DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 26, 2023, and July 3, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations “value of ‘09’ of the two-bit indicator,” “value of ‘90’ of the two-bit indicator,” and “value of ‘99’ of the two-bit indicator” are vague and indefinite. A bit is defined as binary digit that includes either a value of 0 or a value of 1. As such, a “two-bit” would define as values of 00, 01, 10, and 11. Therefore, it is vague and indefinite as to how the two-bit would have values of 09, 90, and 99.
Claim 16 recites a similar limitation and is rejected for the same reasons as dependent claim 15.
For examination purposes, the examiner is interpreting the “two-bit” as values of 00, 01, 10, and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 9 – 14, and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Guo (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0171771), and further in view of Kwak et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0216565). Hereinafter Guo and Kwak.
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a user equipment (UE) (user equipment (UE)), comprising:
a transceiver (the UE includes transceiver that transmits and/or receives radio signal, paragraph [0034]) configured to:
receive a configuration related to (ii) a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state operation mode (the UE receives configuration of one or more TCI states and each TCI state contains configuration of QCL for reception of DL channels/signal and configuration of spatial filter and/or pathloss RS for transmission of UL channel/signal, where the gNB indicates first TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]); and
receive one or more first TCI states (the UE receives configuration of multi-TRP transmission, and the UE is configured with a common TCI state operation mode in multi-TRP transmission, where the gNB indicates first TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (the UE includes processor, where the transceiver is coupled with the processor, paragraph [0034]), the processor configured to determine, based on the configuration and the one or more first TCI states, one or more second TCI states, from the one or more first TCI states, to apply for a channel (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]).
However, Guo does not explicitly disclose “receive a configuration related to (i) a time window;” and “wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit an indicator indicating the one or more second TCI states and the channel; and receive an acknowledgement for the indicator; and wherein the processor is further configured to identify a reception time of the acknowledgement.”
Kwak discloses “receive a configuration related to (i) a time window” as the WTRU receives configuration of one or more TCI state groups that each include one or more TCI states, where TCI state group indications include reception of PDCCH/DCI with properties including a dedicated CORESET group per TCI state group (e.g., including a time window after WTRU reporting); a dedicated CORESET for confirmation (e.g., including time window after WTRU reporting); radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) differentiation, DCI format, etc. (paragraphs [0077], [0078], [0080], [0204]); and “wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit an indicator indicating the one or more second TCI states and the channel; and receive an acknowledgement for the indicator; and wherein the processor is further configured to identify a reception time of the acknowledgement” as the WTRU reports the second TCI state to the base station (gNB) then receives a confirmation PDCCH transmission in the second CORESET, and the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after X time duration from when the WTRU received the confirmation from base station when the WTRU is configured with configuration information (paragraphs [0201], [0232], [0233]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 2, Guo and Kwak disclose the UE of claim 1, but Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein the reception time is relative to the transmission of the indicator.
Kwak discloses the WTRU reports the second TCI state to the base station (gNB) then receives a confirmation PDCCH transmission in the second CORESET, and the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after X time duration from when the WTRU received the confirmation from base station when the WTRU is configured with configuration information (paragraphs [0201], [0232], [0233]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 3, Guo and Kwak disclose the UE of claim 1, but Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the reception time is outside of the time window, the transceiver is further configured to re-transmit the indicator.
Kwak discloses the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU retransmits the ACK/NACK after Z time duration from when the WTRU expected to receive the base station confirmation (paragraphs [0232], [0233], [0242]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 4, Guo and Kwak disclose the UE of claim 1, but Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein:
when the reception time is outside of the time window, the processor is further configured to apply the one or more first TCI states to the channel; and
when the reception time is within the time window, the processor is further configured to apply the one or more second TCI states to the channel.
Kwak discloses the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after X time duration from when the WTRU received the confirmation from base station when the WTRU is configured with configuration information, and the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after Y time duration from when the WTRU sent ACK/NACK on the base station indication (paragraphs [0201], [0232], [0233]). X time duration is interpreted as within the time window, and Y time duration is interpreted as outside of the time window.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 5, Guo and Kwak disclose the UE of claim 1, Guo discloses wherein the channel comprises at least one of: one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs), one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), one or more physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs), and one or more physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Guo and Kwak disclose the UE of claim 1, but Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein the indicator is one of:
TCI state identities (IDs) of the one or more second TCI states; and
indexes of the one or more second TCI states.
Kwak discloses the WTRU indicates TCI state group using an indication such as an index associated with the TCI state group, where the WTRU includes result of TCI state group metric to include the identities and results for TCI state group with certain metrics to be configured (paragraphs [0131] – [0133]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the TCI state group as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 9, Guo discloses a base station (BS) (base station (BS)), comprising:
a processor (the BS includes processor, paragraph [0034]); and
a transceiver operably coupled to the processor (the BS includes transceiver is coupled with processor, and the transceiver transmits and/or receives radio signal, paragraph [0034]), the transceiver configured to:
transmit a configuration related to (ii) a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state operation mode (the UE receives configuration of one or more TCI states and each TCI state contains configuration of QCL for reception of DL channels/signal and configuration of spatial filter and/or pathloss RS for transmission of UL channel/signal, where the gNB indicates first TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]);
transmit one or more first TCI states (the UE receives configuration of multi-TRP transmission, and the UE is configured with a common TCI state operation mode in multi-TRP transmission, where the gNB indicates first TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]).
However, Guo does not explicitly disclose “transmit a configuration related to (i) a time window;” and “receive an indicator indicating (i) one or more second TCI states, from the one or more first TCI states, to apply for a channel and (ii) the channel; and transmit an acknowledgement for the indicator.”
Kwak discloses “transmit a configuration related to (i) a time window” as the WTRU receives configuration of one or more TCI state groups that each include one or more TCI states, where TCI state group indications include reception of PDCCH/DCI with properties including a dedicated CORESET group per TCI state group (e.g., including a time window after WTRU reporting); a dedicated CORESET for confirmation (e.g., including time window after WTRU reporting); radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) differentiation, DCI format, etc. (paragraphs [0077], [0078], [0080], [0204]); and
“receive an indicator indicating (i) one or more second TCI states, from the one or more first TCI states, to apply for a channel and (ii) the channel; and transmit an acknowledgement for the indicator” as the WTRU reports the second TCI state to the base station (gNB) then receives a confirmation PDCCH transmission in the second CORESET, and the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after X time duration from when the WTRU received the confirmation from base station when the WTRU is configured with configuration information (paragraphs [0201], [0232], [0233]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 10, Guo and Kwak disclose the BS of claim 9, but Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein a reception time of the acknowledgement is relative to a transmission of the indicator.
Kwak discloses the WTRU reports the second TCI state to the base station (gNB) then receives a confirmation PDCCH transmission in the second CORESET, and the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after X time duration from when the WTRU received the confirmation from base station when the WTRU is configured with configuration information (paragraphs [0201], [0232], [0233]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 11, Guo and Kwak disclose the BS of claim 9, but Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein, when a reception time of the acknowledgement is outside of the time window, the transceiver is further configured to re-receive the indicator.
Kwak discloses the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU retransmits the ACK/NACK after Z time duration from when the WTRU expected to receive the base station confirmation (paragraphs [0232], [0233], [0242]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 12, Guo and Kwak disclose the BS of claim 9, but Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein:
when a reception time of the acknowledgement is outside of the time window, the one or more first TCI states apply for the channel; and
when the reception time is within the time window, the one or more second TCI states apply for the channel.
Kwak discloses the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after X time duration from when the WTRU received the confirmation from base station when the WTRU is configured with configuration information, and the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after Y time duration from when the WTRU sent ACK/NACK on the base station indication (paragraphs [0201], [0232], [0233]). X time duration is interpreted as within the time window, and Y time duration is interpreted as outside of the time window.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 13, Guo and Kwak disclose the BS of claim 9, Guo discloses wherein the channel comprises at least one of: one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs), one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), one or more physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs), and one or more physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Guo and Kwak disclose the BS of claim 9, but Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein the indicator is one of:
TCI state identities (IDs) of the one or more second TCI states; and
indexes of the one or more second TCI states.
Kwak discloses the WTRU indicates TCI state group using an indication such as an index associated with the TCI state group, where the WTRU includes result of TCI state group metric to include the identities and results for TCI state group with certain metrics to be configured (paragraphs [0131] – [0133]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the TCI state group as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 17, Guo discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (user equipment (UE)), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration related to (ii) a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state operation mode (the UE receives configuration of one or more TCI states and each TCI state contains configuration of QCL for reception of DL channels/signal and configuration of spatial filter and/or pathloss RS for transmission of UL channel/signal, where the gNB indicates first TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]);
receiving one or more first TCI states (the UE receives configuration of multi-TRP transmission, and the UE is configured with a common TCI state operation mode in multi-TRP transmission, where the gNB indicates first TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]);
determining, based on the configuration and the one or more first TCI states, one or more second TCI states, from the one or more first TCI states, to apply for a channel (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]).
However, Guo does not explicitly disclose “receiving a configuration related to (i) a time window;” and “transmitting an indicator indicating the one or more second TCI states and the channel; receiving an acknowledgement for the indicator; and identifying a reception time of the acknowledgement.”
Kwak discloses “receiving a configuration related to (i) a time window” as the WTRU receives configuration of one or more TCI state groups that each include one or more TCI states, where TCI state group indications include reception of PDCCH/DCI with properties including a dedicated CORESET group per TCI state group (e.g., including a time window after WTRU reporting); a dedicated CORESET for confirmation (e.g., including time window after WTRU reporting); radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) differentiation, DCI format, etc. (paragraphs [0077], [0078], [0080], [0204]); and “transmitting an indicator indicating the one or more second TCI states and the channel; receiving an acknowledgement for the indicator; and identifying a reception time of the acknowledgement” as the WTRU reports the second TCI state to the base station (gNB) then receives a confirmation PDCCH transmission in the second CORESET, and the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after X time duration from when the WTRU received the confirmation from base station when the WTRU is configured with configuration information (paragraphs [0201], [0232], [0233]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 18, Guo and Kwak disclose the method of claim 17, but Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein the reception time is relative to the transmission of the indicator.
Kwak discloses the WTRU reports the second TCI state to the base station (gNB) then receives a confirmation PDCCH transmission in the second CORESET, and the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after X time duration from when the WTRU received the confirmation from base station when the WTRU is configured with configuration information (paragraphs [0201], [0232], [0233]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 19, Guo and Kwak disclose the method of claim 17, but Guo does not explicitly disclose further comprising, in response to identifying that the reception time is outside of the time window, re-transmitting the indicator.
Kwak discloses the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU retransmits the ACK/NACK after Z time duration from when the WTRU expected to receive the base station confirmation (paragraphs [0232], [0233], [0242]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Regarding claim 20, Guo and Kwak disclose the method of claim 17, but Guo does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
when the reception time is outside of the time window, applying the one or more first TCI states to the channel; and
when the reception time is within the time window, applying the one or more second TCI states to the channel.
Kwak discloses the base station provides a confirmation of WTRU ACK/NACK on base station indication of one or more TCI states or one or more TCI state groups, where the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after X time duration from when the WTRU received the confirmation from base station when the WTRU is configured with configuration information, and the WTRU applies the one or more TCI states or the one or more TCI state groups after Y time duration from when the WTRU sent ACK/NACK on the base station indication (paragraphs [0201], [0232], [0233]). X time duration is interpreted as within the time window, and Y time duration is interpreted as outside of the time window.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo and Kwak before him or her, to incorporate the WTRU receiving configuration information and acknowledgement as taught by Kwak, to improve the UE determining the TCI state of Guo for the motivation of reducing measurement burden and/or reducing power consumption by a WTRU (paragraph [0133] of Kwak).
Claims 7, 8, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Guo (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0171771) in view of Kwak et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0216565), and further in view of Cirik et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0209538). Hereinafter Guo, Kwak, and Cirik.
Regarding claim 7, Guo and Kwak disclose the UE of claim 1, Guo discloses wherein:
the one or more first TCI states include a first TCI state and a second TCI state (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]),
the channel includes a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a second PDCCH (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]).
However, Guo and Kwak do not explicitly disclose “the indicator is a two-bit indicator, a value ‘00’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the first TCI state and apply to both the first and second PDCCHs; a value ‘01’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the second TCI state and apply to both the first and second PDCCHs; a value ‘10’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the first and second TCI states and apply to the first and second PDCCHs, respectively; and a value ‘11’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to neither of the first and second TCI states.”
Cirik discloses the wireless device uses a value of first field (e.g. a 1-bit field) of configuration parameter in a message to indicate using a first TCI state or using a second TCI state, and the wireless device uses a value of a second field (e.g. a 2-bit field) in the message to indicate a first TCI state, (e.g., value of 00), a second TCI state (e.g., value of 01), or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g., value of 10 or 11) (paragraph [0590]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo, Kwak, and Cirik before him or her, to incorporate the first field and the second field as taught by Cirik, to improve the modified UE determining the TCI state of Guo-Kwak for the motivation of providing advantages such as reduced retransmissions, reduced overhead signaling, reduced latency, and/or increased efficiency for wireless communications (paragraph [0004] of Cirik).
Regarding claim 8, Guo and Kwak disclose the UE of claim 1, Guo discloses wherein:
the one or more first TCI states includes a first TCI state and a second TCI state (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]),
the channel comprises a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a second PDSCH (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]).
However, Guo and Kwak do not explicitly disclose “the indicator is a two-bit indicator, a value ‘00’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the first TCI state and apply to both the first and second PDSCHs; a value ‘01’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the second TCI state and apply to both the first and second PDSCHs; a value ‘10’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to both the first and second TCI states and apply to the first and second PDSCHs, respectively; and a value ‘11’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to neither of the first and second TCI states.”
Cirik discloses the wireless device uses a value of first field (e.g. a 1-bit field) of configuration parameter in a message to indicate using a first TCI state or using a second TCI state, and the wireless device uses a value of a second field (e.g. a 2-bit field) in the message to indicate a first TCI state, (e.g., value of 00), a second TCI state (e.g., value of 01), or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g., value of 10 or 11) (paragraph [0590]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo, Kwak, and Cirik before him or her, to incorporate the first field and the second field as taught by Cirik, to improve the modified UE determining the TCI state of Guo-Kwak for the motivation of providing advantages such as reduced retransmissions, reduced overhead signaling, reduced latency, and/or increased efficiency for wireless communications (paragraph [0004] of Cirik).
Regarding claim 15, Guo and Kwak disclose the BS of claim 9, Guo discloses wherein:
the one or more first TCI states include a first TCI state and a second TCI state (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]),
the channel includes a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a second PDCCH(the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]).
However, Guo and Kwak do not explicitly disclose “the indicator is a two-bit indicator,
a value ‘00’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the first TCI state and apply to both the first and second PDCCHs; a value ‘09’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the second TCI state and apply to both the first and second PDCCHs; a value ‘90’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the first and second TCI states and apply to the first and second PDCCHs, respectively; and a value ‘99’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to neither of the first and second TCI states.”
Cirik discloses the wireless device uses a value of first field (e.g. a 1-bit field) of configuration parameter in a message to indicate using a first TCI state or using a second TCI state, and the wireless device uses a value of a second field (e.g. a 2-bit field) in the message to indicate a first TCI state, (e.g., value of 00), a second TCI state (e.g., value of 01), or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g., value of 10 or 11) (paragraph [0590]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo, Kwak, and Cirik before him or her, to incorporate the first field and the second field as taught by Cirik, to improve the modified UE determining the TCI state of Guo-Kwak for the motivation of providing advantages such as reduced retransmissions, reduced overhead signaling, reduced latency, and/or increased efficiency for wireless communications (paragraph [0004] of Cirik).
Regarding claim 16, Guo and Kwak disclose the BS of claim 9, Guo discloses wherein:
the one or more first TCI states includes a first TCI state and a second TCI state (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]),
the channel comprises a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a second PDSCH (the UE determines the TCI state for each channel or reference signal according to the associated TRP from the configuration transmitted by the gNB, where first TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and second TCI state for TRP is associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the first TCI when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0, and the UE applies QCL configuration included in the second TCI state when receiving PDCCH, PDSCH and CSI-RS that are associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1, paragraph [0059]).
However, Guo and Kwak do not explicitly disclose “the indicator is a two-bit indicator,
a value ‘00’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the first TCI state and apply to both the first and second PDSCHs; a value ‘09’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to the second TCI state and apply to both the first and second PDSCHs; a value ‘90’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to both the first and second TCI states and apply to the first and second PDSCHs, respectively; and a value ‘99’ of the two-bit indicator indicates that the one or more second TCI states correspond to neither of the first and second TCI states.”
Cirik discloses the wireless device uses a value of first field (e.g. a 1-bit field) of configuration parameter in a message to indicate using a first TCI state or using a second TCI state, and the wireless device uses a value of a second field (e.g. a 2-bit field) in the message to indicate a first TCI state, (e.g., value of 00), a second TCI state (e.g., value of 01), or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g., value of 10 or 11) (paragraph [0590]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Guo, Kwak, and Cirik before him or her, to incorporate the first field and the second field as taught by Cirik, to improve the modified UE determining the TCI state of Guo-Kwak for the motivation of providing advantages such as reduced retransmissions, reduced overhead signaling, reduced latency, and/or increased efficiency for wireless communications (paragraph [0004] of Cirik).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KHOSHNEVISAN et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0239884) – the UE receives downlink control information (DCI) that includes a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication to be applied for a channel or a signal associated with a control resource set (CORESET) pool index value in a component carrier (CC) from a base station, wherein the CC is configured as part of a list for simultaneous unified TCI state indication across multiple CCs, and the UE applies the unified TCI state indication to the channel or the signal associated with the CORESET pool index value in one or more CCs indicated in the list
MURUGANATHAN et al (US Patent Application Publication ) – the TCI state update using new bitfield consists of two bits, where the four code points are: ‘00’: the TCI state update in the DCI should be applied only to the triggered signal (like for example PDSCH/PUCCH/SRS), ‘01’: the TCI state update in the DCI should be applied only to the CORESET for which the DCI is conveyed in, ‘10’: the TCI state in the DCI should be applied to all DL signals including them with periodic/semi-persistent time domain behavior (or a subset of all DL signals, where the UE has been pre-configured with information about which of the DL signals that it should be applied to), and ‘11’: the TCI state update in the DCI should be applied to all UL signals including them with periodic/semi-persistent time domain behavior (or a subset of all UL signals, where the UE has been pre-configured with information about which of the DL signals that it should be applied to)
ZHANG et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0283575) – determining and acknowledging transmission configuration indicator states, where the UE receives DCI that includes a TCI indication, determines that the DCI does not schedule a data transmission, generates HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to the DCI, and transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468