DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment dated 07/10/2026 has been acknowledged and entered. Claims 1, 8 & 15 are amended. Claims 2-5, 9-12, 16-19 are cancelled. Claims 1,6-8, 13-15 & 20 remain pending in application.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ argument dated 07/10/2026 has been acknowledged but is not persuasive. As communicated in interview dated 06/12/2026, examiner argues, paragraph [0050] of Kim describes “in some embodiments (emphasis added), the data driver DD or at least part of the data driver DD can be implemented with TFTs fabricated in the non-display area of the TFT backplane 110 in the similar fashion (i.e., GIP technology)” that is the implementation is merely an embodiment( emphasis added) of data driver TFT using similar fashion (i.e. using LTPS in GIP technology) and so the teaching does not exclusively prohibit (emphasis added) to modify Kim to use different type TFT for data driver DD TFT (e.g. a-Si TFT) to make another embodiment (emphasis added). This is also supported in abstract of Kim which describes “while at least one of the TFTs (emphasis added) implementing the driving circuit next to the active area is a LTPS TFT ”. Therefore, based on this aforementioned teaching in abstract, using a TFT for scan driver and a different TFT other than LTPS TFT for the data driver ( e.g. a-Si TFT) would not teach away Kim ( i.e. still satisfy at least one TFT is formed of LTPS TFT) . Therefore, modification of data driver of Kim using A-Si TFT to make another embodiment does not teach away Kim. Applicant’s other key argument that “replacing the LTPS-TFT driver with circuit of Kim with a a-Si TFT driver circuit of SUN will change the “principle of operation” of Kim” is also not persuasive since principle of operation of Kim is clearly focused on a TFT backplane using “ LTPS TFT Based Driving Circuits and Oxide TFT Based Pixel Circuit” (see abstract and also see para [0068]-[0075], Oxide TFT is for pixel region not for data driver region and using a-Si TFT for data driver does not change the principle of operation of Kim since no modification of OXIDE TFT in pixel area are done in rejection, and modifying Kim to implement data driver in the same TFT backplane using a-Si TFT to make another embodiment does not change principle of operation of Kim.
Regarding amended limitation “the at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT” , examiner argues, this incorporates same subject matter of original claims 2-3, 6-7 and 16-17 and therefore are rejected on the same ground. (i.e. since TFTs are LTPS TFT and a-Si TFT similar to disclosure, they are capable of configuring as claimed. “where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I)”) (see rejections below)
Based on above argument, examiner argues, rejection still holds and therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US-20150243220-A1) in view of Ka et al. (US-10446079-B2) in view of SUN (US-20040174347-A1)
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches,
A display apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising:
a substrate (110, para [0045]);
a plurality of pixels (para [0045]) arranged in a …….matrix (para [0045]) on the substrate;
a plurality of scan lines (SCAN1, SCAN2, para [0079]-[0080]) connected to the plurality of pixels;
a scan driver Integrated Chip (IC) (gate Driver GD, para [0046]) configured to transmit a scan signal to the plurality of scan lines (gate driver GD sequentially outputs gate signals (e.g., Scan signals…, para [0063]);
a plurality of data lines (DL, para [0064]) connected to the plurality of pixels; and
a data driver IC (data driver (DD), para [0046]) configured to transmit a data signal (Vdata) to the plurality of data lines (pixel receives a data voltage Vdata from the data driver DD through the data line DL, para [0066]),
wherein the scan driver IC comprises at least one first Thin Film Transistor (TFT) (see FIG. 2, para [0068], gate driver GD are implemented with LTPS TFT), that is a Low-Temperature Polycrystalline Silicon (LTPS) TFT (LTPS TFT are low temperature polycrystalline silicon TFT by its name),
But Kim does not explicitly teach,
….the matrix is two-dimensional matrix
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, that is an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT,
the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types,
the at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT.
Meanwhile, Ka teaches,
a plurality of pixels (140, Fig. 1) arranged in a two-dimensional matrix to form a pixel unit (130) (col. 5, l. 39);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim such that the plurality of pixels are arranged in a two dimensional matrix, according to teaching of Ka, in order to form a pixel unit comprising pixel.
Kim & Ka still do not explicitly teach,
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, that is an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT,
the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types,
the at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT.
Kim additionally teaches,
Data driver DD can be implemented with TFTs fabricated in the non-display area of the TFT backplane 110 in the similar fashion (i.e., GIP technology) as the gate driver GD (para [0050]).
Meanwhile, Sun teaches,
…with better dpi-performance (dots per inch) of the display panel, the space for each pixel should be reduced so that the space for accommodating the data driver is constrained. Therefore, …….Instead of fabricating the data driver on the glass substrate by LTPS technique, the first solution adopts adhering the data driver on the glass substrate as a typical a-Si LCD process (para [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim & Ka such that the data driver IC (DD) is implemented with TFT in the TFT backplane 110 by a-Si LCD process such that the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT (a-Si TFT) that is an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT (a-Si TFT is amorphous silicon TFT by its name), the at least one first TFT (LTPS) and the at least one second TFT (a-Si) are different type, the at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT (since TFTs are LTPS TFT and a-Si TFT similar to disclosure, they are capable of configuring as claimed. “where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I)”), according to teaching of Sun, in order to have better dpi (dots per inch) performance using a-Si LCD process, as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 6, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches ,
wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises at least three subpixels (R, G, B , W, see Fig. 2) configured to output different colors (red, green, blue and white), and
wherein the display apparatus further comprises a multiplexer (multiplexer to operate display 100, para [0051]) configured to transmit a signal from the data driver IC to at least one of the at least three subpixels of each pixel of the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (multiplexer connected to data driver DD for control of data voltage Vdata, para [0103]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 6 and further teaches , wherein each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a red light emitting element (R) , a green light emitting element (G), and a blue light emitting element (B) (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches,
A display apparatus(Fig. 2) comprising:
a substrate (110, para [0045];
a plurality of pixels (para [0045]) arranged in a …..matrix (para [0045]) on the substrate,
wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises a plurality of subpixels (R, G, B, W, see FIG. 2) configured to output different colors (Red, green, blue, white);
a plurality of scan lines (SCAN1, SCAN2, para [0079]-[0080]) connected to the plurality of pixels;
a scan driver Integrated Chip (IC) (gate Driver GD, para [0046]) connected to the plurality of scan lines and configured to transmit a scan signal to the plurality of pixels via the plurality of scan lines (gate driver GD sequentially outputs gate signals (e.g., Scan signals…, para [0063]);
a plurality of data lines (DL, para [0064]) configured connected to the plurality of pixels; and
a data driver IC (data driver (DD), para [0046]) connected to the plurality of data lines and configured to transmit a data signal to the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (data voltage Vdata from the data driver DD through the data line DL, para [0066]),
wherein the scan driver IC comprises at least one first Thin Film Transistor (TFT) (see FIG. 2, para [0068], gate driver GD are implemented with LTPS TFT), that is a Low-Temperature Polycrystalline Silicon (LTPS) TFT(LTPS TFT are low temperature polycrystalline silicon TFT by its name),
But Kim does not explicitly teach,
…...the matrix is two-dimensional matrix
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, that is an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT,
the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types
the at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT.
Meanwhile, Ka teaches,
a plurality of pixels (140, Fig. 1) arranged in a two-dimensional matrix to form a pixel unit (130) (col. 5, l. 39);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim such that the plurality of pixels are arranged in a two dimensional matrix, according to teaching of Ka, in order to form a pixel unit comprising pixel.
Kim & Ka still do not explicitly teach,
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, that is an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT, the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types,
at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT.
Kim additionally teaches,
Data driver DD can be implemented with TFTs fabricated in the non-display area of the TFT backplane 110 in the similar fashion (i.e., GIP technology) as the gate driver GD (para [0050]).
Meanwhile, Sun teaches,
…with better dpi-performance (dots per inch) of the display panel, the space for each pixel should be reduced so that the space for accommodating the data driver is constrained. Therefore, …….Instead of fabricating the data driver on the glass substrate by LTPS technique, the first solution adopts adhering the data driver on the glass substrate as a typical a-Si LCD process (para [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim & Ka such that the data driver IC (DD) is implemented with TFT in the TFT backplane 110 by a-Si LCD process such that the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT (a-Si TFT) , that is an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT(a-Si TFT is amorphous silicon TFT by its name), the at least one first TFT (LTPS) and the at least one second TFT (a-Si) are different type, at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT(since TFTs are LTPS TFT and a-Si TFT similar to disclosure, they are capable of configuring as claimed. “where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I)”), according to teaching of Sun, in order to have better dpi (dots per inch) performance using a-Si LCD process, as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 13, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 10 and further teaches,
wherein the display apparatus further comprises a multiplexer (multiplexer to operate display 100, para [0051]) configured to transmit a signal from the data driver IC to at least one of the plurality of subpixels of each pixel of the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (multiplexer connected to data driver DD for control of data voltage Vdata, para [0103]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim, Ka & Sun teaches the display apparatus of claim 13 and further teaches, wherein each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a red light emitting element (R) , a green light emitting element ( G ) , and a blue light emitting element (B) (see Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches,
A display apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising:
a substrate (110, para [0045]);
a plurality of pixels (para [0045]) arranged in a …..matrix (para [0045]) on the substrate,
wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises a plurality of subpixels (R, G, B, W, see FIG. 2) configured to output different colors;
a plurality of scan lines (SCAN1, SCAN2, para [0079]-[0080]) connected to the plurality of pixels;
a scan driver Integrated Chip (IC) (gate Driver GD, para [0046]) connected to the plurality of scan lines and configured to transmit a scan signal to the plurality of pixels via the plurality of scan lines (gate driver GD sequentially outputs gate signals (e.g., Scan signals…, para [0063]);;
a plurality of data lines (DL, para [0064]) configured connected to the plurality of pixels;
a data driver IC (data driver (DD), para [0046]) connected to the plurality of data lines and configured to transmit a data signal to the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (pixel receives data voltage Vdata from the data driver DD through the data line DL, para [0066]); and
a multiplexer (multiplexer to operate display 100, para [0051]) configured to transmit a signal from the data driver IC to at least one of the plurality of subpixels of each pixel of the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (multiplexer connected to data driver DD for control of data voltage Vdata, para [0103]),
wherein the scan driver IC comprises at least one first Thin Film Transistor (TFT) (see FIG. 2, para [0068], gate driver GD are implemented with LTPS TFT), that is a Low-Temperature Polycrystalline Silicon (LTPS) TFT( LTPS TFT is low Temperature Polycrystalline silicon TFT by its name),
But Kim does not explicitly teach,
the matrix is two-dimensional matrix,
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, that is an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT,
the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types,
the at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT.
Meanwhile, Ka teaches,
a plurality of pixels (140, Fig. 1) arranged in a two-dimensional matrix to form a pixel unit (130) (col. 5, l. 39);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim such that the plurality of pixels are arranged in a two dimensional matrix, according to teaching of Ka, in order to form a pixel unit comprising pixel.
Kim & Ka still do not explicitly teach,
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, that is an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT,
the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types,
the at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT
Kim additionally teaches,
Data driver DD can be implemented with TFTs fabricated in the non-display area of the TFT backplane 110 in the similar fashion (i.e., GIP technology) as the gate driver GD (para [0050]).
Meanwhile, Sun teaches,
…with better dpi-performance (dots per inch) of the display panel, the space for each pixel should be reduced so that the space for accommodating the data driver is constrained. Therefore, …….Instead of fabricating the data driver on the glass substrate by LTPS technique, the first solution adopts adhering the data driver on the glass substrate as a typical a-Si LCD process (para [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim & Ka such that the data driver IC (DD) is implemented with TFT in the TFT backplane 110 by a-Si LCD process such that the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT (a-Si TFT), that is an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT (a-Si TFT is amorphous silicon TFT by its name) and the at least one first TFT (LTPS TFT) and the at least one second TFT (a-Si TFT) are different type, the at least one first TFT is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT, and the at least one second TFT is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT(since TFTs are LTPS TFT and a-Si TFT as per rejection similar to disclosure, they are capable of configuring as claimed. “where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I)”), according to teaching of Sun, in order to have better dpi (dots per inch) performance using a-Si LCD process, as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 20, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 15 and further teaches ,wherein each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a red light emitting element ( R) , a green light emitting element (G) , and a blue light emitting element (B) (see Fig. 2).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818