DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application No. 18/396,292, filed on 12/26/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-10 and 12-20 have been rejected as follows. Claim 11 is objected to.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because
reference character “52” has been used to designate both storage bin door in Fig. 3-10 and bin side portion in Fig. 4.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
reference number “46” designating “pair of curved side extensions 46” in the specification paragraph [0039].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“64” is described as both the interior surface 64 of the tray housing (specification paragraph [0038]) and the interior 64 of the storage bin (specification paragraph [0041]).
“motor” is described as both “motor 80” (specification paragraphs [0048] & [0049]) and stepper motors (specification paragraphs [0049] and drawing Figures 3, 6, & 8-10)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the storage bin" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim lacks a clear antecedent basis because claim 16 does not recite a storage bin. For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as referring to “a storage bin”. Claim 18 is also rejected by virtue of dependency as it depends from claim 17 that is rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zweiniger et al (US Patent No. 4,630,857).
Regarding claim 1, Zweiniger et al discloses a glovebox (column 2, lines 35-37; Fig. 1 & 6) for a vehicle, the glovebox comprising a frame (2, Fig. 6; column 2, lines 38-40); and a storage bin (3, Fig. 6) translatable between a first position and a second position (see annotated figure below; column 3, lines 56-68) relative to the frame (2, Fig. 6) and rotatable between a closed position and an open position (see annotated figure below; column 4, lines 64-66) relative to the frame (2, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Zweiniger et al further discloses wherein the storage bin (3, Fig. 6) is attached to the frame (2, Fig. 6) via a linkage (11, 14, Fig. 6) configured to permit movement of the storage bin (3, Fig. 6) between the first position and the second position (see annotated figure above; column 3, lines 56-68).
Regarding claim 3, Zweiniger et al further discloses wherein the linkage (11, 14, Fig. 6; 16, 17, Fig. 1-4) includes a four-bar link (column 4, lines 60-62).
Regarding claim 8, Zweiniger et al further discloses the glovebox (Fig. 1 & 6, column 2, lines 35-37) incorporated in a vehicle (abstract).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCarthy et al (US 2018/0361942).
Regarding claim 1, McCarthy et al discloses a glovebox (1000, Fig. 2A/B; [0029]) for a vehicle (V, Fig. 1A/B; [0028]), the glovebox comprising a frame (700, Fig. 3 & 5; [0030], lines 4-6); and a storage bin (body 200 and cover 300; [0029], lines 4-6) translatable between a first position (300, Fig. 5A/4A; [0032], lines 3-5) and a second position (300, Fig. 5B/4B) relative to the frame (700, [0032], lines 3-5) and rotatable between a closed position (200/300, Fig. 5A/4A; [0032], lines 1-3) and an open position (200/300, Fig. 5G/4G; [0032], lines 1-3) relative to the frame (700, Fig. 5A/5G; [0030], lines 6-9). The storage bin is interpreted as including the components of a bin body 200 and cover 300 which can act separately or together since applicant has not set forth any structure limiting or defining the storage bin.
Regarding claim 2, McCarthy et al further discloses wherein the storage bin (body 200 and cover 300, Fig. 3 & 5; [0029], lines 5-6) is attached to the frame (700, Fig. 3 & 5) via a linkage (272, 5, 370, 7, Fig. 3 & 5; [0066]) configured to permit movement of the storage bin between the first position (300, Fig. 5A) and the second position (300, Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 4, McCarthy et al further discloses the glovebox (1000, Fig. 4-5) further comprising a tray (100, Fig. 4-5) movable between a retracted state (100, Fig. 5A) and an extended state (100, Fig. 5D), the tray (100, Fig. 5) extending from the frame (700, Fig. 5) in the extended state (100, Fig. 5D).
Regarding claim 5, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 4 above, and further discloses wherein the tray (100, Fig. 5) is movable into the extended state (100, Fig. 5D; [0032], lines 3-5) when the storage bin is in one of the first position and the second position (300, Fig. 5B) and is prevented (100, Fig. 5A; [0032], lines 9-12) from moving into the extended state when the storage bin is in the other of the first position (300, Fig. 5A) and the second position.
Regarding claim 6, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 4 above, and further discloses a motor ([0046], line 8) configured to move the tray (100; [0045], lines 5-15) between the extended position and the retracted position (by releasing latch assembly 400 to allow tray 100 to extend; [0045], lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 8, McCarthy et al further discloses the glovebox (1000, Fig. 2A/B) incorporated in a vehicle (V, Fig. 1A/B).
Regarding claim 9, McCarthy et al discloses a glovebox (1000, Fig. 2A/B; [0029]) for a vehicle (V, Fig. 1A/B; [0028]), the glovebox comprising a frame (700, Fig. 3; [0030], lines 4-6); a storage bin (body 200 and cover 300; [0029], lines 4-6) translatable between a first position (300, Fig. 5A/4A; [0032], lines 3-5) and a second position (300, Fig. 5B/4B) relative to the frame (700, [0032], lines 3-5); and a tray (100, Fig. 4-5) movable between a retracted state (100, Fig. 5A) disposed within the frame and an extended state (100, Fig. 5D) extending from the frame, the tray (100, Fig. 5) movable into the extended state (100, Fig. 5D; [0032], lines 3-5) when the storage bin is in one of the first position and the second position (300, Fig. 5B) and prevented (100, Fig. 5A; [0032], lines 9-12) from moving into the extended state when the storage bin is in the other of the first position (300, Fig. 5A) and the second position. The storage bin is interpreted as including the components of a bin body 200 and cover 300 which can act separately or together since applicant has not set forth any structure limiting or defining the storage bin.
Regarding claim 10, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the storage bin (body 200 and cover 300, Fig. 3 & 5; [0029], lines 5-6) is attached to the frame (700, Fig. 3 & 5) via a linkage (272, 5, 370, 7, Fig. 3 & 5; [0066]) configured to permit movement of the storage bin between the first position (300, Fig. 5A) and the second position (300, Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 12, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the storage bin is rotatable relative to the frame (700, Fig. 5A/5G; [0030], lines 6-9) between a closed position (200/300, Fig. 5A/4A; [0032], lines 1-3) and an open position (200/300, Fig. 5G/4G; [0032], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above, and further discloses a motor ([0046], line 8) configured to move the tray (100; [0045], lines 5-15) between the extended position and the retracted position (by releasing latch assembly 400 to allow tray 100 to extend; [0045], lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 15, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above, and further discloses the glovebox (1000, Fig. 2A/B) incorporated in a vehicle (V, Fig. 1A/B).
Regarding claim 16, McCarthy et al discloses a vehicle (V, Fig. 1A/B; [0028]) comprising an instrument panel (IP, Fig. 1B & 2A; [0029], lines 1-4); a door (300, Fig. 4-5) rotatable relative to the instrument panel (IP, Fig. 4-5) between a closed position (300, Fig. 5A/4A; [0032], lines 1-3) restricting entry into a storage compartment (200, Fig. 5A/4A) and an open position (300, Fig. 5G/4G; [0032], lines 1-3) permitting entry into a storage compartment (200, Fig. 5G/4G), the door (300, Fig. 4-5) translatable between a first position (300, Fig. 5A/4A; [0032], lines 3-5) and a second position (300, Fig. 5B/4B) relative to the instrument panel (IP, Fig. 4-5); and a tray (100, Fig. 4-5) disposed within the instrument panel (IP, Fig. 4-5) and movable between a retracted position (100, Fig. 5A) disposed within the instrument panel (IP, Fig. 5) and an extended position (100, Fig. 5D) extending from the instrument panel (IP, Fig. 5), the tray (100, Fig. 5A; [0032], lines 9-12) prevented from moving from the retracted position into the extended position by the door (300, Fig. 5A) when the door is in one of the first position (300, Fig. 5A) and the second position and permitted to move from the retracted position into the extended position (100, Fig. 5D; [0032], lines 3-5) when the door (300, Fig. 5B) is in the other of the first position and the second position (300, Fig. 5B/D; paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 17, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 16 above, and further discloses a storage bin (body 200 and cover 300, Fig. 3-5; [0029], lines 5-6) coupled (through the base 700) to the instrument panel (IP, Fig. 3-5) via a linkage (272, 5, 370, 7, Fig. 3 & 5; [0066]) configured to permit movement of the storage bin between the first position (300, Fig. 5A) and the second position (300, Fig. 5B). The storage bin is interpreted as including the components of a bin body 200 and cover 300 which can act separately or together since applicant has not set forth any structure limiting or defining the storage bin.
Regarding claim 19, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 16 above, and further discloses a motor ([0046], line 8) configured to move the tray (100; [0045], lines 5-15) between the extended position and the retracted position (by releasing latch assembly 400 to allow tray 100 to extend; [0045], lines 5-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy et al (US 2018/0361942) in view of Hudson (US Patent No. 2,789,861).
Regarding claim 7, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 4 above. However, McCarthy et al does not expressly disclose wherein the tray includes at least one hinge configured to permit the tray to be folded on itself.
Regarding claim 14, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above. However, McCarthy et al does not expressly disclose wherein the tray includes at least one hinge configured to permit the tray to be folded on itself.
Regarding claim 20, McCarthy et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 16 above. However, McCarthy et al does not expressly disclose wherein the tray includes at least one hinge configured to permit the tray to be folded on itself.
Hudson teaches a glovebox (11, Fig. 3 & 5) wherein the tray (20, 20’; Fig. 3 & 5) includes at least one hinge (21, 21’; Fig. 3-6) configured to permit the tray (20, Fig. 2) to be folded on itself (Fig. 2) in the analogous field of the claimed invention of vehicle glovebox storage bins.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glovebox tray of McCarthy et al by providing it with a hinge as taught by Hudson. Doing so would improve versatility of the tray by allowing the extensible tray to unfold for expanded surface area and to fold on itself for compactness and ease of storage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claims 11 and 18 is the inclusion of limitations reciting “the linkage includes a four-bar link” in combination with a tray movable between a retracted state disposed within the frame and an extended state extending from the frame when the storage bin is in the first position or the second position as set forth in the claims. The base reference of McCarthy et al (US 2018/0361942) cannot be modified with a four-bar link without destroying how the device operates. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gross et al (US Patent No. 5,558,385) discloses a glovebox with a four-bar linkage (11, 12) that has both rotational movement and translational movement about a frame. Evans et al (US 2010/0148531) discloses a glovebox with four-bar linkage mechanism (Fig. 4A-E) configured to pivot and translate the glovebox (see abstract). Igari (JP-H07112643-A), Schulz (DE-102011118576-A1), Zhang (CN-204296593-U), Li (CN-206327273-U), Plavetich et al (US Patent No. 4,902,061), and JP-4271885-B2 disclose glovebox and tray combinations. Shibata (US Patent No. 9,511,718) discloses a bin (2) that translates and pivots downward when opened (column 8, lines 60 through column 10, line 11). Rigner et al (US Patent No. 8,714,093) discloses a hinged tray (Fig. 4-5).
/D.L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612