The present application is examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions.
RCE filed 3/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended.
Claims 2, 8, and 14 have been cancelled.
Supplemental Amendment filed 3/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been further amended.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, and 15-18 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, and 15-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Terry et al. (US20070189205A1; supported by Provisional 60/763791; “Terry”) in view of Jiang et al. (US20070265875A1; supported by Provisional 60/746986; “Jiang”) and further in view of Pedersen et al. (US20080096571A1; supported by Provisional 60/785682; “Pedersen”).
Regarding claim 1,
Terry discloses a method (Fig. 7) for a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig. 1-2, WTRU 120) comprising receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraph 31, 54, 64-65; use of RRC signaling) that provides information associated with a set of resource blocks for resource assignments for a plurality of WTRUs in a cell (Fig. 7, step 720; Fig. 8; paragraphs 48-50; resource block allocation granted to one or more WTRUs), wherein each resource block is a time-frequency orthogonal frequency division multiplex (OFDM) block of resources (paragraph 55, 72).
Terry further discloses receiving a resource assignment message for the WTRU within the set of resource blocks, wherein the resource assignment message is associated with an uplink resource block assignment and a WTRU identity (paragraph 48; Fig. 8, RB allocations 831-833 correspond to WTRUs 1-3; Fig. 9-11 further showing resource block assignments per WTRU) and transmitting one or more uplink signals over a resource associated with the resource assignment message in response to the resource assignment message indicating activation of the resource (Fig. 7, step 730; WTRU transmits over its allocated channel, where such allocation equates to activation via eNB grant message).
Terry discloses dynamic resource allocation and transmission over the allocated resource, but does not expressly disclose the resource assignment message indicates activation of the resource assignments.
Jiang discloses analogous art for setting activation time in a wireless communication system (Title) including resource assignment message indicating activation of the resource assignments (paragraph 17; message comprising uplink activation for all SRBs/RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of invention to modify Terry by providing a resource assignment message indicating activation of the resource assignments, as shown by Jiang, thereby preventing errors in allocating and activation resources when the UE is in poor coverage areas.
Terry further shows the resource assignment comprises HARQ process information (paragraph 53; allocation utilized for HARQ feedback), but fails to expressly show the HARQ process information comprised in the resource assignment message.
Pedersen discloses analogous art (Title: Shared Channel Allocation based on Occurrence of Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Retransmissions) including HARQ process information comprised in a resource assignment message (paragraph 15; see also Provisional bottom Pg.1-top Pg. 2; allocation includes various information related to HARQ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of invention to modify Terry by providing HARQ process information comprised in a resource assignment message, as shown by Pedersen, thereby enabling various forms of adaptive or non-adaptive HARQ schemes comprised in RB allocations.
Regarding claim 7,
Terry discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig. 1-2, WTRU 120) comprising a transceiver (Fig. 2, receiver 126/transmitter 127) and a processor (Fig. 2, processor 125) configured to cause the WTRU to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraph 31, 54, 64-65; use of RRC signaling) that provides information associated with a set of resource blocks for resource assignments for a plurality of WTRUs in a cell (Fig. 7, step 720; Fig. 8; paragraphs 48-50; resource block allocation granted to one or more WTRUs), wherein each resource block is a time-frequency OFDM block of resources (paragraph 55, 72).
Terry further discloses receiving a resource assignment message for the WTRU within the set of resource blocks, wherein the resource assignment message is associated with an uplink resource block assignment and a WTRU identity (paragraph 48; Fig. 8, RB allocations 831-833 correspond to WTRUs 1-3; Fig. 9-11 further showing resource block assignments per WTRU) and transmit one or more uplink signals over a resource associated with the resource assignment message in response to the resource assignment message indicating activation of the resource (Fig. 7, step 730; WTRU transmits over its allocated channel, where such allocation equates to resource activation).
Terry discloses dynamic resource allocation and transmission over the allocated resource, but does not expressly disclose the resource assignment message indicates activation of the resource assignments.
Jiang discloses analogous art for setting activation time in a wireless communication system (Title) including resource assignment message indicating activation of the resource assignments (paragraph 17; message comprising uplink activation for all SRBs/RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of invention to modify Terry by providing a resource assignment message indicating activation of the resource assignments, as shown by Jiang, thereby preventing errors in allocating and activation resources when the UE is in poor coverage areas.
Terry further shows the resource assignment comprises HARQ process information (paragraph 53; allocation utilized for HARQ feedback), but fails to expressly show the HARQ process information comprised in the resource assignment message.
Pedersen discloses analogous art (Title: Shared Channel Allocation based on Occurrence of Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Retransmissions) including HARQ process information comprised in a resource assignment message (paragraph 15; see also Provisional bottom Pg.1-top Pg. 2; allocation includes various information related to HARQ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of invention to modify Terry by providing HARQ process information comprised in a resource assignment message, as shown by Pedersen, thereby enabling various forms of adaptive or non-adaptive HARQ schemes comprised in RB allocations.
Regarding claim 13,
Terry discloses a base station (Fig. 1-2, eNB) comprising a transceiver (Fig. 2, receiver 116/transmitter 117) and processor (Fig. 2, processor 115) configured to cause the base station to transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraph 31, 54, 64-65; use of RRC signaling) that provides information associated with a set of resource blocks for resource assignments for a plurality of wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) in a cell (Fig. 7, step 720; Fig. 8; paragraphs 48-50; resource block allocation granted to one or more WTRUs), wherein each resource block is a time-frequency orthogonal frequency division multiplex (OFDM) block of resources (paragraph 55, 72) and different WTRUs search at different resource blocks within the set of resource blocks for one or more resource assignment messages (Fig. 7, step 720; Fig. 8; paragraphs 48-50; resource block allocated to one or more WTRUs).
Terry further shows to transmit a resource assignment message within the set of resource blocks to a WTRU, wherein the resource assignment message is associated with an uplink resource block assignment and a WTRU identity (paragraph 48; Fig. 8, RB allocations 831-833 correspond to WTRUs 1-3; Fig. 9-11 further showing resource block assignments per WTRU) and receive one or more uplink signals from the WTRU over a resource associated with the resource assignment message in response to the resource assignment message indicating activation of the resource for the WTRU (Fig. 7, step 730; WTRU transmits to eNB over its allocated channel, where such allocation equates to resource activation).
Terry discloses dynamic resource allocation and transmission over the allocated resource, but does not expressly disclose the resource assignment message indicates activation of the resource assignments.
Jiang discloses analogous art for setting activation time in a wireless communication system (Title) including resource assignment message indicating activation of the resource assignments (paragraph 17; message comprising uplink activation for all SRBs/RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of invention to modify Terry by providing a resource assignment message indicating activation of the resource assignments, as shown by Jiang, thereby preventing errors in allocating and activation resources when the UE is in poor coverage areas.
Terry further shows the resource assignment comprises HARQ process information (paragraph 53; allocation utilized for HARQ feedback), but fails to expressly show the HARQ process information comprised in the resource assignment message.
Pedersen discloses analogous art (Title: Shared Channel Allocation based on Occurrence of Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Retransmissions) including HARQ process information comprised in a resource assignment message (paragraph 15; see also Provisional bottom Pg.1-top Pg. 2; allocation includes various information related to HARQ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of invention to modify Terry by providing HARQ process information comprised in a resource assignment message, as shown by Pedersen, thereby enabling various forms of adaptive or non-adaptive HARQ schemes comprised in RB allocations.
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15,
The combination of Terry and Jiang discloses receiving/transmitting a signal and determining the at least one resource block within the set of resource blocks based on the received signal (Fig. 7, step 720; Fig. 8; paragraphs 31, 54, 48-50, 64-65; resource block allocation granted to WTRUs based on RRC signaling).
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16,
The combination of Terry and Jiang discloses the resource assignment message is associated with a persistent allocation of resources (paragraph 60, 65; allocation of persistent UL resources).
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 17,
The combination of Terry and Jiang discloses processing/transmitting at least one resource block within the set of resource blocks subsequent to the resource assignment messaged associated with the WTRU in a subsequent time interval for a second resource assignment message associated with the WTRU (Fig. 5-6; paragraph 61; timing advance for dynamic scheduling/NRT services) and transmitting/receiving one or more uplink signals over a resource associated with the second resource assignment message in response to the second resource message dynamically changing the resource assignment associated with the resource assignment message associated with the persistent allocation of resources (Fig. 5-6; paragraph 60-65; indication of termination of existing channel allocations and new persistent resources allocated for dynamic scheduling).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 18,
The combination of Terry and Jiang discloses processing/transmitting at least one resource block within the set of resource blocks subsequent to the resource assignment messaged associated with the WTRU in a subsequent time interval for a third resource assignment message associated with the WTRU (Fig. 5-6; paragraph 61; timing advance for dynamic scheduling/NRT services) and deactivating the transmitting of the one or more uplink signals over the resource in response to the third resource assignment message indicating the deactivation (i.e. termination) of the resource (Fig. 5-6; paragraph 60-65; implicit/explicit indication of termination of existing channel allocations and new persistent resources allocated for dynamic scheduling).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 and 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks on pg. 11-14 of the Response, Applicant contends the combination of Terry and Jiang does not disclose a resource assignment message including HARQ process information as in previous dependent claims 2, 8, and 14, now added to independent claims 1, 7, and 13. Applicant further contends the combination of Terry and Jiang would not teach the contested limitations because Terry sends a grant on the downlink common control channel and is not constrained to a specific WTRU defined by RRC.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the rejection, Terry discloses the resource allocation of the resource assignment message is used for HARQ feedback of a HARQ process, thereby meeting the contested limitations. Further, it is noted that the contested claim limitations are far broader than characterized by Applicant. The claims only require that the resource assignment message is “associated” with an uplink resource block assignment and a WTRU identity. As such, Terry’s disclosure of transmitting HARQ process information is associated with the UL shared access grant for one or more WTRUs, regardless of whether the UL access grant is transmitted on the downlink control channel, thereby meeting the express claim language of “association” with an uplink resource block assignment. Therefore, the rejections in this regard based on the combination of Terry and Jiang are properly maintained.
In the further Remarks on pg. 10-11 of the Supplemental Amendment filed 3/30/2026, Applicant alleges the HARQ disclosure cited from Terry relates to an NCB channel, not in anything like the claimed resource assignment message.
The Examiner again respectfully disagrees. The NCB channel in Terry operates in UL/DL directions as in the claimed invention. Nevertheless, the arguments are moot as newly-cited Pedersen reference more expressly shows HARQ process information comprised within an UL resource assignment received by the UE, as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477