Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species V and Options A, B, and C in the reply filed on 17 February 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species and Option, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 February 2026.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 17 February 2026.
Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 5, and 8 are being considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimba (US 20200282512), hereafter referred to as Kimba 512.
Regarding Claim 1, Kimba 512 discloses the following:
A substrate polishing apparatus comprising: a polishing table (3; FIG. 2);
a motor (6) for rotating the polishing table (3; FIG. 2);
a substrate holding head (1) configured to hold a substrate (W);
a light source (44);
an optical head (7) disposed inside the polishing table (3; FIG. 2), the optical head (7) including:
a light projection port (distal end of 31; see [0030])) disposed to project light from the light source (44) toward the substrate (W) held by the substrate holding head (1); and a light reception port (distal end of 32; see [0030]) disposed to receive light reflected from the substrate (W) held by the substrate holding head (1);
an optical detector (48) for detecting the light received at the light reception port (distal end of 32; see [0030]);
a shutter (see [0046]) for controlling an exposure time during which the light is captured in the optical detector (48); and
a control device (9) for controlling operation of the shutter (see [0046]) so as to change the exposure time based on a polishing condition of the substrate (exposure time is changed based on the location of the optical head, and as seen by FIG. 4 the exposure time set is based on the distance the optical head is from the rotational center of the polishing table, also see [0052-53]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimba (US 20200282512), hereafter referred to as Kimba 512, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Kimba et al (US 20110034106), hereafter referred to as Kimba 106.
Regarding Claim 5, Kimba 512 discloses the following:
The substrate polishing apparatus according to claim 1,
further comprising a second motor (18) for rotating the substrate holding head (1),
Kimba 512 does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the exposure time is determined based on a rotation speed of the substrate holding head.
However Kimba 106 teaches the following:
wherein the exposure time is determined based on a rotation speed of the substrate holding head (See [0126], which discloses the exposure time is determined by the speed of the wafer, and the speed of the wafer is dependent upon the speed of the substrate holding head.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exposure time of substrate polishing apparatus, as disclosed by Kimba, wherein the exposure time is determined based on a rotation speed of the substrate holding head, as disclosed by Kimba 106, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing an exposure time that can cause the surface roughness of the substrate to appear in the image (see [0126], Kimba 106).
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimba (US 20200282512), hereafter referred to as Kimba 512, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Jiang (US 20080297774), hereafter referred to as Jiang.
Regarding Claim 5, Kimba 512 discloses the following:
The substrate polishing apparatus according to claim 1,
Kimba 512 does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the light source is a continuous light-emitting light source.
However Jiang teaches the following:
wherein the light source (126) is a continuous light-emitting light source (see [0081], which discloses the light source may be separate or continuous illumination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the flash light source as disclosed by Kimba, with the continuous light source as disclosed by Jiang, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing a light source for a camera (see Jiang, [0081]). The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the flash light source of Kimba, with the continuous light source of Jiang yields the predictable result of providing illumination for a camera (i.e. substituting one known means to provide lighting for an optical device for another known means to provide lighting for an optical device). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar polishing arrangements see Pages 1-2.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745