DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of the remarks, filed on 04/14/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 16-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-7 of the remarks, in regards to claims 1, 8 and 15, the applicant submits that the Ianev fails to teach or suggest the limitation of “receiving, by a base station of a second network and via the second network, an indication of a start of an overload control for access to a first network”. The applicant further arguments that Ianev discloses only single network.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Ianev discloses at least in paragraphs [0045], [0074]-[0077], [0080] and Figs. 1 & 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) (interpreted as first network) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB (interpreted as second network) in 5G or S1 Overload Start message to the eNB (interpreted as second network) in 4G with a parameter indicating overload for delay tolerant access. The examiner further states that the communications control module 63 is responsible for handling (generating/sending/receiving) signalling between the (R)AN node 5 (interpreted as second network) and other nodes, such as the UE 3 and the core network nodes (interpreted as first network), in addition, see Fig. 1. Ianev further discloses that the Core Network (e.g. AMF or MME) (interpreted as first network) may send N2 overload control message in 5G or Overload Start message in 4G to the RAN (e.g. gNB or eNB) (interpreted as second network) with one or combination of the following indications: a ‘delay tolerant data access’ parameter OR a ‘low priority data access’ parameter OR a ‘background data access’ parameter. Therefore Ianev discloses the above limitation.
On page 7 of the remarks, in regards to claims 1, 8 and 15, the applicant submits that the Ianev fails to teach or suggest the limitation of “wherein the base station receives the indication from at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the second network; or a mobility management entity (MME) of the second network”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Ianev discloses at least in paragraphs [0045], [0074]-[0077], [0080] and Figs. 1 & 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) (interpreted as first network) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB (interpreted as second network) in 5G or S1 Overload Start message to the eNB (interpreted as second network) in 4G with a parameter indicating overload for delay tolerant access. The examiner further states that RAN (gNB) is connected to the AMF/MME of core network, therefore, RAN(gNB) receives overload control message of the AMF/MME of the second network.
On page 7 of the remarks, in regards to dependent claims, the applicant submits that dependent claims are allowable, due to the previously alleged deficiencies of the references as applied to independent claims 1, 8 and 15, as described above.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner kindly directs the applicant to the reasoning detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ianev et al. (US 20210136659, Ianev hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Ianev discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a base station of a second network and via the second network, an indication of a start of an overload control for access to a first network (see at least paragraph [0080] and Fig. 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB in 5G or S1 Overload Start message to the eNB in 4G with a parameter indicating overload for delay tolerant access.);
receiving, by the base station from a wireless device, a connection request to access the first network via the second network (see at least paragraph [0082] and Fig. 8, UE requests RRC connection establishment to access AMF/MME network via gNB.); and
sending, by the base station and based on the indication, a rejection of the connection request (see at least paragraph [0083] and Fig. 8, the RAN node has activated overload control for delay tolerant type communication or services, the RAN Node shall reject the requests for RRC connection establishment.).
As to claim 3: Ianev discloses the method of claim 1. Ianev further discloses further comprising receiving, by the base station, an identifier of the first network (see at least paragraph [0080] and Fig. 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB would include network ID.).
As to claim 4: Ianev discloses the method of claim 1. Ianev further discloses wherein the base station receives the indication from at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the second network; or a mobility management entity (MME) of the second network (see at least paragraph [0080] and Fig. 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB in 5G or S1 Overload Start message to the eNB in 4G with a parameter indicating overload for delay tolerant access.).
As to claim 5: Ianev discloses the method of claim 1. Ianev further discloses further comprising receiving, by the base station from the wireless device, the connection request (see at least paragraph [0082] and Fig. 8, UE requests RRC connection
establishment to access AMF/MME network via gNB.).
As to claim 6: Ianev discloses the method of claim 1. Ianev further discloses wherein the connection request comprises a radio resource control (RRC) request message (see at least paragraph [0082] and Fig. 8, UE requests RRC connection
establishment to access AMF/MME network via gNB.).
As to claim 7: Ianev discloses the method of claim 1. Ianev further discloses further comprising sending, by the base station to the wireless device and based on the indication of the start of the overload control, a message comprising an access barring configuration for an access type (see at least paragraph [0081], the RAN Node (e.g. gNB or eNB) activates an overload control for delay tolerant access.
The RAN Node shall reject requests from UEs for delay tolerant access type, i.e. reject requests from UEs for connection establishment with delay tolerant RRC establishment cause.).
As to claim 8: Ianev discloses a base station of a second network, comprising one or more processors and memory (see Fig. 3) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station of the second network to: receive, via the second network, an indication of a start of an overload control for access to a first network (see at least paragraph [0080] and Fig. 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB in 5G or S1 Overload Start message to the eNB in 4G with a parameter indicating overload for delay tolerant access.);
Receive, from a wireless device, a connection request to access the first network via the second network (see at least paragraph [0082] and Fig. 8, UE requests RRC connection establishment to access AMF/MME network via gNB.); and
Send, based on the indication, a rejection of the connection request (see at least paragraph [0083] and Fig. 8, the RAN node has activated overload control for delay tolerant type communication or services, the RAN Node shall reject the requests for RRC connection establishment.).
As to claim 10: Ianev discloses the base station of claim 8. Ianev further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the base station to receive an identifier of the first network (see at least paragraph [0080] and Fig. 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB would include network ID.).
As to claim 11: Ianev discloses the base station of claim 8. Ianev further discloses wherein the base station receives the indication from at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the second network; or a mobility management entity (MME) of the second network (see at least paragraph [0080] and Fig. 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB in 5G or S1 Overload Start message to the eNB in 4G with a parameter indicating overload for delay tolerant access.).
As to claim 12: Ianev discloses the base station of claim 8. Ianev further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the base station to receive, from the wireless device, the connection request (see at least paragraph [0082] and Fig. 8, UE requests RRC connection establishment to access AMF/MME network via gNB.).
As to claim 13: Ianev discloses the base station of claim 8. Ianev further discloses wherein the connection request comprises a radio resource control (RRC) request message (see at least paragraph [0082] and Fig. 8, UE requests RRC connection
establishment to access AMF/MME network via gNB.).
As to claim 14: Ianev discloses the base station of claim 8. Ianev further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the base station to send, to the wireless device and based on the indication of the start of the overload control, a message comprising an access barring configuration for an access type (see at least paragraph [0081], the RAN Node (e.g. gNB or eNB) activates an overload control for delay tolerant access.
The RAN Node shall reject requests from UEs for delay tolerant access type, i.e. reject requests from UEs for connection establishment with delay tolerant RRC establishment cause.).
As to claim 15: Ianev discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a base station of a second network, cause the base station to: receive, via the second network, an indication of a start of an overload control for access to a first network (see at least paragraph [0080] and Fig. 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB in 5G or S1 Overload Start message to the eNB in 4G with a parameter indicating overload for delay tolerant access.);
Receive, from a wireless device, a connection request to access the first network via the second network (see at least paragraph [0082] and Fig. 8, UE requests RRC connection establishment to access AMF/MME network via gNB.); and
send, based on the indication, a rejection of the connection request (see at least paragraph [0083] and Fig. 8, the RAN node has activated overload control for delay tolerant type communication or services, the RAN Node shall reject the requests for RRC connection establishment.).
As to claim 17: Ianev discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15. Ianev further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the base station to receive an identifier of the first network (see at least paragraph [0080] and Fig. 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB would include network ID.).
As to claim 18: Ianev discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15. Ianev further discloses wherein the base station receives the indication from at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the second network; or a mobility management entity (MME) of the second network (see at least paragraph [0080] and Fig. 8, the network (e.g. AMF or MME) indicates the start of the overload control by sending N2 overload control message to the gNB in 5G or S1 Overload Start message to the eNB in 4G with a parameter indicating overload for delay tolerant access.).
As to claim 19: Ianev discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15. Ianev further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the base station to receive, from the wireless device, the connection request (see at least paragraph [0082] and Fig. 8, UE requests RRC connection establishment to access AMF/MME network via gNB.).
As to claim 20: Ianev discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15. Ianev further discloses wherein the connection request comprises a radio resource control (RRC) request message (see at least paragraph [0082] and Fig. 8, UE requests RRC connection establishment to access AMF/MME network via gNB.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464