DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the amendment filed on 14 April 2026, having claims 1-20.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, filed 14 April 2026, with respect to the have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Hu et al. (US 2023/0038033 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915 A1) in view of Hu et al. (US 2023/0038033 A1) hereinafter “Hu-033.”
For claims 1 and 13, Kim discloses an apparatus (Fig 4, AP MLD 410 or Fig 2, AP STA 210), comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly (Fig 2, transceiver 240); and a processor (Fig 2, processor 220) coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising:
transmitting, via the transceiver, a traffic identifier (TID)-based trigger frame to one or more stations (STAs) ([0180] AP MLD transmits a request frame (trigger frame) to a non-AP MLD (STA)); and
receiving, via the transceiver, a trigger-based (TB) uplink (UL) transmission from at least a first STA of the one or more STAs responsive to transmitting the TID-based trigger frame ([0180] the non-AP MLD (STA) transmits a response frame to the AP MLD),
wherein the receiving of the TB UL transmission comprises receiving a first type of traffic corresponding to a first TID indicated by first TID information that is associated with the first STA and included in the TID-based trigger frame ([0180] the response frame comprises a mapping of a first TID to a first link between a first STA and the AP MLD).
For claims 1 and 13, Kim does not expressly disclose the TID-based trigger frame comprises a user information field associated with the first STA, wherein the user information field comprises first TID information that is associated with the first STA and that requests the first STA to transmit a first type of traffic corresponding to a first TID indicated by the first TID information.
Hu-033, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the TID-based trigger frame (Fig 4, trigger frame 400) comprises a user information field (Fig 4, User info list field 412) associated with the first STA, wherein the user information field comprises first TID information that is associated with the first STA and that requests the first STA to transmit a first type of traffic corresponding to a first TID indicated by the first TID information ([0113] the user info field comprises a TID bitmap field 432 which requests that a first STA transmits buffer status data (type of traffic). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a user information field to the trigger frame of Kim to request a STA to send a specific type of traffic data based on the teachings of Hu-033 at the time of the invention.
For claims 2 and 14, Kim discloses the transmitting of the TID-based trigger frame comprises generating the TID-based trigger frame using a TID-based UL trigger frame generator (Fig 26, processor 2631 is a frame generator).
For claims 3, 11, and 15, Kim discloses the TID-based trigger frame further comprises second TID information associated with a second STA of the one or more STAs, and wherein the second TID information indicates a second TID ([0188] the first TID is mapped to a first type of traffic on the first link for the first STA, and the second TID is mapped to a second type of traffic on the second link for the second STA).
For claims 4 and 16, Kim discloses the receiving of the TB UL transmission further comprises receiving a second type of traffic corresponding to the second TID and from the second STA ([0188] the first TID is mapped to a first type of traffic on the first link for the first STA, and the second TID is mapped to a second type of traffic on the second link for the second STA).
For claim 9, Kim discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a processor (Fig 26, processor 2631) of an apparatus (Fig 2, STA 260 or Fig 4, STA MLD 420) implemented in a first station (STA) (Fig 2, STA 260), a traffic identifier (TID)-based trigger frame ([0180] AP MLD transmits a request frame (trigger frame) to a non-AP MLD (STA)); and
performing, by the processor (Fig 2, processor 270), a trigger-based (TB) uplink (UL) transmission responsive to receiving the TID-based trigger frame ([0180] the non-AP MLD (STA) transmits a response frame to the AP MLD),
wherein the performing of the TB UL transmission comprises transmitting a first type of traffic corresponding to a first TID indicated by first TID information that is associated with the first STA and included in the TID-based trigger frame ([0180] the response frame comprises a mapping of a first TID to a first link between a first STA and the AP MLD).
For claim 9, Kim does not expressly disclose the TID-based trigger frame comprises a user information field associated with the first STA, wherein the user information field comprises first TID information that is associated with the first STA and that requests the first STA to transmit a first type of traffic corresponding to a first TID indicated by the first TID information.
Hu-033, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the TID-based trigger frame (Fig 4, trigger frame 400) comprises a user information field (Fig 4, User info list field 412) associated with the first STA, wherein the user information field comprises first TID information that is associated with the first STA and that requests the first STA to transmit a first type of traffic corresponding to a first TID indicated by the first TID information ([0113] the user info field comprises a TID bitmap field 432 which requests that a first STA transmits buffer status data (type of traffic). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a user information field to the trigger frame of Kim to request a STA to send a specific type of traffic data based on the teachings of Hu-033 at the time of the invention.
For claim 10, Kim discloses the receiving of the TID-based trigger frame comprises handling the TID-based trigger frame using a TID-based UL trigger frame handler (Fig 26, processor 2631 is a frame handler).
5. Claims 5-7 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915 A1) in view of Hu et al. (US 2023/0038033 A1) hereinafter “Hu-033,” and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2023/0025546 A1).
For claims 5 and 17, Kim and Hu-033 do not expressly disclose the one or more STAs further comprise a third STA that does not support the TID-based trigger frame, and wherein the TID- based trigger frame further comprises pertinent information for the third STA.
Hu, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a frame generated by one of the stations comprises a TID subfield which may have a value of 0 or 1 which indicates whether the frame is a TID TB frame. When the frame is not a TID frame, it may be an AC-BE, AC-VI, or AC-VO frame indicating a different traffic category [0099]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to configure a third STA in the modified system of Kim and Hu-033 to generate an AC frame based on the teachings of Hu at the time of the invention.
For claims 6-7 and 18-19, Kim and Hu-033 do not expressly disclose the receiving of the TB UL transmission further comprises receiving a third type of traffic corresponding to the AC information and from the third STA, and wherein the third type of traffic corresponds to a third TID that is associated with the AC information.
Hu, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a frame generated by one of the stations comprises a TID subfield which may have a value of 0 or 1 which indicates whether the frame is a TID TB frame. When the frame is not a TID frame, it may be an AC-BE, AC-VI, or AC-VO frame indicating a different traffic category [0099]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to configure a third STA in the communication network of Kim to generate an AC frame based on the teachings of Hu at the time of the invention.
6. Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915 A1) in view of Hu et al. (US 2023/0038033 A1) hereinafter “Hu-033,” and further in view of Ko et al. (US 2023/0140556 A1).
For claims 8 and 20, Kim and Hu-033 do not expressly disclose the receiving of the TB UL transmission comprises receiving a high-efficiency (HE) or extremely-high-throughput (EHT) TB transmission.
Ko, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches receiving a high-efficiency (HE) or extremely-high-throughput (EHT) TB transmission ([0185], lines 1-5, where the stations transmit a trigger-based (TB) uplink transmission to the AP, wherein the transmission is an EHT TB PPDU). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art in the art to implement Ko’s transmission method in the modified system of Kim and Hu-033 at the time of the invention.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471