Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on September 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on applications filed in China on July 5, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of these Chinese applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is indefinite since it is not clear what a “centrifugal detector” is and how it is different from the recited “centrifugal system” in the device. Does the centrifugal detector detect a centrifugal force of the centrifugal system used to drive fluids in the microfluidic chip?
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (CN 115032189A, submitted in the IDS filed on December 26, 2023, and an English-language translation is provided with this Office action).
With regards to claim 1, Chen et al teach of a device for on-site detection of soil organic matter, comprising: a pre-processing module; a centrifugal system; a microfluidic chip; and a photoelectric detection module; wherein the pre-processing module is configured to process a soil sample into a soil sample solution; the centrifugal system is configured to generate a centrifugal force to drive fluids in the microfluidic chip to move towards a periphery of the microfluidic chip; the microfluidic chip is configured for flowing and mixing of the soil sample solution and an extraction solvent within the microfluidic chip for extraction under an action of the centrifugal force generated by the centrifugal system to obtain an extract; and the photoelectric detection module is configured to detect the extract to determine organic matter content in the soil sample solution. See the third paragraph under the title “Content of the Invention” on page 3 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
With regards to claim 2, Chen et al teach that the device further comprises: a microprocessor module; a heating plate; a temperature control module; a drive module; a display; a power supply module; and a communication module; wherein the heating plate is arranged below the microfluidic chip, and is configured to heat the microfluidic chip; the temperature control module is configured to control a heating temperature of the heating plate; the drive module is configured to drive the centrifugal system to work; the power supply module is configured for supplying power to the microprocessor module; the communication module is configured for realizing communication of the microprocessor module with other modules; the display is configured for displaying detection results of the photoelectric detection module; and the microprocessor module is configured to receive and analyze the detection results of the photoelectric detection module and display analysis results on the display, and control the drive module and the temperature control module. See the fourth and fifth paragraphs under the title “Content of the Invention” on page 3 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
With regards to claim 3, Chen et al teach that the pre-processing module is configured to process a solvent solution to obtain the extraction solvent. See the sixth paragraph under the title “Content of the Invention” on page 3 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
With regards to claim 4, Chen et al teach that the centrifugal system is a centrifugal detector. See the seventh paragraph under the title “Content of the Invention” on page 3 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
With regards to claim 5, Chen et al teach that the microfluidic chip comprises a channel layer and a cover layer arranged above the channel layer; wherein the channel layer comprises a channel layer main body and a plurality of channel branches arranged on the channel layer main body; each of the plurality of channel branches comprises a first solvent injection port, a sample inlet, an extraction well, a microchannel, a filtration well, a detection well, a waste collection well and a first air hole; an inlet of the extraction well is connected to the first solvent injection port and the sample inlet; an outlet of the extraction well is connected to an inlet of the microchannel; an outlet of the microchannel is connected to an inlet of the filtration well; an outlet of the filtration well is connected to an inlet of the detection well; an outlet of the detection well is connected to an inlet of the waste collection well; the waste collection well is communicated with the first air hole; the extraction well is provided with a plurality of heating columns; the filtration well is provided with a microarray and a plurality of microbeads; the plurality of microbeads are located above the microarray; and a filter pad is provided at the outlet of the filtration well. See the first paragraph on page 4 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
With regards to claim 6, Chen et al teach that the cover layer is provided with a first mounting hole, a plurality of sample injection holes, a plurality of second solvent injection ports and a plurality of second air holes; a middle of the channel layer main body is provided with a second mounting hole corresponding to the first mounting hole; the plurality of sample injection holes, the plurality of second solvent injection ports, the plurality of second air holes and the plurality of channel branches are the same in number, and the plurality of channel branches are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of sample injection holes, the plurality of second solvent injection ports and the plurality of second air holes; the plurality of sample injection holes are in one-to-one correspondence with sample inlets of the plurality of channel branches; the plurality of second air holes are in one-to-one correspondence with first air holes of the plurality of channel branches; and the plurality of second solvent injection ports are in one-to-one correspondence with first solvent injection ports of the plurality of channel branches. See the second paragraph on page 4 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
With regards to claim 7, Chen et al teach that the cover layer is provided with an observation window; and the observation window comprises a penetration hole arranged on the cover layer and an optically-permeable film mounted in the penetration hole. See the third paragraph on page 4 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
With regards to claim 8, Chen et al teach that a base plate layer is provided below the channel layer; and a middle of the base plate layer is provided with a mounting hole. See the fourth paragraph on page 4 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
With regards to claim 9, Chen et al teach that the filter pad is configured as at least one layer; and the filter pad is a metal filter screen, a non-metal filter cloth, a filter membrane, or a combination thereof. See the fifth paragraph on page 4 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
With regards to claim 10, Chen et al teach of a detection method using the device of claim 1, comprising (S1) processing, by the pre-processing module, a soil sample to obtain a soil sample solution; (S2) injecting the soil sample solution and an extraction solvent into the microfluidic chip; (S3) heating the microfluidic chip using a heating plate; (S4) starting the centrifugal system to generate a centrifugal force to drive the soil sample solution and the extraction solvent in the microfluidic chip to flow along a channel branch for mixing and extraction, so as to obtain an extract; and (S5) detecting, by the photoelectric detection module, the extract to determine the organic matter content in the soil sample solution. See the steps (1)-(5) on the last portion of page 4 and on the first portion of page 5 of the English-language translation of Chen et al.
It is noted that the reference to Chen et al (CN 115032189A) is prior art against the instant claims under 35 USC 102(a)(1) since it names some different inventors than the joint inventors of the instant application, and Chen et al was published on September 9, 2022, which is prior to the effective filing date of the instant application. The effective filing date of the instant application is October 27, 2022 since Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copies of the foreign priority applications to overcome this rejection because a translation of said applications have not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson et al (US 2021/0341452) in view of Wang (CN 103055983 A, submitted in the IDS filed on December 26, 2023, and an English-language translation is provided with this Office action).
With regards to claim 1, Swanson et al teach of a device for the on-site detection of soil organic matter (see paragraphs 0060 and 0112 in Swanson et al), comprising: a pre-processing module 3002 for processing a soil sample into a soil sample solution (see paragraph 0062 in Swanson et al), a centrifugal system 3400 configured to centrifuge an extractant-soil solution slurry mixture to produce a clear liquid or supernatant (see paragraph 0063, 0066 and 0072 in Swanson et al), a microfluidic chip 4000 configured for flowing and mixing a soil sample solution and an extraction solvent within the chip for extraction of components in the soil sample solution to form an extract (see paragraphs 0063, 0072-0073, 0100 and 0105 in Swanson et al), and a photoelectric detection module configured to detect the extract to determine organic matter content in the soil sample solution (see paragraphs 0063, 0105-0107 and 0112 in Swanson et al). Swanson et al teach that the soil sample solution and the extraction solvent are added to the microfluidic chip 4000 and moved through the various channels and chambers of the chip using pneumatically-actuated diaphragm micropumps (see paragraph 0089 in Swanson et al).
Swanson et al fail to teach that the centrifugal system 3400 in the device is configured to generate a centrifugal force to drive fluids in the microfluidic chip 4000 to move towards a periphery of the chip.
Wang teaches of a centrifugal microfluidic control chip for detecting polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons in soil samples. The microfluidic chip receives a soil sample and an extracting agent and mixes the soil sample and the extracting agent using a centrifugal force from a centrifugal system. The centrifugal force drives the soil sample and the extracting agent into a mixing chamber in the microfluidic chip where an extracting and separating process occurs to separate possible polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons present in the soil sample into an extract. The centrifugal force then drives the extract into a detection chamber where an infrared spectrograph quantitatively or qualitatively detects a content of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons in the extract. See the abstract, paragraphs 0019-0020 and 0025-0029, and the claims in the English-language translation of Wang.
Based upon a combination of Swanson et al and Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the centrifugal system 3400 in the device taught by Swanson et al to move the soil sample and the extraction solvent to a periphery of the microfluidic chip 4000 where they are mixed together to form a soil extract instead of the pneumatically-actuated diaphragm micropumps in the chip because Wang teaches that in a similar type of microfluidic device for analyzing a soil sample and extracting components from the soil sample, it is advantageous to move a soil sample solution and an extracting agent into a mixing area of the microfluidic chip using a centrifugal force produced by a centrifugal system rather than with pumps in the microfluidic chip since this allows for an automatic, economic, fast, portable and efficient system to analyze soils samples with no need for additional components in the microfluidic chip (i.e. pumps) which may not operate efficiently over time.
With regards to claim 3, Swanson et al fail to teach that the pre-processing module 3002 is configured to also process a solvent to obtain the extraction solvent. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pre-processing module 3002 in the device taught by Swanson et al to also process a solvent to obtain the extraction solvent used to extract organic matter from a soil sample because Swanson et al teach that the pre-processing module 3002 is used for sample preparation, and in order to prepare the soil sample for analysis, the extraction solvent that is introduced into the microfluidic chip 4000 for extraction of organic matter from the soil sample also has to be prepared.
With regards to claim 4, Swanson et al teach that the centrifugal system 3400 in the device is a centrifugal detector since the centrifugal system 3400 is a stand-alone device to which the microfluidic chip 4000 can be coupled for centrifuging the contents inside the chip. See paragraph 0080 in Swanson et al.
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson et al (US 2021/0341452) in view of Wang (CN 103055983 A, submitted in the IDS filed on December 26, 2023, and an English-language translation is provided with this Office action) as applied to claims 1 and 3-4 above, and further in view of Ye et al (CN 104502617A, submitted in the IDS filed on December 26, 2023, and an English-language translation is provided with this Office action). For a teaching of Swanson et al and Wang, see previous paragraphs in this Office action.
With regards to claim 2, Swanson et al teach that the device for the on-site detection of soil organic matter further comprises a microprocessor or controller module configured to receive and analyze detection results of the photoelectric detection module (see paragraphs 0102, 0119-0120 and 0124 in Swanson et al), a drive module configured to drive the centrifugal system 3400 (see paragraphs 080-0082 in Swanson et al), a display 2825 configured for displaying detection results of the photoelectric detection module (see Figure 4 and paragraph 0127 in Swanson et al), and a communication module configured to provide communication between the microprocessor or controller module and the other modules in the device (see paragraphs 0122-0125 in Swanson et al). Swanson et al fail to teach that the device also comprises a heating plate arranged below the microfluidic chip 4000 which is configured to heat the chip, a temperature control module that is configured to control a heating temperature of the heating plate, and a power supply module configured to drive the centrifugal system to work. With regards to claim 10, the combination of Swanson et al and Wang teaches of a detection method comprising processing by the pre-processing module 3002, a soil sample to obtain a soil sample solution, injecting the soil sample solution and an extraction solvent into the microfluidic chip 4000, starting the centrifugal system 3400 to generate a centrifugal force to drive the soil sample and the extraction solvent in the microfluidic chip 4000 to flow along a channel branch for mixing and extraction so as to obtain an extract, in accordance with the teaching of Wang, and detecting the extract by the photoelectric detection module to determine an organic content in the soil sample solution, but fails to teach of heating the microfluidic chip using a heating plate during the method.
Ye et al teach of a microfluidic chip system and a method for detecting pesticide residue in a soil sample. The system comprises a microfluidic chip to which a soil sample is introduced, a heating plate located below the microfluidic chip, a temperature control module or sensor for controlling a heating temperature of the heating plate, a fluid control module comprising a centrifuge to control the flow and mixing of a soil sample and an extracting agent in the microfluidic chip to produce an extract, a detection module for detecting pesticides in the extract using an absorbance measurement of the extract, a data processing and control module, a power supply module for supplying power to the centrifuge, and a display and/or transmission device. See the abstract, Figure 1, and paragraphs 0008-0015, 0019 and 0024 in Ye et al.
Based upon a combination of Swanson et al, Wang and Ye et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a heating plate arranged below the microfluidic chip 4000 which is configured to heat the chip and a temperature control module that is configured to control a heating temperature of the heating plate in the device and method taught by the combination of Swanson et al and Wang because Ye et al teach that it is advantageous to heat a microfluidic chip where a soil sample and an extraction agent are located for extracting certain components or chemicals from the soil sample since heating of the soil sample and an extracting agent serves to help facilitate the extraction process. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a power supply module in the device taught by the combination of Swanson et al and Wang which is configured to drive the centrifugal system to work because Ye et al teach that in a similar type of microfluidic chip used for analyzing a soil sample solution and moving the solution through the chip using a centrifuge, it is advantageous to use a power supply module to supply power to the centrifuge since this type of module ensures that the device can operate independently of any other external power sources.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please make note of: Wang et al (US 2024/0125757) who teach of a device and a method for detecting soil nutrients on site with a microfluidic chip; Northrup (US 2006/0246501) who teach of an apparatus and a method for extracting and optically analyzing an analyte using a microfluidic-based collection system; and Koshnick et al (US 2012/0103077) who teach of a device and a method for measuring an attribute of a soil sample.
/MAUREEN WALLENHORST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797 October 15, 2026