DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Den Brink et al (US 2023/0244128).
Regarding Claim 1, Van Den Brink teaches a defogging lens barrel structure (abstract; figs. 14; ¶[0004], line 1-7, defrosting front lenses) comprising:
a lens barrel (fig. 1a, 30) comprising a receiving groove (fig. 1a, 31 having a groove; also see fig. 2b), wherein an inner portion of the receiving groove has an inner wall (fig. 1a, 31, --inner wall of 31 groove; also see fig. 2b);
a heating module disposed inside the receiving groove of the lens barrel and adapted to provide a heat source (fig. 1a, 510; fig. 2b, 511; ¶[0012], line 1-5, the lens heater 510 comprises an annular heater disc 511, wherein the annular heater disc 511 is arranged between the annular heat insulating device 6 and said at least a portion of the inner surface 4a of the front lens 4) and
a lens assembly disposed inside the lens barrel and comprising a first lens (fig. 1a, 4),
wherein the first lens is installed in the receiving groove and supported on the heating module (fig. 1a, 4, 31, 510); the first lens has a peripheral portion (fig. 1a, 4/4a, --peripheral portion of 4/4a),
wherein at least one slot is provided between the peripheral portion and the inner wall (fig. 1a, a gap between 4 and 31; fig. 2b, a slot in 556 for 555).
Regarding Claim 2, Van Den Brink teaches the defogging lens barrel structure as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a heat- insulating and positioning module installed in the receiving groove of the lens barrel (fig. 1a, 6; fig. 2b, 6), wherein heat-insulating and positioning module surrounds the peripheral portion of the first lens (fig. 1a, 4a, 6, --6 surrounds portion of 4a peripheral portion) and is fixed within the at least one slot (fig. 2b, 6, 556); a thermal conductivity of the heat-insulating and positioning module is less than 0.1 W/m.K (¶[0046], line 1-34, the heat insulating device 6 is an O-ring; the heat insulating device 6 is e.g. made of any o rubber or other thermal isolation material, plastic…; ---thermal conductivity of rubber is ranging from 0.1 --0.5 W/mk).
Regarding Claim 3, Van Den Brink teaches the defogging lens barrel structure as claimed in claim 2, wherein the peripheral portion has an annular peripheral surface facing the inner wall of the receiving groove (fig. 1a, 4, 31; --side surface of 4 and inner surface of 31 groove); the heat-insulating and positioning module includes an outer annular fixing seat (fig. 2b, 6, --6 is fixed (seated) under 511 with 556), wherein the outer annular fixing seat is correspondingly disposed within the at least one slot (fig. 2b, 6 with 556) and contacts the annular peripheral surface and the inner wall, thereby the outer annular fixing seat is positioned between the lens barrel and the first lens (fig. 2b, 6 with 556, 4, 31, 511).
Regarding Claim 11, Van Den Brink teaches a defogging lens barrel structure (abstract; figs. 14; ¶[0004], line 1-7, defrosting front lenses), comprising:
a lens barrel comprising a receiving groove (fig. 1a, 31 having a groove; also see fig. 2b), wherein an inner portion of the receiving groove has an inner wall and at least one positioning part (fig. 1a, 31, --inner wall of 31 groove; fig. 2b, 556,-- having function to position 6 and 511);
a heating module disposed inside the receiving groove of the lens barrel and adapted to provide a heat source (fig. 1a, 510; fig. 2b, 511; ¶[0012], line 1-5, the lens heater 510 comprises an annular heater disc 511, wherein the annular heater disc 511 is arranged between the annular heat insulating device 6 and said at least a portion of the inner surface 4a of the front lens 4); the heating module has at least one positioned part corresponding to the at least one positioning part of the lens barrel (fig. 2b, 556,-- having function to position 6 and 511 in 31), and at least one gap is provided between the heating module and the inner wall (fig. 1a, a gap between 4 and 31; fig. 2b, a slot in 556 for 555); and
a lens assembly disposed inside the lens barrel (fig. 1a, 4/3, 31/32) and comprising a first lens (fig. 1a, 4), wherein the first lens is installed in the receiving groove and supported on the heating module (fig. 1a, 4, 31, 510).
Regarding Claim 12, Van Den Brink teaches the defogging lens barrel structure as claimed in claim 11, wherein the at least one positioning part comprises a protrusion disposed on a bottom of the receiving groove (fig. 2b, 556, 31); the heating module has an electric heating element supported on the bottom of the receiving groove (fig. 2b, 551, 31/31a); the at least one positioned part includes a hole corresponding to the protrusion and disposed on the electric heating element (fig. 2b, 511, 556, 555); the at least one gap is formed between the electric heating element and the inner wall of the receiving groove (fig. 2b, 556 for 555).
Regarding Claim 15, Van Den Brink teaches the defogging lens barrel structure as claimed in claim 12, wherein the receiving groove has a side opening radially penetrating the inner wall of the receiving groove (fig. 2b, 556); the heating module comprises a power connection part (fig. 2b, 511, 555), wherein the power connection part is connected to the electric heating element and is guided out of the side opening of the lens barrel to be connected to an external power source (fig. 2b, 511, 555; fig. 2a, 555, 520-- heater driver).
Regarding Claim 16, Van Den Brink teaches the defogging lens barrel structure as claimed in claim 15, wherein the lens barrel has a cutting groove and a guiding groove (fig. 2b, 556); the cutting groove is cut flat along an axis of the side opening at the bottom of the receiving groove (fig. 2b, 556); the guiding groove is disposed on an outer peripheral surface of the lens barrel along the axis of the side opening and opens to communicate with the cutting groove (fig. 2b, 556); when the heating module is installed in the receiving groove (fig. 2b, 511), the power connection part of the heating module (fig. 2b, 555) is guided out of the side opening and extends in a direction toward the cutting groove and the guiding groove and a part of the power connection part is correspondingly accommodated within the guiding groove (fig. 2b, 511, 555, 556).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Den Brink et al (US 2023/0244128) in a view of Noda et al (US 20050152050).
Regarding Claim 13, Van Den Brink discloses as set forth above and further teaches defogging lens barrel structure as claimed in claim 12, wherein the first lens has a peripheral portion (fig. 1a, 4/4a, -- peripheral portion of 4a/4); the peripheral portion has an annular peripheral surface facing the inner wall of the receiving groove (fig. 1a, 4, 31); the lens barrel comprises at least one fixing portion disposed on the inner wall of the receiving groove (fig. 2b, 556, -- having function to position 6 and 511 in 31 ); at least one slot is provided between the peripheral portion and the inner wall and correspondingly communicates with the at least one gap (fig. 2b, 556 for 555).
But Van Den Brink does not specifically disclose that wherein at least one fixing portion disposed on the inner wall of the receiving groove to tightly abut against the first lens; the protrusion of the at least one positioning part extends radially outward from the at least one fixing portion.
However, Noda teaches a lens unit (abstract; figs. 1 and 7), wherein a lens barrel comprising a receiving groove (fig. 1, 21A, 21C; fig. 7, 1, 2); and the first lens is installed in the receiving groove (fig. 1, 24a; fig. 7, 2); and wherein at least one fixing portion disposed on the inner wall of the receiving groove (fig. 1, 22s) to tightly abut against the first lens (fig. 1, 22, 24a); the protrusion of the at least one positioning part extends radially outward from the at least one fixing portion (fig. 1, 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens barrel of Van Den Brink by the lens unit of Noda for the purpose of providing of a lens unit having the lenses positioned accurately (¶[0006], line 10-13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 14, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the allowable subject matter: The prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
In regard to claims 4-6, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest a lens barrel structure further comprising at least wherein the heat-insulating and positioning module includes an inner annular fixing seat, wherein the outer annular fixing seat is engaged with an outer periphery of the inner annular fixing seat; wherein two card slots are respectively provided on two side edges of the limiting block and the two card slots are correspondingly engaged with a peripheral edge of the side opening; and wherein the outer annular fixing seat of the heat-insulating and positioning module has at least one notch correspondingly matching with the at least one fixing portion.
Claims 7-8 and 9-10 are also allowable as they depend on claims 5 and 6 respectively.
In regard to claims 14 and 17, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest a lens barrel structure further comprising at least wherein the protrusions of the plurality of positioning parts are respectively engaged with one of the plurality of fixing portions, and wherein the holes of the plurality of positioned portions are correspondingly spaced along a peripheral edge of the electric heating element; and wherein the outer annular fixing seat has at least one notch correspondingly matching with the at least one fixing portion.
Claims 18-20 are also allowable as they depend on claims 14 and 17 respectively.
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872