DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed August 27, 2026 for the above identified patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, the limitation “the power steering pump is configured to be connected to a torque output source arranged downstream of a transmission system of the vehicle” is not fully understood in view applicant’s remarks filed August 27/2026. Referring to section [0057] of the written disclosure, it is understood “…it is possible to define a downstream portion of the drivetrain as being the portion which is permanently connected to the drive wheels 5, even if the clutch 31 is opened, thereby disconnecting the gearbox from the traction engine, and/or if the gearbox is in neutral.” Further, Figure 4, illustrates the steering pump (110) being driven by a countershaft (7), wherein the countershaft is part of the vehicle transmission system (3). However, applicant’s remarks appear to contradict the understanding that the steering pump can be driven by the vehicle transmission system, as understood by the written description and the embodiment of Figure 4. Specifically, applicant argues Yamada does not anticipate the claims because “Yamada's torque extraction occurs internally within the transmission system 3 and not downstream of it” (page 9 or 11, last paragraph). The meets and bounds of the above claim limitation is not fully understood. If applicant intends to narrow the scope of the claim to specifically define the torque output source is structurally placed downstream of the vehicle transmission system as illustrated in the embodiment of Figure 3, it is suggested the claim be amended to define the vehicle transmission system having a housing, and the torque output source being connected to the vehicle driveline downstream of the transmission system housing.
Please note, an amendment that changes the scope of the claims, including narrowing the scope of the claims, requires further consideration by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 13, 16, 18-20, 22-23, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (USP 6,524,218).
Yamada teaches a power steering system for a vehicle, the power steering system comprising a power steering pump (21), an electrical machine unit (22), a clutch arrangement (11) and a power steering control system (30) configured to control the power steering system, wherein the electrical machine unit is configured to drive the power steering pump and to be operatively connected to and powered by an energy storage of the vehicle (battery, inherent to all motor vehicles); the power steering pump is configured to be connected to a torque output source (3d) arranged downstream of a transmission system (3a,3c) of the vehicle, the power steering pump being configured to be driven by means of torque provided by the torque output source; and the clutch arrangement is configured to selectively connect the power steering pump to the torque output source; wherein the power steering control system (30) is configured to control the clutch arrangement and the electrical machine unit to cause the power steering system to be operable in an electrical steering mode wherein the electrical machine unit drives the power steering pump and a mechanical steering mode wherein the power steering pump is driven by means of the torque provided by the torque output source.
Claim 2: Yamada teaches the power steering control system is configured to cause enabling of torque transfer from the electrical machine unit to the power steering pump and the clutch arrangement to disconnect the power steering pump from the torque output source in the electrical steering mode.
Claim 3: Yamada teaches the power steering control system is configured to cause disabling of torque transfer from the electrical machine unit to the power steering pump (when the motor 22 is not energized) and the clutch arrangement to connect the power steering pump to the torque output source in the mechanical steering mode.
Claim 4: Yamada teaches the clutch arrangement is operable between a closed state wherein the clutch arrangement connects the torque output source to the power steering pump and an opened state wherein the clutch arrangement disconnects the torque output source from the power steering pump.
Claim 5: Yamada teaches the power steering control system is configured to control the torque transfer between the power steering pump and the electrical machine unit by means of control of an electrical machine (motor) of the electrical machine unit (22).
Claim 6: Yamada teaches the torque output source is a transmission output shaft (3b) connected to the transmission system.
Claim 7: Yamada teaches the torque output source is a countershaft (3b is considered a countershaft) of the vehicle.
Claim 8: Yamada teaches the power steering control system is configured to control (or capable of controlling) the clutch arrangement and the electrical machine unit to cause the power steering system to be operable in a deactivated steering mode (when the vehicle is parked and the ignition is turned off, the motor is deenergized and the clutch is disengaged) wherein the power steering system does not provide any assistance for the steering of the vehicle.
Claim 9: Yamada teaches the power steering control system is configured to cause the power steering system to operate in any one of the electrical steering mode (motor driving the steering pump), mechanical steering mode (the transmission output driving the steering pump), and a deactivated steering mode (when the vehicle is parked and the ignition is turned off) based on energy management parameter data relating to the operation of the vehicle.
Claim 10: Yamada teaches the energy management parameter data comprises at least vehicle speed data (from sensor 32) or transmission system operational data (from sensor 31).
Claim 12: Yamada teaches the power steering control system is configured to cause the power steering system to operate in the electrical steering mode in response to the speed of the vehicle falling below an electric steering speed threshold (form sensor 32).
Claim 13: Yamada teaches the power steering control system is configured to cause the power steering system to operate in the mechanical steering mode in response to the speed of the vehicle exceeding a mechanical steering speed threshold (from sensor 32).
Claim 16: Yamada teaches the power steering control system is configured to cause the power steering system to operate in a deactivated steering mode in response to the speed of the vehicle exceeding a deactivation vehicle speed threshold (from sensor 32).
Claim 18: Yamada teaches a transmission system, an energy storage, a torque output source and a propulsion source (1) connected to the transmission system.
Claim 19: Yamada teaches a method comprising: obtaining energy management parameter data relating to the operation of the vehicle, and causing switching between the electrical steering mode and the mechanical steering mode based on the energy management parameter data.
Claim 20: Yamada teaches the energy management parameter data comprises at least one of: vehicle speed data (sensor 32) or transmission system operational data (sensor 31 or 32).
Claim 22: Yamada teaches the step of causing the power steering system to operate in the electrical steering mode in response to the speed of the vehicle falling below an electric steering speed threshold (from sensor 32).
Claim 23: Yamada teaches the step of causing the power steering system to operate in the mechanical steering mode in response to the speed of the vehicle exceeding a mechanical steering speed threshold (from sensor 32).
Claim 26: Yamada teaches the step of causing the power steering system to operate in a deactivated steering mode in response to the speed of the vehicle exceeding a deactivation vehicle speed threshold (from sensor 32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 14, 15, 17, 21, 24, 25, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach the power steering arrangement of claim 1, including: the power steering system being controlled based on data relating to the road ahead of the vehicle (claims 11 and 21), a planned route of the vehicle (claims 11 and 21), a charge condition of the energy storage (claims 14 and 24), energy recuperation data indicating that regenerative braking of the vehicle is predicted and/or initiated (claims 15 and 25), and transmissions system operational data indicating that a gear shift in the transmission system is predicted and/or initiated (claims 17 and 27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Yamada does not anticipate the claims because “Yamada's torque extraction occurs internally within the transmission system 3 and not downstream of it” (page 9 or 11, last paragraph). Referring to section [0057] of the written disclosure, it is understood “…it is possible to define a downstream portion of the drivetrain as being the portion which is permanently connected to the drive wheels 5, even if the clutch 31 is opened, thereby disconnecting the gearbox from the traction engine, and/or if the gearbox is in neutral.” Further, instant Figure 4, illustrates the steering pump (110) being driven by a countershaft (7), wherein the countershaft is part of the vehicle transmission system (3). Yamada illustrates in Fig. 1, a steering pump (21) driven by a torque source (3d), the torque source configured to permanently connect the steering pump to the drive wheels (7).
Alternatively, the limitation “transmission system” has not been sufficiently defined in the claims, and therefore can be considered any system that transmits torque. For example, Figure 1 of Yamada can be interpreted as having a “transmission system” consisting of gear 3c mounted on shaft 3a, and a “torque source” consisting of gear 8, wherein the torque source (gear 8) is positioned downstream of the transmission system (components 3a,3c).
The interpretation of Yamada is consistent with applicant’s definition of “downstream of a transmission system” found in the written disclosure, in that the steering pump is permanently connected to the drive wheels. If applicant believes the invention is in the placement of the output torque source being positioned outside a transmission system housing, then it is suggested the claims be amended to clearly define this structural feature. Please note, an amendment that changes the scope of the claims, including narrowing the scope of the claims, requires further consideration by the examiner.
In view of the foregoing, the claims stand rejected as described above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618