DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shanghai Huafon CN 217167057. Shanghai Huafon teaches at Example 5, a 6000 series AA core, a 1000 series AA intermediate layer, and a AA 4045 filler alloy layer in this order, wherein the AA 4045 filler alloy layer is further coated with “nickel oxide”/”cobalt oxide” layer by ion beam deposition at 18 nm followed by nickel metal layer deposition. The intermediate layer thickness is 5 % of the total thickness, and the combined thickness of the filler alloy layer and oxide/metal layer is 2 % of the total thickness.
Regarding Claim 1, Shanghai Huafon does not teach that the intermediate layer serves as diffusion buffer or that the AA4045 layer is meltable as claimed. However, it would be expected that these layers in Shanghai Huafon have these inherent characteristics or substantially have these inherent characteristics because applicant has identified 1000-series AA alloys as suitable diffusion buffer materials and aluminum-silicon alloys as suitable meltable metallic layer materials and AA4045 is an aluminum-silicon alloy (Ex. 5: “Si is main alloy element”).
Regarding Claim 6, Shanghai Huafon teaches that there is oxide/metal layer which is present to promote fluxless brazing (page 1) which can be considered as a brazing promoting layer. It would be expected that the presence of the nickel can enhance eutectic formation with suitably chosen brazing material for which nickel can form eutectic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanghai Huafon CN 217167057. Shanghai Huafon is relied upon as set forth above in the section 102/103 rejection over Shanghai Huafon. Regarding Claims 3/8 and 5/10, Shanghai Huafon teaches formation by rolling (Ex. 5: section (1)). Regarding Claims 3/8 and 5/10, Shanghai Huafon may not teach the claimed thickness, but teaches the overall thickness can be in the range of 0.4 to 6.0 mm (top of page 3). In view of the thickness percentage of the respective intermediate layer which is identified with the claimed diffusion buffer layer being 5 % of the total thickness and of the AA4045 layer which is identified with the claimed meltable metallic layer being less than 2 % of the total thickness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to prepare composites with any of the suggested thicknesses. Thus, for example were the total thickness to be 0.4 mm, the intermediate layer (Claims 3/8) in Shanghai Huafon would necessarily be less than 1 mm thickness and the AA4045 layer (at less than 2%) (Claims 5/10) would necessarily be less than 0.3 mm since 2% of 0.4 mm is much less than 0.3 mm.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 11-13, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest the subject matter of these claims. Particularly, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest a brazing promotion layer formed of alloy of Ni, Cu, and Zn, in the claimed context. For example, Shanghai Huafon CN 217167057, as discussed above, refers to metal layer of Ni (Ex. 5 and elsewhere), but does not teach or suggest alloy layer of Ni, Cu, and Zn. See Shanghai Huafon (entire document). Wittebrood USPA 2002/0086179, for example, which arguably could be used to substitute for the plating layer in Shanghai Huafon, teaches Zn layer/Ni layer laminate to facilitate brazing (paragraphs 10 and 18), which omits necessary Cu and does not constitute an alloy layer. See Wittebrood (entire document).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E. LA VILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784
12 December 2025