Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2025/0120443 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an atomization core (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 100) in an atomization channel (Fig. 8, center channel) configured to heat an atomization substrate that comprises a first heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13), a second heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 23), an electrode portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 24, 25), and a controller (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 7). The first and second heating members are disposed in the atomization channel and the first heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 13) is disposed near the outlet (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 11) and the second heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 23) is disposed near the substrate outlet (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 25). Finally, the controller is connected to the heating members through the electrode portion to control the operation of the heaters (Para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches a first electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. 33) that has an output connected to the first and second heating members and an input connected to the controller (Para. [0037]), a second electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 14) with an output connected to the first heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) and an input connected to the controller (Para. [0037]), and a third electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 24) with an output connected to the second heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 23) and an input connected to the controller (Para. [0037]). Since the controller controls the power sent to the atomizing core (Para. [0029]), the controller would be capable of having the first heating member operate after the second heating member has operated.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches a first liquid-absorbing member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 22) in the atomization channel that provides a first heating channel (Fig. 7, Inside of Ref. Num. 22) and the second heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 23) is provided in the first heating channel.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches that the second heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 23) is provided in the first heating channel (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 22) and a second liquid-absorbing member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 12) that provides a second heating channel (Fig. 7, Inside of Ref. Num. 12) and the first heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 13) is provided in the second heating channel.
Regarding claim 9, the first heating channel (Fig. 7, Inside of Ref. Num. 22) and the second heating channel (Fig. 7, Inside of Ref. Num. 12) are coaxial and have the same inner diameter.
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches an atomizer (Fig. 6) comprising an outer shell (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 1, 2, 3) with an atomization core (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 100) in an atomization channel (Fig. 8, center channel) configured to heat an atomization substrate that comprises a first heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13), a second heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 23), an electrode portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 24, 25), and a controller (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 7). The first and second heating members are disposed in the atomization channel and the first heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 13) is disposed near the outlet (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 11) and the second heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 23) is disposed near the substrate outlet (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 25). Finally, the controller is connected to the heating members through the electrode portion to control the operation of the heaters (Para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches an atomization substrate storage (Fig, 8, Ref. Num. 5) in an inner shell (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 4) where the outer shell (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 100) and the inner shell are spaced apart by the atomization substrate storage cannel, and the atomization channel communicates with the atomization substrate storage channel (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches a first electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. 33) that has an output connected to the first and second heating members and an input connected to the controller (Para. [0037]), a second electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 14) with an output connected to the first heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) and an input connected to the controller (Para. [0037]), and a third electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 24) with an output connected to the second heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 23) and an input connected to the controller (Para. [0037]). Since the controller controls the power sent to the atomizing core (Para. [0029]), the controller would be capable of having the first heating member operate after the second heating member has operated.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches a first liquid-absorbing member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 22) in the atomization channel that provides a first heating channel (Fig. 7, Inside of Ref. Num. 22) and the second heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 23) is provided in the first heating channel.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches that the second heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 23) is provided in the first heating channel (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 22) and a second liquid-absorbing member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 12) that provides a second heating channel (Fig. 7, Inside of Ref. Num. 12) and the first heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 13) is provided in the second heating channel.
Regarding claim 17, the first heating channel (Fig. 7, Inside of Ref. Num. 22) and the second heating channel (Fig. 7, Inside of Ref. Num. 12) are coaxial and have the same inner diameter.
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches an electronic atomization device (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 200) comprising an atomizer (Fig. 6) comprising an outer shell (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 1, 2, 3) with an atomization core (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 100) in an atomization channel (Fig. 8, center channel) configured to heat an atomization substrate that comprises a first heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13), a second heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 23), an electrode portion (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 24, 25), and a controller (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 7). The first and second heating members are disposed in the atomization channel and the first heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 13) is disposed near the outlet (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 11) and the second heating member (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 23) is disposed near the substrate outlet (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 25). Finally, the controller is connected to the heating members through the electrode portion to control the operation of the heaters (Para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches an atomization substrate storage (Fig, 8, Ref. Num. 5) in an inner shell (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 4) where the outer shell (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 100) and the inner shell are spaced apart by the atomization substrate storage cannel, and the atomization channel communicates with the atomization substrate storage channel (Fig. 8, Ref. Num. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches a first electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. 33) that has an output connected to the first and second heating members and an input connected to the controller (Para. [0037]), a second electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 14) with an output connected to the first heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) and an input connected to the controller (Para. [0037]), and a third electrode (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 24) with an output connected to the second heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 23) and an input connected to the controller (Para. [0037]). Since the controller controls the power sent to the atomizing core (Para. [0029]), the controller would be capable of having the first heating member operate after the second heating member has operated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2025/0120443 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Wang teaches that the distance (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 3) between the first heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) and the second heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 23) is greater than 0 mm, which overlaps the claimed range of 5 to 10 mm which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches that the distance (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 3) between the first heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 13) and the second heating member (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 23) is greater than 0 mm, which overlaps the claimed range of 5 to 10 mm which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closet prior art of record is Wang (US 2025/0120443 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 6, and 14, Wang teaches that the first and the second heating member have the same structure (Para. [0029]) and would then have the same resistances and it would destroy this reference of its intended purpose to modify the heating members so that the first heating member has a larger resistance than the second heating member. It is the examiner’s opinion that without the improper use of hindsight or destroying the references for their intended use, it would not have been obvious to combine prior art references in the manner, as required by claims 5, 6, and 13.
Conclusion
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749