DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 12/26/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 13, and 20 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 12/26/2023 is being considered.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 13, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 20220174781 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a resource allocation method (Figs. 1-9 in general and Fig. 5 in particular),
performed by a first device (Fig. 5 Transmitting Device) and comprising: sending a first information (i.e. Transmit Assistance information S502 in Fig. 5) to a second device (Fig. 5 Second Device/Receiving device) ; wherein the first information comprises an assistance information (Fig 5 shows First Device /Transmitting Device sending Transmit assistance information S502 to a Second Device/Receiving device), the assistance information (i.e. Transmit Assistance information S502 in Fig. 5) comprising at least one sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter indicated by the first device(i.e. the assistance information includes expected DRX cycle and offset, length of DRX on duration, length of HARQ RTT timer length of retransmission time, etc per paragraphs 99-105);
the first information is configured for the second device (i.e. per paragraph 98 the second device/receiving device can accept the assistance information as a basis for the sidelink communication with the first device thereby configuring itself based on the assistance info and further configures the first/transmitting device and sends it a configuration info based on the received assistance info) or a network device to configure a sidelink DRX parameter for the first device.(Fig.5 shows second device / receiving device configuring transmitting device/first device with S504 Configuration information – See .Paragraph 106. Embodiment 2 based on Fig. 5 paragraphs 96-109 addresses all limitations)
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses a resource allocation method (i.e. Figs. 1-9 in particular Fig. 4), performed by a second device (i.e.Transmitting Device/Second Device in Fig. 4) and comprising:
receiving a first information (i.e. Fig. 4 Transmit assistance information S402) from a first device (i.e. Receiving Device/First Device in Fig. 4) ; wherein the first information comprises an assistance information (Fig 4 shows First Device /Receiving Device sending Transmit assistance information S402 to a Second Device/Transmitting device), the assistance information comprising at least one sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter indicated by the first device(i.e. per paragraph 82 the second device/rtransmitting device can accept the assistance information as a basis for the sidelink communication with the first device/receiving device thereby configuring itself based on the assistance info and further configures the first/receiving device and sends it a configuration info based on the received assistance info);
the first information is configured for the second device or a network device to configure a sidelink DRX parameter for the first device. .(Fig.4 shows second device / transmitting device configuring receiving device/first device with S404 Configuration information – See .Paragraph 91. Embodiment 1 based on Fig. 4 paragraphs 80-94 addresses all limitations)
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, Yang discloses further comprising: receiving a second information (i.e. Fig. 5 Configuration Information S504 received by the first device/Transmitting device) from the second device (i.e. Fig. 5 Receiving Device/Second Device); wherein the second information comprises the sidelink DRX parameter configured by the second device or the network device for the first device. (see paragraphs 98 and 106 narrating the second device/receiving device using the sidelenk DRX parameter to generate Configuration Information S504 to configure transmitting device/first device)
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses the method according to claim 13, further comprising: sending a second information (i.e. Fig. 4 Configuration Information S404 received by the second device/Transmitting device) to the first device(i.e. Receiving Device/First Device in Fig. 4); wherein the second information comprises the sidelink DRX parameter configured by the second device (i.e. second device/transmitting device ) or the network device for the first device. (see paragraphs 82 and 91 narrating the second device/transmitting device using the sidelenk DRX parameter to generate Configuration Information S404 to configure receiving device/first device)
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses the method according to claim 13, further comprising: in response to the first information not comprising the assistance information, sending a fifth information to the network device, and/or, sending a second information to the first device; wherein the fifth information is configured to indicate that the second device has not received the assistance information, and the second information comprises or does not comprise a sidelink DRX configuration. (Yang with respect to both Figs. 4 and 5 that the configuration assistance information may be accepted or not and being not accepted can be interpreted as no assistance information being sent and the second configuration will still comprise a sidelink configuration per paragraphs 82 and 98.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 2, 3, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Wang et al (US 20260006680 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses a first device (Fig. 5 Transmitting device as first device and components of the first terminal device shown in Fig. 10), comprising: a transceiver (network interface1004 of Fig. 4), a processor (i.e. Fig. 10 Processor 1001), and a memory (Fig. 10 Memory 102) ; wherein the memory stores a computer-executable instruction (Fig. 10 application program 10022 and operating system 10021); the processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instruction stored in the memory, to be caused to perform:
sending a first information (i.e. Transmit Assistance information S502 in Fig. 5) to a second device (Fig. 5 Second Device/Receiving device) ; wherein the first information comprises an assistance information (Fig 5 shows First Device /Transmitting Device sending Transmit assistance information S502 to a Second Device/Receiving device), the assistance information (i.e. Transmit Assistance information S502 in Fig. 5) comprising at least one sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter indicated by the first device(i.e. the assistance information includes expected DRX cycle and offset, length of DRX on duration, length of HARQ RTT timer length of retransmission time, etc per paragraphs 99-105);
the first information is configured for the second device (i.e. per paragraph 98 the second device/receiving device can accept the assistance information as a basis for the sidelink communication with the first device thereby configuring itself based on the assistance info and further configures the first/transmitting device and sends it a configuration info based on the received assistance info) or a network device to configure a sidelink DRX parameter for the first device.(Fig.5 shows second device / receiving device configuring transmitting device/first device with S504 Configuration information – See .Paragraph 106. Embodiment 2 based on Fig. 5 paragraphs 96-109 addresses all limitations)
Yang fails to disclose the at least one sidelink DRX parameter comprising a plurality of sidelink DRX parameter sets, and each sidelink DRX parameter set comprising a value range or a value of each sidelink DRX parameter in the sidelink DRX parameter set.
Wang in the same endeavor discloses at least one sidelink DRX parameter comprising a plurality of sidelink DRX parameter sets, and each sidelink DRX parameter set comprising a value range or a value of each sidelink DRX parameter in the sidelink DRX parameter set. ( See paragraphs 106 – 107 indicates multiple sidelink DRX parameter sets and each sidelink DRX parameter in the sidelink DRX parameter set.like drx-slot offset having 32 values and the assistance information includes a range of 8 values out of the 32 values for parameter drx-slot-offset . See also paragraphs 114,115 121, 122 for other range of values for drx parameters contained in the assistance information)
In view of the above, having Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme and then given the well- established teaching of Wang’s sidelink reception alignment by setting drx parameter values , it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme as taught by Wang’s sidelink reception alignment by setting drx parameter values, since Wang states in paragraph 10 that the modification results in allowing the UE to align the sidelink configuration with an on duration of the DRX configuration.
Regarding claim 2, Yang disclose the method according to claim 1 as set forth above , wherein the assistance information comprising at least one
sidelink DRX parameter indicated by the first device but fails to disclose wherein the assistance information comprising at least one sidelink DRX parameter comprises:
the at least one sidelink DRX parameter comprising a plurality of sidelink DRX parameter sets, and each sidelink DRX parameter set comprising a value range or a value of each sidelink DRX parameter in the sidelink DRX parameter set.
Wang in the same endeavor discloses wherein the assistance information comprising at least one sidelink DRX parameter comprises:
the at least one sidelink DRX parameter comprising a plurality of sidelink DRX parameter sets, and each sidelink DRX parameter set comprising a value range or a value of each sidelink DRX parameter in the sidelink DRX parameter set. ( See paragraphs 106 – 107 indicates multiple sidelink DRX parameter sets and each sidelink DRX parameter in the sidelink DRX parameter set.like drx-slot offset having 32 values and the assistance information includes a range of 8 values out of the 32 values for parameter drx-slot-offset . See also paragraphs 114,115 121, 122 for other range of values for drx parameters contained in the assistance information)
In view of the above, having Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme and then given the well- established teaching of Wang’s sidelink reception alignment by setting drx parameter values , it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme as taught by Wang’s sidelink reception alignment by setting drx parameter values, since Wang states in paragraph 10 that the modification results in allowing the UE to align the sidelink configuration with an on duration of the DRX configuration.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Yang modified by Wang discloses the method according to claim 2 as set forth above , wherein the assistance information comprising at least one sidelink DRX parameter indicated by the first device but fails to disclose
the assistance information comprises any one of the following data for each of the at least one sidelink DRX parameter indicated by the first device: a maximum value of each sidelink DRX parameter; a minimum value of each sidelink DRX parameter; a maximum value and a minimum value of each sidelink DRX parameter; a preset value and a float coefficient of each sidelink DRX parameter; and a value set for each sidelink DRX parameter, the value set comprising at least one value.
Wang discloses wherein the assistance information comprising at least one sidelink DRX parameter indicated by the first device but fails to disclose
the assistance information comprises any one of the following data for each of the at least one sidelink DRX parameter indicated by the first device: a maximum value of each sidelink DRX parameter; a minimum value of each sidelink DRX parameter; a maximum value and a minimum value of each sidelink DRX parameter; a preset value and a float coefficient of each sidelink DRX parameter; and a value set for each sidelink DRX parameter, the value set comprising at least one value.(Note that limitations are presented in the alternative. Wang discloses a value set for each sidelink parameter where in the value set or range comprises more than one value as described in paragraphs 106 – 107, 114-115 and 121-122. As an example drx-slot offset parameter having 32 values and the assistance information includes a range of 8 values out of the 32 values for parameter drx-slot-offset.)
In view of the above, having Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme and then given the well- established teaching of Wang’s sidelink reception alignment by setting drx parameter values , it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme as taught by Wang’s sidelink reception alignment by setting drx parameter values, since Wang states in paragraph 10 that the modification results in allowing the UE to align the sidelink configuration with an on duration of the DRX configuration.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3..
Claim(s) 5, 7, 8, 9, 11, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Lou et al (US 20260006680 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the method according to claim 4,but fails to disclose further comprising a first instruction information to the second device in response to determining to reject a configuration of the sidelink DRX parameter; wherein the first instruction information is configured to indicate that the first device rejects the configuration of the sidelink DRX parameter.
Lou in the same endeavor discloses further comprising a first instruction information to the second device in response to determining to reject a configuration of the sidelink DRX parameter; wherein the first instruction information is configured to indicate that the first device rejects the configuration of the sidelink DRX parameter.(See Fig. 10 step 1030 in response to the first UE not accepting the received DRX configuration, sending, by the first UE, rejection information indicating that the received DRX configuration is rejected. Further per paragraphs 185 and 186 that the rejection information comprises a cause value indicating at least one of the following: that the DRX configuration is not accepted; that an inactivity timer is not accepted; that an on-duration timer is not accepted; or that a slot offset or a start offset is not accepted.)
In view of the above, having Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme and then given the well- established teaching of Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme as taught by Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, since Lou states in paragraph 3 that the modification results in improving the efficiency of the sidelink drx.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5..
Regarding claim 7, Yang modified by Lou discloses the method according to claim 5, but Yang fails to disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the first instruction information comprises at least one of: a second parameter of a first timer, the second parameter for indicating a maximum duration for the first device to receive a sidelink DRX configuration; a current value of the first timer; and a duration remaining for the first timer from timeout.
Lou in the same endeavor discloses wherein the first instruction information comprises at least one of: a second parameter of a first timer, the second parameter for indicating a maximum duration for the first device to receive a sidelink DRX configuration; a current value of the first timer; and a duration remaining for the first timer from timeout. (per paragraphs 185 and 186 Lou disclose that the rejection information comprises a cause value indicating at least one of the following: that the DRX configuration is not accepted; that an inactivity timer is not accepted; that an on-duration timer is not accepted; or that a slot offset or a start offset is not accepted.)
In view of the above, having Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme and then given the well- established teaching of Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme as taught by Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, since Lou states in paragraph 3 that the modification results in improving the efficiency of the sidelink drx.
Regarding claim 8, Yang modified by Lou discloses the method according to claim 5, but Yang fails to disclose wherein the first instruction information is carried in a medium access control element (MAC CE), a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a physical layer signaling.
Lou in the same endeavor discloses wherein the first instruction information is carried in a medium access control element (MAC CE), a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a physical layer signaling.(Lou discloses from paragraph 5-11 that PC5 message is used for rejecting DRX configuration setup request)
In view of the above, having Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme and then given the well- established teaching of Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme as taught by Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, since Lou states in paragraph 3 that the modification results in improving the efficiency of the sidelink drx.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8..
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising : sending a second instruction information to the second device, and/or, releasing a sidelink with the second device; wherein the second instruction information is configured to instruct the second device to release the sidelink with the first device.
Lou in the same endeavor discloses sending a second instruction information to the second device, and/or, releasing a sidelink with the second device; wherein the second instruction information is configured to instruct the second device to release the sidelink with the first device.(See Lou’s paragraphs 195-196 where after the rejection message where resources are released.)
In view of the above, having Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme and then given the well- established teaching of Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme as taught by Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, since Lou states in paragraph 3 that the modification results in improving the efficiency of the sidelink drx.
implementation.
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the method according to claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising: sending a third instruction information to the second device, and/or, setting the sidelink DRX parameter of the first device to a default sidelink DRX parameter; wherein the third instruction information is configured to indicate that the first device falls back to a default sidelink DRX configuration.
Lou in the same endeavor discloses further comprising: sending a third instruction information to the second device, and/or, setting the sidelink DRX parameter of the first device to a default sidelink DRX parameter; wherein the third instruction information is configured to indicate that the first device falls back to a default sidelink DRX configuration.(See paragraphs 161, 176, 179, and 197 reverting back to a default sidelink configuration after conditions for the DRX configuration do not materialize.)
In view of the above, having Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme and then given the well- established teaching of Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yang’s sidelink configuration scheme as taught by Lou’s sidelink request rejection technique, since Lou states in paragraph 3 that the modification results in improving the efficiency of the sidelink drx.
implementation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 10, 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474