DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 26, 2023, December 9, 2024, and August 21, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “a secondary RLC entity associated with the DCP entity” in line 6. It is suggested to replace with “a secondary RLC entity associated with the PDCP entity” for consistency and clarification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xie et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0386172). Hereinafter Xie.
Regarding claim 1, Xie discloses a communication apparatus (user equipment (UE)) that is connected to a master node associated with a master cell group (MCG) and is connected to a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group (SCG) using dual connectivity (the UE is configured with split bearer configuration with base station 102 as primary cell of the MCG and the base station 180 as the primary cell of the SCG for dual connectivity, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070], [0082], [0086]), the communication apparatus comprising:
a controller (the apparatus includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) component, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070], [0082], [0086]) including a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity associated with a split bearer, a primary radio link control (RLC) entity associated with the PDCP entity, and a secondary RLC entity associated with the PDCP entity (the apparatus transmits uplink transmission using uplink split bearer configuration from a PDCP entity over one or both of a first RLC entity associated with a MCG and a second RLC entity associated with a SCG, paragraphs [0059], [0076]); and
a receiver (the apparatus includes a reception component, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070], [0082], [0086]) configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring an ID of a cell group associated with the primary RLC entity, the ID of the cell group associated with the primary RLC entity being corresponding to the MCG (the apparatus includes reception component that receives downlink signaling such as RRC messages from base station 102 or base station 180, and the configuration component in the apparatus extracts various configurations from the received RRC messages, including extracting a split bearer configuration for configuring PDCP component, where the PDCP component performs PDCP layer processing including routing PDCP PDUs to one of both of a first RLC entity associated with a MCG and a second RLC entity associated with an SCG, paragraphs [0076], [0077], [0082], [0083]; the DL channels within a subframe of a frame includes secondary synchronization signal (SSS) for the UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing, such as physical cell identifier (PCI), paragraph [0043]), in a case where the SCG is deactivated, wherein
the PDCP entity outputs a PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) to the primary RLC entity in a case where a total volume of a PDCP data volume and an RLC data volume pending for initial transmission is smaller than a threshold (the PDCP entity routes uplink packets to only a primary RLC entity when the uplink traffic is below a transmit buffer threshold, paragraph [0060]; the PDCP entity generates PDCP PDU which is routed to first RLC entity associated with the MCG, receives uplink switch start indication that detects a condition that triggers uplink path switch, and the second RLC entity is activated in response to receiving the uplink switch start indication, paragraphs [0076], [0077]; the apparatus includes switching component that receives a switch stop indication to activate the second RLC entity and also to deactivate the second RLC entity, paragraph [0083]; the second RLC entity associated with the SCG is deactivated, where the PDCP PDU is transmitted to only primary RLC entity when it is below a threshold (i.e. smaller), and the second RLC entity is activated when it is above the threshold).
Regarding claim 2, Xie discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the PDCP entity is configured to indicate the PDCP data volume to a media access control (MAC) entity associated with the primary RLC entity in a case where the total volume of the PDCP data volume and the RLC data volume pending for the initial transmission is smaller than the threshold (the PDCP entity routes uplink packets to only a primary RLC entity when the uplink traffic is below a transmit buffer threshold, paragraph [0060]; the PDCP entity generates PDCP PDU which is routed to first RLC entity associated with the MCG, receives uplink switch start indication that detects a condition that triggers uplink path switch, and the second RLC entity is activated in response to receiving the uplink switch start indication, paragraphs [0076], [0077]; the apparatus includes switching component that receives a switch stop indication to activate the second RLC entity and also to deactivate the second RLC entity, paragraph [0083]; the second RLC entity associated with the SCG is deactivated, where the PDCP PDU is transmitted to only primary RLC entity when it is below a threshold (i.e. smaller), and the second RLC entity is activated when it is above the threshold).
Regarding claim 3, Xie discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the receiver is configured to receive the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the SCG (the PDCP entity routes uplink packets to only a primary RLC entity when the uplink traffic is below a transmit buffer threshold, paragraph [0060]; the PDCP entity generates PDCP PDU which is routed to first RLC entity associated with the MCG, receives uplink switch start indication that detects a condition that triggers uplink path switch, and the second RLC entity is activated in response to receiving the uplink switch start indication, paragraphs [0076], [0077]; the apparatus includes switching component that receives a switch stop indication to activate the second RLC entity and also to deactivate the second RLC entity, paragraph [0083]; the PDCP entity receives uplink switch stop indication that deactivates the second RLC entity in response to receiving the uplink switch stop indication, paragraphs [0080], [0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Xie discloses a master node (base station 102) that is associated with a master cell group (MCG) and is connected to a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group (SCG) and a communication apparatus using dual connectivity (the UE is configured with split bearer configuration with base station 102 as primary cell of the MCG and the base station 180 as the primary cell of the SCG for dual connectivity, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070], [0082], [0086]), the master node comprising:
a controller (the apparatus includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) component, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070], [0082], [0086]; the base station 310 includes controller processor that provides RRC layer functionality, PDCP layer functionality, and RLC layer functionality to the UE 350, Fig. 3, paragraph [0047]) including a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity associated with a split bearer, a primary radio link control (RLC) entity associated with the PDCP entity, and a secondary RLC entity associated with the PDCP entity (the apparatus transmits uplink transmission using uplink split bearer configuration from a PDCP entity over one or both of a first RLC entity associated with a MCG and a second RLC entity associated with a SCG, paragraphs [0059], [0076]; the base station 310 includes controller processor that provides RRC layer functionality, PDCP layer functionality, and RLC layer functionality to the UE 350, Fig. 3, paragraph [0047]; the apparatus includes reception component that receives downlink signaling such as RRC messages from base station 102 or base station 180, and the configuration component in the apparatus extracts various configurations from the received RRC messages, including extracting a split bearer configuration for configuring PDCP component, where the PDCP component performs PDCP layer processing including routing PDCP PDUs to one of both of a first RLC entity associated with a MCG and a second RLC entity associated with an SCG, paragraphs [0076], [0077], [0082], [0083]); and
a transmitter (the apparatus includes a reception component, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070], [0082], [0086]; the base station 310 includes transmit processor that provides RRC layer functionality, PDCP layer functionality, and RLC layer functionality to the UE 350, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0047], [0048]) configured to transmit, to the communication apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring an ID of a cell group associated with the primary RLC entity, the ID of the cell group associated with the primary RLC entity being corresponding to the MCG, in a case where the SCG is deactivated (the apparatus includes reception component that receives downlink signaling such as RRC messages from base station 102 or base station 180, and the configuration component in the apparatus extracts various configurations from the received RRC messages, including extracting a split bearer configuration for configuring PDCP component, where the PDCP component performs PDCP layer processing including routing PDCP PDUs to one of both of a first RLC entity associated with a MCG and a second RLC entity associated with an SCG, paragraphs [0076], [0077], [0082], [0083]; the DL channels within a subframe of a frame includes secondary synchronization signal (SSS) for the UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing, such as physical cell identifier (PCI), paragraph [0043]; the apparatus includes switching component that receives a switch stop indication to activate the second RLC entity and also to deactivate the second RLC entity, paragraph [0083]; the second RLC entity associated with the SCG is deactivated, where the PDCP PDU is transmitted to only primary RLC entity when it is below a threshold (i.e. smaller), and the second RLC entity is activated when it is above the threshold).
Regarding claim 5, Xie discloses the master node according to claim 4, wherein
the transmitter is configured to transmit, to the communication apparatus, the RRC message including information for configuring the deactivation of the SCG (the PDCP entity routes uplink packets to only a primary RLC entity when the uplink traffic is below a transmit buffer threshold, paragraph [0060]; the PDCP entity generates PDCP PDU which is routed to first RLC entity associated with the MCG, receives uplink switch start indication that detects a condition that triggers uplink path switch, and the second RLC entity is activated in response to receiving the uplink switch start indication, paragraphs [0076], [0077]; the apparatus includes switching component that receives a switch stop indication to activate the second RLC entity and also to deactivate the second RLC entity, paragraph [0083]; the PDCP entity receives uplink switch stop indication that deactivates the second RLC entity in response to receiving the uplink switch stop indication, paragraphs [0080], [0081]).
Regarding claim 6, Xie discloses a communication control method in a communication apparatus that is connected to a master node associated with a master cell group (MCG) and is connected to a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group (SCG) using dual connectivity (the UE is configured with split bearer configuration with base station 102 as primary cell of the MCG and the base station 180 as the primary cell of the SCG for dual connectivity, Figs. 4, 9, 11, 12, paragraphs [0056], [0070], [0082], [0086]), wherein the communication apparatus includes a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity, a primary radio link control (RLC) entity associated with the PDCP entity, and a secondary RLC entity associated with the DCP entity (the apparatus transmits uplink transmission using uplink split bearer configuration from a PDCP entity over one or both of a first RLC entity associated with a MCG and a second RLC entity associated with a SCG, paragraphs [0059], [0076]), the communication control method comprising the steps of:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message including information for configuring an ID of a cell group associated with the primary RLC entity, the ID of the cell group associated with the primary RLC entity being corresponding to the MCG (the apparatus includes reception component that receives downlink signaling such as RRC messages from base station 102 or base station 180, and the configuration component in the apparatus extracts various configurations from the received RRC messages, including extracting a split bearer configuration for configuring PDCP component, where the PDCP component performs PDCP layer processing including routing PDCP PDUs to one of both of a first RLC entity associated with a MCG and a second RLC entity associated with an SCG, paragraphs [0076], [0077], [0082], [0083]; the DL channels within a subframe of a frame includes secondary synchronization signal (SSS) for the UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing, such as physical cell identifier (PCI), paragraph [0043]), in a case where the SCG is deactivated; and
causing the PDCP entity to output a PDCP packet data unit (PDU) to the primary RLC entity in a case where a total volume of a PDCP data volume and an RLC data volume pending for initial transmission is smaller than a threshold (the PDCP entity routes uplink packets to only a primary RLC entity when the uplink traffic is below a transmit buffer threshold, paragraph [0060]; the PDCP entity generates PDCP PDU which is routed to first RLC entity associated with the MCG, receives uplink switch start indication that detects a condition that triggers uplink path switch, and the second RLC entity is activated in response to receiving the uplink switch start indication, paragraphs [0076], [0077]; the apparatus includes switching component that receives a switch stop indication to activate the second RLC entity and also to deactivate the second RLC entity, paragraph [0083]; the second RLC entity associated with the SCG is deactivated, where the PDCP PDU is transmitted to only primary RLC entity when it is below a threshold (i.e. smaller), and the second RLC entity is activated when it is above the threshold).
Regarding claim 7, Xie discloses the communication control method according to claim 6, further comprising the step of:
receiving the RRC message including information indicating the deactivation of the SCG (the PDCP entity routes uplink packets to only a primary RLC entity when the uplink traffic is below a transmit buffer threshold, paragraph [0060]; the PDCP entity generates PDCP PDU which is routed to first RLC entity associated with the MCG, receives uplink switch start indication that detects a condition that triggers uplink path switch, and the second RLC entity is activated in response to receiving the uplink switch start indication, paragraphs [0076], [0077]; the apparatus includes switching component that receives a switch stop indication to activate the second RLC entity and also to deactivate the second RLC entity, paragraph [0083]; the PDCP entity receives uplink switch stop indication that deactivates the second RLC entity in response to receiving the uplink switch stop indication, paragraphs [0080], [0081]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
XIAO et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0029379) – receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling, the RRC signaling comprising configuration information used for configuring a data radio bearer (DRB) supporting packet duplication for the UE; establishing a corresponding DRB according to the configuration information; and calculating transmittable data of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity for a logical channel corresponding to the established DRB
KIM et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0219375) – receiving a packet duplication configuration for a radio bearer from a base station (BS) via a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message; configuring a plurality of RLC entities including one primary RLC entity and one or more secondary RLC entities which correspond to a preset Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity based on the packet duplication configuration; and receiving a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) for controlling activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary RLC entities from among the plurality of configured RLC entities
Cong SHI (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0336732) – the terminal device determines to change an RLC entity for transmitting a PDCP PDU, and determines a target RLC entity for transmitting the PDCP PDU and/or a target carrier used by a logical channel of the target RLC entity
Zhe FU (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0248267) – the terminal device performs split transmission by using a first radio link control (RLC) entity and a second RLC entity in at least two RLC entities configured by the first bearer in the case of deactivating duplicated transmission of a first bearer and satisfying a split transmission condition
HU et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0264486) – receiving first information from a network device, where the first information indicates a terminal device to suspend a secondary cell group (SCG), suspending the SCG based on the first information, and changing a configuration parameter of a master cell group (MCG), where the configuration parameter comprises at least one of an available uplink transmission time period, a maximum transmit power, or a control channel blind detection parameter
XIAO et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0110070) – receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message from a base station, wherein the RRC message includes information related to an activation configuration of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication of a radio bearer and/or associated radio link control (RLC) entities; and performing the activation configuration of the PDCP duplication and/or the associated RLC entities on the basis of the information
BAEK et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0345427) – the receiving configuration information for an uplink resource from a base station; determining a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process based on the configuration information; starting a configured grant timer (CGT) and a configured grant retransmission timer (CGRT) when uplink data corresponding to the HARQ process is transmitted; restarting the CGRT when the uplink data corresponding to the HARQ process is retransmitted; receiving downlink feedback information (DFI) from the base station; and stopping the CGT and the CGRT based on the DFI indicating whether the base station received the uplink data
ZOU et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0357693) – the communication device is configured with multi-radio dual connectivity (MR-DC) with a first cell group and a second cell group in a wireless communication network, where the communication device initiates a resume procedure when there is an uplink (UL) data available at the communication device while it is in the power saving mode of operation, sets an UL data indication indicating whether the UL data is available for the first cell group or the second cell group, and transmits the UL data indication to a network node
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468