DETAILED ACTION This is on the merits of Application No. 18396096, filed on 12/26/2023. Claims 1-11 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 1- 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 establishes “at least one passage” and “at least one flap” but then switches to just “the passage” and “the flap”. Claims 2-9 also varies between what these terms . Uniformity of claim language must be kept, so it is suggested each instance of “the passage” should be “the at least one passage” and “the flap” should be “the at least one flap”. Claim 8 also states “a plurality of shut-off elements”. However, “a shut-off element” is already established in claim 1. Claim 8 further states “the screen comprises a plurality of passages”. However, claim 1 already establishes “the screen comprising at least one passage”. It is suggested applicant state --the at least one passage comprises a plurality of passages--. Claim 9 states “the shut-off device comprises a plurality of flaps”. While it is understood that these “plurality of flaps” is referencing the “at least one flap” of claim 1, the claim should still establish that fact. It is suggested applicant state --the at least one flap comprises a plurality of flaps”. Claim 9 further states “at least two of the flaps” and should state --at least two of the flaps of the plurality of flaps--. Claim 11 states “an air flow” and should state --the air flow-- as it is already established within claim 1. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 states “wherein the at least one flap comprises a plurality of shut-off elements … wherein at least one of the shut-off elements is configured to extend in one of the passages dedicated to the shut-off element ”. First, “a shut-off element” is already established in claim 1. Are the plurality of shut-off elements somehow different ? Is “at least one of the shut-off elements” including the original shut-off element? Does “dedicated to the shut-off element” mean the original shut-off element of claim 1 or any of the plurality of shut-off elements? Further, it is unclear what “dedicated to the shut-off element” is even meant in this context. Uniform nomenclature is needed in the claims to avoid confusion. It is suggested claim 1 establish --at least one shut-off element-- with the rest of the dependents updated to state as such. Further, “one of the passages” should state --one of the plurality of passages--. Finally, it is suggested applicant delete “dedicated to the shut-off element”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 , 5, 7-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0070817 to Walters. Walters discloses: (Claim 1) A f ront face assembly configured to be fitted in a motor vehicle (Fig. 1) , the front face assembly comprising a screen (10) and a shut-off device (Figs. 2-4, 52 driven by 62) , the screen comprising at least one passage (Fig. 10 element 38) via which an air flow can pass through the screen, the shut-off device comprising at least one flap (52) adapted to take up a first position in which the flap shuts off the passage (Figs. 6, 7, 10) and a second position in which the flap opens the passage (Figs. 2-5) , the flap comprising a shut-off elemen t (Fig. 10 element 72) which extends at least partially in the passage in the screen when the flap is in its first position. (Claim 5 ) wherein the shut-off element of the flap which extends in the passage in the screen is of a shape complementary to the passage (see Fig. 10 elements 72 and 38) . (Claim 7 ) wherein the flap comprises a rotation shaft (Figs. 4-5 and 13 element 54) and a control pin (56) , wherein the front face assembly compris es at least one lever (50) connected to the at least one flap by the control pin, wherein the lever is movable in translation so as to change the position of the flap (see par. [0030]) . (Claim 8) wherein the at least one flap comprises a plurality of shut-off elements (52) , wherein the screen compris es a plurality of passages (38) , wherein at least one of the shut-off elements is configured to extend in one of the passages dedicated to the shut-off element (see Fig. 10) . (Claim 9 ) wherein the shut-off device comprises a plurality of flaps (52) , wherein at least two of the flaps are configured to go simultaneously from their first position to their second position (Fig. 7, par. [0035], elements 52 move together when actuated by 62) . (Claim 11 ) A m otor vehicle comprising the front face assembly according to claim 1 , wherein the front face assembly is configured to accept an airflow passing through it (Fig. 1) . Claims 1 -7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0202289 to Jeong et al. Jeong discloses : (Claim 1) A f ront face assembly (Figs. 1-7) configured to be fitted in a motor vehicle (par. [0065], front side of a vehicle) , the front face assembly comprising a screen (10) and a shut-off device (20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70) , the screen comprising at least one passage (11) via which an air flow can pass through the screen, the shut-off device comprising at least one flap (34) adapted to take up a first position in which the flap shuts off the passage and a second position in which the flap opens the passage, the flap comprising a shut-off elemen t (35) which extends at least partially in the passage in the screen when the flap is in its first position (Par. [0068], [0071], 35 extends into passage to shut off passage and can also open) . (Claim 2) wherein the screen is delimited by a first face and a second face (see Fig. 1) , wherein the passage extend s between the first face and the second face, wherein the shut-off element of the flap lies flush with one of the faces of the screen (Par. [0071], 35 lies flush with screen in closed position) . (Claim 3) wherein the flap comprises a contact face configured to come into contact with a face of the screen which is opposite the face with which the portion of the flap lies flush (see rest of element 34 in closed position) . (Claim 4) wherein the screen comprises a support portion (Par. [0065], 10 has openings 11, the rest of 10 would be considered the “support portion”) , wherein the support portion form s the part of the screen distinct from the at least one passage, wherein the contact face of the flap com es into contact with the support portion. (Claim 5 ) wherein the shut-off element of the flap which extends in the passage in the screen is of a shape complementary to the passage ( par. [0071], 35 is the same shape as opening 11) . (Claim 6) wherein the shut-off element protrudes from the contact face of the flap (see Fig. 2A) . (Claim 7 ) wherein the flap comprises a rotation shaft (31) and a control pin (33) , wherein the front face assembly compris es at least one lever (40) connected to the at least one flap by the control pin, wherein the lever is movable in translation so as to change the position of the flap. (Claim 9 ) wherein the shut-off device comprises a plurality of flaps, wherein at least two of the flaps are configured to go simultaneously from their first position to their second position (see Fig. 2A, multiple flaps on the same rotation shaft, thus will rotate together) . (Claim 11 ) A m otor vehicle comprising the front face assembly according to claim 1 , wherein the front face assembly is configured to accept an airflow passing through it (see Abstract) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters in view of Jeong et al. Walters discloses: The limitations of claim 1. (Claim 2) wherein the screen is delimited by a first face and a second face, wherein the passage extend s between the first face and the second face (see Fig, 10 element 38) . (Claim 3) wherein the flap comprises a contact face configured to come into contact with a face of the screen which is opposite the face with which the portion of the flap lies (see Fig. 10) . (Claim 4) wherein the screen comprises a support portion (30) , wherein the support portion form s the part of the screen distinct from the at least one passage, wherein the contact face of the flap com es into contact with the support portion (Fig. 10) . (Claim 6) wherein the shut-off element protrudes from the contact face of the flap (Fig. 10) . Walters does not explicitly disclose: (Claim 2) wherein the shut-off element of the flap lies flush with one of the faces of the screen . Jeong teaches: (Claim 2) wherein the shut-off element of the flap lies flush with one of the faces of the screen (par. [0026], [0029], flap can have the protrusion be flush). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified , with a reasonable expectation of success, the structur e of Walters to have the shut-off elements of the flap lie flush with the face of the screen, as taught by Jeong, in order to improve aesthetics, as stated in par. [0029] of Jeong. Allowable Subject Matter Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious the limitations of claim 10. Particularly, comprising a t least one lighting device adapted to take up a first configuration in which the lighting device is in line with the passage and wherein the lighting device is adapted to take up a second configuration in which the lighting device is in line with the support portion of the screen. Walters is the closest prior art of record. Walters does not disclose the claimed lighting device. It would not have been obvious to modify Walters without improper hindsight reasoning as none of the prior art of record disclose nor render obvious such a limitation. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stoddard et al (US 10071625) discloses a flow control assembly and method utilizing apertured shutters. Kondo (US 20190126742) discloses a grill shutter device for vehicle. Klop et al (US 20190023119) discloses a vehicle grille flow control assembly and method. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT TIMOTHY HANNON whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1943 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 10-6 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Ernesto Suarez can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-5565 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TIMOTHY HANNON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655