 5: comparator 352's output node pulled up to Vpanel through resistor 316).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify the switch tube Q4's own output-coupling structure by substituting a resistor R6 for its existing coupling arrangement (FET 308 / resistors 320-322), and to modify the switch tube Q2's own second end to incorporate a resistor R9 grounding it, such that a first end of the switch tube Q4 is connected with a control end of the switch tube Q2 through the resistor R6, and a second end of the switch tube Q2 is grounded through the resistor R9, to couple the two switch tubes' respective stages with fewer components and lower quiescent current draw than an active coupling device, and to stabilize the switch tube's bias point against manufacturing and temperature variation.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), and further in view of CHEN et al. (CN 116154740 A).
In re claim 5, XIONG discloses a discharge module (weak voltage absorption circuit 20).
XIONG does not expressly disclose the discharge module comprises a resistor R5 or a switch tube Q5.
CHEN teaches a resistor R5 (¶[n0010]: resistor R3) and a switch tube Q5 (¶[n0010]: MOSFET Q); a first end of the switch tube is connected with the photovoltaic input source through the resistor (¶[n0010]: MOSFET Q's source, connected to one end of resistor R3, the other end of R3 connected to the common positive terminal of the DC bus), and a second end of the switch tube is used for grounding (¶[n0010]: MOSFET Q's drain, connected to the common negative terminal of the DC bus).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module by substituting a resistor R5 and a switch tube Q5 for its own existing two-resistor-and-switching-transistor bleed structure (resistors R21/R22 and switching transistor G21), such that a control end of the switch tube Q5 is connected with the discharge triggering module, so that a single resistor value directly sets and can be verified against the bleed path's target discharge current, rather than requiring the combined manufacturing tolerances of two series resistors to be matched to hit that same target.
Claims 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), WILLIAMS (US 2014/0306542 A1), and further in view of YU et al. (CN 204835922 U).
In re claim 6, XIONG discloses a discharge triggering module (absorption switch circuit 30) and a discharge module (weak voltage absorption circuit 20).
XIONG is silent to a locking module.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
WANG does not expressly teach the locking module is configured to adjust the proportion of the divided output voltage so as to keep the discharge triggering module outputting the first control signal.
YU teaches adjusting the proportion of the divided output voltage (¶s [0047, 0048]: switching transistor Q1, selectively connecting resistor R3 into or out of the voltage-dividing network in response to a voltage adjustment terminal, thereby changing the effective divider ratio).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG's voltage-dividing network to incorporate YU's switching transistor and resistor, allowing the divider ratio to be selectively changed rather than fixed at a single value, so that the divided voltage can be tuned to different threshold requirements without redesigning the divider network.
In re claim 7, XIONG is silent to a locking module.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
WANG does not expressly teach wherein the locking module comprises a switch tube Q1 and a resistor R3.
YU teaches a switch tube (¶[0044]: NMOS transistor Q1) and a resistor (¶[0044]: resistor R3); a control end of the switch tube is connected with an externally-driven adjustment terminal (¶[0044]: gate G of Q1, connected to the first voltage adjustment terminal GPA2), a first end of the switch tube is connected with a divider node through the resistor (¶[0044]: source S of Q1, connected through resistor R3 to the solid voltage feedback divider node), and a second end of the switch tube is connected directly with a divider node (¶[0044]: drain D of Q1, connected to the voltage output terminal OUTPUT).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify the locking module to incorporate YU's switch tube and resistor, such that a control end of the switch tube is connected with the triggering unit, a first end of the switch tube is connected with a first end of the voltage-dividing driving unit through the resistor, and a second end of the switch tube is connected with a second end of the voltage-dividing driving unit, to let the triggering unit's own output directly gate when the divider's ratio is adjusted rather than requiring a separate control path.
Claims 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), and further in view of LI et al. (CN 208424203 U).
In re claim 8, XIONG discloses the discharge unlocking module is configured to determine whether the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage (¶s [n0009, n0042]: weak voltage sampling circuit 50, configured to output a sampling feedback suppression signal when the voltage output by the photovoltaic cell is not less than the first preset value).
XIONG does not expressly disclose the discharge unlocking module is configured to determine whether the time during which the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage exceeds a preset time, and when the time during which the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage exceeds the preset time, the discharging unlocking module is configured to control the discharge triggering module to output the second control signal.
LI teaches an integrating circuit that determines whether the time during which a sensed voltage condition persists exceeds a preset duration before the downstream stage responds (¶[0016]: capacitor C1, resistor R7, and resistor R6, introducing a response delay before the first Zener diode's downstream stage responds).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG’s discharge unlocking module to incorporate LI's integrating circuit, such that the discharge unlocking module also determines whether the time during which the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage exceeds a preset time, as a routine optimization of a result-effective variable tied to the resistor-capacitor product controlling response delay, to prevent a brief, transient voltage excursion from prematurely triggering unlocking.
In re claim 9, XIONG discloses the discharge unlocking module (weak voltage sampling circuit 50).
XIONG does not expressly disclose wherein the discharge unlocking module comprises a diode ZD1, a diode ZD2, a capacitor C1, a switch tube Q3, a resistor R1 and a resistor R7.
LI teaches a diode ZD1 (¶[0016]: first Zener diode DZ1), a diode ZD2 (¶[0016]: second Zener diode DZ2), a capacitor C1 (¶[0016]: first capacitor C1), a switch tube Q3 (¶[0016]: thyristor Q1), a resistor R1 (¶[0016]: second resistor R2), and a resistor R7 (¶[0016]: seventh resistor R7);
a cathode of the diode ZD1 is connected with the photovoltaic input source through the resistor R1 (¶[0016]: DZ1's cathode, connected to the R2/R8 junction, R2's other end feeding toward the non-isolated switching power supply output terminal), an anode of the diode ZD1 is respectively connected with a first end of the capacitor C1 and a cathode of the diode ZD2 (¶[0016]: the node joining R6, DZ1's anode, and R7/C1), a second end of the capacitor C1 is grounded (¶[0016]: R7's grounded end, shared by C1), and the resistor R7 is connected in parallel with the capacitor C1 (¶[0016]: C1 connected in parallel with R7).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify the discharge unlocking module to incorporate LI's diode, diode, capacitor, switch tube, and resistor structure, such that an anode of the diode ZD2 is connected with a control end of the switch tube Q3, a first end of the switch tube Q3 is connected with a control end of the discharge triggering module, and a second end of the switch tube Q3 is used for grounding, to provide a two-stage Zener-referenced delay cascade that resists nuisance tripping from short voltage transients.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), and further in view of YANG et al. (CN 115912562 A).
In re claim 10, XIONG discloses a photovoltaic weak current eliminating circuit for energy storage power supplies (¶[n0003 – n0004]: switching control circuit for a photovoltaic power supply), comprising a discharge triggering module (absorption switch circuit 30), a discharge unlocking module (weak voltage sampling circuit 50) and a discharge module (weak voltage absorption circuit 20);
wherein the discharge triggering module is connected with the discharge module and the discharge unlocking module respectively (¶[n0042]: absorption switch circuit 30 connected to weak voltage absorption circuit 20 and weak voltage sampling circuit 50 via shared switch control connection terminal), and all of the discharge module, the discharge triggering module and the discharge unlocking module is used for connecting with a photovoltaic input source (¶[n0042]: weak voltage absorption circuit 20, absorption switch circuit 30, and weak voltage sampling circuit 50 each connected to positive input terminal PV+);
when an output voltage of the photovoltaic input source is less than a preset voltage, the discharge triggering module is configured to output a first control signal to the discharge module (¶[n0042]: absorption switch circuit 30 outputs absorption circuit activation signal to weak voltage absorption circuit 20, triggered when PV+ voltage falls below the first preset value) so as to control the discharge module to operate for discharging the energy of the photovoltaic input source (¶[n0042]: weak voltage absorption circuit 20 responds to the activation signal by absorbing the photovoltaic cell's output energy);
the discharge unlocking module is configured to determine whether the output voltage of the photovoltaic input source is not less than the preset voltage after the discharge module operates (¶s [n0042, n0049]: weak voltage sampling circuit 50 determines PV+ voltage has risen to not less than the first preset value, following weak voltage absorption circuit 20's earlier low-light operation), and
when the output voltage of the photovoltaic input source is not less than the preset voltage, the discharge unlocking module is configured to output a control signal so as to stop the operation of the discharge module (¶[n0042]: weak voltage sampling circuit 50 outputs sampling feedback suppression signal causing weak voltage absorption circuit 20 to shut down).
XIONG does not expressly disclose a locking module; the discharge unlocking module controlling the discharge triggering module to output a second control signal; a BMS module; a battery.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
WANG does not expressly teach an energy storage power supply, comprising: a BMS module; a battery.
YANG teaches a BMS module (FIG. 1: BMS module); and
a battery (FIG. 1: battery).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify an energy storage power supply taught by XIONG to incorporate YANG's BMS module and battery, such that the BMS module is connected with the discharge module and the battery respectively, as XIONG's own background identifies photovoltaic energy storage power supplies as systems that experience load-circuit start/stop cycling and shortened lifespan under weak-light conditions, making it desirable to integrate battery management and storage directly into the same system XIONG's circuit is designed to protect.
It would have been further obvious to a PHOSITA to modify XIONG's discharge unlocking module such that it controls the discharge triggering module to output the second control signal, consolidating control of the discharge module to a single source, to avoid contention between two independently-driven signals on one control terminal and to give the locking module a single signal path to act on.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), YANG et al. (CN 115912562 A), and further in view of WILLIAMS (US 2014/0306542 A1).
In re claim 11, XIONG discloses wherein the discharge triggering module (absorption switch circuit 30) comprises a voltage-dividing driving unit (resistors R31 and R32);
the voltage-dividing driving unit is respectively connected with the photovoltaic input source and the discharge unlocking module (¶s [n0042, n0046]: resistor R31 connected to positive input terminal PV+; shared switch control connection terminal connecting the node between resistors R31 and R32 to weak voltage sampling circuit 50);
the voltage-dividing driving unit is configured to divide the output voltage (¶[n0047]: R31/R32 divide the PV+ voltage) and
when the divided output voltage reaches a trigger threshold, to output a first control signal to the discharge module (¶[n0047]: divided PV+ voltage activates weak voltage absorption circuit 20 once it reaches a conduction level for switching transistor G21).
XIONG does not expressly disclose a triggering unit, a locking module.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
WANG does not expressly teach a triggering unit.
WILLIAMS teaches a triggering unit (¶[0038]: comparator 350, trips when its threshold value VTH1 is crossed).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge triggering module to incorporate WILLIAMS's triggering unit, such that the voltage-dividing driving unit inputs the divided output voltage to the triggering unit, the triggering unit determines whether the divided output voltage reaches a trigger threshold so as to determine whether the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage, and, upon reaching that threshold, outputs the first control signal to the discharge module, to prevent the discharge triggering module's own switching device from lingering in a partially-conductive operating region during voltage transitions and dissipating excess power.
Claims 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), YANG et al. (CN 115912562 A), WILLIAMS (US 2014/0306542 A1), and further in view of CHEN et al. (CN 116154740 A).
In re claim 12, XIONG discloses wherein the voltage-dividing unit comprises a resistor R2 (FIG. 1: resistor R31) and a resistor R8 (FIG. 1: resistor R32);
a first end of the resistor R2 is connected with the photovoltaic input source (¶s [n0042, n0046]: switching power supply connection terminal, connecting resistor R31's one end to the positive input terminal PV+), a second end of the resistor R2 is respectively connected with the discharge unlocking module and a first end of the resistor R8 (¶s [n0042, n0046]: switching control signal output terminal connected to the sampling feedback output terminal of the weak voltage sampling circuit 50), and a second end of the resistor R8 is used for grounding (FIG. 1: resistor R32's other end, grounded)).
XIONG does not expressly disclose a triggering unit; a capacitor C2.
WILLIAMS teaches a triggering unit (comparator 350).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge triggering module to incorporate WILLIAMS's triggering unit, such that the second end of the resistor R2 inputs its voltage to the control end of the triggering unit, to prevent the discharge triggering module's own switching device from lingering in a partially-conductive operating region during voltage transitions and dissipating excess power.
WILLIAMS does not expressly teach a capacitor C2.
CHEN teaches a capacitor connected in parallel with a resistor (¶[n0025]: capacitor C1 connected in parallel resistor R2).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG's voltage-dividing unit to incorporate CHEN's capacitor, such that the capacitor C2 is connected in parallel with the resistor R8, to extract the divided voltage at the resistor R2/resistor R8 node and stabilize the divider's circuit performance.
In re claim 13, XIONG is silent to a locking module; a triggering unit.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
WANG does not expressly teach a triggering unit.
WILLIAMS teaches wherein the triggering unit (¶[0038]: comparators 350 and 352) comprises a switch tube Q2 (¶[0038]: comparator 352, replaceable by a bipolar transistor), a switch tube Q4 (¶[0038]: comparator 350, replaceable by a bipolar transistor), and a resistor R4 (FIG. 5: resistor 316);
a control end of the switch tube Q4 is connected with the second end of the resistor R2 (FIG. 5; ¶[0038]: comparator 350's non-inverting input, at node 303), a second end of the switch tube Q4 is used for grounding (FIG. 5: comparator 350's internal open-drain output-stage transistor, returning directly to node B), a first end of the switch tube Q2 is connected with the photovoltaic input source through the resistor R4 (FIG. 5: comparator 352's output node pulled up to Vpanel through resistor 316).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify the switch tube Q4's own output-coupling structure by substituting a resistor R6 for its existing coupling arrangement (FET 308 / resistors 320-322), and to modify the switch tube Q2's own second end to incorporate a resistor R9 grounding it, such that a first end of the switch tube Q4 is connected with a control end of the switch tube Q2 through the resistor R6, and a second end of the switch tube Q2 is grounded through the resistor R9, to couple the two switch tubes' respective stages with fewer components and lower quiescent current draw than an active coupling device, and to stabilize the switch tube's bias point against manufacturing and temperature variation.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), YANG et al. (CN 115912562 A), and further in view of CHEN et al. (CN 116154740 A).
In re claim 14, XIONG discloses a discharge module (weak voltage absorption circuit 20).
XIONG does not expressly disclose the discharge module comprises a resistor R5 or a switch tube Q5.
CHEN teaches a resistor R5 (¶[n0010]: resistor R3) and a switch tube Q5 (¶[n0010]: MOSFET Q); a first end of the switch tube is connected with the photovoltaic input source through the resistor (¶[n0010]: MOSFET Q's source, connected to one end of resistor R3, the other end of R3 connected to the common positive terminal of the DC bus), and a second end of the switch tube is used for grounding (¶[n0010]: MOSFET Q's drain, connected to the common negative terminal of the DC bus).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module by substituting a resistor R5 and a switch tube Q5 for its own existing two-resistor-and-switching-transistor bleed structure (resistors R21/R22 and switching transistor G21), such that a control end of the switch tube Q5 is connected with the discharge triggering module, so that a single resistor value directly sets and can be verified against the bleed path's target discharge current, rather than requiring the combined manufacturing tolerances of two series resistors to be matched to hit that same target.
Claims 15 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), YANG et al. (CN 115912562 A), WILLIAMS (US 2014/0306542 A1), and further in view of YU et al. (CN 204835922 U).
In re claim 15, XIONG discloses a discharge triggering module (absorption switch circuit 30) and a discharge module (weak voltage absorption circuit 20).
XIONG is silent to a locking module.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
WANG does not expressly teach the locking module is configured to adjust the proportion of the divided output voltage so as to keep the discharge triggering module outputting the first control signal.
YU teaches adjusting the proportion of the divided output voltage (¶s [0047, 0048]: switching transistor Q1, selectively connecting resistor R3 into or out of the voltage-dividing network in response to a voltage adjustment terminal, thereby changing the effective divider ratio).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG's voltage-dividing network to incorporate YU's switching transistor and resistor, allowing the divider ratio to be selectively changed rather than fixed at a single value, so that the divided voltage can be tuned to different threshold requirements without redesigning the divider network.
In re claim 16, XIONG is silent to a locking module.
WANG teaches a locking module (first switch control circuit 120).
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to modify XIONG's discharge module to incorporate WANG's locking module to prevent premature shutoff from transient voltage fluctuations and avoid frequent restart instability.
WANG does not expressly teach wherein the locking module comprises a switch tube Q1 and a resistor R3.
YU teaches a switch tube (¶[0044]: NMOS transistor Q1) and a resistor (¶[0044]: resistor R3); a control end of the switch tube is connected with an externally-driven adjustment terminal (¶[0044]: gate G of Q1, connected to the first voltage adjustment terminal GPA2), a first end of the switch tube is connected with a divider node through the resistor (¶[0044]: source S of Q1, connected through resistor R3 to the solid voltage feedback divider node), and a second end of the switch tube is connected directly with a divider node (¶[0044]: drain D of Q1, connected to the voltage output terminal OUTPUT).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify the locking module to incorporate YU's switch tube and resistor, such that a control end of the switch tube is connected with the triggering unit, a first end of the switch tube is connected with a first end of the voltage-dividing driving unit through the resistor, and a second end of the switch tube is connected with a second end of the voltage-dividing driving unit, to let the triggering unit's own output directly gate when the divider's ratio is adjusted rather than requiring a separate control path.
Claims 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (CN 214756072 U), in view of WANG et al. (CN 216530687 U), YANG et al. (CN 115912562 A), and further in view of LI et al. (CN 208424203 U) and QIN et al. (US 2023/0291351 A1).
In re claim 8, XIONG discloses the discharge unlocking module is configured to determine whether the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage (¶s [n0009, n0042]: weak voltage sampling circuit 50, configured to output a sampling feedback suppression signal when the voltage output by the photovoltaic cell is not less than the first preset value).
XIONG does not expressly disclose the discharge unlocking module is configured to determine whether the time during which the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage exceeds a preset time, and when the time during which the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage exceeds the preset time, the discharging unlocking module is configured to control the discharge triggering module to output the second control signal.
LI teaches an integrating circuit that determines whether the time during which a sensed voltage condition persists exceeds a preset duration before the downstream stage responds (¶[0016]: capacitor C1, resistor R7, and resistor R6, introducing a response delay before the first Zener diode's downstream stage responds).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify XIONG’s discharge unlocking module to incorporate LI's integrating circuit, such that the discharge unlocking module also determines whether the time during which the output voltage is greater than the preset voltage exceeds a preset time, as a routine optimization of a result-effective variable tied to the resistor-capacitor product controlling response delay, to prevent a brief, transient voltage excursion from prematurely triggering unlocking.
In re claim 9, XIONG discloses the discharge unlocking module (weak voltage sampling circuit 50).
XIONG does not expressly disclose wherein the discharge unlocking module comprises a diode ZD1, a diode ZD2, a capacitor C1, a switch tube Q3, a resistor R1 and a resistor R7.
LI teaches a diode ZD1 (¶[0016]: first Zener diode DZ1), a diode ZD2 (¶[0016]: second Zener diode DZ2), a capacitor C1 (¶[0016]: first capacitor C1), a switch tube Q3 (¶[0016]: thyristor Q1), a resistor R1 (¶[0016]: second resistor R2), and a resistor R7 (¶[0016]: seventh resistor R7);
a cathode of the diode ZD1 is connected with the photovoltaic input source through the resistor R1 (¶[0016]: DZ1's cathode, connected to the R2/R8 junction, R2's other end feeding toward the non-isolated switching power supply output terminal), an anode of the diode ZD1 is respectively connected with a first end of the capacitor C1 and a cathode of the diode ZD2 (¶[0016]: the node joining R6, DZ1's anode, and R7/C1), a second end of the capacitor C1 is grounded (¶[0016]: R7's grounded end, shared by C1), and the resistor R7 is connected in parallel with the capacitor C1 (¶[0016]: C1 connected in parallel with R7).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the EFD to modify the discharge unlocking module to incorporate LI's diode, diode, capacitor, switch tube, and resistor structure, such that an anode of the diode ZD2 is connected with a control end of the switch tube Q3, a first end of the switch tube Q3 is connected with a control end of the discharge triggering module, and a second end of the switch tube Q3 is used for grounding, to provide a two-stage Zener-referenced delay cascade that resists nuisance tripping from short voltage transients
Terminal Disclaimer
The prior art applied in this Office Action includes foreign patent documents that were originally published in languages other than English. Machine-generated translations of these documents were utilized to assess their relevance and content.
Conclusion
/D. JOHANN DJANAL-MANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859