DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed May 19, 2026, has been entered in full. Claims 1-16 remain pending.
Response to Argument
Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims have overcome the previous objections to claims 9 and 12 (Remarks filed May 19, 2026, hereinafter Remarks: Page 7). Examiner respectfully notes that the amendments address the previous objection to claim 12, but do not address the previous objection to claim 9, which is maintained.
Applicant traverses the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (Remarks: Pages 7-8). Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn.
While Applicant’s Remarks do not appear to specifically address the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), Examiner notes that this rejection has been overcome by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant traverses the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 (Remarks: Pages 8-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant first argues that Fletcher’s teachings do not fall within the scope of the claimed “surface equations” (Remarks: Page 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) during examination. MPEP 2111. Under BRI, the words of a claim are given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. MPEP 2111.01, Subsection I. The plain meaning of a term is the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. Id.
The plain meaning of a “surface equation” is an equation pertaining to a surface. This is not inconsistent with the specification.
Two aspects of Fletcher’s teachings were mapped to the claimed “surface equations”. The first concerns the calculation of a homography matrix (e.g., [0093] et seq.). The homography defines a mapping equation from a set of points on a planar object surface to corresponding points on an image plane (e.g., [0075], [0093]). At least because the homography pertains to points on a planar object surface, the equations used to establish a homography fall within the BRI of surface equations. The second aspect of Fletcher’s teachings describes using a displacement field (e.g., [0097] et seq.). The displacement field represents displacement of a non-planar object’s surface between different viewpoints (i.e., under parallax) (e.g., [0097]). I.e., the displacement field describes the apparent motion of each surface point from one view to another. Accordingly, any of the various equations that Fletcher uses to determine the displacement field ([0097]-[0099]) pertain to a surface and therefore fall within the BRI of “surface equations”.
Applicant next argues that “Because Fletcher lacks surface equations, it necessarily fails to disclose” other claimed features (Remarks: Page 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown above, Fletcher does not lack surface equations.
Applicant next argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to incorporate Wang’s mechanical adjustment into Fletcher’s system because Fletcher’s approach is designed to avoid reliance on precise physical alignment (Remarks: Pages 9-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained in the previous rejection of claim 9, Wang’s actuation provides a mechanism to achieve the ideal alignment with cameras spaced apart by a translation in one axis described by Fletcher, which would be sufficient motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art.
The ideal camera alignment described by Fletcher is a “binocular” or “stereoscopic” camera arrangement commonly used in image analysis. This alignment is advantageous because, for example, it allows an epipolar constraint to be applied to the images (i.e., a row of pixels in an image captured by one of the cameras is assumed to correspond to the same row of pixels in an image captured by another of the cameras), which simplifies disparity calculations because correspondences only have to be searched for within a given row. Fletcher describes using its cameras for disparity calculations ([0045]).
While Fletcher’s pose refinement may recover a mapping from one image to another, that mapping cannot provide the ideal binocular imaging alignment – i.e., while a pixel in one image can be mapped to a corresponding pixel in another image, this does not mean that all rows of one image correspond to the same rows of the other image as in an ideal binocular imaging arrangement. However, Wang’s actuation is able to bring the two cameras into ideal binocular alignment (e.g., [0004], [0035]). Fletcher describes an ideal camera alignment and modification with the actuation of Wang provides a mechanism for obtaining that ideal camera alignment.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, “and” should be inserted at the end of the last line on page 4
In claim 11, lines 5-6, “each of the first coordinate systems” should be “the first coordinate system”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the actuating device of claim 1, and
the actuating device of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘Fletcher’ (US 2019/0073792 A1) in view of ‘Wang’ (US 2017/0371123 A1).
Examiner notes that claims 1-4, 6, and 8 are directed to methods that are substantially the same as the methods performed by the systems of claims 9-12, 14, and 16, respectively. Fletcher in view of Wang teaches the systems of claims 9-12, 14, and 16 (see below). Accordingly, claims 1-4, 6, and 8 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fletcher in view of Wang for substantially the same reasons as claims 9-12, 14, and 16, respectively.
Regarding claim 9, Fletcher teaches a multi-lens coplanar calibration system (e.g., Figures 1A, 2, and 7A-B) comprising:
an object comprising a reference surface with known spatial information (e.g., [0042], Fig. 1A, real world object 145; e.g., object 145 may be a wall known to be flat – i.e., planar – or an object with a known surface shape, such as a teapot);
a three-dimensional (3D) imaging device with a plurality of lenses (e.g., Fig. 1A, combination of cameras 110 and 115), wherein the 3D imaging device is configured to shoot the reference surface of object through the plurality of lenses to generate a plurality of 3D images (e.g., [0042], [0045], Fig. 1A, both cameras generate 3D images of the reference object);
a computing device electrically connected to the 3D imaging device to obtain the plurality of 3D images, wherein the computing device is configured to perform a plurality of instructions to trigger a plurality of operations, wherein the plurality of operations comprises (e.g., Figs. 7A-B and [0048] et seq.; [0072] in particular):
calculating a plurality of surface equations according to 3D information of the plurality of 3D images (Fletcher describes two arrangements for mapping between the cameras: one using a homography (see [0093] et seq.) and the other using displacement fields (see [0097] et seq.); Both read on the claims and are mapped separately below where necessary; Homography: e.g., [0093], determination of planar surface points, homography matrix, etc.; Displacement Fields: see various equations at [0097] seq.; e.g., [0099], difference equations are used to find displacement field of the reference object’s surface);
calculating a plurality of coordinate systems corresponding to the plurality of lenses according to the plurality of surface equations (e.g., [0075], Homography: e.g., [0093]-[0094], the coordinate systems of the first image plane and the second image plane; Displacement Fields: e.g., [0098], [0100], first and second cameras’ coordinate systems), wherein each of the plurality of coordinate systems has a specific point as an origin (This is a fundamental property of the coordinate systems being used in Fletcher; For example, consider equation 3 in par. [0098]: The “specific point” is the point at which
x
,
y
and
z
are all zero), one of the plurality of coordinate systems is a first coordinate system (e.g., [0096], Fletcher maps a “first” image onto a “second” image; So, the coordinate system of the first image in Fletcher corresponds to the claimed second coordinate system, and vice versa), and each of the plurality of coordinate systems other than the first coordinate system is a second coordinate system (see note above; Note that Fletcher contemplates using additional cameras – [0044]);
calculating a calibration matrix for each of the second coordinate systems relative to the first coordinate system according to at least the plurality of coordinate systems (Homography: e.g., [0093], homography matrix; [0096], composed mapping; Displacement Fields: e.g., [0097]-[0098], transformation matrix; e.g., [0102], composed displacement field, where the array of values making up the field are a matrix); and
an actuating device (Note the interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) – see Claim Interpretation above; Corresponding structure is described in [0021] of the published specification) electrically connected to the computing device, wherein the actuating device is configured to adjust one of the plurality of lenses corresponding to each of the second coordinate systems according to the calibration matrix (see Note Regarding Actuating Device below).
Note Regarding Actuating Device. Fletcher teaches techniques that calculate an extrinsic calibration matrix that maps a second coordinate system of a 3D imaging device onto a first coordinate system of another 3D imaging device (see mapping above and Fig. 3). Fletcher uses this calibration matrix to account for discrepancies in camera positions so that, for example, images can be stitched together with improved alignment (e.g., [0128]).
Fletcher does not teach an actuating device electrically connected to the computing device, wherein the actuating device is configured to adjust one of the plurality of lenses corresponding to the second coordinate system according to the calibration matrix.
However, Wang does teach an actuating device (e.g., Fig. 1, lens adjusting mechanism 115) electrically connected to a computing device (e.g., Fig. 1, image processing device 120), wherein the actuating device is configured to adjust one of the plurality of lenses corresponding to the second coordinate system (e.g., Fig. 2, S210; Fig. 3A, S312; Fig. 4A, S412) according to the calibration matrix (e.g., Fig. 2, S208; Fig. 3A, S308; Fig. 4A, S408; first and second calibration parameter sets – i.e., the mapping between first and second coordinate systems – is used for the actuation; also see, e.g., [0033]).
Fletcher teaches that its cameras are ideally “geometrically related by a translation in one axis” and “rigidly coupled to one another” ([0042], Fig. 1A), but does not describe any mechanism for ensuring this ideal alignment. For example, Fig. 1A illustrates cameras 110 and 115 spaced apart without any mechanism for ensuring their proper alignment. However, Wang recognizes that it is difficult when manufacturing such a device to achieve this ideal alignment because “the optical axes and the lens centers are all invisible” ([0004]). Wang solves this problem by using calibration parameters that map from one camera to another to guide actuation of one of the cameras into ideal alignment (e.g., Figs. 3-4). As discussed above, the calibration matrix of Fletcher maps from one camera to another. Accordingly, the actuation device of Wang could be used to align the cameras of Fletcher according to the calibration matrix to ensure that they have the ideal alignment to one another.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Fletcher with the actuation device of Wang in order to improve the system with the reasonable expectation that this would result in a system that could ensure its cameras were fixed in an ideal alignment such that they were related by a translation in one axis. This technique for improving the Fletcher was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fletcher and Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Fletcher in view of Wang teaches the system of claim 9, and Fletcher further teaches that, in the plurality of operations, calculating the calibration matrix for each second coordinate system relative to the first coordinate system at least according to the plurality of coordinate systems by the computing device comprises:
calculating a plurality of transformation matrices according to a global coordinate system and the plurality of coordinate systems, wherein each of the plurality of transformation matrices is configured for a transformation between corresponding one of the plurality of coordinate systems and the global coordinate system (e.g., Fig. 3, steps 330 and 335; The coordinate system of the orthographic view is a global coordinate system); and
calculating the calibration matrix according to the transformation matrix of the first coordinate system and the transformation matrix of each of the second coordinate systems (e.g., Fig. 3, steps 340 and 350, the transformation matrices describing mappings from the first and second cameras to the orthographic view are composed into the calibration matrix mapping between the first and second views).
Regarding claim 11, Fletcher in view of Wang teaches the system of claim 10, and Fletcher further teaches that in the plurality of operations, calculating the calibration matrix according to the transformation matrix of the first coordinate system and the transformation matrix of each of the second coordinate systems comprises:
calculating an inverse matrix according to the transformation matrix of each of the first coordinate system (e.g., Fig. 3, step 340); and
calculating the calibration matrix of each of the second coordinate systems relative to the first coordinate system according to the inverse matrix and the transformation matrix of each of the second coordinate systems (e.g., Fig. 3, step 350).
Regarding claim 12, Fletcher in view of Wang teaches the system of claim 9, and Fletcher further teaches that the 3D information is point cloud (e.g., [0099], the real-world positions of the pixels form a point cloud); and in the plurality of operations, calculating the plurality of surface equations according to the 3D information of the plurality of 3D images by the computing device comprises:
generating a plurality of virtual surfaces according to the point cloud of the plurality of 3D images (Homography: e.g., [0093], object plane surfaces in each image; Displacement Fields: e.g., [0099], set of points on object surface in each image);
calculating the plurality of surface equations corresponding to the plurality of virtual surfaces (Homography: e.g., [0093], determination of planar surface points, homography matrix, etc. are all based on the virtual planar surfaces in each image; Displacement Fields: e.g., [0099], surface displacement equations are calculated according to displacement of the virtual surfaces).
Regarding claim 14, Fletcher in view of Wang teaches the system of claim 10, and Fletcher further teaches that the plurality of operations further comprises: before calculating the plurality of surface equations according to the 3D information of the plurality of 3D images by the computing device, setting a region of interest for each of the plurality of 3D images by the computing device (e.g., [0093], testing to see if region covered by images – see Fig. 1A – is of sufficiently constant depth, and thus is of interest for mapping via a homography).
Regarding claim 16, Fletcher in view of Wang teaches the system of claim 9, and Fletcher further teaches that the reference surface is a plane (e.g., [0042], “The real-world object 145 may be substantially 2D (two-dimensional, i.e. flat, such as a wall”), and the plane includes a plurality of positions with same height (e.g., [0093] approximately constant depth information).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEOFFREY E SUMMERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2669