DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0386172, previously cited), and further in view of Xiao et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0007531). Hereinafter Xie and Xiao.
Regarding claim 1, Xie discloses a communication apparatus that is connected to a master node associated with a master cell group (MCG) and is connected to a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group (SCG) using dual connectivity (the UE is configured with split bearer configuration with base station 102 as primary cell of the MCG and the base station 180 as the primary cell of the SCG for dual connectivity, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070] [0082], [0086]), the communication apparatus comprising:
a controller (the apparatus includes controller, paragraphs [0049], [0050], [0087]) including a primary radio link control (RLC) entity and a secondary RLC entity (the apparatus includes processing system including processor and RLC control components, where the apparatus includes means for transmitting an uplink transmission using an uplink split bearer configuration from a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer over one or both of a first radio link control (RLC) entity associated with a master cell group (MCG) and a second RLC entity associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), paragraphs [0056], [0083], [0085] – [0088]), the primary RLC entity and the secondary RLC entity being associated with a split bearer (the apparatus includes processing system including processor and RLC control components, where the apparatus includes means for transmitting an uplink transmission using an uplink split bearer configuration from a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer over one or both of a first radio link control (RLC) entity associated with a master cell group (MCG) and a second RLC entity associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), paragraphs [0056], [0083], [0085] – [0088]); and
a receiver (the apparatus includes reception component, paragraphs [0049], [0050], [0087]) configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message (the apparatus includes reception component that receives downlink signaling such as RRC message, paragraph [0082]); and
wherein the PDCP entity submits a PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) to the primary RLC entity in a case where a total amount of PDCP data volume and RLC data volume pending for initial transmission is smaller than a threshold (the PDCP entity routes uplink packets to only a primary RLC entity when the level of uplink traffic is below a transmit buffer threshold, paragraph [0060]; the UE transmits uplink transmission using uplink split bearer configuration including transmit buffer threshold from PDCP entity over first RLC entity associated with MCG, where the PDCP component generates uplink packet such as PDCP PDUs and routes the PDCP PDUs to RLC entity based on uplink split bearer configuration, paragraph [0076]).
However, Xie does not explicitly disclose “RRC message including information indicating a cell group identifier associated with the primary RLC entity for uplink data transmission, wherein, in a case where the SCG is deactivated and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity is associated with the primary RLC entity and the secondary RLC entity, the cell group identifier, which is associated with the primary RLC entity, corresponds to the MCG.”
Xiao discloses the UE receives a MAC CE message that indicates activation or deactivation of an associated RLC entity (i.e. indicating whether a corresponding RLC entity is activated), where the MAC CE includes Ri field that indicates activation or deactivation of the corresponding RLC entity, or the Ri field indicates an activation/deactivation status of PDCP duplication of the corresponding RLC entity, and RLC entities correspond to R0, R1 and R2 respectively, in the ascending (or descending) order of RLC entity identities (paragraphs [0048] – [0053]); the base station configures the PDCP duplication bearer for the UE by sending RRC message to the UE including information element (IE) secondaryFallbackPath that indicates a secondary RLC entity or an activated secondary RLC entity or a fallback RLC entity which is used or transmits a PDCP PDU after PDCP duplication is deactivated, where the value of the secondaryFallbackPath information element is a logical channel identity of the secondary RLC entity or an LCID of the secondary RLC entity or an identity of a logical channel associated with the secondary RLC entity or an identity of the secondary RLC entity (denoted as an RLC ID), and a cell group corresponding to the logical channel identity or LCID is different from a cell group corresponding to the primary path, and the cell group identity is 0 when it is corresponding to the MCG, and the cell group identity is 1 when it is corresponding to the SCG (paragraphs [0070] – [0071]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xie and Xiao before him or her, to incorporate the RLC entity activation or deactivation as taught by Xiao, to improve the apparatus of Xie for utilizing the split bearer configuration for transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication efficiency and reliability of a wireless communication system (paragraph [0005] of Xiao).
Regarding claim 2, Xie and Xiao disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, Xie discloses wherein
the PDCP entity is configured to indicate the PDCP data volume to a media access control (MAC) entity associated with the primary RLC entity in a case where the total amount of the PDCP data volume and the RLC data volume pending for the initial transmission is smaller than the threshold (the PDCP entity routes uplink packets to only a primary RLC entity when the level of uplink traffic is below a transmit buffer threshold, paragraph [0060]; the UE transmits uplink transmission using uplink split bearer configuration including transmit buffer threshold from PDCP entity over first RLC entity associated with MCG, where the PDCP component generates uplink packet such as PDCP PDUs and routes the PDCP PDUs to RLC entity based on uplink split bearer configuration, paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Xie and Xiao disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, but Xie does not explicitly disclose wherein
the receiver is configured to receive the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the SCG.
Xiao discloses the UE receives a MAC CE message that indicates activation or deactivation of an associated RLC entity (i.e. indicating whether a corresponding RLC entity is activated), where the MAC CE includes Ri field that indicates activation or deactivation of the corresponding RLC entity, or the Ri field indicates an activation/deactivation status of PDCP duplication of the corresponding RLC entity, and RLC entities correspond to R0, R1 and R2 respectively, in the ascending (or descending) order of RLC entity identities (paragraphs [0048] – [0053]); the base station configures the PDCP duplication bearer for the UE by sending RRC message to the UE including information element (IE) secondaryFallbackPath that indicates a secondary RLC entity or an activated secondary RLC entity or a fallback RLC entity which is used or transmits a PDCP PDU after PDCP duplication is deactivated, where the value of the secondaryFallbackPath information element is a logical channel identity of the secondary RLC entity or an LCID of the secondary RLC entity or an identity of a logical channel associated with the secondary RLC entity or an identity of the secondary RLC entity (denoted as an RLC ID), and a cell group corresponding to the logical channel identity or LCID is different from a cell group corresponding to the primary path, and the cell group identity is 0 when it is corresponding to the MCG, and the cell group identity is 1 when it is corresponding to the SCG (paragraphs [0070] – [0071]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xie and Xiao before him or her, to incorporate the RLC entity activation or deactivation as taught by Xiao, to improve the apparatus of Xie for utilizing the split bearer configuration for transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication efficiency and reliability of a wireless communication system (paragraph [0005] of Xiao).
Regarding claim 4, Xie discloses a master node that is associated with a master cell group (MCG) and is connected to a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group (SCG) and to a communication apparatus using dual connectivity (the UE is configured with split bearer configuration with base station 102 as primary cell of the MCG and the base station 180 as the primary cell of the SCG for dual connectivity, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070] [0082], [0086]), the master node comprising:
a controller (the apparatus includes controller, paragraphs [0049], [0050], [0087]) including a primary radio link control (RLC) entity and a secondary RLC entity (the apparatus includes processing system including processor and RLC control components, where the apparatus includes means for transmitting an uplink transmission using an uplink split bearer configuration from a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer over one or both of a first radio link control (RLC) entity associated with a master cell group (MCG) and a second RLC entity associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), paragraphs [0056], [0083], [0085] – [0088]), the primary RLC entity and the secondary RLC entity being associated with a split bearer (the apparatus includes processing system including processor and RLC control components, where the apparatus includes means for transmitting an uplink transmission using an uplink split bearer configuration from a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer over one or both of a first radio link control (RLC) entity associated with a master cell group (MCG) and a second RLC entity associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), paragraphs [0056], [0083], [0085] – [0088]); and
a transmitter (the apparatus includes transmission component, paragraphs [0049], [0050], [0087]) configured to transmit, to the communication apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) message (the apparatus includes transmission component, where the transmission component sends downlink signaling such as RRC message to the UE to receive via reception component, paragraph [0082]).
However, Xie does not explicitly disclose “RRC message including information indicating a cell group identifier associated with the primary RLC entity for uplink data transmission, wherein, in a case where the SCG is deactivated and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity is associated with the primary RLC entity and the secondary RLC entity, the cell group identifier, which is associated with the primary RLC entity, corresponds to the MCG.”
Xiao discloses the UE receives a MAC CE message that indicates activation or deactivation of an associated RLC entity (i.e. indicating whether a corresponding RLC entity is activated), where the MAC CE includes Ri field that indicates activation or deactivation of the corresponding RLC entity, or the Ri field indicates an activation/deactivation status of PDCP duplication of the corresponding RLC entity, and RLC entities correspond to R0, R1 and R2 respectively, in the ascending (or descending) order of RLC entity identities (paragraphs [0048] – [0053]); the base station configures the PDCP duplication bearer for the UE by sending RRC message to the UE including information element (IE) secondaryFallbackPath that indicates a secondary RLC entity or an activated secondary RLC entity or a fallback RLC entity which is used or transmits a PDCP PDU after PDCP duplication is deactivated, where the value of the secondaryFallbackPath information element is a logical channel identity of the secondary RLC entity or an LCID of the secondary RLC entity or an identity of a logical channel associated with the secondary RLC entity or an identity of the secondary RLC entity (denoted as an RLC ID), and a cell group corresponding to the logical channel identity or LCID is different from a cell group corresponding to the primary path, and the cell group identity is 0 when it is corresponding to the MCG, and the cell group identity is 1 when it is corresponding to the SCG (paragraphs [0070] – [0071]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xie and Xiao before him or her, to incorporate the RLC entity activation or deactivation as taught by Xiao, to improve the apparatus of Xie for utilizing the split bearer configuration for transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication efficiency and reliability of a wireless communication system (paragraph [0005] of Xiao).
Regarding claim 5, Xie and Xiao disclose the master node according to claim 4, but Xie does not explicitly disclose wherein
the transmitter is configured to transmit, to the communication apparatus, the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the SCG.
Xiao discloses the UE receives a MAC CE message that indicates activation or deactivation of an associated RLC entity (i.e. indicating whether a corresponding RLC entity is activated), where the MAC CE includes Ri field that indicates activation or deactivation of the corresponding RLC entity, or the Ri field indicates an activation/deactivation status of PDCP duplication of the corresponding RLC entity, and RLC entities correspond to R0, R1 and R2 respectively, in the ascending (or descending) order of RLC entity identities (paragraphs [0048] – [0053]); the base station configures the PDCP duplication bearer for the UE by sending RRC message to the UE including information element (IE) secondaryFallbackPath that indicates a secondary RLC entity or an activated secondary RLC entity or a fallback RLC entity which is used or transmits a PDCP PDU after PDCP duplication is deactivated, where the value of the secondaryFallbackPath information element is a logical channel identity of the secondary RLC entity or an LCID of the secondary RLC entity or an identity of a logical channel associated with the secondary RLC entity or an identity of the secondary RLC entity (denoted as an RLC ID), and a cell group corresponding to the logical channel identity or LCID is different from a cell group corresponding to the primary path, and the cell group identity is 0 when it is corresponding to the MCG, and the cell group identity is 1 when it is corresponding to the SCG (paragraphs [0070] – [0071]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xie and Xiao before him or her, to incorporate the RLC entity activation or deactivation as taught by Xiao, to improve the apparatus of Xie for utilizing the split bearer configuration for transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication efficiency and reliability of a wireless communication system (paragraph [0005] of Xiao).
Regarding claim 6, Xie discloses a communication control method in a communication apparatus that is connected to a master node associated with a master cell group (MCG) and is connected to a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group (SCG) using dual connectivity (the UE is configured with split bearer configuration with base station 102 as primary cell of the MCG and the base station 180 as the primary cell of the SCG for dual connectivity, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070] [0082], [0086]), wherein the communication apparatus includes a primary radio link control (RLC) entity and a secondary RLC entity (the apparatus includes processing system including processor and RLC control components, where the apparatus includes means for transmitting an uplink transmission using an uplink split bearer configuration from a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer over one or both of a first radio link control (RLC) entity associated with a master cell group (MCG) and a second RLC entity associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), paragraphs [0056], [0083], [0085] – [0088]), the primary RLC entity and the secondary RLC entity being associated with a split bearer (the apparatus includes processing system including processor and RLC control components, where the apparatus includes means for transmitting an uplink transmission using an uplink split bearer configuration from a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer over one or both of a first radio link control (RLC) entity associated with a master cell group (MCG) and a second RLC entity associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), paragraphs [0056], [0083], [0085] – [0088]), the communication control method comprising the steps of:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message (the apparatus includes reception component that receives downlink signaling such as RRC message, paragraph [0082]); and
submitting, by the PDCP entity, a PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) to the primary RLC entity in a case where a total amount of PDCP data volume and RLC data volume pending for initial transmission is smaller than a threshold (the PDCP entity routes uplink packets to only a primary RLC entity when the level of uplink traffic is below a transmit buffer threshold, paragraph [0060]; the UE transmits uplink transmission using uplink split bearer configuration including transmit buffer threshold from PDCP entity over first RLC entity associated with MCG, where the PDCP component generates uplink packet such as PDCP PDUs and routes the PDCP PDUs to RLC entity based on uplink split bearer configuration, paragraph [0076]).
However, Xie does not explicitly disclose “RRC message including information indicating a cell group identifier associated with the primary RLC entity for uplink data transmission, wherein, in a case where the SCG is deactivated and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity is associated with the primary RLC entity and the secondary RLC entity, the cell group identifier, which is associated with the primary RLC entity, corresponds to the MCG.”
Xiao discloses the UE receives a MAC CE message that indicates activation or deactivation of an associated RLC entity (i.e. indicating whether a corresponding RLC entity is activated), where the MAC CE includes Ri field that indicates activation or deactivation of the corresponding RLC entity, or the Ri field indicates an activation/deactivation status of PDCP duplication of the corresponding RLC entity, and RLC entities correspond to R0, R1 and R2 respectively, in the ascending (or descending) order of RLC entity identities (paragraphs [0048] – [0053]); the base station configures the PDCP duplication bearer for the UE by sending RRC message to the UE including information element (IE) secondaryFallbackPath that indicates a secondary RLC entity or an activated secondary RLC entity or a fallback RLC entity which is used or transmits a PDCP PDU after PDCP duplication is deactivated, where the value of the secondaryFallbackPath information element is a logical channel identity of the secondary RLC entity or an LCID of the secondary RLC entity or an identity of a logical channel associated with the secondary RLC entity or an identity of the secondary RLC entity (denoted as an RLC ID), and a cell group corresponding to the logical channel identity or LCID is different from a cell group corresponding to the primary path, and the cell group identity is 0 when it is corresponding to the MCG, and the cell group identity is 1 when it is corresponding to the SCG (paragraphs [0070] – [0071]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xie and Xiao before him or her, to incorporate the RLC entity activation or deactivation as taught by Xiao, to improve the apparatus of Xie for utilizing the split bearer configuration for transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication efficiency and reliability of a wireless communication system (paragraph [0005] of Xiao).
Regarding claim 7, Xie and Xiao disclose the communication control method according to claim 6, but Xie does not explicitly disclose further comprising the step of:
receiving the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the SCG.
Xiao discloses the UE receives a MAC CE message that indicates activation or deactivation of an associated RLC entity (i.e. indicating whether a corresponding RLC entity is activated), where the MAC CE includes Ri field that indicates activation or deactivation of the corresponding RLC entity, or the Ri field indicates an activation/deactivation status of PDCP duplication of the corresponding RLC entity, and RLC entities correspond to R0, R1 and R2 respectively, in the ascending (or descending) order of RLC entity identities (paragraphs [0048] – [0053]); the base station configures the PDCP duplication bearer for the UE by sending RRC message to the UE including information element (IE) secondaryFallbackPath that indicates a secondary RLC entity or an activated secondary RLC entity or a fallback RLC entity which is used or transmits a PDCP PDU after PDCP duplication is deactivated, where the value of the secondaryFallbackPath information element is a logical channel identity of the secondary RLC entity or an LCID of the secondary RLC entity or an identity of a logical channel associated with the secondary RLC entity or an identity of the secondary RLC entity (denoted as an RLC ID), and a cell group corresponding to the logical channel identity or LCID is different from a cell group corresponding to the primary path, and the cell group identity is 0 when it is corresponding to the MCG, and the cell group identity is 1 when it is corresponding to the SCG (paragraphs [0070] – [0071]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xie and Xiao before him or her, to incorporate the RLC entity activation or deactivation as taught by Xiao, to improve the apparatus of Xie for utilizing the split bearer configuration for transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication efficiency and reliability of a wireless communication system (paragraph [0005] of Xiao).
Regarding claim 8, Xie and Xiao disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1, but Xie does not explicitly disclose wherein the secondary RLC entity is a split secondary RLC entity.
Xiao discloses the UE receives a MAC CE message that indicates activation or deactivation of an associated RLC entity (i.e. indicating whether a corresponding RLC entity is activated), where the MAC CE includes Ri field that indicates activation or deactivation of the corresponding RLC entity, or the Ri field indicates an activation/deactivation status of PDCP duplication of the corresponding RLC entity, and RLC entities correspond to R0, R1 and R2 respectively, in the ascending (or descending) order of RLC entity identities (paragraphs [0048] – [0053]); where Fig. 7 shows R0, R1, R2 are split RLC entities (paragraphs [0054] – [0060).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xie and Xiao before him or her, to incorporate the RLC entity activation or deactivation as taught by Xiao, to improve the apparatus of Xie for utilizing the split bearer configuration for transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication efficiency and reliability of a wireless communication system (paragraph [0005] of Xiao).
Regarding claim 9, Xie and Xiao disclose the master node according to claim 4, but Xie does not explicitly disclose wherein the secondary RLC entity is a split secondary RLC entity.
Xiao discloses the UE receives a MAC CE message that indicates activation or deactivation of an associated RLC entity (i.e. indicating whether a corresponding RLC entity is activated), where the MAC CE includes Ri field that indicates activation or deactivation of the corresponding RLC entity, or the Ri field indicates an activation/deactivation status of PDCP duplication of the corresponding RLC entity, and RLC entities correspond to R0, R1 and R2 respectively, in the ascending (or descending) order of RLC entity identities (paragraphs [0048] – [0053]); where Fig. 7 shows R0, R1, R2 are split RLC entities (paragraphs [0054] – [0060).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xie and Xiao before him or her, to incorporate the RLC entity activation or deactivation as taught by Xiao, to improve the apparatus of Xie for utilizing the split bearer configuration for transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication efficiency and reliability of a wireless communication system (paragraph [0005] of Xiao).
Regarding claim 10, Xie and Xiao disclose the communication control method according to claim 6, but Xie does not explicitly disclose wherein the secondary RLC entity is a split secondary RLC entity.
Xiao discloses the UE receives a MAC CE message that indicates activation or deactivation of an associated RLC entity (i.e. indicating whether a corresponding RLC entity is activated), where the MAC CE includes Ri field that indicates activation or deactivation of the corresponding RLC entity, or the Ri field indicates an activation/deactivation status of PDCP duplication of the corresponding RLC entity, and RLC entities correspond to R0, R1 and R2 respectively, in the ascending (or descending) order of RLC entity identities (paragraphs [0048] – [0053]); where Fig. 7 shows R0, R1, R2 are split RLC entities (paragraphs [0054] – [0060).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xie and Xiao before him or her, to incorporate the RLC entity activation or deactivation as taught by Xiao, to improve the apparatus of Xie for utilizing the split bearer configuration for transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication efficiency and reliability of a wireless communication system (paragraph [0005] of Xiao).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6 – 8, filed July 18, 2026, with respect to claims 1 – 10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
JIN et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0037595) – the UE receives a packet duplication configuration and a logical channel restriction configuration (allowedServingCells) for a data radio bearer (DRB) from a base station through an RRC message, receives an indication to deactivate packet duplication for the DRB for which packet duplication is configured from the base station through a media access control (MAC) control element (CE), and not applying the logical channel restriction configuration for the DRB for which packet duplication is configured based on the indication to deactivate the packet duplication
KIM et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0377829) – receiving a packet duplication configuration for a radio bearer from a base station (BS) via a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, configuring a plurality of RLC entities including one primary RLC entity and one or more secondary RLC entities which correspond to a preset Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity based on the packet duplication configuration, and receiving a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) for controlling activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary RLC entities from among the plurality of configured RLC entities
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468