DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-10 recites the limitation "the external device" in claim 2, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, lines 2-3 recite “a storage device configured to store a pairing information related to pairing with the remote communication device”; while lines 3-5 recite “the processor being configured to conduct a pairing process with the remote communication device in response to receipt of the instruction in a case where the storage device does not store the pairing information” which are not clear and conflict with each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 108622267 A – See English Text) in view of Wright (US 2016/0100280 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen (figures 1 and 3) discloses a bicycle component (intelligent type bicycle device, housing 100 comprising electronic circuit module 110 mounting on bicycle part 200; page 4, lines 21-28) comprising: a processor (micro processing unit 111); and a wireless communicator (communication interface unit 116) electrically connected to the processor, the wireless communicator being configured to wirelessly send a signal (page 4, line 38 – page 5, line 11). Chen does not explicitly disclose the signal selectively including a first signal and a second signal, the first signal corresponding to a first app, the second signal corresponding to a second app, the wireless communicator being configured to send the second signal in response to receipt of an instruction from a remote communication device. However, Wright (figures 1A-1B) discloses an electronic module (102) comprising a wireless communicator (multiple mode radio circuit 106) configured to wirelessly send a signal wherein the signal selectively including a first signal and a second signal, the first signal corresponding to a first app (Protocol A), the second signal corresponding to a second app (Protocol B) (paragraphs [0018]-0021]), the wireless communicator being configured to send the second signal in response to receipt of an instruction (input) from a remote communication device (master device 104) (paragraphs [0022]-[0024]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the electronic module of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing communication with the remote communication device by two different standards as suggested by Wright (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 1. In addition, Wright discloses wherein the first app is installed in the external device (Multi-mode A/B Device 104), the first signal includes a first connection signal for using the first app in connection with the bicycle component, and the wireless communicator is configured to establish a wireless connection between the wireless communicator and the remote communication device using the first connection signal (paragraph [0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards.
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 2. In addition, Chen discloses the bicycle component can store the identification information of the bicycle component (bicycle identification (ID) or main component identification) (page 3, lines 19-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the identification information of the bicycle component to the first connection signal for the remote communication device to recognize which bicycle component.
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 2. In addition, Wright discloses wherein the instruction is sent from the remote communication device in a state where the wireless communication is established (paragraph [0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards.
Regarding claim 5, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 2. In addition, Wright discloses wherein the first signal includes a first data signal, the wireless communicator is configured to send the first data signal in a state where the wireless connection is established using the first connection signal (paragraphs [0023]-[0025]). And Chen discloses the first data signal includes first information related to a bicycle (page 5, lines 6-11, rotation speed signal of the power sensor information). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing information related to a bicycle through wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards.
Regarding claim 9, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 2. In addition, Wright discloses wherein the second app (Protocol B) is installed in the remote communication device ((Multi-mode A/B Device 104), the second signal includes a second connection signal for using the second app in connection with the bicycle component, the wireless communicator is configured to establish the wireless connection using the second connection signal, and the wireless communicator is configured to disconnect from the remote communication device prior to connecting with the remote communication device using the second connection signal in a state where the wireless communicator has established the wireless connection with the remote communication device using the first connection signal (paragraphs [0023]-[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards.
Regarding claim 10, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 9. In addition, Wright discloses wherein the second signal includes a second data signal, the wireless communicator is configured to send the second data signal in a state where the wireless connection is established using the second connection signal (paragraphs [0023]-[0025]). And Chen discloses the second data signal includes second information related to a bicycle (page 5, lines 6-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing information related to a bicycle through wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards. and the second data signal includes second information related to a bicycle.
Regarding claim 11, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 1. In addition, Wright discloses wherein the second app (Protocol B) is installed in the remote communication device (Multi-mode A/B Device 104), the second signal includes a second connection signal for using the second app in connection with the bicycle component, and the wireless communicator is wirelessly connected with the remote communication device using the second connection signal (paragraphs [0023]-[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards.
Regarding claim 12, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 11. In addition, Chen discloses the bicycle component can store the identification information of the bicycle component (bicycle identification (ID) or main component identification) (page 3, lines 19-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the identification information of the bicycle component to the second connection signal for the remote communication device to recognize which bicycle component.
Regarding claim 13, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 1. In addition, Wright discloses wherein the remote communication device is configured to generate the instruction in response to receipt of a user operation to the remote communication device (paragraph [0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards.
Regarding claim 14, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 1. In addition, Wright discloses wherein the wireless communicator is configured to send the first signal in response to receipt of the instruction where the user operation is associated with using the first app on the remote communication device in connection with the bicycle component, and the wireless communicator is configured to send the second signal in response to receipt of the instruction where the user operation is associated with using the second app in connection with the bicycle component (paragraphs [0023]-[0025]).Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards.
Regarding claim 15, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 1. In addition, Wright discloses wherein the wireless communicator is configured to change the signal from the first signal to the second signal in response to receipt of the instruction in a state where the wireless communicator has established the wireless connection with the remote communication device using the first connection signal (paragraph [0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching above of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards.
Regarding claim 16, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses wherein the bicycle component includes a transmission device (transmission interface unit 118) (page 4, line 38 – page 5, line 11).
Regarding claim 17, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses wherein the bicycle component includes a sensor (power sensor) (page5, lines 6-11).
Regarding claim 18, Chen and Wright disclose a system comprising the bicycle component according to claim 1 above. In addition, Chen discloses the system further comprising: the remote communication device (figure 3, mobile device 300) and Wright disclose the remote communication device (Multi-mode A/B Device 104) including the first app (Protocol A) and the second app (Protocol B). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the remote communication device of Wright to the remote communication device of Chen for providing wireless connection with the remote communication device by two different standards.
Regarding claim 19, Chen (figures 1 and 3) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions thereon, the program instructions being executable by a processor (micro processing unit 111) of a bicycle component (intelligent type bicycle device with a housing 100 comprising electronic circuit module 110 mounting on bicycle part 200; page 4, lines 21-28), the processor being electrically connected to a wireless communicator (communication interface 116) of the bicycle component (page 4, line 38 – page 5, line 11). Chen does not explicitly disclose the program instructions being configured to: cause the wireless communicator to wirelessly send a first signal corresponding to a first app; and cause a wireless communicator to wirelessly send a second signal corresponding to a second app in response to receipt of an instruction from a remote communication device. However, Wright (figures 1A-1B and 2) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions thereon, the program instructions being executable by a processor (central processing unit (CPU)) of an electronic module (200) comprising a wireless communicator (multiple mode radio circuit 206) configured to wirelessly send a signal wherein the signal selectively including a first signal and a second signal, the first signal corresponding to a first app (Protocol Firmware A), the second signal corresponding to a second app (Protocol Firmware B) (paragraphs [0018]-0021] and [0029]), the wireless communicator being configured to send the second signal in response to receipt of an instruction (input) from a remote communication device (master device 104) (paragraphs [0022]-[0024] and [0029]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the electronic module of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing communication with the remote communication device by two different standards as suggested by Wright (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen (figures 1 and 3) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing remote program instructions thereon, the remote program instructions being executable by an remote processor (inherently within a mobile device 300) of a remote communication device (mobile device 300), the remote processor being electrically connected to a remote wireless communicator of the remote communication device, the remote wireless communicator being configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless communicator (communication interface unit 116) of a bicycle component (intelligent type bicycle device with a housing 100 comprising electronic circuit module 110 mounting on bicycle part 200; page 4, lines 21-28; and page 4, line 38 – page 5, line 11). Chen does not explicitly disclose the wireless communicator being configured to wirelessly send a first signal corresponding to a first app and being configured to wirelessly send a second signal corresponding to a second app, the remote program instructions being configured to: cause the remote wireless communicator to wirelessly send an instruction to the wireless communicator, the instruction from the remote wireless communicator being configured to instruct a processor of the bicycle component to cause the wireless communicator to send the second signal. However, Wright (figures 1A-1B and 2) discloses a wireless communicator (in Multi-mode Radio 106) of an electronic device (102) being configured to wirelessly send a first signal corresponding to a first app (Protocol A) and being configured to wirelessly send a second signal corresponding to a second app (Protocol B), the remote program instructions being configured to: cause the remote wireless communicator to wirelessly send an instruction to the wireless communicator, the instruction from the remote wireless communicator being configured to instruct a processor of the electronic device to cause the wireless communicator to send the second signal (paragraphs [0018]-[0024] and [0029]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the electronic module of Wright to the bicycle component of Chen for providing communication with the remote communication device by two different standards as suggested by Wright (paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 108622267 A – See English Text) in view of Wright (US 2016/0100280 A1) and further in view of Sato et al (CN 108116615 A – See English Text).
In view of the 112, 2nd paragraph rejection above, claim 6 is interpreted as best stood by the examiner.
Regarding claim 6, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 2. In addition, Chen discloses the bicycle component further comprising a storage device (page 3, lines 19-22). Chen does not explicitly disclose the storage device configured to store a pairing information related to pairing with the remote communication device, the processor being configured to conduct a pairing process with the remote communication device in response to receipt of the instruction in a case where the storage device does not store the pairing information. However, Sato et al. (figure 3) disclose an electronic device (82) and an operating device (80), to control one or more component for bicycle, comprising a storage device (66) to store a pairing information related to pairing with the remote communication device (page 12, lines 3-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the storing the pairing information related to pairing with the remote communication device of Sato et al. to the storge device of Chen and Wright for pairing with the remote communication device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Chen and Wright disclose the bicycle component according to claim 2. However, Chen and Wright fail to further disclose the bicycle component above wherein the processor is configured to execute a prohibition process prohibiting reconnection with the remote communication device for a predetermined time after disconnecting from the remote communication device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nelson et al. (US 11,338,876 B2) disclose an activity tracker includes a device that includes a sensor component, a radio, and a mounting member; the sensor component is configured to obtain bicycle route information based on information from one or more sensors; the sensor component detects pedal proximity and calculates a pedal rotation speed based on data provided by an integrated pedal cadence sensor; the radio is configured to wirelessly communicate the bicycle route information to a remote computing device. The mounting members are for mounting the device to a bicycle frame.
Chuang (US 11,451,444 B2) teaches a method of replacing a component of a bicycle wireless controlling system that includes the following steps: obtaining a first identification code related to a first component of the bicycle wireless controlling system by a portable device, wherein the first component is configured to be in communication connection with at least one another component of bicycle wireless controlling system through the first identification code; writing the first identification code into a second component by the portable device; and sending out the first identification code by the second component to be in communication connection with the at least one another component through the first identification code.
Wesling (US 11,703,118 B2) teaches a control device wearable by a bicycle rider, the control device including at least one control sensor generating input signals when actuated; control processor is connected to the at least one control sensor generating control signals responsive to the input signals; a wireless transmitter is in communication with the processor transmitting the control signals and a power source is connected to the shift control processor and the wireless transmitter; the control device may one or more of a control gear changer, one or more suspension component, and other electronically-controllable components or systems.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645