Remarks
This Office Action fully acknowledges Applicant’s remarks filed on July 30th, 2026. Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, in the reply filed on July 30th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation in claim 1 to “…at the other side…” lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. Does Applicant intend to recite “another side”? Clarification is required as to the particular sides of the piezoelectric substrate sought herein.
With regard to claim 3, the recitation “…is present in a teat target material…” is not clearly understood. This terminology is not standard in the art and the specification does not provide particular, further guidance thereto. Does this speak to an intended use with regard to a prospective sample source coming from a teat as in a mammary gland? Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being unpatentable over WO2010/073484 (seen through attached ESPACENET English Translation and the concordant discussion found in the filed “communication of office action of Korean Patent Application No. 10-2022-0185693, issued on June 27, 2024, which corresponds to this application”), hereafter “WO210”, in view of Baer et al. (USPN 5,283,037), hereafter Baer.
With regard to claim 1, WO2010 discloses a low mass antigen detecting device for detecting a low mass antigen through a sensor, wherein the sensor comprises a piezoelectric substrate (12y; pars.[0001,0015-0017,0032,0039], fig. 8, for example), a sensing layer coupled to one surface of the piezoelectric substrate and comprising at least one antibody-BSA (pars.[0001,0015-0017,0032,0039], fig. 8, for example). WO2010 further discloses an input IDT electrode disposed at one side of the piezoelectric substrate to apply an input frequency provided as a sweep frequency, and an output IDT electrode disposed at the other side of the piezo-electric substrate to output an output frequency (transmitting IDT 14a as ‘inpu’ and receiving IDT 14b as ‘output’; pars.[0001,0015-0017,0032,0039], fig. 8, for example). With regard to claim 3, the recitation is drawn to a process recitation not afforded patentable weight in a device claim; the provision of such reagent’s applying is drawn to a prospective process application not afforded patentable weight to the present device claims (this is also seen through the applied prior art of WO2010/Baer as it pertains to the sample provided to the sensor whose antibody is to be assessed for binding therewith the antigen-BSA). With regard to claim 4, the recitation is drawn to a process recitation not afforded patentable weight in a device claim; further, as the prior art of WO2010 provides a likewise structured and arranged output IDT it is said to be fully capable of such functionality in as much as recited and required herein. With regard to claim 5, the recitation is drawn to a conditional process recitation not afforded patentable weight in the present device claims; and given commensurate device as recited in claim 1 (as modified below), such device is said to be fully capable of a functionality thereto in as much as claimed and required herein.
With regard to claim 1, WO2010 discloses utilizing an antibody-BSA so as to detect for a target antigen, but does not specifically disclose an antigen-BSA.
Baer discloses a chemical sensor utilizing a surface transverse wave device (abstract). Baer discloses a piezoelectric substrate 11 with an input IDT 12 and output IDT 13, and discloses that conversely, the antigen can be bound to the surface so that the sensor is chemically specific for the corresponding antibodies (lines 46-51, col. 8; cols. 9&10, figures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify WO2010 so as to provide at least one antigen-BSA to the sensing layer such as suggested by the analogous prior art of Baer to a chemical sensor utilizing a surface transverse wave device in which it is provided that utilizing antigen-BSA provides an obvious and analogous approach in which it is desired to detect corresponding antibodies, and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2010 in view of Baer as applied to claims 1 and 3-5 above, and further in view of Thaysen et al. (US 2003/0089182), hereafter Thaysen.
WO2010 and Baer does not specifically disclose the sensing layer comprises a plurality of antigen-BSA different from each other.
Thaysen discloses a flexible structure with an integrated sensor/actuator in which detection of multiple disease-associated genes is accomplished. Thaysen discloses that screening for specific genes can be expanded to the detection of different antibodies in which the micro-cantilevers are coated with different antigens which allow for screening of different antibodies in a blood sample (abstract; par.[0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify WO2010/Baer to utilize a plurality of antigen-BSA different from each other such as suggested by the analogous art of Thaysen to a micro-cantilever sensor for screening for different antibodies in a biological sample provided by way a plurality of antigen-BSA different from each other that affords more dynamic sensing capabilities in assessing in a multiplexed fashion, and detecting multiple antibodies in a singular assay.
Conclusion
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798