Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, and 21-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: missing status identifier. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN109219111A) in view of Watfa et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0368339), further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0232507), and further in view of Hong et al. (WO2022102964A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches “[a] terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform:” (see ¶ [0224]; terminal device includes a processor and a memory, coupled with the processor, and stores program instructions (i.e., computer program) and data for the terminal device; the processor is configured to processes the terminal device to perform corresponding functions of the terminal device (i.e., the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to perform)),
Zhu further teaches “determining, by the terminal device, a first Public Land Mobile Network PLMN according to first slice information, and accessing the first PLMN” (see ¶¶ [0060] and [0061]; for each PLMN (i.e., includes a first PLMN), the terminal device stores NSSAI (Network Slice Selection Assistance Information) (i.e., first slice information) corresponding to the slice for which access is configured; the terminal device uses the configured NSSAI as the NSSAI corresponding to the slice that requests access; therefore, the terminal device can determine a PLMN based on a stored NSSAI; thus, the terminal device determines a first PLMN according to the first slice information; additionally, the terminal device obtains NSSAI corresponding to the slice that is allowed to access under the PLMN (the first PLMN) from the network and stores it; thus, terminal device accesses the first PLMN).
Zhu also teaches “wherein the first slice information comprises: N first target slices requested by the terminal device and N second PLMN information respectively corresponding to the N first target slices, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1” (see ¶¶ [0060], [0061], and [0091]; NSSAI (the first slice information) is a collection of S-NSSAI (Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information) (i.e., N first target slices requested by the terminal device); for each PLMN, in the initial registration process, the terminal device obtains NSSAI corresponding to the slice that is allowed to access under PLMN from core network and stores it; therefore, for each PLMN, S-NSSAI of the NSSAI is associated with the PLMN (i.e., second PLMN information); thus, N second PLMN information respectively correspond to the N first target slices, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; when the terminal device subsequently initiates a service request, the above-mentioned allowed NSSAI can be provided to the network for slice selection; thus, the first slice information comprises N second PLMN information respectively correspond to the N first target slices).
Zhu also teaches “updating . . . [information] according to the second slice information” (see ¶¶ [0064], [0065], [0091], [0093], and [0094]; registration acceptance message is received by terminal device from network that includes the allowed NSSAI including the unsupported S-NSSAI (i.e., also second slice information); the terminal device uses the allowed NSSAI with the supported S-NSSAI for session establishment; thus Zhu teaches at least updating information according to the second slice information).
Zhu dose not explicitly disclose “updating at least one second PLMN information of the N second PLMN information comprised in the first slice information . . ., wherein the second slice information is configured to indicate at least one slice rejected by a third PLMN; and determining the first PLMN in at least one candidate PLMN of other candidate PLMN except for a PLMN indicated by updated N second PLMN information comprised in the first slice information” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Watfa teaches “wherein the second slice information is configured to indicate at least one slice rejected by a third PLMN” (see ¶¶ [0009], [0010], and [0013]; the registration acceptance message indicates each of the different PLMNs (i.e., can include a third PLMN) and allowed NSSAIs associated with each of the PLMNs, and also can include the rejected NSSAI (i.e., the second slice information); thus, Watfa teaches the second slice information is configured to indicate at least one slice rejected by a third PLMN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Zhu to incorporate the teachings of Watfa to have a terminal device determine update information according to the second slice information, wherein the second slice information is configured to indicate at least one slice rejected by a third PLMN. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve and support network slice-specific authentication and authorization according to agreed standards (see ¶ [0011] of Watfa).
The combination of Zhu and Watfa does not explicitly disclose “updating at least one second PLMN information of the N second PLMN information comprised in the first slice information . . . determining the first PLMN in at least one candidate PLMN of other candidate PLMN except for a PLMN indicated by updated N second PLMN information comprised in the first slice information” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Hong teaches “updating at least one second PLMN information of the N second PLMN information comprised in the first slice information” (see ¶¶ [0078] and [0163]; rejection NS list can be generated into a plurality of lists including a rejection PLMN list and a rejection TAI list; updating a rejection NS list (i.e., updating at least one second PLMN information of the N second PLMN information comprised in the first slice information) based on a registration acceptance message received from the target cell; the registration acceptance message inherently teaches indication of allowed NSSAIs (i.e., the first slice information); therefore, updating at least one second PLMN information of the N second PLMN information comprised in the first slice information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Zhu in view of Watfa to incorporate the teachings of Hong to have have a terminal device update a second PLMN information of the N second PLMN information comprised in a first slice information. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve and support high reliable and low latency services (see ¶ [0007] of Hong).
Kim teaches “determining the first PLMN in at least one candidate PLMN of other candidate PLMN except for the PLMN indicated by the N second PLMN information” (see ¶ [0313]; UE (terminal device) determines a PLMN having an S-NSSAI by excluding the PLMN for which NSSAA has failed (i.e., the PLMN indicated by the N second PLMN information) from candidates for PLMN selection; thus, the UE (terminal device) determines a PLMN (the first PLMN) from the remaining candidates for PLMN (i.e., at least one candidate PLMN of other candidate PLMN); the terminal device determines the first PLMN in at least one candidate PLMN of other candidate PLMN except for the PLMN indicated by the N second PLMN information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Zhu in view of Watfa, and further in view of Hong to incorporate the teachings Kim to determine a PLMN from a list of candidate PLMNs that does not include the indicated PLMN. The suggestion to do so would have been to efficiently perform PLMN selection (see ¶ [0006] of Kim).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhu, Watfa, Hong, and Kim teaches the device of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the first PLMN is a PLMN supporting at least one first target slice requested by the terminal device” (see ¶ [0061]; for each PLMN (i.e., includes a first PLMN), the terminal device stores NSSAI (Network Slice Selection Assistance Information) corresponding to the slice for which access is configured; thus, the first PLMN is a PLMN supporting at least one first target slice requested by the terminal device).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhu, Watfa, Hong, and Kim teaches the device of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein i-th second PLMN information in the N second PLMN information is configured to indicate at least one second PLMN . . . and i is a positive integer less than or equal to N” (See ¶¶ [0064], [0065], and [0093] of Zhu, and see ¶ [0013] and Table 2 of Watfa; Zhu teaches if a slice is not supported by PLMN, the network chooses the AMF that can support the remaining slices and sends a registration acceptance message (i.e., the message includes PLMN information that support different slices, thus, N second PLMN information) that includes the allowed NSSAI and the unsupported S-NSSAI (i.e., an i-th slice/corresponding slice and i-th second PLMN information in the N second PLMN information). By including the S-NSSAI unsupported by a PLMN in the registration acceptance message, Zhu teaches i-th second PLMN information in the N second PLMN information is configured to indicate at least one second PLMN, where i is a positive integer less than or equal to N). Furthermore, the inclusion of the S-NSSAI unsupported by a PLMN in the registration acceptance message can also, at least implicitly, indicate at least one second PLMN that rejects a corresponding slice; Watfa teaches if the UE indicated the support for network slice-specific authentication and authorization, and if the requested NSSAI IE includes one or more S-NSSAIs subject to network slice specific authentication, the AMF shall in the Registration Accept message include the rejected NSSAI (i.e., corresponding slice rejected by a PLMN); thus, at the very least, the received Registration Accept message indicates at least one second PLMN rejecting a corresponding slice thereof). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Zhu in view of Watfa further in view of Hong to incorporate the teachings of Kim to indicate at least one second PLMN rejecting a corresponding slice thereof. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve and support network slice-specific authentication and authorization according to agreed standards (see ¶ [0011] of Watfa).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhu, Watfa, Hong, and Kim teaches the device of claim 1, and further teaches “transmitting a first registration request to a first network element in the third PLMN; obtaining the second slice information in a first registration acceptance message in a case that the first registration acceptance message transmitted by the first network element is received; or transmitting a first registration request to the first network element in the third PLMN; obtaining the second slice information in a first registration rejection message in a case that the first registration rejection message transmitted by the first network element is received” (see ¶¶ [0063] and [0091] of Zhu; terminal device sends a registration request (i.e., first registration request) message to access network device (i.e., network element) in a PLMN (i.e., third PLMN); terminal device receives registration acceptance message from network, and the registration acceptance message that includes the allowed NSSAI including the unsupported S-NSSAI (i.e., second slice information); thus, the terminal device transmits a first registration request to a first network element in the third PLMN, and obtains second slice information in a first registration acceptance message in a case that the first registration acceptance message transmitted by the first network element is received).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhu, Watfa, Hong, and Kim teaches the device of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the first PLMN based on the N second PLMN information, further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the first PLMN in the at least one candidate PLMN according to a priority of each first target slice in the N first target slices, in case that there is no candidate PLMN in the at least one candidate PLMN different from the PLMN indicated by the N second PLMN information” (see ¶ [0396]; if PLMN has a failed S-NSSAI (i.e., a case that there is no candidate PLMN in the at least one candidate PLMN different from the PLMN indicated by the N second PLMN information), the UE (terminal device) can select PLMN having a higher priority among priority PLMNs (i.e., determines the first PLMN in the at least one candidate PLMN according to a priority of each first target slice in the N first target slices) stored in the SIM; thus, the terminal device determines the first PLMN in the at least one candidate PLMN according to a priority of each first target slice in the N first target slices, in case that there is no candidate PLMN in the at least one candidate PLMN different from the PLMN indicated by the N second PLMN information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Zhu in view of Watfa further in view of Hong to incorporate the teachings of Kim to determine a PLMN based on priority of corresponding slice. The suggestion to do so would have been to efficiently perform PLMN selection (see ¶ [0006] of Kim).
Regarding claims 21-25, they are device claims corresponding to claims 1, 2, 4, and 9 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, and 9. Claims 21-25 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 26-30, they are method claims corresponding to claims 1, 2, 4, and 9 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, and 9. Claims 26-30 are rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475