DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/03/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-9, 16, and 18 are amended.
Claims 3, 5, and 20
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the
inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his
invention.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim recites the limitations “a first transmitting antenna,” “a first receiving antenna,” “a second transmitting antenna,” and “a second receiving antenna.” It is unclear whether these limitations refer to the first and second transmitting antennas and first and second receiving antennas recited in Claim 16, or to different transmitting and receiving antennas. For examination purposes, the limitations are interpreted as referring to the respective antennas recited in Claim 16.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim recites the limitations “a first transmitting antenna,” “a first receiving antenna,” “a second transmitting antenna,” and “a second receiving antenna.” It is unclear whether these limitations refer to the first and second transmitting antennas and first and second receiving antennas recited in Claim 16, or to different transmitting and receiving antennas. For examination purposes, the limitations are interpreted as referring to the respective antennas recited in Claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a
new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsume (US 2004/0183719) in view of Wintermantel (US 2011/0074621) and Iwasa (US 2022/0003834).
Regarding Claim 1, Natsume teaches:
A radar apparatus ([0004]: “radar device”; [0049]), comprising:
a transmitting circuit, configured to generate a transmission signal based on a detection signal, wherein the detection signal has periodic changes ([0004]: “a transmission signal Ss is frequency modulated by a modulation signal having triangular waveform so that the frequency thereof is gradually increased and reduced linearly with respect to time”; [0049]: “transceiver”);
a plurality of transmitting antennas, configured to transmit the transmission signal ([0022]: “a plurality of transmission antenna”; [0049]);
a plurality of receiving antennas, configured to receive a reflected signal, wherein the reflected signal is generated by the transmission signal being reflected by an external object ([0022]: “a plurality of reception antennas”; “a reception signal from a remote target”; [0050]);
a receiving circuit, configured to generate an internal signal based on the detection signal and a radio frequency signal ([0030]: “beat signal”; [0050]: “transceiver”; “beat signal”);
a selection controller, coupled to the transmitting circuit and configured to generate one or more control signals based on a period of the detection signal ([0057]: “the timing controller 30 generates the transmission selecting signal Xs”); and
a selection circuit, coupled to the transmitting antennas, the receiving antennas, the transmitting circuit, the receiving circuit, and the selection controller and configured to select one of the transmitting antennas to transmit the transmission signal and select one of the receiving antennas to receive the reflected signal based on the one or more control signals generated by the selection controller so as to generate the radio frequency signal ([0049]: “a transmission switch 17 for alternatively selecting any one of the m transmission antennas in accordance with a transmission selecting signal Xs and supplying the transmission signal Ss to the transmission antenna thus selected.”; [0050]: “a reception switch 22 for alternatively selecting any one of then reception antennas in accordance with a reception selecting signal Xr and supplying a reception signal Sr from the reception antenna thus selected to the rear stage.”);
wherein one frame time comprises a plurality of transceiving periods (Fig. 2, showing a plurality of measuring cycles.),
wherein the selection circuit is configured to, based on the one or more control signals, select only one of the transmitting antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time to transmit the transmission signal … ([0031]: “a switching control device successively switches the transmission antenna to be used to transmit electric wave every predetermined measuring cycle”),
wherein the transmitting antennas comprise a first transmitting antenna and a second transmitting antenna located on a first plane, and the receiving antennas comprise a first receiving antenna and a second receiving antenna located on the first plane ([Figs. 1, 4A]: showing a linear array),
wherein there is a first spacing between the first transmitting antenna and the second transmitting antenna, and there is a second spacing between the first receiving antenna and the second receiving antenna … ([Figs. 1, 4A]: showing antenna spacings).
Natsume does not explicitly teach:
wherein the selection circuit is configured to select only one of the transmitting antennas and select only one of the receiving antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time, or
wherein the first spacing and the second spacing are equal.
However, Wintermantel is in the field of radar transceivers (Wintermantel [Abstract]) and teaches:
wherein one frame time comprises a plurality of transceiving periods (Wintermantel Fig. 2, showing k “frame times” comprising m “transceiving periods.”), and
wherein the selection circuit is configured to, based on the one or more control signals, select only one of the transmitting antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time to transmit the transmission signal and select only one of the receiving antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time to receive the reflected signal (Wintermantel [0059]: “in each case one of the two transmitter antennas and one of the 4 receiver antennas can be selected.”; Fig. 2, showing only one transmitting antenna and one receiving antenna is selected in each transceiving period.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natsume and select only one transmission antenna and only one receiving antenna in each transceiving period, as taught by Wintermantel, with a reasonable expectation of success. Selecting only one transmission antenna and only one receiving antenna is beneficial for improving accuracy and resolution of the angular measurement of a signal by temporally multiplexing the antennas (Wintermantel [0011-0015]). Additionally, modifying Natsume to implement Wintermantel’s antenna switching method comprises application of a known technique to achieve a predictable result.
Furthermore, Iwasa is in the field of radar transceivers (Iwasa [Abstract]) and teaches:
wherein there is a first spacing between a first transmitting antenna and a second transmitting antenna, there is a second spacing between a first receiving antenna and a second receiving antenna, and the first spacing and the second spacing are equal (Iwasa [0225]: “In FIG. 14, the transmission antennas are arranged at intervals of dV in the second axis direction, and the reception antennas are arranged at regular intervals of dH in the first axis direction.”; [Fig. 14]: showing both dV and dH being equal to 1.; [0228]: “This shows a case where basic interval dH=0.5λ, dV=0.5λ.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natsume and use equal spacings between the transmitting antennas and the receiving antennas, as taught by Iwasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Combining Natsume’s antenna arrangement with Iwasa’s equal antenna spacing yields the predictable result of preventing generation of unwanted grating lobes (Iwasa [0302-0304]).
Regarding Claim 16, Natsume teaches:
A transceiving method of signals ([0022]), comprising:
generating a transmission signal based on a detection signal, wherein the detection signal has periodic changes ([0004]: “a transmission signal Ss is frequency modulated by a modulation signal having triangular waveform so that the frequency thereof is gradually increased and reduced linearly with respect to time”; [0049]: “transceiver”);
generating one or more control signals based on a period of the detection signal ([0057]: “the timing controller 30 generates the transmission selecting signal Xs”);
selecting one of a plurality of transmitting antennas to transmit the transmission signal and selecting one of a plurality of receiving antennas to receive a reflected signal based on the one or more control signals so as to generate a radio frequency signal, wherein the reflected signal is generated by the transmission signal being reflected by an external object ([0049]: “a transmission switch 17 for alternatively selecting any one of the m transmission antennas in accordance with a transmission selecting signal Xs and supplying the transmission signal Ss to the transmission antenna thus selected.”; [0050]: “a reception switch 22 for alternatively selecting any one of then reception antennas in accordance with a reception selecting signal Xr and supplying a reception signal Sr from the reception antenna thus selected to the rear stage.”), the transmitting antennas comprise a first transmitting antenna and a second transmitting antenna located on a first plane, and the receiving antennas comprise a first receiving antenna and a second receiving antenna located on the first plane ([Figs. 1, 4A]: showing a linear array), there is a first spacing between the first transmitting antenna and the second transmitting antenna, and there is a second spacing between the first receiving antenna and the second receiving antenna … ([Figs. 1, 4A]: showing antenna spacings); and
generating an internal signal based on the detection signal and the radio frequency signal ([0030]: “beat signal”; [0050]: “transceiver”; “beat signal”),
wherein one frame time comprises a plurality of transceiving periods (Fig. 2, showing a plurality of measuring cycles.),
wherein selecting one of the transmitting antennas to transmit the transmission signal and selecting one of the receiving antennas to receive a reflected signal based on the one or more control signals comprises:
based on the one or more control signals, selecting only one of the transmitting antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time to transmit the transmission signal … ([0031]: “a switching control device successively switches the transmission antenna to be used to transmit electric wave every predetermined measuring cycle”).
Natsume does not explicitly teach:
selecting only one of the transmitting antennas and selecting only one of the receiving antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time, or
wherein the first spacing and the second spacing are equal.
However, Wintermantel is in the field of radar transceivers (Wintermantel [Abstract]) and teaches:
wherein one frame time comprises a plurality of transceiving periods (Wintermantel Fig. 2, showing k “frame times” comprising m “transceiving periods.”), and
wherein the selection circuit is configured to, based on the one or more control signals, select only one of the transmitting antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time to transmit the transmission signal and select only one of the receiving antennas respectively in each of the transceiving periods within the frame time to receive the reflected signal (Wintermantel [0059]: “in each case one of the two transmitter antennas and one of the 4 receiver antennas can be selected.”; Fig. 2, showing only one transmitting antenna and one receiving antenna is selected in each transceiving period.).
The rationale to modify Natsume with the teachings of Wintermantel persists from Claim 1.
Furthermore, Iwasa is in the field of radar transceivers (Iwasa [Abstract]) and teaches:
wherein there is a first spacing between a first transmitting antenna and a second transmitting antenna, there is a second spacing between a first receiving antenna and a second receiving antenna, and the first spacing and the second spacing are equal (Iwasa [0225]: “In FIG. 14, the transmission antennas are arranged at intervals of dV in the second axis direction, and the reception antennas are arranged at regular intervals of dH in the first axis direction.”; [Fig. 14]: showing both dV and dH being equal to 1.; [0228]: “This shows a case where basic interval dH=0.5λ, dV=0.5λ.”).
The rationale to modify Natsume with the teachings of Iwasa persists from Claim 1.
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, Natsume as modified does not explicitly teach – but Wintermantel teaches: wherein the transceiving periods correspond to the period of the detection signal (Wintermantel [0061]; Fig. 2, showing the transceiving periods corresponding with the frequency ramp of the detection signal.). Because the correspondence between the transceiving periods and the period of the detection signal is merely a feature of Wintermantel’s antenna switching method, the rationale to modify Natsume with the teachings of Wintermantel persists from Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Natsume as modified teaches: wherein the first transmitting antenna and the second transmitting antenna are arranged in a first direction, and the first receiving antenna and the second receiving antenna are arranged in the first direction ([Figs. 1, 4A]: showing a linear array), and
in a second direction, a distance between the first transmitting antenna and the first receiving antenna is greater than or equal to zero, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction, and the first plane is formed by the first direction and the second direction ([Fig. 1, 4A]: showing a linear array (i.e., the distance between antennas in the second direction is zero)).
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Natsume as modified teaches: wherein in a first operation mode, the frame time comprises a first transceiving period, a second transceiving period, and … ([0032]: “different measuring cycles”); and the selection circuit is configured to, based on the one or more control signals, select the first transmitting antenna and the first receiving antenna in the first transceiving period, select the first transmitting antenna and the second receiving antenna or select the second transmitting antenna and the first receiving antenna in the second transceiving period, and select the second transmitting antenna and the second receiving antenna … ([0049]: “alternatively selecting any one of the m transmission antennas”; [0050]: “alternatively selecting any one of the reception antennas”).
Natsume as modified does not explicitly teach – but Iwasa teaches: a third transceiving period (Iwasa [Fig. 2]: showing at least four transmission periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natsume and use three transceiving periods, as taught by Iwasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying Natsume with the teachings of Iwasa comprises combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of transmitting and receiving over a plurality of transceiving periods and selecting a different antenna combination for each period.
Regarding Claims 7 and 18, Natsume as modified teaches: the apparatus further comprising a computing processor, coupled to the receiving circuit, wherein the receiving circuit generates a first internal signal corresponding to the first transceiving period; the receiving circuit generates a second internal signal corresponding to the second transceiving period; … ([0030-0031]: disclosing a plurality of channel switching intervals and generating beat signals for each channel); the internal signal comprises the first internal signal, the second internal signal, …; and the computing processor is configured to determine a spatial information of the external object based on the first internal signal, the second internal signal, and … ([0030-0031]: disclosing a plurality of channel switching intervals and generating beat signals for each channel; [0070]: “digital beam forming (DBF) processing is executed on the basis of the data of the channels A1 to A9 and the corrected data of the channels B2 to B9 (S220). The direction to the location of the target is determined on the basis of the above processing result (S230)”).
Natsume as modified does not explicitly teach – but Iwasa teaches: the receiving circuit generates a third internal signal corresponding to the third transceiving period (Iwasa [0335]: “beat signal”; [Fig. 2]: showing at least four transmission periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natsume to generate a third internal signal corresponding to the third transceiving period and determine spatial information of the external object based on the three internal signals, as taught by Iwasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying Natsume with the teachings of Iwasa comprises combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of transmitting and receiving over a plurality of transceiving periods and using the signals from each period to determine information about an object.
Regarding Claim 8, Natsume as modified does not explicitly teach – but Iwasa teaches: wherein a first radiation pattern formed by the first transmitting antenna is different from a second radiation pattern formed by the second transmitting antenna (Iwasa [0088]; [0194]: “One antenna system of each of transmission antennas 108 and reception antennas 202 may be constituted by sub-array antennas so as to form a beam pattern suitable for, for example, the angle of view of radar apparatus 10.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natsume and use different radiation patterns with the first and second transmitting antennas, as taught by Iwasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Using different radiation patterns is beneficial for controlling the angle of view of a radar apparatus and thereby improving target detection.
Regarding Claim 9, Natsume as modified teaches: wherein the first transmitting antenna and the second transmitting antenna are arranged in a first direction … ([Figs. 1, 4A]).
Natsume as modified does not explicitly teach – but Iwasa teaches: wherein the first transmitting antenna and the second transmitting antenna are arranged in a first direction, and the first receiving antenna and the second receiving antenna are arranged in a second direction, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction, and the first plane is formed by the first direction and the second direction (Iwasa [0015]: “two-dimensional plane”; Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natsume and arrange the transmitting and receiving antennas in a 2D array, as taught by Iwasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. 2D arrays are beneficial for improving beam steering and system performance (Iwasa [0302-0304]).
Regarding Claims 10 and 19, Natsume as modified teaches: wherein in a second operation mode, the frame time comprises a first transceiving period, a second transceiving period, … ([0032]: “different measuring cycles”); and the selection circuit is configured to, based on the one or more control signals, select the first transmitting antenna and the first receiving antenna in the first transceiving period, select the first transmitting antenna and the second receiving antenna in the second transceiving period, select the second transmitting antenna and the second receiving antenna …, and select the second transmitting antenna and the first receiving antenna … ([0049]: “alternatively selecting any one of the m transmission antennas”; [0050]: “alternatively selecting any one of the reception antennas”).
Natsume as modified does not explicitly teach – but Iwasa teaches: a third transceiving period, and a fourth transceiving period (Iwasa [Fig. 2]: showing at least four transmission periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natsume and use four transceiving periods, as taught by Iwasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying Natsume with the teachings of Iwasa comprises combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of transmitting and receiving over a plurality of transceiving periods and selecting a different antenna combination for each period.
Regarding Claims 11 and 19, Natsume as modified teaches: the apparatus further comprising a computing processor, coupled to the receiving circuit, wherein the receiving circuit generates a first internal signal corresponding to the first transceiving period; the receiving circuit generates a second internal signal corresponding to the second transceiving period; … … ([0030-0031]: disclosing a plurality of channel switching intervals and generating beat signals for each channel); the internal signal comprises the first internal signal, the second internal signal, …; and the computing processor is configured to determine a spatial information of the external object based on the first internal signal, the second internal signal, … ([0030-0031]: disclosing a plurality of channel switching intervals and generating beat signals for each channel; [0070]: “digital beam forming (DBF) processing is executed on the basis of the data of the channels A1 to A9 and the corrected data of the channels B2 to B9 (S220). The direction to the location of the target is determined on the basis of the above processing result (S230)”).
Natsume as modified does not explicitly teach – but Iwasa teaches: the receiving circuit generates a third internal signal corresponding to the third transceiving period; the receiving circuit generates a fourth internal signal corresponding to the fourth transceiving period (Iwasa [0335]: “beat signal”; [Fig. 2]: showing at least four transmission periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natsume to generate third and fourth internal signals corresponding to the third and fourth transceiving periods and determine spatial information of the external object based on the four internal signals, as taught by Iwasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying Natsume with the teachings of Iwasa comprises combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of transmitting and receiving over a plurality of transceiving periods and using the signals from each period to determine information about an object.
Regarding Claim 12, Natsume as modified teaches: the radar apparatus further comprising a frequency synthesizer, coupled to the transmitting circuit and the receiving circuit and configured to generate the detection signal, the detection signal being a continuous wave signal, wherein the selection controller is coupled to the transmitting circuit via the frequency synthesizer ([0049]: “The transceiver 4 includes a D/A converter 10 for generating a modulation signal having a triangular waveform in response to a modulation instruction, a voltage controlled oscillator (VCO) 14, a divider 16 for dividing the output power of the VCO 14 into a transmission signal Ss and a local signal L”; Fig. 1: showing the transmission switch 17 coupled to the divider 16).
Regarding Claim 13, Natsume as modified teaches: the apparatus further comprising a … generator, coupled to the transmitting circuit and the receiving circuit and configured to generate the detection signal, …, wherein the selection controller is coupled to the transmitting circuit via the … generator ([0049-0050]).
Natsume as modified does not explicitly teach – but Iwasa teaches: a pulse generator, and the detection signal being a pulse signal (Iwasa [0076]: “pulse radar apparatus”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natsume and use a pulse generator to generate a pulse signal, as taught by Iwasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Pulse generators and pulse signals are beneficial for generating detection signals that have low-range sidelobe characteristics (Iwasa [0076]).
Regarding Claim 14, Natsume as modified teaches: the radar apparatus further comprising a clock generator, configured to generate a clock signal, wherein the selection controller synchronizes the detection signal based on the clock signal ([0051]: “timing controller 30”).
Regarding Claim 15, Natsume as modified teaches: wherein … the receiving circuit further comprises a low noise amplifier; and the low noise amplifier is coupled to the receiving antennas ([0050]: “an amplifier 26”).
Natsume as modified does not explicitly teach – but Iwasa teaches: wherein the transmitting circuit further comprises an amplifier (Iwasa [0111]: “amplifies the signal to predetermined transmission power P [dB] with a transmission amplifier”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Natsume and use an amplifier in the transmitting circuit, as taught by Iwasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Using an amplifier in a transmitting circuit is beneficial for increasing a signal’s power to a level suitable for transmission.
Regarding Claim 17, Natsume does not explicitly teach – but Wintermantel teaches: the transceiving periods correspond to the period of the detection signal (Wintermantel [0061]; Fig. 2, showing the transceiving periods corresponding with the frequency ramp of the detection signal.). The rationale to modify Natsume with the teachings of Wintermantel persists from Claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/05/2026, with respect to Claim Objections and Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous objections and 112(b) rejections have been overcome.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/05/2026, with respect to Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Natsume does not teach the spacing between the two transmission antennas and the spacing between two reception antennas being equal. Examiner asserts that the prior art rejection above does not rely on Natsume for teaching this limitation and instead relies on Iwasa.
Applicant argues that Iwasa does not teach the spacing between the two transmission antennas and the spacing between two reception antennas being equal because Iwasa Figs. 7A and 7B show the antennas arranged in different directions. Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that Iwasa Fig. 14 shows the transmission antennas being spaced one unit apart from each other and the reception antennas being spaced one unit apart from each other. Iwasa [0228] further teaches that both the transmission antenna spacing (dV) and the reception antenna spacing (dH) may be 0.5λ.
Applicant argues that the antenna array arrangement of Iwasa cannot be implemented with Wintermantel’s antenna selection technique. Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least Claims 1 and 16.
/NOAH YI MIN ZHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648