Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 11 line 5 to page 13 line 4, filed 4/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20250261025 to Li et al. Refer to the updated 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 15, 16, and 20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20250261025 to Li et al.
Referring to claim 1, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a UE for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more antennas (antennas attached to transmitter/receiver 1103).
A processing system (system of UE) including one or more processors (processor 1101) and one or more memories (memory 1102) that store code for the one or more processors (memory 1102 stores code to be processed by processor 1101 to perform UE functions), the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
Receive (from BS) information identifying a set of criteria for delay status reporting. Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold; a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold; a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold; uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold. BS configures the sixth through eleventh thresholds for triggering the delay information report from UE, and BS transmits the configuration information to UE for UE to determine whether the conditions are satisfied.
Transmit (to BS) based at least in part on the set of criteria being satisfied, a delay status report including an indicator of a data volume (data volume) and a delay status associated with the data volume (corresponding remaining time). Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: UE transmits the delay information report to BS if UE satisfies any of the trigger conditions. Sections 0071-0097, 0081-0087, 0094-0097, 0134, 0135, 0139, 0142, 0144, and 0151-0161: UE determines a data volume to be reported corresponding to the remaining time to be reported; the delay information report includes the data volume to be reported (claimed “indicator of a data volume”) and the remaining time to be reported (claimed “delay status associated with the data volume”), as shown in Figures 4-6.
Wherein the set of criteria is satisfied based at least in part on:
A time threshold being satisfied (sixth threshold – eleventh threshold). Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit (claimed “time threshold”) a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”), or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”), or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”).
A prohibit timer (retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer) not being active (when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires). Tables 1-2 and Sections 0043, 0081, 0082, 0094, and 0095: UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a BSR MAC CE or a MAC CE, as shown in Figures 4-7. Table 1: A BSR with the delay information report can be triggered when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires. So: when the delay information report is transmitted, the retxBSR-Timer has expired or when the periodicBSR-Timer has expired. Section 0091 of the pending application discloses a claimed “prohibit timer” as “… when the prohibit timer is not active (e.g., the UE 120 is not prohibited from triggering a delay status report), the UE 120 can trigger a delay status report. In this case, the UE 120 may start the prohibit timer when a delay status report is triggered and may forgo triggering further delay status reports until after the prohibit timer has elapsed … ”. So: the “retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer” reads on the claimed “prohibit timer” since the claimed “prohibit timer” prevents UE from transmitting a delay status report when the claimed “prohibit timer” is still running; similarly, UE cannot transmit the delay information report to BS until the retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer expires. When a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires (claimed “prohibit timer not being active”), UE transmits the delay information report to BS. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 2, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the processing system is further configured to:
Determine that the set of criteria is satisfied. Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold; a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold; a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold; uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold. BS configures the sixth through eleventh thresholds for triggering the delay information report from UE, and BS transmits the configuration information to UE for UE to determine whether the conditions are satisfied.
Generate the delay status report based at least in part on determining that the set of criteria is satisfied. Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: UE transmits the delay information report to BS if UE satisfies any of the trigger conditions. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 3, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the delay status reporting is associated with at least one of:
A data radio bearer. Tables 1-2 and Sections 0006, 0045, 0059-0065, 0069, 0070, 0098, 0127, 0162, 0223, and 0257: UE reports delay information to BS via a BSR; the triggering of the BSR is related to uplink data in a logical channel and a priority of the logical channel. The BSR includes an identifier of a logical channel group and a buffer size, which is the a total amount of data available for all logical channels in the logical channel group. Sections 0045, 0046, and 0068: The logical channel corresponds to a data radio bearer; so, the BSR is associated with a logical channel and corresponding data radio bearer.
A logical channel. Tables 1-2 and Sections 0006, 0045, 0059-0065, 0069, 0070, 0098, 0127, 0162, 0223, and 0257: UE reports delay information to BS via a BSR; the triggering of the BSR is related to uplink data in a logical channel and a priority of the logical channel. The BSR includes an identifier of a logical channel group and a buffer size, which is the a total amount of data available for all logical channels in the logical channel group.
Or, a logical channel group. Tables 1-2 and Sections 0006, 0045, 0059-0065, 0069, 0070, 0098, 0127, 0162, 0223, and 0257: UE reports delay information to BS via a BSR; the triggering of the BSR is related to uplink data in a logical channel and a priority of the logical channel. The BSR includes an identifier of a logical channel group and a buffer size, which is the a total amount of data available for all logical channels in the logical channel group. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 4, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the delay status is based at least in part on a delay deadline for a protocol data unit associated with the data volume (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) or on a packet delay budget (PDSB) associated with a quality of service flow, the quality of service flow including the protocol data unit. Sections 0005, 0045, 0066, 0102, 0166, and 0261: UE determines the delay status of a PDU set; a PDU set consists of one or more PDUs, wherein a PDU set is associated with a PSDB and QoS, as shown in Figure 1 (claimed “the delay status is based at least in part … on a packet delay budget associated with a quality of service flow, the quality of service flow including the protocol data unit”). Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 5, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the delay status is based at least in part on the time threshold (sixth threshold – eleventh threshold) for triggering generation of the delay status report or for reporting the delay status report. Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit (claimed “time threshold for triggering generation of the delay status report or for reporting the delay status report”) a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold; a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold; a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold; uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold. BS configures the sixth through eleventh thresholds for triggering the delay information report from UE, and BS transmits the configuration information to UE for UE to determine whether the conditions are satisfied.
Referring to claim 6, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive signaling associated with configuring one or more parameters of the delay status report. Sections 0085, 0087, 0095, 0097, and 0231: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information indicates parameters to be reported in the delay information report. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 7, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the one or more parameters include at least one of:
A data volume threshold parameter. Sections 0085 and 0097: The configuration information includes the data volume to be reported, which may be a data volume of a PDU set corresponding to current minimum 1 to m1 remaining times (claimed “data volume threshold parameter”) or a data volume of a PDU set whose data volume is higher than a threshold (claimed “data volume threshold parameter”).
A timer parameter. Tables 1-2 and Sections 0043, 0081, 0082, 0094, and 0095: A BSR with the delay information report can be triggered when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires.
Or, one or more reporting thresholds. Sections 0085 and 0097: The configuration information includes a remaining time to be reported and a data volume to be reported of a PDU set associated with which remaining time is lower than a threshold (claimed “one or more reporting thresholds”), a remaining time to be reported and a data volume to be reported of a PDU set associated with which data volume is higher than a threshold (claimed “one or more reporting thresholds”), or a data volume of a PDU set in which an upper limit of a remaining time period is lower than a threshold (claimed “one or more reporting thresholds”). Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 8, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the delay status report is based at least in part on whether a threshold data volume is associated with a remaining time that is less than a time threshold. Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold (claimed “whether a threshold data volume is associated with a remaining time, wherein the remaining time is less than a time threshold”); a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold (claimed “whether a threshold data volume is associated with a remaining time, wherein the remaining time is less than a time threshold”); or a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold (claimed “whether a threshold data volume is associated with a remaining time, wherein the remaining time is less than a time threshold”). Also, Sections 0085 and 0097: UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where a remaining time to be reported and a data volume to be reported of a PDU set associated with which remaining time is lower than a threshold (claimed “whether a threshold data volume is associated with a remaining time, wherein the remaining time is less than a time threshold”), or a data volume of a PDU set in which an upper limit of a remaining time period is lower than a threshold (claimed “whether a threshold data volume is associated with a remaining time, wherein the remaining time is less than a time threshold”). Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 9, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the delay status report is based at least in part on a data volume reported in a previous delay status report. Tables 1-2 and Sections 0043, 0081, 0082, 0094, and 0095 and in Figures 4-5, the data volumes to be reported are data volumes of PDU set 1 to PDU set m1 corresponding to remaining time 1 to remaining time m1, respectively. UE transmits a delay information report for each PDU set ID 1 to PDU set ID m1, wherein each PDU set ID corresponds to a remaining time and a corresponding data volume. So, UE reports the data volume 1 to data volume m1 in sequential order, according to PDU set 1 to PDU set m1, respectively. UE transmits the data volume 1 corresponding to PDU set 1 before UE transmits the data volume 2 corresponding to PDU set 2; UE transmits the data volume 2 corresponding to PDU set 2 before UE transmits the data volume 3 corresponding to PDU set 3; etc. until UE transmits the data volume m1 corresponding to PDU set m1 (claimed “the delay status report is based at least in part on a data volume reported in a previous delay status report”). Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 10, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the delay status report is based at least in part on a status of a timer (when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires). Tables 1-2 and Sections 0043, 0081, 0082, 0094, and 0095: UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a BSR MAC CE or a MAC CE, as shown in Figures 4-7. Table 1: A BSR with the delay information report can be triggered when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 11, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the timer is stopped (expired) based at least in part on transmission of the delay status report. Table 1: A BSR with the delay information report can be triggered when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires. So: when the delay information report is transmitted, the retxBSR-Timer has expired or when the periodicBSR-Timer has expired. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 15, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the delay status report is included in a MAC CE. Tables 1-2 and Sections 0043, 0081, 0082, 0094, and 0095: UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a BSR MAC CE or a MAC CE, as shown in Figures 4-7. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 16, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the MAC CE includes at least one of:
A delay status report reporting entity bitmap. Figure 7 and Section 0095: The MAC CE format of a delay information report includes a bitmap (claimed “delay status report reporting entity bitmap”) on a remaining time period and information on its corresponding data volume to be reported. For example: in a case wherein the MAC CE supports reporting data volumes of 8 remaining time periods, Ti is an identifier of whether a data volume corresponding to a remaining time period is present; if Ti=1, it represents that a data volume corresponding to the remaining time period is present, and if Ti=0, it represents that a data volume corresponding to the remaining time period is absent.
A buffer status report table bitmap. Figure 7 and Section 0095: The MAC CE format of a delay information report includes a bitmap on a remaining time period and information on its corresponding data volume to be reported (claimed “buffer status report table bitmap”). For example: in a case wherein the MAC CE supports reporting data volumes of 8 remaining time periods, Ti is an identifier of whether a data volume corresponding to a remaining time period is present; if Ti=1, it represents that a data volume corresponding to the remaining time period is present, and if Ti=0, it represents that a data volume corresponding to the remaining time period is absent.
An indicator of data with a remaining time within a configured range. Sections 0085, 0095, and 0231-0233: In the MAC CE, UE can report a data volume of a PDU set corresponding to current minimum 1 to m1 remaining times (claimed “configured range”), wherein m1 is positive integer greater than or equal to 1.
An indicator of data with a remaining time less than the time threshold. Sections 0085 and 0097: In the MAC CE, UE can include a remaining time to be reported and a data volume to be reported of a PDU set associated with which remaining time is lower than a threshold (claimed “indicator of data with a remaining time less than a threshold”), a remaining time to be reported and a data volume to be reported of a PDU set associated with which data volume is higher than a threshold (claimed “indicator of data with a remaining time less than a threshold”), or a data volume of a PDU set in which an upper limit of a remaining time period is lower than a threshold (claimed “indicator of data with a remaining time less than a threshold”).
An indicator that the MAC CE is for a reporting entity (not in reference; claim is in “or” form).
An indicator of a buffer status report table. Figure 7 and Section 0095: The MAC CE format of a delay information report includes a bitmap, which reads on a claimed “table”, on a remaining time period and information on its corresponding data volume to be reported (claimed “indicator of a buffer status report table”). For example: in a case wherein the MAC CE supports reporting data volumes of 8 remaining time periods, Ti is an identifier of whether a data volume corresponding to a remaining time period is present; if Ti=1, it represents that a data volume corresponding to the remaining time period is present, and if Ti=0, it represents that a data volume corresponding to the remaining time period is absent.
A sampling instance duration indicator (not in reference; claim is in “or” form).
Or, a transmission time indicator (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 20, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a network node for wireless communication (BS), comprising:
One or more antennas (antennas attached to transceiver 1204).
A processing system (system of BS) including one or more processors (processor 1201) and one or more memories (memory 1202) that store code for the one or more processors (memory 1202 stores code to be processed by processor 1201 to perform BS functions), the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
Transmit (to UE) information identifying a set of criteria for delay status reporting. Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold; a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold; a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold; uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold. BS configures the sixth through eleventh thresholds for triggering the delay information report from UE, and BS transmits the configuration information to UE for UE to determine whether the conditions are satisfied.
Receive (from BS), based at least in part on the set of criteria being satisfied, a delay status report including an indicator of a data volume (data volume) and a delay status associated with the data volume (corresponding remaining time). Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: UE transmits the delay information report to BS if UE satisfies any of the trigger conditions. Sections 0071-0097, 0081-0087, 0094-0097, 0134, 0135, 0139, 0142, 0144, and 0151-0161: UE determines a data volume to be reported corresponding to the remaining time to be reported; the delay information report includes the data volume to be reported (claimed “indicator of a data volume”) and the remaining time to be reported (claimed “delay status associated with the data volume”), as shown in Figures 4-6.
Wherein the set of criteria is satisfied based at least in part on:
A time threshold being satisfied (sixth threshold – eleventh threshold). Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit (claimed “time threshold”) a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”), or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”), or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”).
A prohibit timer (retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer) not being active (when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires). Tables 1-2 and Sections 0043, 0081, 0082, 0094, and 0095: UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a BSR MAC CE or a MAC CE, as shown in Figures 4-7. Table 1: A BSR with the delay information report can be triggered when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires. So: when the delay information report is transmitted, the retxBSR-Timer has expired or when the periodicBSR-Timer has expired. Section 0091 of the pending application discloses a claimed “prohibit timer” as “… when the prohibit timer is not active (e.g., the UE 120 is not prohibited from triggering a delay status report), the UE 120 can trigger a delay status report. In this case, the UE 120 may start the prohibit timer when a delay status report is triggered and may forgo triggering further delay status reports until after the prohibit timer has elapsed … ”. So: the “retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer” reads on the claimed “prohibit timer” since the claimed “prohibit timer” prevents UE from transmitting a delay status report when the claimed “prohibit timer” is still running; similarly, UE cannot transmit the delay information report to BS until the retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer expires. When a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires (claimed “prohibit timer not being active”), UE transmits the delay information report to BS. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 21, refer to the rejection of claim 3.
Referring to claim 22, refer to the rejection of claim 4.
Referring to claim 23, refer to the rejection of claim 5.
Referring to claim 24, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: transmit signaling associated with configuring one or more parameters of the delay status report. Sections 0085, 0087, 0095, 0097, and 0231: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information indicates parameters to be reported in the delay information report. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 25, refer to the rejection of claim 7.
Referring to claim 26, refer to the rejection of claim 8.
Referring to claim 27, refer to the rejection of claim 9.
Referring to claim 28, refer to the rejection of claim 10.
Referring to claim 29, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a method of wireless communication performed by a UE (UE), comprising:
Receiving (from BS) information identifying a set of criteria for delay status reporting. Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold; a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold; a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold; uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold. BS configures the sixth through eleventh thresholds for triggering the delay information report from UE, and BS transmits the configuration information to UE for UE to determine whether the conditions are satisfied.
Transmitting (to BS), based at least in part on the set of criteria being satisfied, a delay status report including an indicator of a data volume (data volume) and a delay status associated with the data volume (corresponding remaining time). Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: UE transmits the delay information report to BS if UE satisfies any of the trigger conditions. Sections 0071-0097, 0081-0087, 0094-0097, 0134, 0135, 0139, 0142, 0144, and 0151-0161: UE determines a data volume to be reported corresponding to the remaining time to be reported; the delay information report includes the data volume to be reported (claimed “indicator of a data volume”) and the remaining time to be reported (claimed “delay status associated with the data volume”), as shown in Figures 4-6.
Wherein the set of criteria is satisfied based at least in part on:
A time threshold being satisfied (sixth threshold – eleventh threshold). Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit (claimed “time threshold”) a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”), or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”), or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”).
A prohibit timer (retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer) not being active (when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires). Tables 1-2 and Sections 0043, 0081, 0082, 0094, and 0095: UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a BSR MAC CE or a MAC CE, as shown in Figures 4-7. Table 1: A BSR with the delay information report can be triggered when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires. So: when the delay information report is transmitted, the retxBSR-Timer has expired or when the periodicBSR-Timer has expired. Section 0091 of the pending application discloses a claimed “prohibit timer” as “… when the prohibit timer is not active (e.g., the UE 120 is not prohibited from triggering a delay status report), the UE 120 can trigger a delay status report. In this case, the UE 120 may start the prohibit timer when a delay status report is triggered and may forgo triggering further delay status reports until after the prohibit timer has elapsed … ”. So: the “retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer” reads on the claimed “prohibit timer” since the claimed “prohibit timer” prevents UE from transmitting a delay status report when the claimed “prohibit timer” is still running; similarly, UE cannot transmit the delay information report to BS until the retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer expires. When a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires (claimed “prohibit timer not being active”), UE transmits the delay information report to BS. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Referring to claim 30, Li et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (BS), comprising:
Transmitting (to UE) information identifying a set of criteria for delay status reporting. Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold; a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold, or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold; a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold; uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold. BS configures the sixth through eleventh thresholds for triggering the delay information report from UE, and BS transmits the configuration information to UE for UE to determine whether the conditions are satisfied.
Receiving (from UE), based at least in part on the set of criteria being satisfied, a delay status report including an indicator of a data volume (data volume) and a delay status associated with the data volume (corresponding remaining time). Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: UE transmits the delay information report to BS if UE satisfies any of the trigger conditions. Sections 0071-0097, 0081-0087, 0094-0097, 0134, 0135, 0139, 0142, 0144, and 0151-0161: UE determines a data volume to be reported corresponding to the remaining time to be reported; the delay information report includes the data volume to be reported (claimed “indicator of a data volume”) and the remaining time to be reported (claimed “delay status associated with the data volume”), as shown in Figures 4-6.
Wherein the set of criteria is satisfied based at least in part on:
A time threshold being satisfied (sixth threshold – eleventh threshold). Table 1 and Sections 0098-0106, 0111, 0116, 0162-0167, and 0257-0262: BS configures UE with conditions and thresholds for triggering UE to transmit (claimed “time threshold”) a delay information report to BS. UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a case where at least one of the following conditions is met: a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a sixth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”), or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE is lower than a seventh predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than an eighth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”), or a minimum value of a remaining time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a ninth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); a minimum value in a remaining time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE and a remaining time of the PDU set at the RLC layer of UE is lower than a tenth predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”); uplink data is coming and the uplink data belongs to a logical channel, a PSDB corresponding to a PDU set included in the logical channel is lower than PSDBs corresponding to PDU sets included in other logical channels having data; and a buffer time of a PDU set at the PDCP layer of UE or a buffer time of a PDU set at the RLC layer of UE exceeds an eleventh predetermined threshold (claimed “time threshold being satisfied”).
A prohibit timer (retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer) not being active (when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires). Tables 1-2 and Sections 0043, 0081, 0082, 0094, and 0095: UE transmits the delay information report to BS in a BSR MAC CE or a MAC CE, as shown in Figures 4-7. Table 1: A BSR with the delay information report can be triggered when a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires. So: when the delay information report is transmitted, the retxBSR-Timer has expired or when the periodicBSR-Timer has expired. Section 0091 of the pending application discloses a claimed “prohibit timer” as “… when the prohibit timer is not active (e.g., the UE 120 is not prohibited from triggering a delay status report), the UE 120 can trigger a delay status report. In this case, the UE 120 may start the prohibit timer when a delay status report is triggered and may forgo triggering further delay status reports until after the prohibit timer has elapsed … ”. So: the “retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer” reads on the claimed “prohibit timer” since the claimed “prohibit timer” prevents UE from transmitting a delay status report when the claimed “prohibit timer” is still running; similarly, UE cannot transmit the delay information report to BS until the retxBSR-Timer or periodicBSR-Timer expires. When a retxBSR-Timer expires or when a periodicBSR-Timer expires (claimed “prohibit timer not being active”), UE transmits the delay information report to BS. Refer to Sections 0030-0274.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250261025 to Li et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20250119785 to Rao et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63410755).
Referring to claim 12, Li et al do not disclose wherein the delay status report is based at least in part on a configured periodicity.
Rao et al disclose in Figures 1-3 and Sections 0239, 0240, 0298, 0309, and 0311 wherein a BSR (claimed “delay status report”) includes delay information. UE is configured with periodic BSR with a particular periodicity value, so that UE transmits the BSR periodically. In the case of periodic BSR, the periodicity applied for transmitting the BSR may be configured such that it may be aligned with the periodicity of the PDU set arrival from higher layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the delay status report is based at least in part on a configured periodicity. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE periodically transmits the BSR to BS, thereby updating the BS with delay information.
Referring to claim 13, Li et al do not disclose wherein the configured periodicity is associated with a reporting entity.
Rao et al disclose in Figures 1-3 and Sections 0239, 0240, 0298, 0309, and 0311 wherein a BSR includes delay information. UE (claimed “reporting entity”) is configured with periodic BSR with a particular periodicity value, so that UE transmits the BSR periodically. In the case of periodic BSR, the periodicity applied for transmitting the BSR may be configured such that it may be aligned with the periodicity of the PDU set arrival from higher layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the configured periodicity is associated with a reporting entity. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE periodically transmits the BSR to BS, thereby updating the BS with delay information.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250261025 to Li et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170374579 to Wang et al.
Li et al do not disclose wherein the delay status report is based at least in part on an occurrence of a mobility event.
Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0258, 0280, 0285, and 0287 wherein UE may trigger transmission of a BSR based on the transmission delay of buffered data. UE may also trigger transmission of a BSR based on a mobility event, wherein the mobility event is when UE changes APs. The timing of the BSR may be upon the reception of the RRC reconfiguration request that initiates the mobility event or the initiation of the dissociation of the interface from the source AP. Refer to Sections 0021-0352. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the delay status report is based at least in part on an occurrence of a mobility event. One would have been motivated to do so so that if UE changes APs, UE can transmit an updated delay status report to BS, thereby updating BS with the delay status based on UE location.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250261025 to Li et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20250386240 to Xu et al.
Li et al do not disclose wherein the delay status report is associated with a first priority that is higher than a second priority of a buffer status report.
Xu et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0165-0171, 0311-0316, 0387-0393, and 0402-0409 wherein a priority of a MAC CE of the delay status report is greater than a priority of a second MAC CE for a BSR. Refer to Sections 0111-0148. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the delay status report is associated with a first priority that is higher than a second priority of a buffer status report. One would have been motivated to do so that UE can prioritize the delay status report over the BSR, thereby ensuring BS receives updated delay information first.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250261025 to Li et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170013640 to Loehr et al.
Referring to claim 18, Li et al do not disclose wherein the delay status report is multiplexed onto a physical uplink shared channel resource.
Loehr et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Section 0287 wherein a UE multiplexes a BSR into a MAC PDU for transmission on a PUSCH, wherein the BSR can includes delay information, as disclosed by Li et al. Refer to Sections 0231-0383. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the delay status report is multiplexed onto a physical uplink shared channel resource. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can multiplex a BSR into a PDU for transmission on a PUSCH to transmit the BSR to BS.
Referring to claim 19, Li et al do not disclose wherein the delay status report is included in a physical uplink shared channel resource requested via a scheduling request.
Loehr et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0242, 0243, and 0287 wherein UE transmits a scheduling request to BS in the case that a BSR has been triggered but there are no PUSCH resources available for BSR transmission. Upon receiving the scheduling request from UE, BS allocates PUSCH resources so that UE can transmit the BSR to BS. UE then multiplexes the BSR into a MAC PDU for transmission onto the allocated PUSCH resources, wherein the BSR can includes delay information, as disclosed by Li et al. Refer to Sections 0231-0383. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the delay status report is included in a physical uplink shared channel resource requested via a scheduling request. One would have been motivated to do so that UE can request PUSCH resources from BS for BSR transmission, thereby ensuring there are enough PUSCH resources for the BSR transmission.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20240196313 to Ryu et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0061-0071 a method of: transmitting, by a WLAN device, a low-latency specific delay status report DSR trigger frame to a second WLAN device; and receiving, by a AP, a DSR frame from the second WLAN device in response to the LL specific DSR trigger frame. Refer to Sections 0034-0094.
U.S. Publication No. 20220150761 to Kim et al disclose in Figures 1-31 and Sections 0301-0330 wherein UE transmits a delay status report to BS based on conditions such as when the current time delay value is greater than a specific value or when the traffic requirement is changed. Refer to Sections 0047-0413.
U.S. Publication No. 20190325667 to Kim et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Section 0110 wherein the system includes threshold conditions that indicate a condition in which a status report delay is to be transmitted. Refer to Sections 0037-0128.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
May 14, 2026