Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
"a second end of the first and second body portions is coupled to the second hole of the ball nut" recited in claim 12 should be changed to a second end of the first and second body portions is coupled to [the]a second hole of the ball nut.
“the coupling hole formed at the one of flanges.” recited in claim 12 should be changed to “the coupling hole formed at the one of the flanges.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200278012 A1 ("Holm").
Claim 1: Holm teaches a return tube comprising: a first member (510) comprising a first body portion (Fig. 5); and a second member (520) comprising a second body portion (Fig. 5), wherein: the first body portion and the second body portion are formed symmetrically to each other and coupled to each other to form a path for circulating balls (Figs. 4 and 5; para. 45, lines 35-39), a first end (410) of the first and second body portions is coupled to a first hole (116) of a ball nut (111) and a second end (420) of the first and second body portions is coupled to a second hole (117) of the ball nut to circulate the balls in association with the ball nut (Figs. 2 and 4; para. 43, lines 3-10), flanges (440) are formed at each of the first and second body portions to be coupled to each other and protrude from outer surfaces of the first and second body portions (Fig. 4; para. 45, lines 11-16), and a coupling hole (534) is formed at one of the flanges and a coupling protrusion (532) protrudes from an other of the flanges facing the one of the flanges at which the coupling protrusion is formed and is inserted in the coupling hole formed at the one of the flanges (Figs. 4 and 5; para. 45, lines 19-25).
Claim 2: Holm teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Holm further teaches the return tube, wherein the flanges (440) include two or more flanges formed at each of the first and second body portions (Fig. 4).
Claim 3: Holm teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Holm further teaches the return tube, wherein the flanges (440) include an even number of flanges formed at each of the first and second body portions (Fig. 4).
Claim 4: Holm teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Holm further teaches the return tube, wherein the one of the flanges (440) and the other of the flanges facing each other are coupled to be in surface-contact with each other (Figs. 4 and 5).
Claim 5: Holm teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Holm further teaches the return tube, wherein the first and second body portions of the first and second members have coupling surfaces that are in surface-contact with each other to form the path for circulating the balls (Figs. 4 and 5; para. 44, lines 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200278012 A1 ("Holm") in view of US 20170349205 A1 ("Kaneko").
Claim 6: Holm teaches the limitations of claim 5 as noted above. Holm does not teach the return tube, wherein an elastic material in a state of being elastically compressed is disposed between the coupling surfaces of the first and second body portions
However, Kaneko teaches the return tube, wherein an elastic material in a state of being elastically compressed is disposed between the coupling surfaces of the first and second body portions (para. 28, lines 1-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Holm with the features of Kaneko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Kaneko teaches “an elastic member that is located at each of axially opposite sides of the bearing, and two walls that are arranged in the axial direction on an inner circumferential surface of the housing” (para. 28, lines 2-5) and doing so would reduce vibration.
Claim 7: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 6 as noted above. Kaneko further teaches the return tube, wherein the elastic material is integrally formed with one of the coupling surfaces of the first and second body portions (para. 109, lines 3-7).
Claim 8: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 6 as noted above. Holm further teaches the return tube, wherein the material is fixedly coupled or fused to one of the coupling surfaces of the first and second body portions (para. 44, lines 1-9). But does not teach an elastic material.
However, Kaneko teaches the return tube, wherein an elastic material (para. 28, lines 1-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the prior art with the features of Kaneko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Kaneko teaches “an elastic member that is located at each of axially opposite sides of the bearing, and two walls that are arranged in the axial direction on an inner circumferential surface of the housing” (para. 28, lines 2-5) and reduce the vibrations.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200278012 A1 ("Holm") in view of US 20030075878 A1 ("Sehr").
Claim 9: Holm teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Holm does not teach the return tube, wherein the coupling protrusion protruding from the other of the flanges includes: an insertion support portion extending from the other of the flanges and supported on an inner circumferential surface of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges; and an outer support portion extending from the insertion support portion, having an outer diameter larger than an inner diameter of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges, and protruding outward of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges to be supported on an outer surface of the one of the flanges having the coupling hole.
However, Sehr teaches the return tube, wherein the coupling protrusion (coupling protrusion) protruding from the other of the flanges includes: an insertion support portion (insert support) extending from the other of the flanges and supported on an inner circumferential surface of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges (Annotated Fig. 2 below); and an outer support portion (outer support) extending from the insertion support portion, having an outer diameter larger than an inner diameter of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges, and protruding outward of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges to be supported on an outer surface of the one of the flanges having the coupling hole (Annotated Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Holm with the features of Sehr. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Sehr teaches “sealing elements, serve in particular on motor vehicles for sealing, damping, gap-filling and similar” (Abstract)
Annotated Figure. 2
Claim 10: The cited prior art teaches the limitations of claim 9 as noted above. Sehr further teaches the return tube, wherein the coupling protrusion has a cutout portion (cutout) at a center of the insertion support portion and the outer support portion of the coupling protrusion (Annotated Fig. 2).
Claim 11: The cited prior art teaches the limitations of claim 10 as noted above. Sehr further teaches the return tube, wherein a connecting rib (connecting rib) is disposed in the cutout portion of the coupling protrusion protruding from the other of the flanges (Annotated Fig. 2).
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200278012 A1 ("Holm") in view of US 20050252321 A1 ("Hartig").
Claim 12: Holm teaches a return tube comprising: a first member (510) comprising a first body portion (Fig. 5); and a second member (520) comprising a second body portion (Fig. 5), wherein: the first body portion and the second body portion are formed symmetrically to each other and coupled to each other to form a path for circulating balls (Figs. 4 and 5; para. 45, lines 35-39), a first end (410) of the first and second body portions is coupled to a first hole (116) of a ball nut (111) and a second end (420) of the first and second body portions is coupled to [the]a second hole (117) of the ball nut to circulate the balls in association with the ball nut (Figs. 2 and 4; para. 43, lines 3-10), flanges (440) are formed at each of the first and second body portions to be coupled to each other and protrude from outer surfaces of the first and second body portions (Fig. 4; para. 45, lines 11-16), and a coupling hole (534) is formed at one of the flanges and a coupling protrusion (532) protrudes from an other of the flanges facing the one of the flanges at which the coupling protrusion is formed and is inserted in the coupling hole formed at the one of the flanges (Figs. 4 and 5; para. 45, lines 19-25).
Holm however does not teach a fastening protrusion protrudes from one of the first and second body portions and a fastening groove is formed on an other of the first and second body portions such that the fastening protrusion is inserted in the fastening groove. But Hartig in a similar field of art teaches a fastening protrusion (17) protrudes from one of the first and second body portions and a fastening groove (16) is formed on an other of the first (14a) and second (14b) body portions such that the fastening protrusion is inserted in the fastening groove (Fig. 8; para. 45, lines 9-12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Holm with the features of Hartig. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Hartig teaches that “Two halves 14a and 14b are assembled together by placing their one ends adjoining the parting plane T2 behind each other, so that the projections 17 engage the receptions 16” (para. 45, lines 9-12).
Claim 13: The cited prior art teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Hartig further teaches the return tube, wherein the fastening protrusion (17) is formed at an entire edge of the one of the first and second body portions and the fastening groove (16) is formed at an entire edge of the other of the first and second body portions (Fig. 8).
Claim 14: The cited prior art teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Hartig further teaches the return tube, wherein the fastening protrusion (17) is formed at a partial area of an edge of the one and the other of the first and second body portions and the fastening groove (16) is formed at a remaining partial area of the edge of the one and the other of the first and second body portions (Fig. 8).
Claim 15: The cited prior art teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Hartig further teaches the return tube, wherein the fastening protrusion (17) and the fastening groove (16) are fitted to each other (Fig. 8; para. 45, lines 9-12).
Claim 16: The cited prior art teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Holm further teaches the return tube, wherein the flanges (440) include two or more flanges formed at each of the first and second body portions (Fig. 4).
Claim 17: The cited prior art teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Holm further teaches the return tube, wherein the flanges (440) include an even number of flanges formed at each of the first and second body portions (Fig. 4).
Claim 18: The cited prior art teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. Holm further teaches the return tube, wherein the one of the flanges (440) and the other of the flanges facing each other are coupled to be in surface-contact with each other (Figs. 4 and 5).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200278012 A1 ("Holm") in view of US 20050252321 A1 ("Hartig") and further in view of US 20030075878 A1 ("Sehr").
Claim 19: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 12 as noted above. The cited prior art does not teach the return tube, wherein the coupling protrusion protruding from the other of the flanges includes: an insertion support portion extending from the other of the flanges and supported on an inner circumferential surface of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges; and an outer support portion extending from the insertion support portion, having an outer diameter larger than an inner diameter of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges, and protruding outward of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges to be supported on an outer surface of the one of the flanges having the coupling hole.
However, Sehr teaches the return tube, wherein the coupling protrusion (coupling protrusion) protruding from the other of the flanges includes: an insertion support portion (insert support) extending from the other of the flanges and supported on an inner circumferential surface of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges (Annotated Fig. 2 below); and an outer support portion (outer support) extending from the insertion support portion, having an outer diameter larger than an inner diameter of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges, and protruding outward of the coupling hole of the one of the flanges to be supported on an outer surface of the one of the flanges having the coupling hole (Annotated Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the cited prior art with the features of Sehr. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Sehr teaches “sealing elements, serve in particular on motor vehicles for sealing, damping, gap-filling and similar” (Abstract)
Claim 20: The cited prior art teaches the limitations of claim 19 as noted above. Sehr further the return tube, wherein the coupling protrusion has a cutout portion (cutout) at a center of the insertion support portion and the outer support portion (Annotated Fig. 2).
Conclusion
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/MINNAH L SEOH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3618