DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. The claims are indefinite because of the following reasons:
In claim 1, the limitation of “the dialysate is prepared by mixing an A-drug solution and a B-drug solution introduced into the line section and diluting the A-drug solution and the B-drug solution to predetermined concentrations” is unclear since the recited function does not follow from the structure recited in the claim, so it is unclear whether the function requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the blood purification apparatus in a certain manner. Thus, one of ordinary skill would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g). As shown in figure 5 and described in the specification, aforementioned functions are provided by stirring chambers 9a, 9b, solution containers T1, T2 and pumps 8a, 8b.
In claim 1, the limitation of “the bicarbonate solution being obtained by heating the B-drug solution introduced into the line section”, is unclear since the recited function does not follow from the structure recited in the claim, so it is unclear whether the function requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the blood purification apparatus in a certain manner in a certain manner. Thus, one of ordinary skill would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Did Applicant intend to claim the HEX 3 and/or heating unit 4 shown in figure 5?
Claims 2-4 are also rejected since claims suffer the same defects as the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3,335,742 B1, hereinafter ‘742.
As for claim 1, ‘742 teaches a blood purification apparatus ("Dialysemaschine") configured to purify a patient's blood by causing the blood ("Blut") to extracorporeally circulate through a blood purifier and a blood circuit ("extrakorporalen Blutbehandlung", "Blutwäsche"), the blood purification apparatus comprising:
a line section ("Hydraulikkreislauf") including a dialysate introduction line through which dialysate is to be introduced into the blood purifier, and a drain-liquid discharge line through which drain liquid is to be discharged from the blood purifier (inherent and implicit feature of "Hydraulikkreislauf");
a delivery unit ("Pumpe") configured to deliver fluid in the line section (see e.g. paragraphs 47, 48);
a control unit ("Gerätesteuerung ") configured to execute a blood purification treatment process ("Blutbehandlung") and a defatting washing process ("Reinigung und Entfettung") by controlling the delivers unit (see e.g. paragraphs 47-49), the blood purification treatment process being executed when blood purification treatment is performed in which the dialysate is delivered to the blood purifier (via "Hydraulikkreislauf"), the dialysate being prepared by mixing an A-drug solution (see e.g. paragraph 39: "saure Konzentrat") and a B-drug solution (see e.g. paragraph 47: "Bicarbonat") introduced into the line section and diluting the A-drug solution and the B-drug solution (with "(RO)-Wasser") to predetermined concentrations (see e.g. paragraphs 39, 48), the defatting washing process being executed when defatting washing is performed in which oil and fat in the line section is removed (see e.g. paragraph 26) by causing a bicarbonate solution to flow through the line section (see e.g. paragraphs 48-49: "im Hydraulikkreislauf zirkuliert"); the bicarbonate solution being obtained by heating the B-drug solution introduced into the line section (see paragraph 49),
wherein the control unit causes carbon dioxide to be discharged to an outside of the line section during the defatting washing process, the carbon dioxide being generated when the bicarbonate solution is caused to flow.
“Subsequently, the fed bicarbonate is circulated in the hydraulic circuit and heated to 50 ° C, preferably 85 ° C and most preferably higher than 85 ° C to just below the boiling points of the bicarbonate solution. From 50 ° C the bicarbonate decomposes into water, carbon dioxide and soda. The costs incurred during the heating process Amount of carbon dioxide can be removed via a device for gas separation. It is advantageous to keep the bicarbonate solution in this temperature range for a certain duration before exceeding the temperature range at which the outgassing takes place in order to prevent a sudden rapid outgassing. This is in the Fig. 2 described in more detail. The formed soda is the washing substance, with which existing grease and dirt in the hydraulic system are solved.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquiries that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘742 in view of Yardimci et al. (U.S. 7,871,462), hereinafter “Yardimci”.
‘742 doesn’t specify his gas separator to be a trap configured to capture bubbles in the dialysate while allowing dialysate to flow through the trap. But such is taught by Yardimci.
Yadimci teaches a trap (figure 3) configured to trap the bubbles while allowing dialysate to flow through the trap, wherein upon modification with ‘742 would perform the function capturing the carbon dioxide during the washing process [as in claim 2]. It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the trap of Yardimci in the invention of ‘742 since Yardimci teaches the benefit of provide improved air seapation chamber for the removal of air from the dialysis fluid or blood flowing through a disposable dialysis fluid apparatus (col. 5, lines 52-56)—further perfecting the invention of ‘472.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘742 in view of Yardimci and in further view of Meyer et al. (U.S. 10,874,787 B2), hereinafter “Meyer”.
As for claim 3, the modified ‘742 also teaches a fluid-pressure a fluid-pressure detector configured to detect fluid pressure, wherein if a predetermined change in the fluid pressure is detected by the fluid-pressure detector in the defatting washing process, the control unit would cause the carbon dioxide captured by the trap to be discharged to the outside of the line section (via valves 26a,26b in response to a pressure sensor measuring pressure within the air separation chamber, see col. 7, lines 50-62 of Yardimci).
The modified ‘742 doesn’t specify that the pressure detector is provided at the dialysate introduction line on a downstream side or an upstream side relative to the trap, but such is taught by Meyer. Meyer also teaches a degassing system for dialysis that teaches a pressure sensor upstream from the fluid inlet to the gas separator including after resistor 13 and also downstream from the separator down to the pump 12 (see col. 2, lines 63-65; col. 8, lines 19-21) [as in claim 3]. It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the pressure sensor of the modified ‘742 positioned downstream or upstream of the gas separator, as in Meyer since Meyer teaches the benefit of control of a system for “improved removal or carbon dioxide” (col. 8, line 23) and removal of carbon dioxide with minimal foaming, col. 1, lines 22-23).
As for claim 4, the modified ‘742 (as shown in Yadimci expanded above) teaches a first upstream part 84 of the trap storing captured bubbles, a second downstream part 82 allowing dialysate received to flow through the second region, and a line section including a bypass line 70 through which the first region and the drain line are connected to communication with each other and including an on-off valve 26a or 26b controlled by pressure detected by a pressure detector to discharge gas therethrough to the drain.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/397,107 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant claim 1 is anticipated by those of the reference application, and because anticipation is the epitome of obviousness.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
If repeated attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful (including leaving a voice message), the examiner’s supervisor, Bobby Ramdhanie can be reached on (571) 270-3240. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TERRY K CECIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779