DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 27 December 2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: the following 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
A. "locking part," first introduced in claim 4:
the locking part performs the function of locking the connecting bag to the blowing and suction device and may comprise a ring band and an adjustment buckle, or an equivalent thereof (see for example [0042]; FIG. 4).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Flexible Connector for a Cleaning Device.”
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding the term “bag”:
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “bag” first introduced in [0003] is used by the Specification to mean “sleeve,” while the accepted meaning is “a usually flexible container that may be closed for holding, storing, or carrying something.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “connecting bag” first introduced in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “connecting sleeve,” while the accepted meaning is “a usually flexible container that may be closed for holding, storing, or carrying something.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Regarding Claim 4:
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “bag part” first introduced in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “sleeve part,” while the accepted meaning is “a usually flexible container that may be closed for holding, storing, or carrying something.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Regarding claims 2-20:
Claims 2-20 are rejected by virtue of dependence on a rejected claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weiss (US 2179654), hereafter referred to as Weiss.
Regarding Claim 1, Weiss discloses the following:
A cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6), comprising:
a connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6), wherein the connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6) comprises a first opening (lower opening shown in FIG. 5) and a second opening (14, FIG. 5), and the first opening (lower opening shown in FIG. 5) is communicated to the second opening (14, FIG. 5); and
a supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6), wherein the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6) is connected to the connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6) to support (see Page 2, Col. 2, lines 15-35) the connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 2, Weiss discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 1,
wherein the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6) is an elastic (spring brass; see Page 2, Col. 2, lines 18-20) supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6), and the connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6) is a flexible (molded rubber; see Page 2, Col. 1, lines 0-5)connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 3, Weiss discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 1,
wherein a radius of the first opening (lower opening shown in FIG. 5) is less than a radius (as seen in FIG. 5; also see Page 2, Col. 1, lines 8-10) of the second opening (14, FIG. 5); the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6) is connected to the first opening (lower opening shown in FIG. 5); and the second opening (14, FIG. 5) is configured to be connected to a blowing and suction device (It is noted, while the intended use for the device disclosed by Weiss connects to a faucet, the device is still capable of performing the intended use of the Instant Application of connecting to a blowing and suction device.)
Regarding Claim 17, Weiss discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 1,
wherein the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6) comprises several supporting claws (28, FIG. 5-7); each of the supporting claws (28, FIG. 5-7) comprises an outer surface and an inner surface opposite to the outer surface; and the supporting claws (28, FIG. 5-7) are connected to the connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6) through the outer surface to support the connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 18, Weiss discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 17,
wherein a protective layer (13, FIG. 5-6) is arranged inside the connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6), and the protective layer (13, FIG. 5-6) is configured to cover the inner surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US 2179654), hereafter referred to as Weiss, in view of Hurst (US 5028077), hereafter referred to as Hurst.
Regarding Claim 4, Weiss discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 3,
wherein the connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6) comprises a bag part (19)
Weiss does not explicitly disclose the following:
a locking part; the locking part is connected to the bag part; and the locking part is configured to connect the bag part to the blowing and suction device.
However Hurst teaches the following:
a locking part (18, FIG. 3); the locking part (18, FIG. 3) is connected to the bag part (12, FIG. 1); and the locking part (18, FIG. 3) is configured to connect the bag part (12, FIG. 1) to the blowing and suction device (It is noted, while the intended use for the device disclosed by Hurst connects to a faucet, the device is still capable of performing the intended use of the Instant Application of connecting to a blowing and suction device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end collar portion of the bag part as disclosed by Weiss, wherein the end portion of the bag part comprises a locking part as disclosed by Hurst, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing a liquid-tight seal at the collar portion of the bag part (see Hurst Col. 4, lines 55-65).
Claims 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US 2179654), hereafter referred to as Weiss, as modified by Hurst (US 5028077), hereafter referred to as Hurst, as applied to claim 4 above, in further view of Shaker (US 20130090573), hereafter referred to as Shaker.
Regarding Claim 5, Weiss as modified by Hurst discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 4,
Hurst continues to teach the following:
wherein the locking part (18, FIG. 3) comprises a ring band (26, FIG. 3);
Weiss as modified by Hurst does not explicitly disclose the following:
one side of the bag part is provided with several first connecting portions; and the ring band passes through the first connecting portions and is fixed to the bag part.
However Shaker teaches the following:
it is well known in the art to provide a plurality of loops (1012) on a collar to maintain the position of the band portion of a compression device which may include a worm gear (see [0055], claim 8);
Weiss and Hurst as modified by Shaker results in the following limitation(s):
one side of the bag part (19 of Weiss) is provided with several first connecting portions (1012 of Shaker); and the ring band (26 of Hurst) passes through the first connecting portions (1012 of Shaker) and is fixed to the bag part (19 of Weiss).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end collar portion of the bag part as disclosed by Weiss and modified by Hurst, wherein the end portion of the bag part comprises a plurality of loops to hold the locking part, as disclosed by Shaker, with the reasonable expectation of successfully maintaining the position of the locking part (see Shaker, [0055]).
Regarding Claim 6, Weiss as modified by Hurst and Shaker discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 5,
Hurst continues to teach the following:
wherein the locking part (FIG. 3) further comprises an elastic adjustment buckle (18 in combination with 28, FIG. 3); the ring band (26, FIG. 3) is connected to the elastic adjustment buckle (18 in combination with 28, FIG. 3); the ring band (26, FIG. 3) is arranged around the second opening (14, FIG. 5 of Weiss); and the elastic adjustment buckle is configured to adjust a size of the second opening (14, FIG. 5 of Weiss).
Claims 7-8, 11-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US 2179654), hereafter referred to as Weiss, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Dennis (US 20040143931), hereafter referred to as Dennis.
Regarding Claim 7, Weiss discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 1,
the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6) is provided with a third connecting portion (18, FIG. 1 of Weiss);
Weiss does not teach the following:
further comprising a middle portion, wherein the middle portion is provided with a second connecting portion; the supporting portion is provided with a third connecting portion; and the second connecting portion is detachably connected to the third connecting portion to detachably connect the middle portion to the supporting portion.
However Dennis teaches the following:
further comprising a middle portion (12, FIG. 1, 4; [0041]), wherein the middle portion (12, FIG. 1, 4; [0041]) is provided with a second connecting portion (22, FIG. 4);
Weiss as modified by Dennis results in the following limitation(s):
the second connecting portion (22, FIG. 4) is detachably connected to the third connecting portion (18, FIG. 1 of Weiss) to detachably connect the middle portion (12, FIG. 1, 4; [0041]) to the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify substitute the adapter of the cleaning device, as disclosed by Dennis, with the adapter as disclosed by Weiss with the reasonable expectation of detachably and securely coupling the flexible extension 12 of Dennis to the power blower B of Dennis (see for example Weiss, claim 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 7,
wherein the second connecting portion (22, FIG. 4) is rotatably connected to the third connecting portion (18, FIG. 1 of Weiss)(it is noted both Weiss and Dennis disclose threaded end portions that would cooperate with each other by rotatable connection; see Weiss Page 2, Col, 1, lines 15-23 and Dennis FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 7,
Dennis continues to teach the following:
further comprising an extending portion (14 in combination with 16; FIG. 1, 5-6), wherein the extending portion (14 in combination with 16; FIG. 1, 5-6) is detachably connected to the middle portion (12, FIG. 1, 4; [0041]).
Regarding Claim 12, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 11,
Dennis continues to teach the following:
wherein the extending portion (14 in combination with 16; FIG. 1, 5-6) comprises a middle pipe (14; FIG. 1, 5) and a first air pipe (16; FIG. 1, 6); the middle pipe (14; FIG. 1, 5) is detachably connected to the first air pipe (16; FIG. 1, 6); and the middle pipe (14; FIG. 1, 5) is detachably connected to the middle portion (12, FIG. 1, 4; [0041]).
Regarding Claim 13, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 12,
Dennis continues to teach the following:
wherein the middle pipe (14; FIG. 1, 5) comprises several detachable connecting pipes (14; FIG. 1), and the several detachable connecting pipes (14; FIG. 1) are detachably connected to each other to form a whole (as seen in FIG. 1; also see [0041] which discloses a plurality of straight extensions may be connected to reach the desired height level).
Regarding Claim 14, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 12,
Dennis continues to teach the following:
wherein the middle pipe (14; FIG. 1, 5) at least comprises a first connecting pipe, a second connecting pipe, and a third connecting pipe (as seen in FIG. 1, which shows a first and second pipe; also see [0041] which discloses a plurality of straight extensions may be connected to reach the desired height level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of connecting pipes, as disclosed by Dennis, wherein the plurality of connecting pipes comprises three or more connecting pipes, as taught by Dennis, with the reasonable expectation of reaching the desired height level (see Dennis [0041]).
Regarding Claim 15, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 14,
Dennis continues to teach the following:
wherein one end of the middle portion (12, FIG. 1, 4; [0041]) is provided with a fourth connecting portion;
one end of the first connecting pipe is provided with a fifth connecting portion;
the fourth connecting portion is detachably connected to the fifth connecting portion to detachably connect the middle portion (12, FIG. 1, 4; [0041]) to the first connecting pipe;
the other end of the first connecting pipe is provided with a sixth connecting portion;
one end of the second connecting pipe is provided with a seventh connecting portion;
the sixth connecting portion is detachably connected to the seventh connecting portion to detachably connect the first connecting pipe to the second connecting pipe;
the other end of the second connecting pipe is provided with an eighth connecting portion, and one end of the third connecting pipe is provided with a ninth connecting portion;
the eighth connecting portion is detachably connected to the ninth connecting portion to detachably connect the second connecting pipe to the third connecting pipe;
the other end of the third connecting pipe is provided with a tenth connecting portion, and one end of the first air pipe (16; FIG. 1, 6) is provided with an eleventh connecting portion; and
the tenth connecting portion is detachably connected to the eleventh connecting portion to detachably connect the third connecting pipe to the first air pipe (16; FIG. 1, 6)(It is noted, the modification in Claim 14 above, in combination with the connection portions disclosed in Figures 5-6, which show each individual pipe to have the required connecting portions, would result in the individual connection portions as claimed in claim 15).
Regarding Claim 16, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 15,
Dennis continues to teach the following:
wherein the fourth connecting portion, the sixth connecting portion, the eighth connecting portion, and the tenth connecting portion are internal threads, and the fifth connecting portion, the seventh connecting portion, the ninth connecting portion, and the eleventh connecting portion are external threads (It is noted, the modification in Claim 15 above, in combination with the connection portions disclosed in Figures 5-6, which show each individual pipe to have the required connecting portions, would result in the threaded portions as claimed in claim 16).
Regarding Claim 19, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 12,
Dennis continues to teach the following:
wherein the other end of the first air pipe (16; FIG. 1, 6) is provided with a first air port (outlet of 16, see FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 12,
Dennis continues to teach the following:
wherein the first air pipe (16; FIG. 1, 6) is designed in an angle with the middle pipe (14; FIG. 1, 5).
Claims 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US 2179654), hereafter referred to as Weiss, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Official Notice.
Regarding Claim 10, Weiss as modified by Dennis discloses the following:
The cleaning device (10; FIG. 5-6) according to claim 1,
wherein a tie (22; FIG. 1) is arranged at the first opening (lower opening shown in FIG. 5); the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6) is provided with a clamping slot (slot portion cooperating with 22, see FIG. 1); the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6) passes through the second opening (14, FIG. 5) and the first opening (lower opening shown in FIG. 5) in sequence (Examiner note: Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. See MPEP § 2113. In this instance the limitation(s), "the supporting portion passes through the second opening and the first opening in sequence," is/are considered to be merely process steps that do not impart a structural difference on the product.);
Weiss does not teach the following:
the tie is tightly tied inside the clamping slot to connect the connecting bag to the supporting portion.
However the Office asserts Official Notice:
It is well known in the art to use zip ties as fasteners (Official Notice).
Weiss as modified by Official Notice discloses the following:
wherein a tie (zip tie) is arranged at the first opening (lower opening shown in FIG. 5 of Weiss); the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6 of Weiss) is provided with a clamping slot (slot portion cooperating with 22, see FIG. 1 of Weiss); and the tie (zip tie) is tightly tied inside the clamping slot (slot portion cooperating with 22, see FIG. 1 of Weiss) to connect the connecting bag (19, FIG. 5-6 of Weiss) to the supporting portion (26 in combination with 18, FIG. 1, 5-6 of Weiss).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the ferrule fastener, as disclosed by Weiss, with the zip tie fastener, as disclosed by Official Notice, with the reasonable expectation of successfully fastening the connecting bag to the supporting portion. The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the ferrule fastener of Weiss with the well-known zip tie fastener yields the predictable result of fastening (i.e. substituting one known means to fasten for another known means to fasten). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In combination with the other structures required by the independent claims, the inclusion of:
wherein the third connecting portion is a convex point; the second connecting portion is provided with a sliding chute and a rotating groove; and the convex point enters the rotating groove from the sliding chute to enable the convex point to rotate inside the rotating groove, so that the middle portion rotates relative to the supporting portion;
was not found or fairly taught by prior art and differentiated the claims from the closest prior art to Weiss (US 2179654) and Hurst (US 5028077).
The Examiner notes Weiss is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the limitations as described above. Further, it appears there would be no reason to modify the prior art without the benefit of Applicant's disclosure and impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar cleaning device adapter arrangements see Pages 1-4.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745