DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed 5-14-26.
Claims 45-59 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 45-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “having complementarity” recited in lines 4-5 of claim 45 is vague and unclear. This phrase appears to encompass partial and full complementarity.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 45, 48-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avino et al (J. Nucleic Acids, Vol. 2011, Article IC586935, pages 1-7 (2011)), Agrawal et al (USPN 6,489,464) and Kokoris et al (US 2017/0037456), the combination in view of and Prakash et al (WO 2014/205451), Brown et al (US 2015/0184160) and McSwiggen et al (US 2007/0004664).
The claims are drawn to compositions comprising a dibranched oligonucleotide comprising two siRNA molecules covalently bound to one another by way of a linker wherein each siRNA comprises an antisense having complementarity to a target gene and a sense strand having complementarity to the antisense strand, 80-100% of the nucleotides in each siRNA are chemically modified and each antisense and sense strand are from 15-30 nucleotides in length or wherein the 5’ end of each antisense strand optionally comprises an E vinylphosphonate terminal group, or wherein the nucleotides of each antisense and sense strand consist of chemically modified nucleotides selected from 2’-methoxy and 2’-fluoro ribonucleotides which are optionally alternating, or which siRNA optionally comprises an unpaired overhang of at least 2-5 nucleotides optionally connected via phosphorothioate linkages.
Avino et al (J. Nucleic Acids, Vol. 2011, Article IC586935, pages 1-7 (2011)), Agrawal et al (USPN 6,489,464) and Kokoris et al (US 2017/0037456), the combination in view of and Prakash et al (WO 2014/205451) and McSwiggen et al (US 2007/0004664).
Avino et al (J. Nucleic Acids, Vol. 2011, Article IC586935 (2011)) (See IDS filed 4-10-24) teach branched siRNA for enhancing potency of siRNA target gene silencing, which branched RNA are linked via their 5’ or 3’ termini via phosphate and other chemical linkers, and optionally comprise sugar and backbone modifications for enhancing target binding, cellular uptake and stability (see esp. the abstract and introduction, pages 1-2, Figure 1, page 2, Figure 2, page 3, Figure 6 on page 5, and Table 1 on page 6, conclusion on page 6).
Agrawal et al (USPN 6,489,464) teach branched oligonucleotides linked via their 3’ or 5’ termini, which oligonucleotides are therapeutic nucleic acids targeting viral target genes (see esp. col. 1-4, Table 1, col. 8-9).
Kokoris et al (US 2017/0037456) teach branched oligonucleotides for generating multiplexes for enhancing targeting of complementary sequences, which branched oligonucleotides optionally are linked via polyethylene glycol linkers and comprise 10-100 nucleobases (see esp. col. 2-3, 5-8, ¶ 0099, col. 9, page 13, Figures 1-3, 7-13, claims 1, 2, 8-11).
The primary references do not teach the modification patterns or E-vinylphosphonate modifications of siRNA termini as instantly claimed.
Prakash et al (WO 2014/205451) teach oligomeric conjugates comprising double stranded nucleic acids optionally comprising RNA, DNA, and/or various constellations of modifications thereof, which modifications optionally comprise 2’-O-methyl or 2’-fluoro substituents, the incorporation of cell targeting moieties including to the liver, hydrophobic moieties, and terminal phosphorothioates. Prakash teaches the targeting of mRNA in neuronal cells. Prakash also teaches linkers and terminal phosphate groups. Prakash teaches the incorporation of 5’ and/or 3’ phosphorothioate overhangs and the effects of incorporating these differently modified groups on target binding and stability of the double stranded nucleic acids. Prakash teaches E-vinylphosphonate modifications of siRNA termini (Example 5) (see esp. the abstract, pp. 1-8, embodiment 40, pp 15-20, 52, claims 1-93, 111).
Brown et al (US 2015/0184160) teach oligonucleotides with alternating 2’-methoxy and 2’-fluoro modifications (see esp. para [0424].
McSwiggen et al (US 2007/0004664) teach the incorporation of numerous modifications and the conjugation of various linkers onto double stranded nucleic acid molecules, and the effects of these modifications on siRNA targeting, stability, uptake and target gene inhibition (see esp. the abstract, pages 6-18, Figures 3-77).
It would have been obvious to design and generate the branched constructs as instantly claimed because the branching of oligonucleotides, both single stranded and double stranded, were well known in the art at the time of filing, relying on the teachings of Avino, Agrawal, Prakash and Kokoris. One would have been motivated to design such multiplex compounds for enhancing the binding, detection and/or inhibition of expression of target molecules, including neuronal target molecules, by using multiple oligonucleotides targeting the same molecule. One would have been motivated to incorporate the modifications instantly claimed, including 2’-O-methyl and 2’-fluoro groups, phosphorothioates because these modifications were well known in the art to enhance the stability, binding and uptake of siRNA, as taught previously by Brown, McSwiggen and Prakash. One of skill in the art would have reasonably expected that such multiplexed, branched oligonucleotides have increased stability and binding capacities compared to non-modified entities. The techniques to generate and optimize the modified compounds as instantly claimed would have involved routine experimentation, as disclosed by Avino, McSwiggen, Agrawal, Kokoris, Brown, and Prakash.
For these reasons, the instant invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 45-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20, 22, 23 of U.S. Patent No. 10,478,503. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a branched oligonucleotide compound comprising two siRNA molecules covalently bound to one another by way of a linker, wherein (a) each siRNA molecule comprises an antisense strand having complementarity to a target gene and a sense strand having complementarity to the antisense strand; (b) from 80% to 100% of the nucleotides in each siRNA molecule are chemically modified; and (c) each antisense strand and each sense strand are, independently, from 15 to 30 nucleotides in length, wherein the 5' end of each antisense strand, independently, comprises a terminal group represented by a formula selected from (Xl) - (X8).
Conclusion
Certain papers related to this application may be submitted to Art Unit 1637 by facsimile transmission. The faxing of such papers must conform with the notices published in the Official Gazette, 1156 OG 61 (November 16, 1993) and 1157 OG 94 (December 28, 1993) (see 37 C.F.R. ' 1.6(d)). The official fax telephone number for the Group is 571-273-8300. NOTE: If Applicant does submit a paper by fax, the original signed copy should be retained by applicant or applicant's representative. NO DUPLICATE COPIES SHOULD BE SUBMITTED so as to avoid the processing of duplicate papers in the Office.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jane Zara whose telephone number is (571) 272-0765. The examiner’s office hours are generally Monday-Friday, 10:30am - 7pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jennifer Dunston, can be reached on (571)-272-2916. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 308-0196.
Jane Zara
8-25-26
/JANE J ZARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637