DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the at least one engaging portion" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (US 2022/0190516).
Regarding claim 1, Phillips et al. disclose a wire connector (102) for be mated with a board connector (104), comprising:
an insulating body (120) having an end surface (at 140) and two groove (192);
at least one first connecting plate protruding outward from the end surface of the insulating body;
at least one second connecting plate protruding outward from the end surface of the insulating body; and
two side plate structures (132, 132) being respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the end surface of the insulating body and perpendicular to the end surface.
Phillips et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the shape of the side plate structure is U-shaped or L-shaped.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the Phillips’s side plate structure to the U-shaped or L-shaped, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Phillips et al. disclose two anti-tilt insertion structures extend from the two opposite sides of the end surface of the insulating body, respectively; and wherein the two side plate structures are disposed on one side or inside of the two anti-tilt insertion structures, respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Phillips et al. disclose a part of each of the two side plate structures are exposed on the inside of one of the two anti-tilt insertion structures; wherein, when the wire connector is connected to a board connector, the two side plate structures are configured to be in contact with a metal shell of the board connector (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Phillips et al. disclose an exposed surface of the side plate structure is flush with a surface of the anti-tilt insertion structure (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Phillips et al. disclose each of the two opposite sides of the insulating body has an accommodating groove (154), each of the two side plate structures is detachably disposed in the accommodating groove, and a part of each of the two side plate structures is located in a corresponding one of the two anti-tilt insertion structures.
Regarding claim 6, Phillips et al. disclose an opening of the accommodating groove is located at a front end or a rear end of the insulating body, and each of the two side plate structures is configured to be placed into the accommodating groove from the front end or the rear end of the insulating body.
Regarding claim 7, Phillips et al. disclose comprising a cover body (126) that is detachably disposed on the rear end of the insulating body.
Regarding claim 8, Phillips et al. disclose each of the two side plate structures is a metal structure.
Regarding claim 9, Phillips et al. disclose the two side plate structures are perpendicular to the at least one first connecting plate and the at least one second connecting plate.
Regarding claim 10, Phillips et al. disclose the structural body is a plate-like structure, and wherein each of the two opposite sides of the insulating body has an accommodating groove (154), and the at least one engaging portion (190) of each of the two side plate structures is disposed in the accommodating groove (192) (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Phillips et al. disclose each of the two opposite sides of the insulating body has an accommodating groove (154), and each of the two side plate structures is partially inserted into the accommodating groove.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (US 2022/0190516) in view of Ko (US 7,189,121).
Phillips et al. disclose the at least one first connecting plate has a plurality of first fingers and the at least one second connecting plate has a plurality of second fingers, wherein a quantity of the first fingers is different from a quantity of the second fingers.
Phillips et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the fingers is a gold finger and wherein a width of at least one of the first gold fingers is different from a width of at least one of the second gold fingers.
Ko teaches gold fingers (11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide gold fingers into Phillips’s connector, as taught by Ko for minimizing resistance.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the width of at least one of the first gold fingers is different from the width of at least one of the second gold fingers, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark, filed 4/9/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-12 under 35 USC 102(a1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Phillips et al. under 35 USC 103(a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834