DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “111”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0143493). Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a coaxial connector assembly comprising: a coaxial connector (1) having an upper mating cavity (110’), a lower mating cavity (14’), and a center pin (Paragraph 0029) with a lower pin end (Paragraph 0029) extending in the lower mating cavity; and a coaxial socket (4’) adapted for being received in the lower mating cavity of the coaxial connector, comprising: an insulating base (40’) having a mating face (top face of 4’) and a mating hole (41’) through the mating face and defining a central axis (Fig. 12); and a terminal (2’, 3’) retained in the insulating base and comprising a plurality of elastic arms (203”, 301’) with contacting portions (distal ends of 203”, 301’) extending into the mating hole for contacting with the lower pin end of the center pin, at least one of the contacting portions of the terminal being located nearer to the mating face than other contacting portions of the terminal.
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses the coaxial connector comprising an insulating case (1), a shielding tube (4’) retained in the insulating case, and an insulating base (40’) with the center pin retained therein, the insulating base comprises a first base (40’) retained in the shielding tube and a second base (top part of 4’) around an outside of the shielding tube, and the second base is fitly retained in the insulating case.
Regarding Claim 3, Chen discloses the second base being formed by insulating material (forming 41’) overflowing through plural holes (41’) defined on the shielding tube.
Regarding Claim 4, Chen discloses the upper mating cavity being defined by the first base of the insulating base, and the second mating cavity is defined by the shielding tube (Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen discloses the insulating case further defining an outer upper mating cavity (14’) around the shielding tube.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen discloses, wherein viewed from the mating face in the central axis, adjacent contacting portions partially overlap with each other (Fig. 15).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen discloses each of the contacting portions defining a pair of shoulder portions (Fig. 14) at opposite sides thereof, and the shoulder portions of adjacent contacting portions partially overlap with each other.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen discloses the terminal comprising a base portion (2042’), a plurality of upright portions (203’) extending upward from the base portion, and a plurality of elastic arms (203”, 301’) folded slantwise from the upright portions.
Regarding Claim 9, Chen discloses the plurality of elastic arms comprising a pair of first elastic arms (3011’) opposite to each other and a pair second elastic arms (3012’) opposite to each other, and the contacting portions of the first elastic arms are located nearer to the mating face than the contacting portions of the second elastic arms.
Regarding Claim 10, Chen discloses a coaxial socket (4’) comprising: an insulating tube comprising a tube wall defining a mating face (top face of 4’) and a mating hole (41’) surrounding by the tube wall through the mating face; and a terminal (2’, 3’) retained in the tube wall and comprising a plurality of elastic arms (203”, 301’) disposed around a central axis (Fig. 12) of the mating hole in a circumferential direction, each elastic arm defining a contacting portion (distal ends of 203", 301') bending towards the central axis of the mating hole; wherein at least one contacting portion is located nearer to the mating face than adjacent contacting portions.
Regarding Claim 11, Chen discloses, wherein viewed from the mating face in the central axis of the mating hole, adjacent contacting portions partially overlap with each other (Fig. 15).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen discloses the plurality of elastic arms being comprised of a pair of first elastic arms (3011’) opposite to each other and a pair of second elastic arms (3012’) opposite to each other, the contacting portions of the first elastic arms are located nearer to the mating face than the contacting portions of the second elastic arms.
Regarding Claim 13, Chen discloses each of the contacting portions defining a pair of shoulder portions (Fig. 14) at opposite sides thereof, and adjacent shoulder portions partially overlap with each other.
Regarding Claim 14, Chen discloses the terminal comprising a base portion 2042’ and a plurality of upright portions (203’) extending upward from a circumferential edge of the base portion, and the elastic arms slantwise extend inward and downward from corresponding upright portions.
Regarding Claim 15, Chen discloses a plurality of soldering portions (2041’) extending downward from the circumferential edge of the base portion and are located between two adjacent upright portions.
Regarding Claim 16, Chen discloses a plurality of retained portions (2042’) bend upwards from corresponding soldering portions and are retained in the tube wall.
Regarding Claim 17, Chen discloses an elastic member (3) having a plurality of retained arms (203’) retained in the tube wall, a plurality of third elastic arms (2042’) slant outwards, and a plurality of soldering portions (2041’) extending downwards.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses coaxial connector assemblies, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having coaxial connectors, coaxial sockets and terminal with elastic arms.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833