DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 12/26/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mahama et al. (US 2024/0107541 A1) hereinafter “Mahama.”
Regarding Claim 1, Mahama teaches A user equipment (UE) (Mahama: paragraph 0184 & Fig. 12, apparatus implemented as a User Equipment (UE)) for wireless communication (Mahama: paragraph 0035 & Fig. 1, wireless communication system), comprising:
one or more memories (Mahama: paragraph 0184 & Fig. 12, memory); and
one or more processors (Mahama: paragraph 0184 & Fig. 12, processing circuitry), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive a first configuration for a sounding reference signal (SRS) to be transmitted on a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181 & Fig. 11, receive SRS configuration indicating a first set of parameters to configure a first frequency domain starting position of SRS transmission in SBFD slots);
receive a second configuration for the SRS to be transmitted on a non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181 & Fig. 11, receive SRS configuration indicating a first set of parameters to configure a second frequency domain starting position of SRS transmission in non-SBFD slots); and
apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration based, at least in part, on whether the SRS is on one of the SBFD resource or the non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0183 & Fig. 11, perform SRS transmissions across multiple slots including SBFD slots and non-SBFD based on the SRS configuration received).
Regarding Claim 2, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first configuration and the second configuration each include multiple SRS resource sets, wherein each SRS resource set is associated with the SBFD resource or the non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0182, SRS configuration indicates an SRS resource set including separate SRS resources corresponding to SBFD slots and non-SBFD slot).
Regarding Claim 3, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration, are configured to cancel transmission of the SRS on the non-SBFD resource in accordance with the first configuration (Mahama: paragraph 0178, skipping or disabling of SRS resource allocation for specific sets of slots in SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 4, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration, are configured to cancel transmission of the SRS on the SBFD resource in accordance with the second configuration (Mahama: paragraph 0178, skipping or disabling of SRS resource allocation for specific sets of slots in SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 5, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the non-SBFD resource is an uplink slot or a flexible slot (Mahama: paragraph 0076, uplinks slot and/or flexible slots).
Regarding Claim 6, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the SBFD resource is an SBFD symbol with an uplink subband and a downlink subband (Mahama: paragraph 0040, separate frequency domain resource allocations for SBFD symbols; see also paragraph 0145 & Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 7, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration, are configured to apply one or more of a frequency hopping pattern, a partial frequency sounding pattern, a spatial filter, or power control to the SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraphs 0134-0137, frequency hopping pattern for SRS).
Regarding Claim 8, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration, are configured to apply a frequency hopping pattern to an uplink bandwidth part (Mahama: paragraphs 0038, employ frequency hopping to uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 9, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration, are configured to apply a slot offset, relative to a reference slot, associated with the SRS on the SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0121, slot offset for SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 10, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive downlink control information (DCI) that triggers transmission of an aperiodic SRS resource set in a slot (Mahama: paragraph 0121, triggering DCI for aperiodic SRS transmission), and wherein applying one of the first configuration or the second configuration is based, at least in part, on a duplex type associated with the aperiodic SRS resource set (Mahama: paragraph 0121, slotOffset IE determines the number of slots between the triggering DCI and the actual SRS transmission for aperiodic transmission).
Regarding Claim 11, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the slot based, at least in part, on a reference slot relative to the slot at which the triggering DCI was received (Mahama: paragraph 0121, slot offset for SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 12, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the reference slot based, at least in part, on a duplex type of the slot at which the triggering DCI was received (Mahama: paragraph 0121, slotOffset IE determines the number of slots between the triggering DCI and the actual SRS transmission for aperiodic transmission).
Regarding Claim 13, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the slot is based, at least in part, on an offset from the reference slot based, at least in part, on a count of a number of slots with the same duplex type of the aperiodic SRS resource set (Mahama: paragraph 0121, slotOffset IE determines the number of slots between the triggering DCI and the actual SRS transmission for aperiodic transmission).
Regarding Claim 14, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive up to two frequency configurations for an SRS resource (Mahama: paragraph 0070, two frequency domain positions based on slot type; see also paragraph 0165, frequency domain resource configuration for SRS is modified to include UL-SB in the BFD slots/symbols).
Regarding Claim 15, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the first configuration and the second configuration as a shared configuration for the SRS resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181, receive the SRS configuration in a SBFD system indicating both SBFD slots and non-SBFD slots) and cancel transmission of the SRS in an uplink subband as a result of one or more resource blocks being outside the uplink subband configuration (Mahama: paragraph 0178, skipping or disabling of SRS resource allocation for specific sets of slots in SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 16, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to apply a new SRS sequence based, at least in part, on overlapped resources within an uplink subband (Mahama: paragraph 0178, configuration (Mahama: paragraphs 0097-0099, two frequency domain positions to avoid overlap).
Regarding Claim 17, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to truncate an SRS sequence (Mahama: paragraph 0165, frequency domain resource configuration for SRS is modified to ensure that the frequency domain position is confined within the UL-SB in the SBFD slots/symbols).
Regarding Claim 18, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to apply the first configuration or the second configuration, are configured to configuring up to two frequency domain shift values or frequency domain position values (Mahama: paragraph 0070, two frequency domain positions).
Regarding Claim 19, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the up to two frequency domain shift values shift a frequency of the SRS to a frequency of an uplink subband (Mahama: paragraphs 0072-0075, bitmap indicating UL slots).
Regarding Claim 20, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein applying the first configuration or the second configuration includes configuring up to two SRS sequence length values configured to enable up to two SRS bandwidth values, wherein at least one of the SRS bandwidth values is within an uplink subband (Mahama: paragraph 0160, two sets of parameters are provided within one or each SRS Resource and two values of frequency domain position are provided within each SRS Resource).
Regarding Claim 21, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to apply the first configuration or the second configuration, are configured to apply frequency hopping to SRS transmissions scheduled on non-SBFD resources and shifting SRS transmissions scheduled on non-SBFD symbols to frequencies within an uplink subband (Mahama: paragraphs 0134-0137, frequency hopping pattern for SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 22, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein applying the first configuration or the second configuration includes applying a first frequency hopping pattern to SRS transmissions scheduled on SBFD resources and a second frequency hopping pattern to SRS transmissions scheduled on non-SBFD resources, wherein frequencies in the second frequency hopping pattern are within an uplink subband (Mahama: paragraphs 0134-0137, frequency hopping pattern for SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 23, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein applying the first configuration or the second configuration is based, at least in part, on a duplex mode of the SRS (Mahama: paragraphs 0036-0037, SBFD mode).
Regarding Claim 24, Mahama teaches A network node (Mahama: paragraph 0184 & Fig. 12, apparatus implemented as a base station) for wireless communication (Mahama: paragraph 0035 & Fig. 1, wireless communication system), comprising:
one or more memories (Mahama: paragraph 0184 & Fig. 12, memory); and
one or more processors (Mahama: paragraph 0184 & Fig. 12, processing circuitry), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
output, to a user equipment (UE) (Mahama paragraph 0180, user equipment (UE)), a first configuration for a sounding reference signal (SRS) to be transmitted, by the UE, on a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181 & Fig. 11, receive SRS configuration indicating a first set of parameters to configure a first frequency domain starting position of SRS transmission in SBFD slots);
output, to the UE, a second configuration for the SRS to be transmitted, by the UE, on a non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181 & Fig. 11, receive SRS configuration indicating a first set of parameters to configure a second frequency domain starting position of SRS transmission in non-SBFD slots); and
configure the UE to apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration based, at least in part, on whether the SRS is to be transmitted on one of the SBFD resource or the non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0183 & Fig. 11, perform SRS transmissions across multiple slots including SBFD slots and non-SBFD based on the SRS configuration received).
Regarding Claim 25, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first configuration and the second configuration each include multiple SRS resource sets, wherein each SRS resource set is associated with the SBFD resource or the non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0182, SRS configuration indicates an SRS resource set including separate SRS resources corresponding to SBFD slots and non-SBFD slot).
Regarding Claim 26, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to configure the UE to apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration, are configured to configure the UE to cancel transmission of the SRS on the non-SBFD resource in accordance with the first configuration (Mahama: paragraph 0178, skipping or disabling of SRS resource allocation for specific sets of slots in SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 27, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to configure the UE to apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration, are configured to configure the UE to cancel transmission of the SRS on the SBFD resource in accordance with the second configuration (Mahama: paragraph 0178, skipping or disabling of SRS resource allocation for specific sets of slots in SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 28, Mahama teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to configure the UE to receive up to two frequency configurations for an SRS resource (Mahama: paragraph 0070, two frequency domain positions based on slot type), and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to configure the UE to receive the first configuration and the second configuration as a shared configuration for the SRS resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181, receive the SRS configuration in a SBFD system indicating both SBFD slots and non-SBFD slots) and cancel transmission of the SRS in an uplink subband as a result of one or more resource blocks being outside the uplink subband (Mahama: paragraph 0178, skipping or disabling of SRS resource allocation for specific sets of slots in SRS transmission).
Regarding Claim 29, Mahama teaches A method of wireless communication (Mahama: paragraph 0035 & Fig. 1, wireless communication system) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Mahama: paragraph 0184 & Fig. 12, apparatus implemented as a User Equipment (UE)), comprising:
receiving a first configuration for a sounding reference signal (SRS) to be transmitted on a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181 & Fig. 11, receive SRS configuration indicating a first set of parameters to configure a first frequency domain starting position of SRS transmission in SBFD slots);
receiving a second configuration for the SRS to be transmitted on a non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181 & Fig. 11, receive SRS configuration indicating a first set of parameters to configure a second frequency domain starting position of SRS transmission in non-SBFD slots); and
applying one of the first configuration or the second configuration based, at least in part, on whether the SRS is on one of the SBFD resource or the non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0183 & Fig. 11, perform SRS transmissions across multiple slots including SBFD slots and non-SBFD based on the SRS configuration received).
Regarding Claim 30, Mahama teaches A method of wireless communication (Mahama: paragraph 0035 & Fig. 1, wireless communication system) performed by a network node (Mahama: paragraph 0184 & Fig. 12, apparatus implemented as a base station), comprising:
outputting, to a user equipment (UE) (Mahama paragraph 0180, user equipment (UE)), a first configuration for a sounding reference signal (SRS) to be transmitted, by the UE, on a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181 & Fig. 11, receive SRS configuration indicating a first set of parameters to configure a first frequency domain starting position of SRS transmission in SBFD slots);
outputting, to the UE, a second configuration for the SRS to be transmitted, by the UE, on a non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0181 & Fig. 11, receive SRS configuration indicating a first set of parameters to configure a second frequency domain starting position of SRS transmission in non-SBFD slots); and
configuring the UE to apply one of the first configuration or the second configuration based, at least in part, on whether the SRS is to be transmitted on one of the SBFD resource or the non-SBFD resource (Mahama: paragraph 0183 & Fig. 11, perform SRS transmissions across multiple slots including SBFD slots and non-SBFD based on the SRS configuration received).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nemeth et al. (US 2024/0097866 A1) teaches a configuration including both SBFD and non-SBFD resources (paragraph 0033).
Chatterjee et al. (US 2023/0421222 A1) teaches CSI resource setting for a SBFD operation and a non-SBFD operation (paragraphs 0115-0120).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/SYED ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463