DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 12/26/23 and 10/8/24 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando (US 2022/0320626) in view of Nagai et al. (US 2022/0271386).
Regarding claim 1, Ando teaches a battery module comprising:
a battery stack, or cell unit (30), in which a plurality of battery cells (50) are stacked (Figures 10-12, [0096]);
a pair of plate-shaped members, or walls of the casing (41), provided at both ends of the stack (30a) in a stacking direction (Figure 12);
a cushioning material, or multilayer sheet (1), disposed between two of the plurality cells (50) (Figure 12);
the cushioning material (1) comprising a pair of first elastic members, or heat conductive sheets (11) having bending (i.e. elastic) properties, arranged on both outer sides in the stacking direction and a second elastic member, or rubber sheet (13), disposed between the pair of first elastic members (Figure 3, [0062], [0066]).
Further regarding claim 1, Ando teaches that the second elastic member is a cushioning material ([0066]) but is silent on a spring constant of the member.
Nagai teaches a battery module comprising a battery cell stack (1) having a plurality of stacked battery cells (14) with a cushioning material, or spacer (20), provided between the plurality of cells (Figure 1). Nagai further teaches that the spring constant of the spacer (20) is 0.03 MPa/mm to 5.4 MPa/mm, and that the spring constant of the spacer is result effective for suppression of a decrease in capacity of the batteries due to repeated charging and discharging and suppression of discharge of electrolyte ([0048]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to form the second elastic member of Ando with a spring constant of 0.03 MPa/mm to 5.4 MPa/mm, and to further optimize the spring constant of the material such as taught by Nagai in order to effectively suppress undesired consequences of the battery use. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05 II A
Regarding claims 2-3, Ando teaches that the second elastic member, or rubber sheet (13), is sponge-like, i.e. porous ([0067]).
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (US 2022/0320665) in view of Nagai.
The teachings of Nagai as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama teaches a battery module, or power storage module (100), comprising:
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells, or power storage cells (101), are stacked (Figure 2);
a pair of plate-shaped members, or insulating sheets (300), provided at both ends of the battery cell stack in the stacking direction (Figure 2);
a cushioning material, or restriction unit (500), disposed between the plurality of battery cells (101) (Figure 2);
the cushioning material comprising a pair of first elastic members, or flat plates (510) which may deform by application of a load, i.e. are elastic ([0052]), and a second elastic member, or filled materials (530, 531), disposed between the first elastic members (Figure 5, [0073]).
Further regarding claim 1, Nakayama teaches that the second elastic member is a cushioning material that deforms ([0060], [0073]), but is silent on the spring constant of the second elastic member.
Nagai teaches a battery module comprising a battery cell stack (1) having a plurality of stacked battery cells (14) with a cushioning material, or spacer (20), provided between the plurality of cells (Figure 1). Nagai further teaches that the spring constant of the spacer (20) is 0.03 MPa/mm to 5.4 MPa/mm, and that the spring constant of the spacer is result effective for suppression of a decrease in capacity of the batteries due to repeated charging and discharging and suppression of discharge of electrolyte ([0048]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to form the second elastic member of Nakayama with a spring constant of 0.03 MPa/mm to 5.4 MPa/mm, and to further optimize the spring constant of the material such as taught by Nagai in order to effectively suppress undesired consequences of the battery use. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05 II A
Regarding claims 4-5, the second elastic member of Nakayama comprises a corrugated plate (530) which is a wave-shaped leaf spring (Figures 4-5).
As for claim 6, the second elastic member of Nakayama comprises a resin (531) ([0073]).
With regard to claim 7, Nakayama teaches that the cells may be solid-state batteries ([0082]).
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729