DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-14 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 December 2025.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-1, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hung (US 2023/0334838 A1).
Claim 1, Hung, teaches a device comprising a processor (processor 606; paragraph 0048) configured to:
determine a motion of a scene that is to be captured by an image sensor (motion prediction is performed based on spatial information received from radio-wave sensor and image received from the camera; paragraph 0042);
determine a configuration setting of an imaging device comprising the image sensor, wherein the configuration setting is based on the determined motion of the scene (updated camera parameters are set based on motion prediction result; paragraph 0043); and
generate an instruction for the imaging device to capture the scene using the determined configuration setting (subsequent image is captured based on the setting of the camera and image parameters; paragraph 0043).
Claim 2, Hung further teaches wherein the determined motion comprises a relative movement of at least one object within the scene relative to the imaging device (camera 604 tracks the object based on the predicted motion of the object; paragraph 0049).
Claim 3, Hung further teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the relative movement based on a predicted motion at a prediction time of the at least one object within the scene or based on an expected motion of the imaging device at the prediction time (processor 606 predicts a motion trajectory of the object; paragraph 0049).
Claim 4, Hung further teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the expected motion of the imaging device based on a planned trajectory of the imaging device at the prediction time (processor 606 predicts a motion trajectory of the object; paragraph 0049).
Clam 5, Hung further teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the predicted motion of the at least one object based on an object motion analysis of the at least one object at the prediction time with respect to the scene (camera tracks the object and background to obtain a consolidated tracking result; paragraph 0049).
Claim 6, Hung further teaches wherein the relative movement of the at least one object relative to the imaging device comprises at least one of:
a relative rotational velocity of the at least one object relative to the image sensor, a relative translational velocity of the at least one object relative to the image sensor, a relative heading of the at least one object relative to the image sensor, and a relative distance between the at least one object and the image sensor (position and velocity of the object is detected relative to the sensor 602; see paragraph 0048 and Fig. 2).
Claim 8, Hung further teaches wherein the configuration setting of the imaging device comprises at least one of an exposure time, an aperture size, a focal length, a gain of the image sensor, a light level at the scene, and an illumination level of a light source on the scene (camera parameters include shutter timing, shutter speed, and focal length; paragraph 0046).
Claim 9, Hung further teaches wherein the exposure time is a function of at least one of:
the aperture size, the focal length, a size of the image sensor, a velocity of the motion, a directional heading of the motion, a distance to at least one object in the scene from the image sensor, a default exposure time for the light level, and a default gain for the light level (the spatial information that the shutter speed is based on includes position, velocity, or acceleration of the object; paragraph 0038-0039).
Claim 10 is analyzed and rejected as an apparatus with means for performing the functions of the device of claim 1.
Claim 15 is analyzed and rejected as a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for causing one or more processors to perform the functions of the device of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or suggest a processor configured to determine a plurality of exposure times, each associated with a relative motion of the scene relative to the image sensor, wherein the processor is configured to select a selected exposure time from among the plurality of exposure times as the configuration setting based on a predefined selection criterion, in combination with the limitations of the parent claim 1. That is, the prior art does not teach or suggest determining a plurality of exposure times associated with a relative motion of the scene, and selecting an exposure time from among the plurality of exposure times based on a predefined criterion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached.
/CHIAWEI CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637