Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/27/2026 with respect to the 102 rejections of independent claims 1 and 11, specifically the argument on pages 15-17 of the Remarks regarding Vollbracht teaching multiple transmit antennas transmitting concurrently, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/27/2026 with respect to the 102 rejection of independent claim 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for the USC § 103 rejection of claim 20, Applicant argues on pgs. 18-19 of the Remarks,
“In contrast, according to the following cited contents of Vollbracht, as shown below, Vollbracht merely discloses various antenna spacings expressed as fractions or multiples of a wavelength, without any teaching that one spacing is twice or half of another spacing. As described in paragraph [0156] of Vollbracht, merely a frequency gap, not a spacing, is located. As described in paragraph [0179] of Vollbracht, the second transmit antennas have a first transmit distance 271 and a second transmit distance 272, where the first transmit distance may amount to half a wavelength and the second transmit distance may amount to one wavelength. These distances are merely relative to the wavelength and are not described as having a defined relationship to any receive antenna spacing. Similarly, as described in paragraph [0180] of Vollbracht, the second receive antennas have multiple receive distances: 0.7 times the wavelength, 1.5 times the wavelength, and 3.5 times the wavelength. These receive distances are also not the relationship that limits a transmit antenna spacing to be twice or half of a receive antenna spacing, or vice versa.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Vollbracht Fig. 13 and paragraph 0179 disclose
“The second transmit antennas 221 that are coupled to the common transmit ports 130, 131, 133 have a first transmit distance 271 between a first one and a second one of the second receive antennas 221 and a second transmit distance 272 between the second one and a third one of the second transmit antennas 221. The first transmit distance 271 may, for example, amount to half a wavelength at a selected frequency and the second transmit distance 272 may amount to the wavelength at the selected frequency. The selected frequency may lie within the second frequency band 34 and may amount to the center frequency of the second frequency band 34, for example.” (emphasis added)
The distance between antennas is dependent on the wavelength of a frequency. The same frequency is universal to the antennas in a group, for example the antennas that make up 221. Vollbracht discloses that the spacings between antennas can be a full wavelength, or half a wavelength. Vollbracht reads on claim 20 as written, where the antenna spacings are half a spacing length compared to each other, or double a spacing length compared to each other. The fact that the cited section of Vollbracht relies on frequency to determine the antenna spacing is irrelevant because the section reads on the claim language as written.
Applicant further argues on pg. 20 of the Remarks,
“Furthermore, as described in FIG. 21 and the corresponding paragraph of Vollbracht, merely two antennas 211 and 221, respectively, coupled to the transmit signal ports (i.e., two transmit antennas), have a separated distance in one direction, which is twice their separated distance in another direction. These distances are also not the relationship that limits a transmit antenna spacing to be twice or half of a receive antenna spacing, or vice versa. ”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The antennas being shifted in a second direction, x-axis direction 201 as seen in Vollbracht Fig. 21, is irrelevant to the distance between antennas 306, which is in the y-axis direction 202. Examiner points directly to the distances 306 in Figure 21, reproduced below with annotations. The left circle represents a first antenna spacing distance. The right circle shows a second antenna spacing distance. The boxed section shows distances 306, showing that the second antenna spacing distance is double the first antenna spacing distance.
For at least these reasons, Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains previous rejections corresponding to the USC § 103 rejection. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Vollbracht et al. (US 20210239822 A1) discloses each and every limitation of independent claim 20 based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vollbracht et al. (US 20210239822 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Vollbracht discloses
A radar apparatus (see Fig. 1, example of a radar device), comprising:
a transmitting circuit (see pg. 3, paragraph 0025, “The radar circuit may be configured as a transceiver comprising a transmitter”), configured to generate a transmission signal (see Fig. 2, transmission signals) based on a detection signal, wherein the detection signal has periodic changes (see Fig. 3, periodic radar signal);
a plurality of transmitting antennas, configured to transmit the transmission signal (see Fig. 17, antennas 221 and 211);
a plurality of receiving antennas, configured to receive a reflected signal, wherein the reflected signal is generated by the transmission signal being reflected by an external object (see Fig. 17, antennas 221 and 211; pg. 4, paragraph 0038, the device can receive “electromagnetic radiation scattered back by the target object and … [can convert] the received electromagnetic radiation into the antenna signals”);
a receiving circuit, configured to generate an internal signal based on the detection signal and a radio frequency signal (see pg. 3, paragraph 0025, “The radar circuit may be configured as a transceiver comprising a…receiver”; pg. 4, paragraph 0038, the device can receive “electromagnetic radiation scattered back by the target object and … [can convert] the received electromagnetic radiation into the antenna signals”);
a selection controller, coupled to the transmitting circuit, and configured to generate one or more control signals based on a period of the detection signal (see Fig. 6; pg. 13, paragraph 0165, “The signal routing device 230 may also be configured as a switching device like it is shown in an exemplary embodiment in FIG. 6. The switching device 23 is connected via a control line 102 to the signal processing device 120 and receives a switch control signal from the signal processing device 120 via the control line 102”); and
a selection circuit, coupled to the transmitting antennas, the receiving antennas, the transmitting circuit, the receiving circuit, and the selection controller, and configured to select one of the transmitting antennas to transmit the transmission signal and select one of the receiving antennas to receive the reflected signal based on the one or more control signals generated by the selection controller so as to generate the radio frequency signal (see pg. 11, paragraph 0134, “the first transmit radar signal 10 is routed via the first common transmit signal port 130 to the antenna device 200 and the antenna device 200 is configured to selectively transduce the first signal portion 11 of the first transmit radar signal 10 via the first antenna 211 coupled to the first common transmit signal port 130 and to selectively transduce the second signal portion 12 of the first transmit radar signal 10 via the second antenna 221 coupled to the first common transmit signal port 130”; pg. 17, paragraph 0204, “the individual antennas 211, 221 are each coupled to a single signal port 130, 131, 133, 135, 136, 137. The first and second signal portions 11, 12, 16, 17, 21, 22, 26, 27 of the individual radar signals 10, 15, 20, 25 then constitute separate antenna signals representing the radiation fields of the individual antennas 211, 221. The antenna signals are entirely routed as the separate signal portions 11, 12, 16, 17, 21, 22, 26, 27 over a single port 130, 131, 133, 135, 136, 137 of the radar circuit 100”); wherein
the transmitting antennas comprise a first transmitting antenna and a second transmitting antenna; the receiving antennas comprise a first receiving antenna and a second receiving antenna; there is a first spacing between the first transmitting antenna and the second transmitting antenna; there is a second spacing between the first receiving antenna and the second receiving antenna; and the first spacing is twice the second spacing, or the second spacing is twice the first spacing (see, Fig. 21, center antenna phase centers 301 and 302 have distance 306 between them, right most antenna phase centers 301 and 302 have double distance 306 between them; pg. 18, paragraph 0208, each phase center corresponds to a first and second antenna; Fig. 13, spacings 271 and 272; pg. 15, paragraph 0179, the antenna spacings dependent on wavelength, and the spacings can be a full wavelength or half a wavelength).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollbracht et al. (US 20210239822 A1) in view of Wintermantel (US 20110074621 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vollbracht discloses [Note: what Vollbracht fails to disclose is strike-through]
A radar apparatus (see Fig. 1, example of a radar device), comprising:
a transmitting circuit (see pg. 3, paragraph 0025, “The radar circuit may be configured as a transceiver comprising a transmitter”), configured to generate a transmission signal (see Fig. 2, transmission signals) based on a detection signal, wherein the detection signal has periodic changes (see Fig. 3, periodic radar signal);
a plurality of transmitting antennas, configured to transmit the transmission signal (see Fig. 17, antennas 221 and 211);
a plurality of receiving antennas, configured to receive a reflected signal, wherein the reflected signal is generated by the transmission signal being reflected by an external object (see Fig. 17, antennas 221 and 211; pg. 4, paragraph 0038, the device can receive “electromagnetic radiation scattered back by the target object and … [can convert] the received electromagnetic radiation into the antenna signals”);
a receiving circuit, configured to generate an internal signal based on the detection signal and a radio frequency signal (see pg. 3, paragraph 0025, “The radar circuit may be configured as a transceiver comprising a…receiver”; pg. 4, paragraph 0038, the device can receive “electromagnetic radiation scattered back by the target object and … [can convert] the received electromagnetic radiation into the antenna signals”);
a selection controller, coupled to the transmitting circuit, and configured to generate one or more control signals based on a period of the detection signal (see Fig. 6; pg. 13, paragraph 0165, “The signal routing device 230 may also be configured as a switching device like it is shown in an exemplary embodiment in FIG. 6. The switching device 23 is connected via a control line 102 to the signal processing device 120 and receives a switch control signal from the signal processing device 120 via the control line 102”); and
a selection circuit, coupled to the transmitting antennas, the receiving antennas, the transmitting circuit, the receiving circuit, and the selection controller, and configured to select one of the transmitting antennas to transmit the transmission signal and select one of the receiving antennas to receive the reflected signal based on the one or more control signals generated by the selection controller so as to generate the radio frequency signal (see pg. 11, paragraph 0134, “the first transmit radar signal 10 is routed via the first common transmit signal port 130 to the antenna device 200 and the antenna device 200 is configured to selectively transduce the first signal portion 11 of the first transmit radar signal 10 via the first antenna 211 coupled to the first common transmit signal port 130 and to selectively transduce the second signal portion 12 of the first transmit radar signal 10 via the second antenna 221 coupled to the first common transmit signal port 130”; pg. 17, paragraph 0204, “the individual antennas 211, 221 are each coupled to a single signal port 130, 131, 133, 135, 136, 137. The first and second signal portions 11, 12, 16, 17, 21, 22, 26, 27 of the individual radar signals 10, 15, 20, 25 then constitute separate antenna signals representing the radiation fields of the individual antennas 211, 221. The antenna signals are entirely routed as the separate signal portions 11, 12, 16, 17, 21, 22, 26, 27 over a single port 130, 131, 133, 135, 136, 137 of the radar circuit 100”); wherein
within one frame time, a plurality of transmission-reception combinations executed at different times based on the one or more control signals correspond to a plurality of time-division reflected signals (see Fig. 3; pg. 12, paragraph 0156, there can be multiple time-division reflected signals), and phase differences between at least two sets of two adjacent time-division reflected signals in time sequence in the time-division reflected signals are equal (see pg. 15, paragraphs 0179 and 0180, the transmit and receive antennas can have a set distance between the antennas, which leads to equal phase differences of signals), wherein the time-division reflected signals comprise the reflected signal received at different times within the frame time (see pg. 13, paragraph 0165, “the signal switching device 230 conductively couples the first signal port 231 or the second signal port 232 to the common signal line 205”), and
Wintermantel discloses
each of the transmission-reception combinations comprises a combination of only one of the transmitting antennas and only one of the receiving antennas (see pg. 3, paragraph 0059, “in each case one of the two transmitter antennas and one of the 4 receiver antennas can be selected.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Wintermantel into the invention of Vollbracht. Both Vollbracht and Wintermantel are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose multiple transmit antenna and multiple receive antennas for radar detection operations. Vollbracht discloses the structure and time-division time frame operations of claim 1; however, Vollbracht fails to disclose only one transmit antenna and only one receive antenna actively communicating at a time. This feature is disclosed by Wintermantel where only one transmitter antenna and one receiver antenna can be selected to perform signal detection. The combination of Vollbracht and Wintermantel would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce interference by only have one transmit antenna and one receive antenna active at a time, reducing unnecessary noise and improving communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Vollbracht further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the frame time comprises a plurality of transceiving periods; the transceiving periods correspond to the transmission-reception combinations respectively; the transceiving periods correspond to the period of the detection signal; and the selection circuit is configured to, based on the one or more control signals, select only one of the transmitting antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time to transmit the transmission signal and select only one of the receiving antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time to receive the reflected signal (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3; pg. 17, paragraph 0198, there can be multiple transmission periods with multiple signals).
Regarding claim 3, Vollbracht further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the transmitting antennas and the receiving antennas are arranged in a same direction (see Figs. 12 and 13, antennas are arranged in the same direction).
Regarding claim 4, Vollbracht further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the transmitting antennas comprise a first transmitting antenna and a second transmitting antenna; the receiving antennas comprise a first receiving antenna and a second receiving antenna; there is a first spacing between the first transmitting antenna and the second transmitting antenna; there is a second spacing between the first receiving antenna and the second receiving antenna; and the first spacing is twice the second spacing, or the second spacing is twice the first spacing (see, Fig. 21, center antenna phase centers 301 and 302 have distance 306 between them, right most antenna phase centers 301 and 302 have double distance 306 between them; pg. 18, paragraph 0208, each phase center corresponds to a first and second antenna).
Regarding claim 5, Vollbracht further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the first transmitting antenna, the second transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna equivalently generate a first virtual transmitting antenna, a first virtual receiving antenna, a second virtual receiving antenna, a third virtual receiving antenna, and a fourth virtual receiving antenna arranged in the same direction (see pg. 9, paragraph 0090, there can be virtual antennas in the same direction); there is a first virtual spacing between the first virtual receiving antenna and the second virtual receiving antenna; there is a second virtual spacing between the second virtual receiving antenna and the third virtual receiving antenna; there is a third virtual spacing between the third virtual transmitting antenna and the fourth virtual receiving antenna; and the first virtual spacing, the second virtual spacing, and the third virtual spacing are equal (see pg. 9, paragraph 0092, the spacing between virtual antennas can be equal).
Regarding claim 6, Vollbracht further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 5, wherein when the first spacing is twice the second spacing, a ratio of a distance difference between distances at which at least two sets of two adjacent time-division reflected signals in time sequence in the time-division reflected signals arrive at corresponding virtual receiving antennas with respect to the second spacing is sinθ, or when the second spacing is twice the first spacing, a ratio of a distance difference between distances at which at least two sets of two adjacent time-division reflected signals in time sequence in the time-division reflected signals arrive at corresponding virtual receiving antennas with respect to the first spacing is sinθ, wherein θ is an angle of the external object relative to the radar apparatus (see pg. 9, paragraph 0091, the spacing between virtual antennas can be different).
Regarding claim 7, Vollbracht further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the first transmitting antenna, the second transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna are arranged in a row in the same direction in space (see Figs. 11-14, antennas are arranged in rows in the same direction); the frame time comprises a first transceiving period, a second transceiving period, a third transceiving period, and a fourth transceiving period arranged in time sequence (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3; pg. 17, paragraph 0198, there can be multiple transmission periods with multiple signals) and the selection circuit is configured to, based on the one or more control signals, select the first transmitting antenna and the first receiving antenna in the first transceiving period, select the first transmitting antenna and the second receiving antenna in the second transceiving period, select the second transmitting antenna and the first receiving antenna in the third transceiving period, and select the second transmitting antenna and the second receiving antenna in the fourth transceiving period (see pg. 12, paragraph 0147, “The radar device 1 establishes a first propagation channel 70 from the first antenna 211 coupled to the first common transmit signal port 130 to the first antenna 211 coupled to the first common receive signal port 135, a second propagation channel 71 from the second antenna 221 coupled to the first common transmit signal port 130 to the second antenna 221 coupled to the first common receive signal port 135, a third propagation channel 72 from the first antenna 211 coupled to the first common transmit signal port 130 to the first antenna 211 coupled to the second common receive signal port 136, and a fourth propagation 73 channel from the second antenna 221 coupled to the first common transmit signal port 130 to the second antenna 221 coupled to the second common receive signal port 136”).
Regarding claim 8, Vollbracht further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 7, further comprising a computing processor, coupled to the receiving circuit, wherein the receiving circuit generates a first internal signal corresponding to the first transceiving period; the receiving circuit generates a second internal signal corresponding to the second transceiving period; the receiving circuit generates a third internal signal corresponding to the third transceiving period; the receiving circuit generates a fourth internal signal corresponding to the fourth transceiving period; the internal signal comprises the first internal signal, the second internal signal, the third internal signal, and the fourth internal signal; and the computing processor is configured to determine a spatial information of the external object based on the first internal signal, the second internal signal, the third internal signal, and the fourth internal signal (see pg. 4, paragraph 0038, the device can receive “electromagnetic radiation scattered back by the target object and … [can convert] the received electromagnetic radiation into the antenna signals”; Fig. 2 and Fig. 3; pg. 17, paragraph 0198, there can be multiple transmission periods with multiple signals; pg. 4, paragraph 0041, “The radar device may be configured as a continuous wave (CW) radar device and the antenna signals may exhibit a signal modulation that is used for determining the target distance”).
Regarding claim 9, Vollbracht further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the transmitting antennas comprise a first transmitting antenna and a second transmitting antenna; the receiving antennas comprise a first receiving antenna and a second receiving antenna; there is a first spacing between the first transmitting antenna and the second transmitting antenna; there is a second spacing between the first receiving antenna and the second receiving antenna; the first spacing and the second spacing are equal; (see Fig. 21, spacing between the phase centers on the far left and the phase centers in the middle are both distance 306) the first transmitting antenna, the second transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna equivalently generate a first virtual transmitting antenna, a first virtual receiving antenna, a second virtual receiving antenna, and a third virtual receiving antenna arranged in the same direction (see pg. 9, paragraph 0090, there can be virtual antennas in the same direction); there is a first virtual spacing between the first virtual receiving antenna and the second virtual receiving antenna; there is a second virtual spacing between the second virtual receiving antenna and the third virtual receiving antenna; and the first virtual spacing and the second virtual spacing are equal (see pg. 9, paragraph 0092, the spacing between virtual antennas can be equal).
Regarding claim 10, Vollbracht further discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a frequency synthesizer, configured to generate the detection signal, the detection signal being a carrier signal, wherein the selection controller is coupled to the transmitting circuit via the frequency synthesizer; or
a pulse generator, configured to generate the detection signal, the detection signal being a pulse signal, wherein the selection controller is coupled to the transmitting circuit via the pulse generator (see pg. 10, paragraph 0132, “radar circuit 100 comprises a signal generator 105”; pg. 4, paragraph 0042, “The FMCW radar device may employ simultaneous transmit and receive pulse Doppler (STAR PD) signals”; Fig. 1, selection controller 120 connects to signal generator 105).
Regarding claims 11-18, the same cited sections and rationale for claims 1-8 are applied. The only difference between claims 1-8 and claims 11-18 is that claims 1-8 refer to an apparatus while claims 11-18 refer to a method. The examiner considers Vollbracht pg. 10, paragraph 0101 (“The radar device may perform the method according to the present disclosure”) to show that the radar apparatus performs the radar method of claims 11-18.
Regarding claim 19, Vollbracht further discloses
The transceiving method of signals according to claim 11, further comprising:
converting each of the time-division reflected signals into spectrum information, wherein an amplitude of the spectrum information corresponds to a distance information, and a spatial information comprises the distance information (see pg. 5, paragraph 0046, “A propagation delay of the antenna signals between the radar device and the target object and thus the distance to the target object may be determined from a modulation difference, such as a frequency or phase difference, between the antenna signals reflected by the target object and a reference signal provided within the radar device”);
determining the number of one or more external objects based on the spectrum information (see pg. 5, paragraph 0051, “target objects that are located in the radiation field of both the first and second antenna are irradiated over the complete combined frequency band and the complete combined frequency band may be used to determine target properties of those target objects, like, for example, their distance and/or velocity”; pg. 6, paragraph 0056, “The radar device may be used in automotive applications to detect and locate target objects”); and
converting the time-division reflected signals into a spatial spectrum information, wherein a peak in the spatial spectrum information corresponds to an azimuth information, and the spatial information comprises the azimuth information. (see pg. 6, paragraph 0054, the radar antennas can have different azimuth directions to get target information. The antennas can get azimuth information from target signals, such as “the signal processing device may be configured to separately process the individual antenna signals of a multitude of antenna signals to obtain target information that is only accessible to one of the antenna signals”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISABELLA A EDRADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648