This office action is in response to the amendment filed 03/03/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-19 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non Final Rejection on 12/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 4-5, 7, 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “indicates whether the serving cell is in at least one of a cell DTX active period or a cell DRX active period” should be replaced by --- indicates whether the serving cell is in at least one of a cell DTX active period or a cell DRX non- active period ----. Clarification and Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKL et al. ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ), in view of Wu et al. ( US 20210243836, hereinafter, Wu’s 836 ), and further in view of Niu et al. ( Patent No. 12610425, hereinafter, Niu’s 425 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) teaches receiving , from a base station, configuration information on cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) ( transmit a UE a DTX configuration ) [see Figure 11 and Paragraph 0196 ] and cell discontinuous reception (DRX) ( DRX configuration ) [see Figure 11 ] for a serving cell (serving cell ) [see Paragraph 0117] ;
identifying whether the serving cell is in at least one of a cell DTX active period or a cell DRX active period based on the configuration information ( determining whether the serving cell is at least one of a cell DTX active period or DTX non-active period ) [see Paragraphs 0159 & 0193 ].
However, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) does not explicitly teach configuration information that is common for the cell DTX and the cell DRX, the configuration information includes at least one of: information on an on-duration timer, information on a start offset, information on a slot offset, or information on a cycle for the cell DTX or the cell DRX, and that the on-duration timer for the cell DTX or the cell DRX is started based on a system frame number (SFN), the information on the cycle, and information on the start offset.
US 20210243836, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches configuration information that is common for the cell DTX and the cell DRX (DTX configuration 300C have the same parameters as the DRX configuration 300A ) [see Figure 3A and Figure 3C and Paragraph 0085 ] , the configuration information includes at least one of: information on an on-duration timer (on-duration period 310) , information on a start offset, information on a slot offset, or information on a cycle for the cell DTX or the cell DRX
( [0085] FIGS. 3C and 3D describe DTX configurations 300C and 300D that have the same parameters as DRX configurations 300A and 300B. As illustrated in FIG. 3C, the DTX configuration 300C includes a DTX cycle 325, on-duration period 310, and offset 315. The DTX cycle 325 is determined using the cycle parameter=½, thus the DTX cycle 325 is half of the cycle base unit 210. Offset 315 is determined using the offset parameter=1, thus the offset 315 is one base unit 205 from the beginning of the DTX cycle 325. The on-duration period 310 is determined using the on-duration parameter=1, thus the on-duration period 310 is one base unit 205.) [see Paragraph 0085 and Figure 3A and Figure 3C ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) in view of US 20210243836 because US 20210243836 suggests that the aspects below, describe a power saving mechanism that allows the UEs to intermittently communicate over a sidelink thus allowing the UEs to save power.
However, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) and US 20210243836 do not explicitly teach the on-duration timer for the cell DTX or the cell DRX is started based on a system frame number (SFN), the information on the cycle, and information on the start offset.
Patent No. 12610425, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the on-duration timer for the cell DTX or the cell DRX is started based on a system frame number (SFN), the information on the cycle, and information on the start offset
( (47) Alternatively, in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation:
drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number]modulo(drx-LongCycle) where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation:
drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number]modulo(drx-ShortCycle) where SFN is a system frame number and drx-ShortCycle is the shorter DRX cycle of the cDRX configuration ) [see Col. 8, Lines 40-55 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20230354188 and US 20210243836), and further in view of Patent No. 12610425 because Patent No. 12610425 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 8, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive from a base station, configuration information on cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) (receiving from a base station DTX configuration ) [see Figure 11 and Paragraph 0196 ] and cell discontinuous reception (DRX) ( DRX configuration ) [see Figure 11 ] for a serving cell (serving cell ) [see Paragraph 0117]
;
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to identify whether the serving cell is in at least one of a cell DTX active period or a cell DRX active period based on the configuration information ( determining whether the serving cell is at least one of a cell DTX active period or DTX non-active period ) [see Paragraphs 0159 & 0193 ].
However, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) does not explicitly teach configuration information that is common for the cell DTX and the cell DRX, the configuration information includes at least one of: information on an on-duration timer, information on a start offset, information on a slot offset, or information on a cycle for the cell DTX or the cell DRX, and that the on-duration timer for the cell DTX or the cell DRX is started based on a system frame number (SFN), the information on the cycle, and information on the start offset.
US 20210243836, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches configuration information that is common for the cell DTX and the cell DRX (DTX configuration 300C have the same parameters as the DRX configuration 300A ) [see Figure 3A and Figure 3C and Paragraph 0085 ] , the configuration information includes at least one of: information on an on-duration timer (on-duration period 310) , information on a start offset, information on a slot offset, or information on a cycle for the cell DTX or the cell DRX
( [0085] FIGS. 3C and 3D describe DTX configurations 300C and 300D that have the same parameters as DRX configurations 300A and 300B. As illustrated in FIG. 3C, the DTX configuration 300C includes a DTX cycle 325, on-duration period 310, and offset 315. The DTX cycle 325 is determined using the cycle parameter=½, thus the DTX cycle 325 is half of the cycle base unit 210. Offset 315 is determined using the offset parameter=1, thus the offset 315 is one base unit 205 from the beginning of the DTX cycle 325. The on-duration period 310 is determined using the on-duration parameter=1, thus the on-duration period 310 is one base unit 205.) [see Paragraph 0085 and Figure 3A and Figure 3C ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) in view of US 20210243836 because US 20210243836 suggests that the aspects below, describe a power saving mechanism that allows the UEs to intermittently communicate over a sidelink thus allowing the UEs to save power.
However, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) and US 20210243836 do not explicitly teach the on-duration timer for the cell DTX or the cell DRX is started based on a system frame number (SFN), the information on the cycle, and information on the start offset.
Patent No. 12610425, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the on-duration timer for the cell DTX or the cell DRX is started based on a system frame number (SFN), the information on the cycle, and information on the start offset
( (47) Alternatively, in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation:
drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number]modulo(drx-LongCycle) where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation:
drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number]modulo(drx-ShortCycle) where SFN is a system frame number and drx-ShortCycle is the shorter DRX cycle of the cDRX configuration ) [see Col. 8, Lines 40-55 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20230354188 and US 20210243836), and further in view of Patent No. 12610425 because Patent No. 12610425 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 15, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) teaches a base station (BS) comprising:
A transceiver configured to transmit:
configuration information on cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) ( transmit a UE a DTX configuration ) [see Figure 11 and Paragraph 0196 ] and cell discontinuous reception (DRX) ( DRX configuration ) [see Figure 11 ] for a serving cell (serving cell ) [see Paragraph 0117] ;
the configuration information indicates whether the serving cell is in at least one of a cell DTX active period or a cell DRX active period ( determining whether the serving cell is at least one of a cell DTX active period or DTX non-active period ) [see Paragraphs 0159 & 0193 ].
However, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) does not explicitly teach configuration information that is common for the cell DTX and the cell DRX, the configuration information includes at least one of: information on an on-duration timer, information on a start offset, information on a slot offset, or information on a cycle for the cell DTX and the cell DRX, and that the on-duration timer for the cell DTX or the cell DRX is started based on a system frame number (SFN), the information on the cycle, and information on the start offset.
US 20210243836, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches configuration information that is common for the cell DTX and the cell DRX (DTX configuration 300C have the same parameters as the DRX configuration 300A ) [see Figure 3A and Figure 3C and Paragraph 0085 ] , the configuration information includes at least one of: information on an on-duration timer (on-duration period 310) , information on a start offset, information on a slot offset, or information on a cycle for the cell DTX or the cell DRX
( [0085] FIGS. 3C and 3D describe DTX configurations 300C and 300D that have the same parameters as DRX configurations 300A and 300B. As illustrated in FIG. 3C, the DTX configuration 300C includes a DTX cycle 325, on-duration period 310, and offset 315. The DTX cycle 325 is determined using the cycle parameter=½, thus the DTX cycle 325 is half of the cycle base unit 210. Offset 315 is determined using the offset parameter=1, thus the offset 315 is one base unit 205 from the beginning of the DTX cycle 325. The on-duration period 310 is determined using the on-duration parameter=1, thus the on-duration period 310 is one base unit 205.) [see Paragraph 0085 and Figure 3A and Figure 3C ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) in view of US 20210243836 because US 20210243836 suggests that the aspects below, describe a power saving mechanism that allows the UEs to intermittently communicate over a sidelink thus allowing the UEs to save power.
However, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) and US 20210243836 do not explicitly teach the on-duration timer for the cell DTX or the cell DRX is started based on a system frame number (SFN), the information on the cycle, and information on the start offset.
Patent No. 12610425, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the on-duration timer for the cell DTX or the cell DRX is started based on a system frame number (SFN), the information on the cycle, and information on the start offset
( (47) Alternatively, in a scenario where a non-integer periodicity of cDRX configuration having a longer DRX cycle and a shorter DRX cycle is configured, for the longer DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts at an offset, drx-StartOffset, which is expressed by the following equation:
drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number]modulo(drx-LongCycle) where SFN is a system frame number and drx-LongCycle is the longer DRX cycle of the of cDRX configuration, and for the shorter DRX cycle, an on-Duration timer, drx-onDurationTimer, starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe, and an offset drx-StartOffset is expressed by the following equation:
drx-StartOffset=[(SFN×10)+subframe number]modulo(drx-ShortCycle) where SFN is a system frame number and drx-ShortCycle is the shorter DRX cycle of the cDRX configuration ) [see Col. 8, Lines 40-55 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20230354188 and US 20210243836), and further in view of Patent No. 12610425 because Patent No. 12610425 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Claim(s) 2-5, 9-12, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKL et al. ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ), in view of in view of Wu et al. ( US 20210243836, hereinafter, Wu’s 836 ), and further in view of Niu et al. ( Patent No. 12610425, hereinafter, Niu’s 425 ), and further in view of Zhou et al. ( US 20250280466, Provisional Application No. 63359041 ).
Regarding to the claim 2, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) and US 20210243836 and Patent No. 12610425 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230354188 does not explicitly teach wherein monitoring of physical downlink control channel ( PDCCH), and a reception of a configured downlink assignment are performed based on the service cell not being the cell DTX active period .
US 20250280466, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein monitoring of physical downlink control channel ( PDCCH), and a reception of a configured downlink assignment are performed based on the service cell not being the cell DTX active period (wherein monitoring of physical downlink control channel ( PDCCH), and a reception of a configured downlink assignment are performed based on the service cell not being the cell DTX active period ) [see Figure 39A and Paragraphs 0406 & 0410 & 0383 & 0384 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230354188 in view of US 20250280466 because US 20250280466 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 3, ( US 20230354188, Provisional Application No. 63363801 ) and US 20210243836 and Patent No. 12610425 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230354188 does not explicitly teach wherein a scheduling request (SR) and transmission a configured uplink grant are not performed based on the serving cell no being in the cell DRX .
US 20250280466, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein a scheduling request (SR) and transmission a configured uplink grant are not performed based on the serving cell no being in the cell DRX (wherein a scheduling request (SR) and transmission a configured uplink grant are not performed based on the serving cell no being in the cell DRX ) [see Figure 39A and Paragraphs 0406 & 0410 & 0383 & 0384 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230354188 in view of US 20250280466 because US 20250280466 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20230354188 and US 20210243836 and Patent No. 12610425 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230354188 does not explicitly teach a transmission of a hybrid automatic request (HARQ) is not performed based on the downlink assignment being for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS).
US 20250280466, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches a transmission of a hybrid automatic request (HARQ) is not performed based on the downlink assignment being for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS) ) (a transmission of a hybrid automatic request (HARQ) is not performed based on the downlink assignment being for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS)) [see Figure 39A and Paragraphs 0406 & 0410 & 0383 & 0384 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230354188 in view of US 20250280466 because US 20250280466 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20230354188 and US 20210243836 and Patent No. 12610425 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230354188 does not explicitly teach wherein a periodic channel state (CSI) report and a semi persistent CSI report are not performed based on a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process being associated with the configured uplink grant .
US 20250280466, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein a periodic channel state (CSI) report and a semi persistent CSI report are not performed based on a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process being associated with the configured uplink grant ( wherein a periodic channel state (CSI) report and a semi persistent CSI report are not performed based on a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process being associated with the configured uplink grant ) [see Figure 39A and Paragraphs 0406 & 0410 & 0383 & 0384 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230354188 in view of US 20250280466 because US 20250280466 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 2 above.
Regarding to the claim 10, claim 10 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20230354188 and US 20210243836 and Patent No. 12610425 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230354188 does not explicitly teach wherein the configured downlink assignment is for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS), and wherein a transmission for hybrid automatic request (HARQ).
( US 20250280466, Provisional Application No. 63359041 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the configured downlink assignment is for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS), and wherein a transmission for hybrid automatic request (HARQ) (wherein the configured downlink assignment is for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS), and wherein a transmission for hybrid automatic request (HARQ)) [see Figure 39A and Paragraphs 0406 & 0410 & 0383 & 0384 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230354188 in view of US 20250280466 because US 20250280466 suggests that These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 5 above.
Regarding to the claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 2 above.
Regarding to the claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 4 above.
Regarding to the claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 5 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim(s) 7 and their respective dependents is/are allowed.
The prior art fails to disclose “in response to identifying that: (i) multiple physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs) would overlap in a slot, or (ii) one or more PUCCHs and one or more physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) would overlap in a slot, and at least one of the PUCCHs or the PUSCHs would overlap with the non-active period of the cell DRX on the cell, determining: one or more first PUCCHs or PUSCHs for multiplexing one or more types of uplink control information (UCI) first, and one or more second PUCCHs or PUSCHs, from the one or more first PUCCHs or PUSCHs, for transmission second.”
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim(s) 14 and their respective dependents is/are allowed.
The prior art fails to disclose “in response to identifying that: (i) multiple physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs) would overlap in a slot, or (ii) one or more PUCCHs and one or more physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) would overlap in a slot, and at least one of the PUCCHs or the PUSCHs would overlap with the non-active period of the cell DRX on the cell, determining: one or more first PUCCHs or PUSCHs for multiplexing one or more types of uplink control information (UCI) first, and one or more second PUCCHs or PUSCHs, from the one or more first PUCCHs or PUSCHs, for transmission second.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412