DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US-20150243220-A1) in view of Ka et al. (US-10446079-B2) in view of SUN (US-20040174347-A1)
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches,
A display apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising:
a substrate (110, para [0045]);
a plurality of pixels (para [0045]) arranged in a …….matrix (para [0045]) on the substrate;
a plurality of scan lines (SCAN1, SCAN2, para [0079]-[0080]) connected to the plurality of pixels;
a scan driver Integrated Chip (IC) (gate Driver GD, para [0046]) configured to transmit a scan signal to the plurality of scan lines (gate driver GD sequentially outputs gate signals (e.g., Scan signals…, para [0063]);
a plurality of data lines (DL, para [0064]) connected to the plurality of pixels; and
a data driver IC (data driver (DD), para [0046]) configured to transmit a data signal (Vdata) to the plurality of data lines (pixel receives a data voltage Vdata from the data driver DD through the data line DL, para [0066]),
wherein the scan driver IC comprises at least one first Thin Film Transistor (TFT) (see FIG. 2, para [0068], gate driver GD are implemented with LTPS TFT),
But Kim does not explicitly teach,
..the matrix is two-dimensional matrix
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, and the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types.
Meanwhile, Ka teaches,
a plurality of pixels (140, Fig. 1) arranged in a two-dimensional matrix to form a pixel unit (130) (col. 5, l. 39);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim such that the plurality of pixels are arranged in a two dimensional matrix, according to teaching of Ka, in order to form a pixel unit comprising pixel.
Kim & Ka still do not explicitly teach,
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, and the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different type
Kim additionally teaches,
Data driver DD can be implemented with TFTs fabricated in the non-display area of the TFT backplane 110 in the similar fashion (i.e., GIP technology) as the gate driver GD (para [0050]).
Meanwhile, Sun teaches,
…with better dpi-performance (dots per inch) of the display panel, the space for each pixel should be reduced so that the space for accommodating the data driver is constrained. Therefore, …….Instead of fabricating the data driver on the glass substrate by LTPS technique, the first solution adopts adhering the data driver on the glass substrate as a typical a-Si LCD process (para [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim & Ka such that the data driver IC (DD) is implemented with TFT in the TFT backplane 110 by a-Si LCD process such that the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT (a-Si TFT) , and the at least one first TFT (LTPS) and the at least one second TFT (a-Si) are different type, according to teaching of Sun, in order to have better dpi (dots per inch) performance using a-Si LCD process, as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 2, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the at least one first TFT (LTPS TFT) is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT (where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I))
Regarding claim 3, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the at least one second TFT (a-Si TFT) is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT(where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 4, Kim, Ka & Sun teaches the display apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the at least one first TFT comprises a Low-Temperature Polycrystalline Silicon (LTPS) TFT (as per claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 5, Kim, Ka & Sun teaches the display apparatus of claim 4 and further teaches, wherein the at least one second TFT comprises an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT (as per claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 6, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches ,
wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises at least three subpixels (R, G, B , W, see Fig. 2) configured to output different colors (red, green, blue and white), and
wherein the display apparatus further comprises a multiplexer (multiplexer to operate display 100, para [0051]) configured to transmit a signal from the data driver IC to at least one of the at least three subpixels of each pixel of the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (multiplexer connected to data driver DD for control of data voltage Vdata, para [0103]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 6 and further teaches , wherein each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a red light emitting element (R) , a green light emitting element (G), and a blue light emitting element (B) (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches,
A display apparatus(Fig. 2) comprising:
a substrate (110, para [0045];
a plurality of pixels (para [0045]) arranged in a …..matrix (para [0045]) on the substrate,
wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises a plurality of subpixels (R, G, B, W, see FIG. 2) configured to output different colors (Red, green, blue, white);
a plurality of scan lines (SCAN1, SCAN2, para [0079]-[0080]) connected to the plurality of pixels;
a scan driver Integrated Chip (IC) (gate Driver GD, para [0046]) connected to the plurality of scan lines and configured to transmit a scan signal to the plurality of pixels via the plurality of scan lines (gate driver GD sequentially outputs gate signals (e.g., Scan signals…, para [0063]);
a plurality of data lines (DL, para [0064]) configured connected to the plurality of pixels; and
a data driver IC (data driver (DD), para [0046]) connected to the plurality of data lines and configured to transmit a data signal to the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (data voltage Vdata from the data driver DD through the data line DL, para [0066]),
wherein the scan driver IC comprises at least one first Thin Film Transistor (TFT) (see FIG. 2, para [0068], gate driver GD are implemented with LTPS TFT),
But Kim does not explicitly teach,
..the matrix is two-dimensional matrix
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, and the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types.
Meanwhile, Ka teaches,
a plurality of pixels (140, Fig. 1) arranged in a two-dimensional matrix to form a pixel unit (130) (col. 5, l. 39);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim such that the plurality of pixels are arranged in a two dimensional matrix, according to teaching of Ka, in order to form a pixel unit comprising pixel.
Kim & Ka still do not explicitly teach,
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, and the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types.
Kim additionally teaches,
Data driver DD can be implemented with TFTs fabricated in the non-display area of the TFT backplane 110 in the similar fashion (i.e., GIP technology) as the gate driver GD (para [0050]).
Meanwhile, Sun teaches,
…with better dpi-performance (dots per inch) of the display panel, the space for each pixel should be reduced so that the space for accommodating the data driver is constrained. Therefore, …….Instead of fabricating the data driver on the glass substrate by LTPS technique, the first solution adopts adhering the data driver on the glass substrate as a typical a-Si LCD process (para [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim & Ka such that the data driver IC (DD) is implemented with TFT in the TFT backplane 110 by a-Si LCD process such that the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT (a-Si TFT) , and the at least one first TFT (LTPS) and the at least one second TFT (a-Si) are different type, according to teaching of Sun, in order to have better dpi (dots per inch) performance using a-Si LCD process, as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 9, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 8 and further teaches, wherein the at least one first TFT (LTPS TFT) is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT(where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 10, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 9 and further teaches , wherein the at least one second TFT(a-Si TFT) is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT(where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 11, Kim, Ka & Sun teaches the display apparatus of claim 8 and further teaches , wherein the at least one first TFT comprises a Low-Temperature Polycrystalline Silicon (LTPS) TFT (as per claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 12, Kim, Ka & Sun teaches the display apparatus of claim 11 and further teaches , wherein the at least one second TFT comprises an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT(as per claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 13, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 10 and further teaches,
wherein the display apparatus further comprises a multiplexer (multiplexer to operate display 100, para [0051]) configured to transmit a signal from the data driver IC to at least one of the plurality of subpixels of each pixel of the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (multiplexer connected to data driver DD for control of data voltage Vdata, para [0103]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim, Ka & Sun teaches the display apparatus of claim 13 and further teaches, wherein each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a red light emitting element (R) , a green light emitting element ( G ) , and a blue light emitting element (B) (see Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches,
A display apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising:
a substrate (110, para [0045]);
a plurality of pixels (para [0045]) arranged in a …..matrix (para [0045]) on the substrate,
wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises a plurality of subpixels (R, G, B, W, see FIG. 2) configured to output different colors;
a plurality of scan lines (SCAN1, SCAN2, para [0079]-[0080]) connected to the plurality of pixels;
a scan driver Integrated Chip (IC) (gate Driver GD, para [0046]) connected to the plurality of scan lines and configured to transmit a scan signal to the plurality of pixels via the plurality of scan lines (gate driver GD sequentially outputs gate signals (e.g., Scan signals…, para [0063]);;
a plurality of data lines (DL, para [0064]) configured connected to the plurality of pixels;
a data driver IC (data driver (DD), para [0046]) connected to the plurality of data lines and configured to transmit a data signal to the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (pixel receives data voltage Vdata from the data driver DD through the data line DL, para [0066]); and
a multiplexer (multiplexer to operate display 100, para [0051]) configured to transmit a signal from the data driver IC to at least one of the plurality of subpixels of each pixel of the plurality of pixels via the plurality of data lines (multiplexer connected to data driver DD for control of data voltage Vdata, para [0103]),
wherein the scan driver IC comprises at least one first Thin Film Transistor (TFT) (see FIG. 2, para [0068], gate driver GD are implemented with LTPS TFT),
But Kim does not explicitly teach,
the matrix is two-dimensional matrix,
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, and the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types.
Meanwhile, Ka teaches,
a plurality of pixels (140, Fig. 1) arranged in a two-dimensional matrix to form a pixel unit (130) (col. 5, l. 39);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim such that the plurality of pixels are arranged in a two dimensional matrix, according to teaching of Ka, in order to form a pixel unit comprising pixel.
Kim & Ka still do not explicitly teach,
the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT, and the at least one first TFT and the at least one second TFT are different types.
Kim additionally teaches,
Data driver DD can be implemented with TFTs fabricated in the non-display area of the TFT backplane 110 in the similar fashion (i.e., GIP technology) as the gate driver GD (para [0050]).
Meanwhile, Sun teaches,
…with better dpi-performance (dots per inch) of the display panel, the space for each pixel should be reduced so that the space for accommodating the data driver is constrained. Therefore, …….Instead of fabricating the data driver on the glass substrate by LTPS technique, the first solution adopts adhering the data driver on the glass substrate as a typical a-Si LCD process (para [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim & Ka such that the data driver IC (DD) is implemented with TFT in the TFT backplane 110 by a-Si LCD process such that the data driver IC comprises at least one second TFT (a-Si TFT), and the at least one first TFT (LTPS TFT) and the at least one second TFT (a-Si TFT) are different type, according to teaching of Sun, in order to have better dpi (dots per inch) performance using a-Si LCD process, as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 16, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 15 and further teaches, wherein the at least one first TFT (LTPS TFT) is configured to have a higher electron mobility than the at least one second TFT(where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 17, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 15 and further teaches , wherein the at least one second TFT(a-Si TFT) is configured to have a higher accuracy in selecting a pixel among the plurality of pixels to supply a current than the at least one first TFT(where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 18, Kim, Ka & Sun teaches the display apparatus of claim 15 and further teaches , wherein the at least one first TFT comprises a Low-Temperature Polycrystalline Silicon (LTPS) TFT(as per claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 19, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 15 and further teaches , wherein the at least one second TFT comprises an Amorphous Silicon (a-Si) TFT (as per claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 20, Kim, Ka & Sun teach the display apparatus of claim 15 and further teaches ,wherein each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a red light emitting element ( R) , a green light emitting element (G) , and a blue light emitting element (B) (see Fig. 2).
Conclusion
/K.A.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813