DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2023/0173260).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses the same invention as claimed (Figures 2B-C shown above for example), including a physiological sensing and/or stimulation probe (abstract), comprising: a probe body (Figures 2B-C); a first electrode, disposed on the probe body (Figure 4: e.g. 17-1); a second electrode, spaced apart from the first electrode and having an outer surface facing away from the first electrode (Figure 4: any other electrode); and an adjusting unit, wherein the second electrode is movably disposed on the probe body via the adjusting unit so that an angle between a normal direction of the outer surface of the second electrode and a central line of the probe body is adjustable (Figures 2B-C), thereby allowing an electrical field generated between the first electrode and the second electrode to be adjustable.
Regarding claims 2-4, Park discloses a flexible unit as recited (Figures 2C, 2F, 4, 5E-F).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the adjusting unit comprises at least two adjusting components as recited (Figures 2F, 3, 4, 5E).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses at least three adjusting components (Paragraph 49; Figures 2D-E: four operation wires).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the central line of the probe body passing through the geometric center of the second electrode as recited (Figure 4: central axis passes through geometric center of any ring electrode).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses the first electrode is a ring shape as recited (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses at least two mounting channels as recited (Figures 2D-E, 3, 4; Paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses stimulating as recited (Paragraphs 7-9, 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2023/0173260) in view of Robinson (US 2016/0038733).
Regarding claim 10, Park does not explicitly disclose operating the deep brain stimulation lead to perform sensing. However, Robinson teaches a mechanically adjustable deep brain stimulation lead may also be used for sensing a variety of positions (Paragraphs 2, 39, 47, 59, 62, 65, 78, 124), in order to assess the suitability of the electrode positions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park as taught by Robinson to include sensing as recited, in order to assess the suitability of the electrode positions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rezai (US 2005/0075681), Martens (US 2010/0100152), King (US 2010/0114283) show mechanically adjustable leads.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796