DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts Park does not disclose the claimed invention because Park does not show a radial offset of the second electrode is reduced. However, no radial offset details are recited in the claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Park discloses the same structures as recited and thus reads on the claims. In addition, any purported benefit of radial offset would also appear to be inherent or implicit in Park, since Park discloses the same structural configuration with the adjustable second electrode.
Regarding claims 10-11, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2023/0173260).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses the same invention as claimed (Figures 2B-C shown above for example), including a physiological sensing and/or stimulation probe (abstract), comprising: a probe body (Figures 2B-C); a first electrode, disposed on the probe body (Figure 4: e.g. 17-1); a second electrode, spaced apart from the first electrode and having an outer surface facing away from the first electrode (Figure 4: any other electrode); and an adjusting unit, wherein the second electrode is movably disposed on the probe body via the adjusting unit so that an angle between a normal direction of the outer surface of the second electrode and a central line of the probe body is adjustable (Figures 2B-C), thereby allowing an electrical field generated between the first electrode and the second electrode to be adjustable.
Further regarding claim 1, Park discloses the adjusting unit comprises at least two adjusting components as recited (Figures 2F, 3, 4, 5E), and Park discloses the central line of the probe body passing through the geometric center of the second electrode as recited (Figure 4: central axis passes through geometric center of any ring electrode).
Regarding claims 2-4, Park discloses a flexible unit as recited (Figures 2C, 2F, 4, 5E-F).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses at least three adjusting components (Paragraph 49; Figures 2D-E: four operation wires).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses the first electrode is a ring shape as recited (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses at least two mounting channels as recited (Figures 2D-E, 3, 4; Paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses stimulating as recited (Paragraphs 7-9, 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2023/0173260) in view of Robinson (US 2016/0038733).
Regarding claim 10, Park does not explicitly disclose operating the deep brain stimulation lead to perform sensing. However, Robinson teaches a mechanically adjustable deep brain stimulation lead may also be used for sensing a variety of positions (Paragraphs 2, 39, 47, 59, 62, 65, 78, 124), in order to assess the suitability of the electrode positions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park as taught by Robinson to include sensing as recited, in order to assess the suitability of the electrode positions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rezai (US 2005/0075681), Martens (US 2010/0100152), King (US 2010/0114283) show mechanically adjustable leads.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796