DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “the control board”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Recker (US 2012/0080944 A1) in view of Kuo (US 2005/0127842 A1).
With respect to Claim 5 Recker teaches An emergency lighting system comprising (See Para[0033]): a plurality of LED lighting fixtures which are normally powered by line power in normal operation at a normal power level to provide lighting when line power is available (See Para[0023]); at least one of the LED lighting fixtures having an emergency lighting control module that allows the LED lighting fixture to be converted from a normal lighting fixture to an emergency lighting fixture when line power is not available (See Para[0033]); a central battery system having at least one battery that provides direct current backup power to each LED lighting fixture that has the emergency lighting control module (See Para[0033]); each battery of the central battery system being located remote from the LED lighting fixtures (See Fig 99); a transfer switch configured to electrically connect the at least one battery of the central battery system to each LED lighting fixture that has the emergency lighting control module when the line power is not available through a direct current, hard wired connection (See Para[0033]); and the emergency lighting control module powering the LED lighting fixture at an emergency power level different than the normal power level for emergency operation to preserve battery power (See Para[0298]). However Recker is silent to the language of a battery charger connected to the line power; the battery charger maintaining the at least one battery in a charged condition when the line power is available; Nevertheless Kuo teaches a battery charger connected to the line power (See Para[0005]); the battery charger maintaining the at least one battery in a charged condition when the line power is available (See Para[0005]); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Recker and have a battery charger connected to the line power; and wherein the battery charger maintaining the at least one battery in a charged condition when the line power is available such as that of Kuo. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Recker, because connecting to line power would allow for the battery to be properly charged and be available when an emergency occurs. With respect to Claim 6 Recker teaches The system of claim 5, wherein an IP address is provided for each of the LED lighting fixtures. (See Para [0315]). With respect to Claim 12 Recker teaches The system of claim 5, wherein at least one of the plurality of LED lighting fixtures is an exit sign. (See Para[0150] With respect to Claim 13 Recker teaches The system of claim 5, wherein each of a plurality of the LED lighting fixtures includes an emergency lighting control module that allows that LED lighting fixture to be powered by the central battery system when line power is not available.(See Para[0033]) With respect to Claim 14 Recker teaches The system of claim 5, further comprising a battery temperature sensor which is adapted to disconnect the battery charger. (See Para[0495]) With respect to Claim 15 Recker teaches The system of claim 5, further comprising a temperature sensor which is adapted to start a cooling fan for the central battery system at a specified temperature (See Para[0422]). With respect to Claim 16 Recker teaches The system of claim 5, further comprising a voltage sensor that disconnects batteries from the LED lighting fixtures when the voltage drops (See Para[0682]) However Recker is silent to the language of to less than 87.5 percent of a set rated voltage. Nevertheless it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to disconnect when the voltage drops to less than 87.5 percent of a set rated voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Examiner notes the prior art fails to teach or make obvious claims 7-10, 17-19 Examiner notes prior art could not be applied to claim 11 due to the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection above.
Conclusion
YOSHIHISA . ISHIZUKA
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857