This communication is in response to application No. 18/396,089 Link Locking Device of Seat for Vehicle; filed on 12/26/2023 and amended on 3/16/2026. Claims 1-4 and 6 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 5 and 7 have been cancelled by amendment. Claims 1-4 and 6 have been rejected as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aumond (FR 2796602) in view of Hudak (DE 10 2013 215127 A1) and further in view of Borlinghaus (US 4881781 A).
Regarding claim 1, Aumond discloses;
A link locking device of a vehicle seat, comprising: a sector gear unit (formed integral to link 24; Fig. 2, 3, Aumond) rotatably fastened to a cushion frame (seat frame / armature 11; Fig. 2,3) and fastened to a link connection unit (articulated fastening at pivot 242, Fig. 2, 3, Lines 616-618) to which a height link (connecting rod 24) in a seat rail (rail 12) is rotatably coupled; (Aumond forms the sector gear integrally with the seat height adjustment link 24, but does mention that the sector gear may be attached to the link rather than formed of a single unit (Lines 616-618). Both of the parts pivot from the seat frame at pivot 242)
a locking unit (locking means 240) rotatably coupled to the cushion frame and fastened to a buckle (buckle housing 32 via rod 31) of a seat belt (belt 30) to engage the sector gear unit and block the rotation of the link connection unit when the buckle is pulled, (fig. 1, Line 614-619)
a guide link (cam 245; Line 636) rotatably fastened (pivot 246) to the guide link hinge portion of the cushion frame; and
a buckle shaft (pivot 248; fig. 2)
a rotating member (lever 243; fig. 2) rotatably fastened (pivot 244) to the rotating member hinge portion of the cushion frame and including a pawl gear (pawl are of lever 243) to engage the sector gear unit (toothed sector 241);
wherein when the buckle is pulled the buckle shaft (pivot 248) is configured to move, the guide link (cam 245) rotates about the guide link hinge portion (pivot 246; fig. 2, Lines 637-639) and the rotating member (lever 243) rotates about a rotating member hinge portion (pivot 244).
Aumond does not disclose a base frame fastened to the cushion frame; to which a guide link and a rotating member are rotatably fastened; and a buckle shaft disposed to pass through slot holes respectively formed in the base frame and the cushion frame, wherein the buckle shaft is configured to move along the slot holes. However, Hudak teaches;
wherein the locking unit comprises: a base frame (reinforcement plate 120; Fig. 5, paragraph 51) fastened to the cushion frame (seat frame side part 32), the base frame including a guide link hinge portion (bolt 130) and a rotating member hinge portion; (With the modification of Aumond to include the base frame of Hudak, the hinge for the rotating member (pivot 244; Aumond) would be part of the base frame.)
a guide link (handle 150) rotatably fastened (bolt 130) to the guide link hinge portion of the base frame; (handle 150 is attached to the reinforcement plate at hole 151 with bolt 130. Paragraph 46)
a buckle shaft (attaches at bolt 170, which attaches to handle 150 at hole 152; Fig. 5) disposed to pass through slot holes (slot-shaped opening 122; Fig. 5, Paragraph 51) respectively formed in the base frame and the cushion frame (slot 32A, which is in the seat frame side part 32; Paragraph 51), wherein the buckle shaft is configured to move along the slot holes.
(Hudak utilize a single rotating feature to lock the locking unit through the movement of a pawl and therefore does not disclose a second pivot fastened to the base frame. However, the modification of Aumond, which utilizes both a guide link and a rotating member, to add the base frame of Hudak would place the pivots for both the guide link and the rotating member on the base frame, which is then fastened to the cushion frame.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Aumond to include a base frame fastened to the cushion frame, to which a guide link and a rotating member are rotatably fastened, and a buckle shaft disposed to pass through slot holes respectively formed in the base frame and the cushion frame, wherein the buckle shaft is configured to move along the slot holes as taught by Hudak, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to seat frame locking mechanisms. As disclosed by Hudak, it is well known for a locking mechanism to include a base frame fastened to the cushion frame, to which a guide link and a rotating member are rotatably fastened, and a buckle shaft disposed to pass through slot holes respectively formed in the base frame and the cushion frame, wherein the buckle shaft is configured to move along the slot holes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aumond to include a base frame fastened to the cushion frame, to which a guide link and a rotating member are rotatably fastened, and a buckle shaft disposed to pass through slot holes respectively formed in the base frame and the cushion frame, wherein the buckle shaft is configured to move along the slot holes as taught by Hudak, as such a modification would provide the ability to prevent seat deformation or failure resulting from crash forces. (Paragraph 2 of Hudak).
Aumond discloses;
wherein the locking unit includes a spring (spring 250; Figs. 2, 3, Lines 644-658) having one end fastened to the guide link (cam 245) and the other end fastened to the base frame (see Fig. 2) to apply an elastic force to cause the rotating member to rotate in a direction the pawl gear (lever 243) pulls away from the sector gear unit (toothed sector 241). (see Lines 643-644)
wherein when a pulling force on the buckle is removed, the rotating member is returned to an original position by the elastic force of the torsion spring inserted and fastened to the rotating member hinge portion (paragraph 8, figs 2-3; Aumond).
Aumond does not specifically disclose the type of spring utilized, but instead describes the spring as illustrated schematically by the mark (250). Indicating the location and direction of the elastic, returning force. Ring-shaped torsion springs disposed on a corresponding hinge portion are well known, for example, Borlinghaus teaches;
a torsion spring (coil spring 145; fig. 4) having a ring-shaped body disposed on the rotating member hinge portion (shaft 151) and having one end fastened to the rotating member (lever 140).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Aumond to include a torsion spring having a ring-shaped body disposed on the rotating member hinge portion and having one end fastened to the rotating member, as taught by Borlinghaus, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle seats. As disclosed by Borlinghaus, it is well known for a vehicle seat to include a torsion spring having a ring-shaped body disposed on the rotating member hinge portion and having one end fastened to the rotating member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aumond to include a torsion spring having a ring-shaped body disposed on the rotating member hinge portion and having one end fastened to the rotating member as taught by Borlinghaus, as such a modification would provide a biasing force to return the lever to its starting position after the force has been removed.
Further, in re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1959), a change in shape is generally seen as an obvious design choice recognized to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The change in shape of the return spring from the coil spring of Aumond to the torsion spring of the subject application would not change the function of the spring, which is to unlock the locking mechanism when the force on the buckle has been removed, and which would continue to function as intended. Additionally, the subject Specification does not provide any criticality to the type or shape of the spring in the release mechanism.
In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1960), the rearrangement of parts is generally seen as an obvious design choice recognized to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The rearrangement of the spring attachment from the guide link to the pawl does not change the function of the spring, namely to dislodge the pawl from the sector gear when the force on the buckle is removed. The locking mechanism continue would continue to function as intended. Additionally, the subject Specification does not provide any criticality to the attachment of the spring to the pawl feature.
With regards to the spring actuated release feature for the locking mechanism, the differences between Aumond and the subject application amounts to a reversal of the application of force to release the locking pawl. Aumond pulls down on the guide link which forces the pawl upwards, away from the sector gear. The subject application places the spring on the pawl and the spring force pushes the pawl upwards and away from the sector gear.
Regarding claim 2, Aumond further discloses;
wherein the sector gear unit includes: a sector gear unit main body (formed integral to link 24; see annotated Fig. 2) fastened to the link connection unit (articulated fastening at pivot 242, Fig. 2, 3, Lines 616-618) between the cushion frame and the height link (connecting rod 24); and
a sector gear (toothed sector 241; Figs. 2, 3, Line 616) formed from the sector gear unit main body toward the locking unit.
Regarding claim 3, Hudak further teaches;
wherein the locking unit includes:
wherein the guide link (handle 150; Fig. 5) has one side fastened to the buckle (attaches at bolt 170, which attaches to handle 150 at hole 152) to receive rotational power and an other side rotating the rotating member to engage the pawl gear with the sector gear unit. (buckle force applied at hole 152 rotates the link about mounting hole 151 and engages pawl 155 with sector gear unit 110; Fig. 5, paragraph 52)
Regarding claim 4, Hudak further teaches;
wherein the buckle shaft (bolt 170; Fig. 5, paragraph 51, Hudak) is positioned through the slot holes (122 and 32A) formed in the base frame (120) and the cushion frame (32) and having one end fastened to the buckle (fastened to buckle at bolt 170) and an other end rotatably fastened to one side of the guide link (handle 150 at holes 152).
Regarding claim 6, Aumond discloses;
wherein the rotating member (comb lever 243) includes a support boss (point 249; Figs. 2,3, lines 642-643) protruding away from the sector gear unit and seated on a pressing boss (tip 247) protruding from the other side of the guide link (cam 245) to receive rotational power.
Response to Amendment
Amendments made to claim 1 have corrected the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues noted in the previous Office Action. The 112 rejections of claims 1-7 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claim to clarify the torsion spring as having a ring-shaped body disposed on the rotating member hinge portion. However, ring-shaped torsion springs disposed on a corresponding hinge pivot are well known in the art. Borlinghaus, for example, teaches such a spring utilized in a seat mechanism for returning a pivoting lever to its home position after an applied force has been removed. Further, a change of shape is generally understood to be within the ability of one who is of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hudak (DE 10 2013 215127 A1) describes a torsion type of spring for releasing the locking mechanism, where the torsion spring also supports the seat occupant’s weight.
Bauer (US 6,116,689) describes similar locking mechanism which uses a torsion type of spring (spring 57) to release the lock feature.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
April 22, 2026