Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application (DIV of 17/115,054, filed 08 December 2020) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite the abbreviation “CTE”. Although nowhere explicitly defined in the disclosure, CTE is accepted in the art to represent the coefficient of thermal expansion and is a measure of how much a material expands as its temperature changes in units of ppm/°C.
The claims recite a phrase “tear-resistance” with respect to a “tear-resistant boundary region” wherein “the tear-resistant boundary region has a tear-resistance that is greater than that of the pore region” in Claim 1. This implies that “tear-resistance” is a measurable quantity useful for comparing between the boundary region and the pore region. However, the disclosure of the invention fails to provide any quantifiable means of measuring “tear-resistance”. Paragraph 0005 suggests that “[t]he greater tear resistance can come from one or more factors including the region having no pores, the region having a lower density of pores, and/or a region having thicker structures between pore regions”. No other disclosure provides indications of how “tear-resistance” can be quantified. As such, the Examiner interprets “tear-resistance” to be based on the presence of pores in a region, i.e., the more pores, the lower the “tear-resistance”; the higher the pore density, the lower the “tear-resistance”. So long as a “boundary region” has fewer pores or a lower pore density than a “pore region”, then the boundary region will be considered to have greater “tear-resistance”.
The claims recite a phrase “aspect ratio” with respect to the pores in Claims 3 and 4: “wherein the pores have an aspect ratio ranging from 0.5:1 to 20:1” and “wherein the pores have an aspect ratio ranging from 2:1 to 5:1”. The specification discusses “aspect ratio” and identifies it to be related to the thickness of the membrane and the diameter of the pores: “The thickness of the membrane together with the diameter of the pores determines the aspect ratio of the pores. The thickness of the membrane will often be within the range of 5 to 25 microns” (p0040) and further states “the pores are designed to have dimensions ranging from 1-100 microns…. [o]ne preferred membrane filter has a membrane thickness of 10 microns with pores that have an exit diameter of 2 microns” (p0039). This indicates that the claimed “aspect ratio” is the ratio of membrane thickness to pore diameter.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments filed 01 September 2026 have been entered. Claim 1 has been amended; Claim 29 has been canceled. Claims 8-24 were previously canceled. Claims 1-7 and 25-28 are pending.
Regarding the rejections of Claims 1-7 and 25-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG et al. (US 2009/0188864 A1) in view of GRILLE et al. (US 9,610,543 B2) with evidentiary support from LIU et al. (RSC Adv., 2018, 8, 19034), Applicant’s amendments are sufficient; these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration and search, new grounds of rejection have been made for Claims 1-7 and 25-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG in view of GRILLE and further in view of LIU.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01 September 2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the rejections of Claim(s) 1-7 and 25-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG in view of GRILLE with evidentiary support from LIU, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive because they are directed to grounds of rejection that have been withdrawn. Therefore, the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the presently pending claims.
However, Applicant’s arguments pertain to the cited prior art; specifically, Applicant argues that as claimed, the polymeric membrane substrate is a polyimide with a CTE within 25% of 3.2 ppm/°C and further “[t]he present inventors have found that where the CTE of the polymeric film and the substrate are within ±25% or less of each other, the polymer can be removed from the substrate without curling upon delamination. This concept is not taught nor suggested by the combined teachings of Zheng and Grille. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the present invention is non-obvious over the combined teachings of Zheng and Grille” (pg. 6, par. 1-3).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As noted in the following rejection, LIU teaches PI films for microfluidic applications advantageously maintains a CTE of less than 10 ppm °C-1 to minimize any mismatch between the PI film and substrate to minimize cracking or peeling. Thus, the claimed range of a polyimide having a CTE within 25% of 3.2 ppm/°C would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence of criticality. While Applicant provides a reason/motivation for this limitation, citing that when the CTE of the film and substrate are within 25% or less of each other, the polymer can be removed without curling upon delamination, it is noted that the claimed invention does not explicitly claim a relative CTE of the PI film to the substrate (instead, only claiming an absolute value of the CTE of the PI film). Further, while preventing curling during delamination may be critical, as noted above, LIU teaches that a PI film and its substrate having similar CTE values minimizes cracking or peeling, i.e., LIU also recognizes issues with curling/peeling; therefore, such proposed criticality is not unexpected as such a property is known in the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG et al. (US 2009/0188864 A1) in view of GRILLE et al. (US 9,610,543 B2) and further in view of LIU et al. (RSC Adv., 2018, 8, 19034).
Regarding Claim 1, ZHENG discloses a microfabricated porous membrane comprising multiple filter patches arranged in microfiltration arrays (i.e., porous membrane filters; p0051, p0100; FIGs. 13, 14). The porous membrane 511, 521 is prepared on a substrate 601 (i.e., on a support substrate; p0104; p0105; FIGs. 15A-D) and is prepared from polyimide, polycarbonate, TEFLON, polysiloxane, and polyacrylate (i.e., a polymeric film; p0094). Each filter patch 500 comprises a filter array having multiple pores 513, 523 (p0100).
Said pores are defined by photolithography (i.e., a photolithographically defined pore region defining a central region of the membrane filter, the pore region comprising a plurality of pores; p0104); during lithography, membrane layers 521 and 511 are etched to produce the pores 513, 523 to expose the underlying substrate 601 on which the membrane is prepared (i.e., the plurality of pores extending through the polymeric film and exposing the support substrate; p0104, FIG. 5A-D).
ZHENG further discloses the pores 513, 523 are circular and have diameters 40 µm and 8 µm, respectively (p0102), which reads on the claimed range of a plurality of pores having a minimum dimension of less than 100 microns. As further shown in FIG. 13 the edges of each filter patch lack pores or have lower pore density than the central region of the filter patch (i.e., a tear-resistant boundary region, the tear-resistant boundary region substantially surrounding the pore region, wherein the tear-resistant boundary region has a tear-resistance that is greater than that of the pore region; FIG. 13).
ZHENG is deficient in explicitly disclosing a photolithographically defined segmentation region surrounding both the pore region and the tear-resistant boundary region such that the tear-resistant boundary region is between the pore region and the segmentation region, the segmentation region being defined by holes extending through the polymeric film and exposing the support substrate.
GRILLE discloses methods for structuring a substrate utilizing photolithographic techniques and providing perforation structures to kerf regions to obtain shaped individual chips from the larger substrate (abstract). Said perforation structures comprise a plurality of through-holes exposing the substrate (c2/1-2; c5/46-50). The method involves performing photolithography to mark a plurality of sites corresponding to perforation structures and kerf regions to prepare a plurality of individual chip to be obtained from the substrate (c4/65-c5/9). Advantageously, such a procedure yields substantially stress-free substrates and avoids the potentially structurally damaging mechanical separation of individual chips from other chips on the substrate (c5/10-17). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a perforation region surrounding individual chips as taught by GRILLE for each filter patch taught by ZHENG to provide for damage-free more easily separated filter patches.
Furthermore, regarding the limitation “liquid-filtering tear resistant”, such a limitation is directed toward uses (i.e., “liquid-filtering”) and properties (i.e., “tear resistant”) of the claimed polymeric membrane substrate. The manner or method in which an apparatus is to be utilized is not subject to the issue of patentability of the apparatus itself (In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); MPEP §2115); i.e., whether the claimed substrate is used to filter liquids has no bearing on the patentability of the substrate itself. The claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)); i.e., the prior art of record discloses or makes obvious all structural and functional limitations and thus, the cited properties are necessarily and inherently present.
Modified ZHENG is deficient in disclosing “the polymeric film… having a CTE within 25% of 3.2 ppm/°C”.
Although the prior art is deficient in explicitly disclosing CTE values for the polymeric film or the support substrate, ZHENG discloses the preparation of filtration membranes via microfluidic techniques (p0013) wherein the polymeric membrane 511, 521 comprises polyimide material (p0094) and the support substrate 601 is silicon (p0104). LIU teaches the preparation of polyimide films on a silicon-carbon nanofiber support (abstract); LIU further discloses that the CTE of the polyimide film should be maintained to less than 10 ppm °C-1 (§1. Introduction, pg. 19034, par. 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of “within 25% of 3.2 ppm/°C” and therefore, establishes a case of prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05). LIU teaches that such a CTE range minimizes “the mismatch in the CTE between the PI film and substrate” and therefore advantageously maintains the mechanical properties and thermal stability for polyimide-based films supported on silicon substrates and further prevents “cracking or peeling of the PI film” (§1. Introduction, pg. 19034, par. 1). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to maintain a polyimide film having a CTE within 25% of 3.2 ppm/°C as made obvious by LIU for the membrane substrate made obvious by modified ZHENG.
Regarding Claim 2, modified ZHENG makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. ZHENG further discloses the membrane is dual layered and each layer is 10 µm thick (p0104), which reads on the claimed range of a thickness that ranges between 5 to 25 microns.
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, modified ZHENG makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. ZHENG further discloses the pores 513, 523 are circular and have diameters 40 µm and 8 µm, respectively (p0102), and that the membrane is dual layered and each layer is 10 µm thick (p0104), which corresponds with a thickness:diameter aspect ratio of 20:40 and 20:8 (i.e., 0.5:1 and 2.5:1), which reads on the claimed range of an aspect ratio ranging from 0.5:1 to 20:1 (Claim 3) and overlaps with the claimed aspect ratio ranging from 2:1 to 5:1 (Claim 4), thereby establishing a case of prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 5, modified ZHENG makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. As noted earlier, ZHENG shows circular pores 513 with diameter 40 µm (p0102), which reads on the claimed range of the minimum dimension being at least 20 nm.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, modified ZHENG makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. While ZHENG does not explicitly disclose a central pore region having a “circular shape” or that the tear-resistant boundary region has a “ring shape” in the instant embodiment, other embodiments by ZHENG does show filter patches being generally a hexagonal shape (e.g., FIGs. 2, 3, and 4c), which is considered by one of ordinary skill in the art to be “a ring shape” and “circular shape” as claimed. Even further, ZHENG does disclose that “other embodiments may have filter patches having different shapes” (p0048). The configuration of the claimed invention is a matter of choice which one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed particular configuration was significant and would yield unexpected results (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); MPEP §2144.04). Thus, the claimed “circular shape” and “ring shape” would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 25, modified ZHENG makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. ZHENG is deficient in explicitly disclosing the polymeric film has a surface area of 4,000 mm2 or greater. However, such a disclosure is merely directed toward a difference in dimension between the prior art and the claimed invention. The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a recitation of the relative dimensions of the devices. Because the claimed invention would not perform differently than that of modified ZHENG, the claimed invention is not patentably distinct (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); MPEP §2144.04).
Regarding Claims 26-28, modified ZHENG makes obvious the membrane of Claim 6. ZHENG is deficient in explicitly disclosing “the pore region has a diameter ranging between 0.5 to 25 cm” (Claim 26) or “the tear prevention region has a width within the range of 0.5 and 5 mm” (Claims 27 and 28). However, such disclosures are merely directed toward differences in dimension between the prior art and the claimed invention. The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a recitation of the relative dimensions of the devices. Because the claimed invention would not perform differently than that of modified ZHENG, the claimed invention is not patentably distinct (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); MPEP §2144.04).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772